Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in

Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in

Mastercraft 3-1/2" Framing Nailer features a hardened one-piece piston for professional application, open nose design for easy extraction of jammed nailsAir Consumption: 0.081 CF/Cycle @ 90 PSITool-free depth adjustment for varying materialsAdjustable knob for sequential or contact firingLong-lastin
Average Customer Rating:
3.985 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
58 of 67(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Review 1 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

excellent product

Date:December 4, 2015
" Finished rebuilding 20 x 20 workshop, framed basement wall a bathroom had no issues yet. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nail Gun

Date:October 28, 2015
" This gun is a bit heavy but performs well. It is easy to change the nails out and rarely jams. We are framing the inside of our cottage and have enjoyed the convenience. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good item

Date:April 25, 2015
" Used it to frame a 12 x 14 basement and some other smaller projects. One nail was stuck once and it was easy to clear. Great product. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

well....

Date:March 5, 2015
" what i can say about that product
IT IS NOT FOR EVERY DAY USE , TOOK 8 GUNS FROM THIS COMPANY TO FRAME A 1600SQ FT BUNGALOW. THE STORE JUST KEEP ON CHANGING THEM AND THEY WILL FOR THE NEXT 3 YEARS, BUT THEY HAVE GOOD WARRANTY NOTHING ELSE DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT THAT IS MY PERSONAL OPINION
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mission, BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Mastercraft Framing Nailer

Date:December 8, 2014
" I bought this on sale after reading the reviews. The first one had a leak in the seal and bled off air. I returned it and the second one had a frozen nail driver and didn't work at all. The staff at Canadian Tire were great and I replaced it with a Paslode for an extra $50.00. The Paslode works great. "
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seafoam, NS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Value

Date:October 24, 2014
" Great product, it came in extremely handy when I was building my garage. I had no real issues with it, other than getting used to the weight and size of it. Bought at sale price. You cannot go wrong with this product. Keep up the good work Mastercraft! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male

Good handyman quality tool

Date:October 23, 2014
" I've owned one of these for over a year and it has never failed me for home use. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ancaster, Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

great nailer - great value

Date:October 22, 2014
" I used it to build storage on my backyard. it was great, light and the most important heavy duty. Hopefully it will pass the next project. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ajax Ontario
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works well

Date:October 22, 2014
" Bought this and have used it around the house for a basement and shed project. Works really well only jammed a couple times - I suspect it may have been the nails more so than the gun. Bolts vibrated lose and need constant tightening or locktite "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

CHEAPLY MANUFACTURED

Date:July 8, 2014
" I bought this nailer on sale with the palm nailer included. The palm nailer is great. I used around 4 too 4500 nails with the framing nailer and 4 screws vibrated out of it. It jammed on me around a dozen times, and sometimes spent about 15 minutes to free up, (very frustrating) Keep in mind that I only oiled it once shooting all these nails. I would put the extra money with it and buy a bostitch. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Goodbye Hammer

Date:May 29, 2014
" Using a framing gun is so much better than nailing. Get it on sale and it is even better. Great product! "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eastern Ontario
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great purchase

Date:May 27, 2014
" This gun is a great piece of kit for the DIY people. It probably would not make a commercial tool but for the "weekend warrior" it is great. I bought this two years ago when it came on sale. I did not use it before my son borrowed it to build a shed and finish a basement. No jams, misfires or other problems using Mastercraft 34 degree clipped head nails. When I got it back I finished a screenhouse at the cottage and some other projects at the lake. No problems whatsoever. It also has a 3 year warrantee and CT will exchange it or give you your money back if you staple your bill to the owners' manual. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ok

Date:May 21, 2014
" Not a bad tool but wait for it to come on sale, the casing is all plastic so its not going to last for ever. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tool

Date:May 20, 2014
" Saving time with building the framework of you new addition or whatever your job is will help you move on to the next scheduled task! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got this on sale, amazing nailer

Date:May 1, 2014
" Connected to a small pancake compressor, it does the trick perfectly. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Master Blaster

Date:November 8, 2013
" Yah its honking big and yah it huffs BIG, but zero misfires on over 500 nails. I oil it every day and sometimes more. The only way its going to seize is if the operator doesn't maintain it. Wear the glasses, keep your hands away from the contact point and wear hearing protection. Its only dangerous if you let your guard down. I bought a larger container of oil as mine leaked in the case and CT sent me a credit for more oil. Service was great on my one contact with the help line. :) "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't even consider this tool

Date:August 27, 2013
" Totally useless at driving nails. The basic flaw is that the gun breaks off the nail head this causes misfires and jams the gun so it can't fire. The worst power tool I have ever used. Tried 3 boxes of nails (all CT) and the gun is useless.
Cylinder head bolt "unscrewed" about 1/4" on its own, they include wrenches to tighten it, but no tools for unjamming the nail heads. "
-13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Buy for everyday use

Date:August 7, 2013
" Used this tool to make 2 rooms in my house and have nailed over 1500 nails without a problem. The tip of the gun broke from everyday transportation but still works without it. Also has a double nail feature.
Side note if you are buying this product you should make sure to use the oils correctly and preferably have a over 2 gallon compressor. I managed with a 2 gallon 150 psi but it runs out of air in about 10-12 nails. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland

Great Nailer

Date:June 24, 2013
" Bought this nailer on the advice of a buddy. All I can say is this thing is a beauty.
I am building a house and have used about 2000
3 1/4" nails . Not one problem...no jams ...perfect.
I oil it before I use it . I mainly use the single shot.
Don't waste money on the expensive name brands.
Had to write this because I love a great deal and want other people to save also.
"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Framing Nailer, 3-1/2-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Good So Far

Date:March 24, 2013
" If you can get it on sale for $99, it is a great deal. The associate working that night told me to buy the nails from Kents because they were cheaper.
I don't find CT sells any good nails that will fit this nailer. I use the Paslode 30 to 34 degree round head nails and they work fine. A little difficult getting the air pressure and depth setting set right so It just barely countersinks the nail.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4