Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer

Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer

Hardened one-piece piston for professional application, open nose design for easy extraction of jammed nailsTool-free depth adjustment for varying materialsAdjustable knob for sequential or contact firingLong-lasting rubber grip for added comfortRear-loading magazineUses 2" - 3 ½" 34 degree clipped
Average Customer Rating:
4.068 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
52 of 59(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Review 1 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Workhorse!

Date:August 13, 2014
"I bought this nailer to build a cedar fence in my backyard and it was a champ! Over 120 feet of fence and 2,500 nails and it didn't jam once. I put a couple drops of oil in it before I started and it performed consistently throughout the project.
This tool made the difference for me between building the fence myself and paying someone to do it. Saved me thousands of dollars!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

CHEAPLY MANUFACTURED

Date:July 8, 2014
"I bought this nailer on sale with the palm nailer included. The palm nailer is great. I used around 4 too 4500 nails with the framing nailer and 4 screws vibrated out of it. It jammed on me around a dozen times, and sometimes spent about 15 minutes to free up, (very frustrating) Keep in mind that I only oiled it once shooting all these nails. I would put the extra money with it and buy a bostitch."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Goodbye Hammer

Date:May 29, 2014
"Using a framing gun is so much better than nailing. Get it on sale and it is even better. Great product!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eastern Ontario
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great purchase

Date:May 27, 2014
"This gun is a great piece of kit for the DIY people. It probably would not make a commercial tool but for the "weekend warrior" it is great. I bought this two years ago when it came on sale. I did not use it before my son borrowed it to build a shed and finish a basement. No jams, misfires or other problems using Mastercraft 34 degree clipped head nails. When I got it back I finished a screenhouse at the cottage and some other projects at the lake. No problems whatsoever. It also has a 3 year warrantee and CT will exchange it or give you your money back if you staple your bill to the owners' manual."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ok

Date:May 21, 2014
"Not a bad tool but wait for it to come on sale, the casing is all plastic so its not going to last for ever."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tool

Date:May 20, 2014
"Saving time with building the framework of you new addition or whatever your job is will help you move on to the next scheduled task!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got this on sale, amazing nailer

Date:May 1, 2014
"Connected to a small pancake compressor, it does the trick perfectly."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Master Blaster

Date:November 8, 2013
"Yah its honking big and yah it huffs BIG, but zero misfires on over 500 nails. I oil it every day and sometimes more. The only way its going to seize is if the operator doesn't maintain it. Wear the glasses, keep your hands away from the contact point and wear hearing protection. Its only dangerous if you let your guard down. I bought a larger container of oil as mine leaked in the case and CT sent me a credit for more oil. Service was great on my one contact with the help line. :)"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't even consider this tool

Date:August 27, 2013
"Totally useless at driving nails. The basic flaw is that the gun breaks off the nail head this causes misfires and jams the gun so it can't fire. The worst power tool I have ever used. Tried 3 boxes of nails (all CT) and the gun is useless.
Cylinder head bolt "unscrewed" about 1/4" on its own, they include wrenches to tighten it, but no tools for unjamming the nail heads."
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Buy for everyday use

Date:August 7, 2013
"Used this tool to make 2 rooms in my house and have nailed over 1500 nails without a problem. The tip of the gun broke from everyday transportation but still works without it. Also has a double nail feature.
Side note if you are buying this product you should make sure to use the oils correctly and preferably have a over 2 gallon compressor. I managed with a 2 gallon 150 psi but it runs out of air in about 10-12 nails."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland

Great Nailer

Date:June 24, 2013
"Bought this nailer on the advice of a buddy. All I can say is this thing is a beauty.
I am building a house and have used about 2000
3 1/4" nails . Not one problem...no jams ...perfect.
I oil it before I use it . I mainly use the single shot.
Don't waste money on the expensive name brands.
Had to write this because I love a great deal and want other people to save also.
"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Good So Far

Date:March 24, 2013
"If you can get it on sale for $99, it is a great deal. The associate working that night told me to buy the nails from Kents because they were cheaper.
I don't find CT sells any good nails that will fit this nailer. I use the Paslode 30 to 34 degree round head nails and they work fine. A little difficult getting the air pressure and depth setting set right so It just barely countersinks the nail.
"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality for price

Date:December 16, 2012
"I have been using this nailer for the past several months building my house. Orginally purchased for around the house but we decided to build our own and been using this gun. Dropped of roof several times and used in excessive of 10000 nails"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mt Pearl, NL, Canada

Extremely Disappointed

Date:November 2, 2012
"Purchased nailer in June when it was on sale. First opportunity to use it outside of test driving a couple of nails was this past weekend. Drove a maximum of 6 nails before it started to misfire; only partially drive nails; drive a scattered nail; then wouldn't drive any nails at all. When the trigger was depressed, air was being released around trigger, but no firing action at all. Literally, less than a sleeve of nails (40) were driven in total. Even though the nailer was literally brand new, because it was purchased >90 days ago, the store would not exhange. Rather, I had to bring the nailer in for servicing under the warranty conditions. The repair facility just informed me the "Driver" is damaged and it will take at least another week to obtain the necessary part. The repair facility acknowledged the nailer was brand new and the problem appears to be a manufacturer's defect, i.e. nothing to do amount or type of use. Not impressed and greatly disappointed that a brand new tool will not work from the start and I am greatly inconvenienced. Interesting that my problem is the same as or very similar to other reviews on this product."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Trenton, ON, Canada

Perfect for the DIY

Date:August 27, 2012
"This framing nailer is perfect for the DIY member of the house. Easy to use and adjustable, along with a light weight, I cannot imagine framing my basement without it."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DIY Workhorse

Date:August 15, 2012
"We bought two of these nailers to build our cottage. Well over 4,500 nails have been driven per gun and no problems so far. With this kind of use, some of the nuts and bolts have become loose. Nothing that regular tightening, cleaning and oiling wont fix. Jams are rare, and easy to clear. Paslode nails work best with this gun - we use the 3-1/4 inch and 2-3/8 inch hdg ring shanked nails the most."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sussex, NB, Canada

gun

Date:July 30, 2012
"i would not buy this gun again it is junk. it fell apart 4 times. I had to replace it four times as well and if the number 5 is the same i will go and get my money back and buy one that at a better place it mite cost more but it wont fall apart"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Steep learning curve & Tricky

Date:June 20, 2012
"A lot of users complain that the nailer simply wouldn't shoot nails and I know what they are talking about.
The hammer that gets pressurized to push the nail has to return to its chamber after each shot. However that hammer doesn't return to its chamber so easily.
So when that hammer gets stuck, it cannot get behind the next nail and thus doesn't push in any more nails.
The trick is how you release the trigger after every shot. (And using a lot of lube)
There are two stages to each shot:
1 - Press the trigger - BANG! - The sound of the hammer shooting out.
2 - Release the trigger - FOOP! - The sound of the hammer being sucked back in the chamber.
If you don't release the trigger in stage 2 at a PERFECT time, the hammer won't return properly and you will have a jam.
My recommendation is to practice with the gun WITHOUT nails. That way, after each practice shot, you can look in the barrel if the hammer went back far enough. Once you get the hang of timing the two stages of the trigger action, you'll get every 9 nails out of 10!
For 75$, it's worth the effort of learning to use it."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:calgary, AB

Not very good

Date:March 10, 2012
"Bought this item on sale. Good thing too. It literally fell apart with the first job. Went back to the store for replacement so I could finish the job and got a hassle from customer service saying the warranty only covered repair. Got a replacement from the manager and completed the project. Would never buy this item at regular price."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

2 framing nailers; both didn't work

Date:February 29, 2012
"I got the first nailer, read the instructions, decided I will use the bump fire mode (black trigger). Replace the trigger, put 6 drops oil in, put my paslode nails in, plugged it into my 10 gallon compressor. Shot my first nail perfectly, still holding trigger, pressed down to fire 2nd nail: Nothing. Release trigger: it shoots but no nail comes out. Dissatisfied, I take the nailer back, second nailer, same thing except this one won't fire nails at all it just makes a loud sound but no nail gets shot. This time, I call the information line, they tell me take it to get it repaired. I JUST GOT IT NEW and they want me to get it repaired?? We'll see what the tech says and if I have any more problems with it after its repaired I'm getting my money back and looking at other brands. Also, at CT the guy in front of me was returning his 3rd mastercraft nailer (flooring) in a row."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3