Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer

Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer

Hardened one-piece piston for professional application, open nose design for easy extraction of jammed nailsTool-free depth adjustment for varying materialsAdjustable knob for sequential or contact firingLong-lasting rubber grip for added comfortRear-loading magazineUses 2" - 3 ½" 34 degree clipped head framing nailsIncludes 4 hex wrenches, bottle of oil and blow-moulded case
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
46 of 52(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Review 1 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Master Blaster

Date:November 8, 2013
"Yah its honking big and yah it huffs BIG, but zero misfires on over 500 nails. I oil it every day and sometimes more. The only way its going to seize is if the operator doesn't maintain it. Wear the glasses, keep your hands away from the contact point and wear hearing protection. Its only dangerous if you let your guard down. I bought a larger container of oil as mine leaked in the case and CT sent me a credit for more oil. Service was great on my one contact with the help line. :)"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't even consider this tool

Date:August 27, 2013
"Totally useless at driving nails. The basic flaw is that the gun breaks off the nail head this causes misfires and jams the gun so it can't fire. The worst power tool I have ever used. Tried 3 boxes of nails (all CT) and the gun is useless.
Cylinder head bolt "unscrewed" about 1/4" on its own, they include wrenches to tighten it, but no tools for unjamming the nail heads."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Buy for everyday use

Date:August 7, 2013
"Used this tool to make 2 rooms in my house and have nailed over 1500 nails without a problem. The tip of the gun broke from everyday transportation but still works without it. Also has a double nail feature.
Side note if you are buying this product you should make sure to use the oils correctly and preferably have a over 2 gallon compressor. I managed with a 2 gallon 150 psi but it runs out of air in about 10-12 nails."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland

Great Nailer

Date:June 24, 2013
"Bought this nailer on the advice of a buddy. All I can say is this thing is a beauty.
I am building a house and have used about 2000
3 1/4" nails . Not one problem...no jams ...perfect.
I oil it before I use it . I mainly use the single shot.
Don't waste money on the expensive name brands.
Had to write this because I love a great deal and want other people to save also.
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Good So Far

Date:March 24, 2013
"If you can get it on sale for $99, it is a great deal. The associate working that night told me to buy the nails from Kents because they were cheaper.
I don't find CT sells any good nails that will fit this nailer. I use the Paslode 30 to 34 degree round head nails and they work fine. A little difficult getting the air pressure and depth setting set right so It just barely countersinks the nail.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality for price

Date:December 16, 2012
"I have been using this nailer for the past several months building my house. Orginally purchased for around the house but we decided to build our own and been using this gun. Dropped of roof several times and used in excessive of 10000 nails"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mt Pearl, NL, Canada

Extremely Disappointed

Date:November 2, 2012
"Purchased nailer in June when it was on sale. First opportunity to use it outside of test driving a couple of nails was this past weekend. Drove a maximum of 6 nails before it started to misfire; only partially drive nails; drive a scattered nail; then wouldn't drive any nails at all. When the trigger was depressed, air was being released around trigger, but no firing action at all. Literally, less than a sleeve of nails (40) were driven in total. Even though the nailer was literally brand new, because it was purchased >90 days ago, the store would not exhange. Rather, I had to bring the nailer in for servicing under the warranty conditions. The repair facility just informed me the "Driver" is damaged and it will take at least another week to obtain the necessary part. The repair facility acknowledged the nailer was brand new and the problem appears to be a manufacturer's defect, i.e. nothing to do amount or type of use. Not impressed and greatly disappointed that a brand new tool will not work from the start and I am greatly inconvenienced. Interesting that my problem is the same as or very similar to other reviews on this product."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Trenton, ON, Canada

Perfect for the DIY

Date:August 27, 2012
"This framing nailer is perfect for the DIY member of the house. Easy to use and adjustable, along with a light weight, I cannot imagine framing my basement without it."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DIY Workhorse

Date:August 15, 2012
"We bought two of these nailers to build our cottage. Well over 4,500 nails have been driven per gun and no problems so far. With this kind of use, some of the nuts and bolts have become loose. Nothing that regular tightening, cleaning and oiling wont fix. Jams are rare, and easy to clear. Paslode nails work best with this gun - we use the 3-1/4 inch and 2-3/8 inch hdg ring shanked nails the most."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sussex, NB, Canada

gun

Date:July 30, 2012
"i would not buy this gun again it is junk. it fell apart 4 times. I had to replace it four times as well and if the number 5 is the same i will go and get my money back and buy one that at a better place it mite cost more but it wont fall apart"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Steep learning curve & Tricky

Date:June 20, 2012
"A lot of users complain that the nailer simply wouldn't shoot nails and I know what they are talking about.
The hammer that gets pressurized to push the nail has to return to its chamber after each shot. However that hammer doesn't return to its chamber so easily.
So when that hammer gets stuck, it cannot get behind the next nail and thus doesn't push in any more nails.
The trick is how you release the trigger after every shot. (And using a lot of lube)
There are two stages to each shot:
1 - Press the trigger - BANG! - The sound of the hammer shooting out.
2 - Release the trigger - FOOP! - The sound of the hammer being sucked back in the chamber.
If you don't release the trigger in stage 2 at a PERFECT time, the hammer won't return properly and you will have a jam.
My recommendation is to practice with the gun WITHOUT nails. That way, after each practice shot, you can look in the barrel if the hammer went back far enough. Once you get the hang of timing the two stages of the trigger action, you'll get every 9 nails out of 10!
For 75$, it's worth the effort of learning to use it."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:calgary, AB

Not very good

Date:March 10, 2012
"Bought this item on sale. Good thing too. It literally fell apart with the first job. Went back to the store for replacement so I could finish the job and got a hassle from customer service saying the warranty only covered repair. Got a replacement from the manager and completed the project. Would never buy this item at regular price."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

2 framing nailers; both didn't work

Date:February 29, 2012
"I got the first nailer, read the instructions, decided I will use the bump fire mode (black trigger). Replace the trigger, put 6 drops oil in, put my paslode nails in, plugged it into my 10 gallon compressor. Shot my first nail perfectly, still holding trigger, pressed down to fire 2nd nail: Nothing. Release trigger: it shoots but no nail comes out. Dissatisfied, I take the nailer back, second nailer, same thing except this one won't fire nails at all it just makes a loud sound but no nail gets shot. This time, I call the information line, they tell me take it to get it repaired. I JUST GOT IT NEW and they want me to get it repaired?? We'll see what the tech says and if I have any more problems with it after its repaired I'm getting my money back and looking at other brands. Also, at CT the guy in front of me was returning his 3rd mastercraft nailer (flooring) in a row."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON

Decided to give it a 2nd chance.

Date:August 28, 2011
"I bought this nailer a couple of weeks ago on sale for $89.95. After about 30 nails, a few double shots and a jam, the unit failed completely - all that what happening was air blowing right through it. Based on all the positive reviews here, I decided to exchange it instead of getting my money back. The replacement unit works flawlessly. So far, I driven over 7500 nails (various sizes) and haven't had any double shots and not a single jam. It uses 31 to 34 degree nails which are readily available just about anywhere (I used Paslode nails). Contrary to some of the other reviews, this unit is not made of plastic - the entire housing is made of metal painted blue. I have 4 other nailers made by Rigid which are excellent but I would put this unit right up there with them and for the price, it was difficult to go wrong. All in all, it was a great buy - it was just unfortunate that I got a flawed unit the first time around but then again, it could happen with any make of tool."
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:wpg manitoba

love this nailer

Date:June 18, 2011
"`just finished building a fence, and went thru about 2000 2 inch ringed shank nails,, the more i use it the better it worked, a couple of double nail misfires and a couple of jams, but i learned to very quickly to unjam it. bought it on sale last year for cheap. and it works fine with nails that are clipped at 30 degress."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than a hammer

Date:March 25, 2011
"No jams so far (approx 2000 shots). Occasional double shots when in single fire mode - best advice I can give is pull, hold for a second and release although had a "william tell" when doing that once.
Some toe nail shots need a manual whack if getting them flush is an issue. Shallower angle shots get better results - just tilt the base of the magazine an inch off the wood is normally enough, but does need a somewhat stronger grip.
Make sure the exhaust vent is aimed away from your face - it WILL blow the spectacles right off your nose.
Overall an excellent buy when on sale - my use is sporadic enough to make the purchase attractive around the $100 price point."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Perth ON

Impressed....

Date:January 1, 2011
"It's nice to own a tool that I truly enjoy using. So does my father in law. Now I just have to get it back from him.
I got it for Christmas as an addition to my growing air tool collection.
What a labour saver. When you add the set-up for the compressor and all, not so much a time saver. I don't care though. I feel much more efficient and my arm is much better at the end of the project. I love this thing! Anyone want to buy a used hammer????"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome Nailer

Date:September 27, 2010
"I bought this nailer last winter on sale for 1/2 price and have used it to build a firewood shed and a 100' fence. The manual says 31-34 degree nails but I used the Paslode 30 degree, 2" ringed nails from Home Depot without an issue. Never jammed once. The last nail in a pack will fall out but is easily rectified by reloading before you reach that point. I used the bump mode to install the fence boards and it made the job 10X faster then a conventional hammer. I'll never use a hammer again!"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Danger - No nails available

Date:September 10, 2010
"No regular hardware store carries 34 degree nails. CT has them but only smooth sided.
Almost impossible to find ardoc or ringed 34 degree nails. Check the internet ... good luck. I'm not using smooth sided nails for my new garage. I'm fixing my old nailer and using 28 to 30 degree ardoc nails which are way more common.
"
-24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Québec, QC

Good framing nailer for fair price

Date:August 30, 2010
"Purchased this nailer (1/2 price on special) to use with the 5 gal. twin tank compressor.
First time I shot a nail through it, the mastercraft logos on each side fell to the ground. I wasn't impressed, but I figured as long as the gun shot nails, I didn't care about cosmetics.
I've built our shed over the last several weekends with this nailer and I have to say it is performing quite well. The unit is quite heavy I find, but if you want to shell out big bucks you could always get a magnesium nailer which would shave a couple of pounds off the package. I've used approx. 2000 nails through it and everything has worked well.
I've noticed that if you fail to insert more nails into the nail gun, the last nail will usually fall to the ground once you fire the second to last nail...no biggy.
I've used pastole 31-34 degree nails in it, mainly because they are available at a rental center near where I live in 40 nail "clips".
I've also noticed that if you leave your finger on the trigger for a split second to long, it does shoot 2 nails in rapid succession. I didn't seem to have a problem with this, however it happened to several different friends that came over to help out.
Finally, I might of not used it properly, but the 1 time I tried the sequential "bump" mode, it did not work. No biggy once more, I like the added safety of the single mode."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3