Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer

Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer

Mastercraft 3-1/2" Framing Nailer features a hardened one-piece piston for professional application, open nose design for easy extraction of jammed nailsTool-free depth adjustment for varying materialsAdjustable knob for sequential or contact firingLong-lasting rubber grip for added comfortRear-load
Average Customer Rating:
4.031 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
56 of 64(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Review 1 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mission, BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Mastercraft Framing Nailer

Date:December 8, 2014
" I bought this on sale after reading the reviews. The first one had a leak in the seal and bled off air. I returned it and the second one had a frozen nail driver and didn't work at all. The staff at Canadian Tire were great and I replaced it with a Paslode for an extra $50.00. The Paslode works great. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seafoam, NS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Value

Date:October 24, 2014
" Great product, it came in extremely handy when I was building my garage. I had no real issues with it, other than getting used to the weight and size of it. Bought at sale price. You cannot go wrong with this product. Keep up the good work Mastercraft! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male

Good handyman quality tool

Date:October 23, 2014
" I've owned one of these for over a year and it has never failed me for home use. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ancaster, Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

great nailer - great value

Date:October 22, 2014
" I used it to build storage on my backyard. it was great, light and the most important heavy duty. Hopefully it will pass the next project. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ajax Ontario
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works well

Date:October 22, 2014
" Bought this and have used it around the house for a basement and shed project. Works really well only jammed a couple times - I suspect it may have been the nails more so than the gun. Bolts vibrated lose and need constant tightening or locktite "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Workhorse!

Date:August 13, 2014
" I bought this nailer to build a cedar fence in my backyard and it was a champ! Over 120 feet of fence and 2,500 nails and it didn't jam once. I put a couple drops of oil in it before I started and it performed consistently throughout the project.
This tool made the difference for me between building the fence myself and paying someone to do it. Saved me thousands of dollars! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

CHEAPLY MANUFACTURED

Date:July 8, 2014
" I bought this nailer on sale with the palm nailer included. The palm nailer is great. I used around 4 too 4500 nails with the framing nailer and 4 screws vibrated out of it. It jammed on me around a dozen times, and sometimes spent about 15 minutes to free up, (very frustrating) Keep in mind that I only oiled it once shooting all these nails. I would put the extra money with it and buy a bostitch. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Goodbye Hammer

Date:May 29, 2014
" Using a framing gun is so much better than nailing. Get it on sale and it is even better. Great product! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eastern Ontario
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great purchase

Date:May 27, 2014
" This gun is a great piece of kit for the DIY people. It probably would not make a commercial tool but for the "weekend warrior" it is great. I bought this two years ago when it came on sale. I did not use it before my son borrowed it to build a shed and finish a basement. No jams, misfires or other problems using Mastercraft 34 degree clipped head nails. When I got it back I finished a screenhouse at the cottage and some other projects at the lake. No problems whatsoever. It also has a 3 year warrantee and CT will exchange it or give you your money back if you staple your bill to the owners' manual. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ok

Date:May 21, 2014
" Not a bad tool but wait for it to come on sale, the casing is all plastic so its not going to last for ever. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tool

Date:May 20, 2014
" Saving time with building the framework of you new addition or whatever your job is will help you move on to the next scheduled task! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got this on sale, amazing nailer

Date:May 1, 2014
" Connected to a small pancake compressor, it does the trick perfectly. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Master Blaster

Date:November 8, 2013
" Yah its honking big and yah it huffs BIG, but zero misfires on over 500 nails. I oil it every day and sometimes more. The only way its going to seize is if the operator doesn't maintain it. Wear the glasses, keep your hands away from the contact point and wear hearing protection. Its only dangerous if you let your guard down. I bought a larger container of oil as mine leaked in the case and CT sent me a credit for more oil. Service was great on my one contact with the help line. :) "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't even consider this tool

Date:August 27, 2013
" Totally useless at driving nails. The basic flaw is that the gun breaks off the nail head this causes misfires and jams the gun so it can't fire. The worst power tool I have ever used. Tried 3 boxes of nails (all CT) and the gun is useless.
Cylinder head bolt "unscrewed" about 1/4" on its own, they include wrenches to tighten it, but no tools for unjamming the nail heads. "
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Buy for everyday use

Date:August 7, 2013
" Used this tool to make 2 rooms in my house and have nailed over 1500 nails without a problem. The tip of the gun broke from everyday transportation but still works without it. Also has a double nail feature.
Side note if you are buying this product you should make sure to use the oils correctly and preferably have a over 2 gallon compressor. I managed with a 2 gallon 150 psi but it runs out of air in about 10-12 nails. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland

Great Nailer

Date:June 24, 2013
" Bought this nailer on the advice of a buddy. All I can say is this thing is a beauty.
I am building a house and have used about 2000
3 1/4" nails . Not one problem...no jams ...perfect.
I oil it before I use it . I mainly use the single shot.
Don't waste money on the expensive name brands.
Had to write this because I love a great deal and want other people to save also.
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Good So Far

Date:March 24, 2013
" If you can get it on sale for $99, it is a great deal. The associate working that night told me to buy the nails from Kents because they were cheaper.
I don't find CT sells any good nails that will fit this nailer. I use the Paslode 30 to 34 degree round head nails and they work fine. A little difficult getting the air pressure and depth setting set right so It just barely countersinks the nail.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality for price

Date:December 16, 2012
" I have been using this nailer for the past several months building my house. Orginally purchased for around the house but we decided to build our own and been using this gun. Dropped of roof several times and used in excessive of 10000 nails "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mt Pearl, NL, Canada

Extremely Disappointed

Date:November 2, 2012
" Purchased nailer in June when it was on sale. First opportunity to use it outside of test driving a couple of nails was this past weekend. Drove a maximum of 6 nails before it started to misfire; only partially drive nails; drive a scattered nail; then wouldn't drive any nails at all. When the trigger was depressed, air was being released around trigger, but no firing action at all. Literally, less than a sleeve of nails (40) were driven in total. Even though the nailer was literally brand new, because it was purchased >90 days ago, the store would not exhange. Rather, I had to bring the nailer in for servicing under the warranty conditions. The repair facility just informed me the "Driver" is damaged and it will take at least another week to obtain the necessary part. The repair facility acknowledged the nailer was brand new and the problem appears to be a manufacturer's defect, i.e. nothing to do amount or type of use. Not impressed and greatly disappointed that a brand new tool will not work from the start and I am greatly inconvenienced. Interesting that my problem is the same as or very similar to other reviews on this product. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 3½-in. Framing Nailer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Trenton, ON, Canada

Perfect for the DIY

Date:August 27, 2012
" This framing nailer is perfect for the DIY member of the house. Easy to use and adjustable, along with a light weight, I cannot imagine framing my basement without it. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4