Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butane Torch

Butane Torch

Butane powered torch with child-resistant automatic ignition systemAdjustable, wind-resistant flameCompact size and ergonomic gripApplications include brazing, soldering, chef's torch, plumbing, automotive and truck repairs, electronic repairComes with table top standState-of-the-art piezo electroni
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
5 of 10(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Butane Torch
Review 1 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works great for creme brulee

Date:May 2, 2014
"I bought this just before Christmas to make creme brulee's for dessert. I found that it worked as said but requires refilling quite often. All around it's good for small jobs and kitchen needs."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great torch

Date:April 27, 2014
"I use this all day, every day for work and it has worked flawlessly for the past 8 months or so. Everyone commenting that it's hard to fill and does not fill completely must ride the short bus. It holds quite a bit of fuel and takes probably 20-30 seconds of constant filling and seems like a pretty simple task to me."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Alright, certainly not the best.

Date:January 10, 2014
"Bought one a year ago, and it has worked well ever since, but signs of it being an inferior product definitely show. The ignition feels cheap, the chrome barrel is loose, and there is some wiggle between the black base and the blue upper. My particular brand of butane refill slightly catches the base around the refill port as well. That being said the tank seems to last quite a while, the ignition does work 99% of the time, and the overall flame output is nice I guess, but I do wish there was more flame adjustability."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:montreal

torch

Date:February 28, 2013
"worst ever invest in a high quality one people
bought it doesnt have any butane had to buy that extra cost then filling it , the bottle leaking everywhere
"
-11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

waste of money

Date:January 11, 2013
"good inside i guess but if you need a torch to use in the wind and snow, look somewhere else. bought it to clear my side mirrors, shouldn't have."
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:toronto, on

Mediocre Torch

Date:July 4, 2012
"It works okay but flame is not as big or hot as a friend's butane torch.
It's hard to refill, and doesn't seem to fill completely, leading to frequent refilling.
It's started sputtering after only a few uses.
Ignition feels cheap and is difficult to light.
-Engineer
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Handy Torch

Date:April 6, 2012
"This is an excellent torch! I was in need of a torch to solder a couple bolts onto a metal pipe, so I looked online and this torch was on sale! I went right away to the closest Canadian Tire and I had to purchase it. It is the perfect size and it contains a lot of power. The torch worked great for soldering the bolts and it is very easy to use. It also has a child-resistance system which is great when I use the torch in the house for creme brulee and my nieces around. I highly recommend this torch, it is worth the price and gets the job done."
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, BC

Returned this torch!

Date:October 9, 2010
"I bought this torch thinking it would do a better job than my large propane torch for repairing my radiator in my truck. I found the torch very hard to fill. I had a hard time lighting it and keeping the flame lit.
I ended up getting out my old trusty awkward propane torch, and got the job done.
This torch might be good for small repairs, but steer clear of it for any large projects or heavy duty work."
-16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Terrific butane torch

Date:May 23, 2008
"I must agree with the other reviewer - this is truly an excellent torch! My old butane torch gave out on me and I needed to replace it quickly. I checked on-line here and found this torch, and that it was in stock at my closest Canadian Tire, so I went out right away and purchased it and wow! I am really impressed with the power on this small lightweight torch. It's far better than my old one and the price is a great deal too...
I'm extremely pleased with my purchase. I love my torch. I use it for soldering small jewelry pieces and components and it works like a charm. I highly recommend this torch - very easy to use and very easy to fill up too.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Butane Torch
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, Ontario

Great Torch for Hobbiests

Date:February 18, 2008
"This is a great little torch for hobbyists’ involved in model aircraft, railroading or R/C.
Although not suitable for soldering electrical wires, it does a great job on thick wire, copper and brass (with the appropriate solder and flux. The flame is quite adjustable and the base is large enough to make it stable while sitting on the workbench.
My only disappointment is the automatic sparker which frequently takes two or three attempts to get a light."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?