Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Sockets or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set

Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set

Set features specially designed metric sockets that can remove rusted rounded bolts and nuts. It captures the bolt for easy removable, and also holds on to it during installationGrip-Tite will capture and hold the fastener while you remove it, even at a vertical angle.Camming technology provides extra gripping power when compared to conventional sockets.7 pieces included
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Review 1 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Useful sockets

Date:March 20, 2014
"So I bought a set of these deep socket version to remove a couple of 14mm nuts threaded upside on a car's engine mount assembly. By looking a the sockets the only thing that worried me was the plastic ring that held those gripping teeth together. I m guessing if someone was to force those teeth to bend hard enough to grip something too small its size, the plastic ring will probably break as a result. For my case, the fastener was in good condition, but just in a hard place to get a regular socket on. Once this socket got a grip on, it held on really tight. Those nuts were torqued down to at least 100ft.lb, so I was happy to remove it without the fear of stripping them either."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Save your money for something better!

Date:October 10, 2013
"I bought this set in hope's it would remove a 14mm harden steel bolt on my vehicle. The bolt was rounded so much that even this set couldn't get a bite. It kept slipping. I suppose this set would work on bolts that just started to round out but if they are extremely rounded out, like they advertise on the package, you'll find these are useless. The construction of these are really cheap. The metal pin's inside are attached by a plastic ring. Although I didn't experience this but I have read in other people's experience, the ring will break. This product does say lifetime warranty but, do you really want to pay for shipping and wait weeks for the replacements to come to your door?
I ended up taking this product back CT for a full refund.
I would not recommend."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Saved me!

Date:May 14, 2013
"I had some spline lug nuts on my GT that required a specialized socket, which of course failed! Now I only have 3 of 4 wheels on the car and I am stuck. The Grip Tite socket (17mm) made short work of the splined lugs so I could replace with a traditional acorn nut. The sockets are well built, capable of extracting a tough nut and I would recommend the product highly if used properly. Quite a pleasant surprise. Now onto other rusted, rounded bolts!"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

Worked on a worst case scenario

Date:May 14, 2013
"I had to remove a very very very insanely tightened and rounded 9/16 bolt on my car engine and this kit saved me a lot of headache. Once it got a grip, I used both of my arms and I applied a heck of a lot of strength. It worked!
I do consider that bolt to be a worst case scenario because of the extreme roundness and the short wall that allowed little grip surface.
I am confident that the kit works well with smaller bolts. Bigger bolts(relative to 9/16) are less challenging because they are not prone to a lot of rounding and they are not located in hard to reach places such as a car engine. Bigger bolts also have long walls that allow good grip."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor materials and a design that is lacking.

Date:March 31, 2013
"I purchased the set to remove a few rounded bolts on my car. One bolt head was further rounded and one of the metal grip teeth inside one of the other sockets (all of which are held in place by a plastic ring) broke off on the first try. In short, the materials seem to be cheap and the design lacking."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough

Date:September 21, 2012
"Bought this on sale,thought it was junk. Then had to remove a 16mm caliper mounting bolt. My regular socket set (like most) had no 16mm socket, so I decided to try this. Couldn't turn bolt with1/2in rachet so put socket on 36" power bar. Took all I could put on it, but, to my suprise, did not break. Took out bolt, no problem. Have since used (abused) several times . Can't speak for the small sockets, but the large ones take a real beating."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, ab

Life Saver

Date:June 10, 2012
"I couldn't remove a rusty stripped so I called a mechanic and he tried to grind it down and still couldn't do it. I bought this set and turned it free first try. Its a must have for working on older rusty bolt cars."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:ontario

terrible product

Date:April 10, 2012
"I am writing this review to warn anyone interested in this product, these sockets are total garbage. I was trying to change out a damaged and rounded oil plug, I snapped 3 of these sockets within 10 minutes of working, now I gotta figure out how to get my cash back, called the company asked for new ones so I can take em back as soon as possible. These are gimmick tools, the web site claims they are pro tested, well this pro did and they are trash. no reliabilty, no durability, spend your money elsewhere."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island

Worked great for me!

Date:April 1, 2012
"My trucks engine oil drain plug was over tightened so when I tried to loosen it with standard ratchet set I had rounded off the bolt.
Bought a set of Grip Tites and the bolt came right out, I was amazed how well it worked!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL

Grip Tite Sockets

Date:February 11, 2012
"This product had horrible reliability. The first bolt that I tried to remove snapped the metal grip arm.
The grip arms are only held in by thin clear plastic.
Would not recommend this product - try something different to remove tough nuts/bolts."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Snapped under VERY little pressure

Date:January 1, 2012
"brand new set, didnt even last a min, snapped the socket in less than 15 seconds, did not hold up well under pressure."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Grip-Tite Rusted Bolt Remover Metric Socket Set
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:mississauga

save me a lot of time

Date:August 12, 2011
"I replace my struts, the pitchn bolt was totally rusted I use this socket plus heat and come off easily, I really recomend this product"
-14points
Was this review helpful to you?