Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader

Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader

Point, click and readBuilt in laser pointerSwitch from Fahrenheit to Celsius readingsInstant accurate responseFor automotive, commercial and home useEasy to useCompact an lightweightErgonomic design
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
22 of 28(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Review 1 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

essential kitchen tool

Date:November 14, 2014
"i bought this during CT's black friday 2013 sale when it was like 80% off, not knowing what i would use it for. since then it has become the quintessential cooking tool. perfect compliment to a thermopen
i use it to measure skillet temps before putting food on (400 degrees to sear meat, etc), or to measure coffee before drinking (120 degrees) or baby formula before serving (120 degrees too).
I use it several times each dinner prep every night and wouldn't hesitate to buy another if i had to."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Big Sky Country

The latest model works well!

Date:August 15, 2014
"Caveat Emptor… there are two distinct models being sold under the same Product# and will likely be displayed together. The packaging is very similar. The revised model includes expanded temp range (-30C – 480C/-22F – 896F), switchable back-lit display and is adjustable for emissivity. Display/spot ratio remains at 8:1. The laser is specified as Class IIIa (old classification system). The revised model appears to be reasonably accurate and demonstrates good repeatability. Planned usage is to check towed RV brake temp during fuel stops etc."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Not even when on sale

Date:March 21, 2013
"Readings are completely inconsistant. I tried to use it outside to check inside/outside temps around the garage. Checking the brick work - 4 or 5 readings in a row and the first couple are ambient and then it just gets silly - either 10 or 15 degrees above or 10 degrees below. Not reliable."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal Qc

Cooking assistant!

Date:December 22, 2012
"No more messy thermometers to clean (or accidentally break) when preparing a pudding, pasteurizing milk for yoghourt e t c.
My wife liked it a lot and so did I.
Temperature reading close enough to 100 C when boiling water.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mount Forest, ON

Makes a great cat toy!

Date:January 28, 2012
"I originally bought this on sale to check for drafts around our home, and while it works adequately for this purpose, it makes a way better cat toy!
Hold the trigger and aim the laser the floor, walls, even the ceiling and watch your cats run like mad!
Nevermind a dog whistle - we have a cat beeper! As soon as they hear the beep from this reader they all come running to play.
Oh, it's also handy for checking temperatures too ;-)"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

neat

Date:January 25, 2012
"Neat and fun, that's the only reason I bought it :). I stand at my back door and point it at my backyard rink and it tells me the surface temperature. On a day where the ambient temperature is above zero it reports zero C as expected (because the ice is melting). As the ambient temperature drops below zero I can measure the change on the ice surface as it refreezes and also drops below zero. Kind of useful - I know when it's worth resurfacing after a melt.
I'm sure it has more practical uses as well.... for the sale price who cares.
Note, it is limited to 600F. That seems to be the limit of all cheap temperature guns. It's not high enough for some applications. e.g. to check the temperature of metal one is heating for the purpose of brazing.
I have no idea about durability. I've only owned it for a day and haven't dropped it yet."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fredericton N.B.

Very very handy tool

Date:March 11, 2011
"I use mine to get a consistent reading of the temperature of various pellets burning in my pellet stove. I point the beam at the same spot for each brand of pellets and can get an objective comparison of the heat produced, thus avoiding wasting money on pellets that produce less heat for the same (or worse, more) money per bag. I tried using this to find cold spots in the wall to check insulation heat losses, but it didn't seem to give reliable results for this purpose. Over the 4 years or so I have used this, no problems to report, still using the same 9V battery."
+36points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

works

Date:December 5, 2010
"The temp gun works as expected. The smaller the surface area to be measured the closer you have to be so the areas around it don’t affect the reading. I use this for checking temps on a RC truck motor and need to be close to get an accurate reading. I was able to get a consistent reading off a larger wall in my house from random distances starting at across the room to being a couple inches away. Each reading was within a degree or 2 of each other."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Handy item

Date:October 19, 2010
"I use my temperature gauge quite a bit, especially in the winter months. It helps my easily identify areas that I am experiencing heat loss. It is very easy to use. You just point and depress the trigger. You can hold it down, and check a number areas, with the memory tracking the highest temperature reading. Or you can just use the trigger to spot check. The device turns off after a few seconds of inactivity and the batteries get pretty good shelf lives."
+34points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Georgetown, ON

Distance affects reading

Date:October 6, 2010
"Bought this to search for air leaks around windows and determine vent temperature as my home's upper floor is fairly cold. Temperature indicator is acceptable if looking to see a relative difference in temperature between one spot to another. However, even if your windows are perfectly sealed, you will still see a temperature drop at the window so tough to know if you have an air leak or not. Distance also affects the reading. The closer you are to the spot you're pointing to, the less the reading is affected by the ambient temperature surrounding the reader. For instance, test this on a heat source: if you have halogen recessed lighting (caution, they get extremely hot), from a few feet away, a reading of 30C is normal (close to ambient temperature). 1cm from the bulb, over 300C ! On sale, it's a decent purchase. At regular price, save your money."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very basic tool

Date:July 9, 2010
"Echoing other reviewers, this tool can give you a very basic idea of temperature readings for window or door drafts.
If you are looking to obtain an accurate set of consistent readings however, I wouldn't recommend this one."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:West Island, Montreal, QC

Buy it only when on sale

Date:April 11, 2010
"I picked this unit up on sale for $28.97.
The unit has an 8:1 ratio, in other words, the sample spot being measured is 1 inch when 8 inches away from the gun, 2 inch spot at 16 inches, etc. Good temp guns usually don't go lower than 12:1; pro temp guns are usually 16 or 20:1. Accuracy is OK at best, if you need higher invest in a pro tool.
This temp gun will work fairly well for most DIYers who are looking to track temperature loss or gains around the house. Don't expect more that what this unit can deliver. Remember, temperature is dynamic in most situations, so there will be fluctuations in the readings.
I would only recommend it for the above mentioned use and from a costing point of view, buy it ONLY when it's on sale."
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Burlington Ontario

The jury is still out on this one.

Date:December 31, 2009
"I am not 100% convinced that this is a great tool. I took multiple readings around a window sill and never got the same reading twice (???????). It will give you an idea that there is a draft or cold spot, but without an accurate reading. I practiced doing readings on some objects where I knew its temperature within a few degrees. An ice cube for example. I took three readings and got 36, 41 and 39 degrees respectively. According to the readings, I should not have ice cubes. All in all, it will give you an idea of where a heating or cooling problem may lie. Just don’t expect facts. Don't pay full price for this tool."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An excellent resource

Date:December 30, 2009
"This is a great product for finding the cold spots in a home. After going through a complete home energy audit and making some significant insulation changes I still had a cold draft coming from somewhere. I was able to pinpoint an under a window where a cold spot was found. I took off the trim and found that the sill lacked insulation. Well worth the investment."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oshawa Ontario

cool gadget

Date:April 9, 2009
"I got this on sale for about $25.
cool toy for that price, it was a want, not a needed thing. I ran all over the house the day I got it taking the temperature of everything.
now I just use it to see if my coffee is cool enough to drink. 60oC.
it seems very accurate, just read the instructions, it's not difficult to use.
one day I may even need to use this thing for a real purpose.
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pickering

Disappointment

Date:March 20, 2009
"The price is inexpensive compared to quality models available for >$100, but you don't get much with this unit. Can't switch off laser or irritating beep sound (I KNOW when I am pulling the trigger!). Surprisingly inaccurate, as it reads indoor temperature of only 14 C when it should read 20-21 C. Body temperature reads anywhere between 28-42 C (open your mouth, take aim at back of your throat), when is should read 37 C, this after unit has been sitting indoors at a stable temperature for hours. I compared this unit's temperature readings to those from a higher quality unit that looks very similar and gave results within +/- 1 C. You get what you pay for, and this cheap version under-performs badly. May work better at higher temperatures. Watch for it at my next yard sale."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Handy Tool

Date:February 28, 2009
"This is a handy little tool when you're attempting to measure warm or hot temperatures and appears to provide relatively accurate temperatures for most surfaces. Because it's non-contact, I've used it primarily for checking the temperature of electronics (try putting a thermometer into a computer and measuring the temperature of a chip). Although the specifications say it is good to something like -30C, my experience is that somewhere between 0C and 10C it becomes very inaccurate, so don't use it for checking the temperature of your refrigerator or freezer. As per durability, I've dropped it about a metre onto a wooden floor half a dozen times and it still functions well."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Effective measurements and great price!

Date:February 20, 2009
"For $30 on sale one can't go wrong. It's great to have around the kitchen for cooking. One kick in the pants is that it's no good for some products as they require an internal temp reading such as meats. Still, it works great for del dente pasta as I can better regulate the temperature. My stove doesn't have temp settings for the burners, only the oven. It's great for checking for broken weather stripping around doors and windows, as well as pipe outlets around the utility room!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON

A very-worthwhile product.

Date:November 21, 2008
"A recent purchase. It will be used by me, family, and friends to check for heat-loss areas in the homes we live in and it will pay for itself in no time at all!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Clayton, On

Using infra-red thermometers

Date:September 22, 2008
"Note that when using an inexpensive infra-red thermometer that they will only give any kind of accuracy for something fairly non-reflective. This is beacuse the emissivity setting is fixed (usually about .95 - pretty close to non-reflective). This is accurate for a lot of stuff around the house, but reflective surfaces will give innaccurate results unless you reduce the reflectivity. You could apply a little flat black paint (allow it to dry, though), or try some masking tape."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2