Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader

Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader

Point, click and readBuilt in laser pointerSwitch from Fahrenheit to Celsius readingsInstant accurate responseFor automotive, commercial and home useEasy to useCompact an lightweightErgonomic design
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
0
1 star
8
29 of 40(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Review 1 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:ontario
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

eats batteries like crazy

Date:July 12, 2016
" The pro is it works okay
The con is it eats batteries like crazy. Brand new battery lasted three readings, picked it up to use it two days later and dead.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Accurate Readings

Date:May 30, 2016
" Received accurate readings and the laser pointer ensures you're hitting the right spot. Instructions and extra features were a little over complicated for something I just want to point click and get a reading, but presumably somebody would benefit from the ability to track temps and set alarms for high / low temps "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Good product with professional features

Date:May 16, 2016
" Easy to point and read the temperature for quick information, but has features like emissivity adjustment for a more accurate reading. Audible alarm if temperature reaches adjustable high or low set points. Laser, used for a visual reading reference, can be turned off if needed. As with any tool, reading and understanding the manual is a must to use this tool accurately. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St Albert, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Interesting Little Device

Date:May 13, 2016
" If you ever need to know where the cold spots are this is the device for you. Drafty doors or windows, poorly insulated walls or overworked wiring are clearly discernible with this reader. Just point the laser at the area you want to monitor and a reading will be displayed. A word of caution though. Read the instructions. The reader is only accurate if calibrated properly. Otherwise the results are approximations only. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Very accurate

Date:February 11, 2016
" Not sure why some people complain about this thermometer accuracy, I bought it a year ago and I find it very accurate, I compare it to other thermometers and it was almost identical "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Inaccurate and Inconsistent

Date:January 22, 2016
" I purchased this thermometer on sale after finding that my previous MasterCraft infrared thermometer worked exceptionally well (and still does). Unfortunately, this newly designed one is very inaccurate and inconsistent, even at room temperature. In a room that has been steadily at 22C for hours, a piece of flat white paper was shown as 15. Then the same spot measured again showed it was 10. Then 13. My old one showed 21.9 - 22.2, which is very accurate. Save your money and buy one that has better accuracy and consistency. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Espanola, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader return

Date:December 5, 2015
" Received as a gift at a sporting event. Not happy with it. I have no receipt, can it be returned to CTC. "
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Essex, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Rarely used, just over 1 year old and it's dead

Date:October 22, 2015
" Bought in August, 2014 and used it to check exhaust temps on my motorcycle. Then used it around the house now and then for various things. Picked it up yesterday and it won't turn on. Bought a new battery which made no difference. This item was used no more than 10 times over the course of 14 months and is now dead, 2 months past warranty. Not recommended. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk

Date:April 25, 2015
" Purchased today and will be going back tomorrow.Took readings of fridge and freezer.Freezer set at 0 and readings were from 2 to 27 degrees depending on were you aimed.Black fry pan read at 194 with a calibrated accurate therm read 254 with this. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Readings Unstable and Outside Specifications

Date:December 31, 2014
" The 1st reading taken with this device is pretty accurate. However, as you use the device every 10 secs continuously, after approx 5 mins the temperature reading drops by 12 deg F in a room that is temperature controlled at 70 deg F.
I took measurements of the same areas of drywall and wood maintained at 70F. The readings dropped down gradually to 57.5 F over a period of 5 or 6 mins. This is way out of spec (+/- 4F).
The device appears to not have any internal temperature compensation and as the internal circuity heats up the measurements drop.
I have tried 3 different devices and all of them function identically.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

lo

Date:December 28, 2014
" what does( lo) mean i want a reading not an (lo) please help "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

essential kitchen tool

Date:November 14, 2014
" i bought this during CT's black friday 2013 sale when it was like 80% off, not knowing what i would use it for. since then it has become the quintessential cooking tool. perfect compliment to a thermopen
i use it to measure skillet temps before putting food on (400 degrees to sear meat, etc), or to measure coffee before drinking (120 degrees) or baby formula before serving (120 degrees too).
I use it several times each dinner prep every night and wouldn't hesitate to buy another if i had to. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Big Sky Country

The latest model works well!

Date:August 15, 2014
" Caveat Emptor… there are two distinct models being sold under the same Product# and will likely be displayed together. The packaging is very similar. The revised model includes expanded temp range (-30C – 480C/-22F – 896F), switchable back-lit display and is adjustable for emissivity. Display/spot ratio remains at 8:1. The laser is specified as Class IIIa (old classification system). The revised model appears to be reasonably accurate and demonstrates good repeatability. Planned usage is to check towed RV brake temp during fuel stops etc. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Not even when on sale

Date:March 21, 2013
" Readings are completely inconsistant. I tried to use it outside to check inside/outside temps around the garage. Checking the brick work - 4 or 5 readings in a row and the first couple are ambient and then it just gets silly - either 10 or 15 degrees above or 10 degrees below. Not reliable. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal Qc

Cooking assistant!

Date:December 22, 2012
" No more messy thermometers to clean (or accidentally break) when preparing a pudding, pasteurizing milk for yoghourt e t c.
My wife liked it a lot and so did I.
Temperature reading close enough to 100 C when boiling water.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mount Forest, ON

Makes a great cat toy!

Date:January 28, 2012
" I originally bought this on sale to check for drafts around our home, and while it works adequately for this purpose, it makes a way better cat toy!
Hold the trigger and aim the laser the floor, walls, even the ceiling and watch your cats run like mad!
Nevermind a dog whistle - we have a cat beeper! As soon as they hear the beep from this reader they all come running to play.
Oh, it's also handy for checking temperatures too ;-) "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

neat

Date:January 25, 2012
" Neat and fun, that's the only reason I bought it :). I stand at my back door and point it at my backyard rink and it tells me the surface temperature. On a day where the ambient temperature is above zero it reports zero C as expected (because the ice is melting). As the ambient temperature drops below zero I can measure the change on the ice surface as it refreezes and also drops below zero. Kind of useful - I know when it's worth resurfacing after a melt.
I'm sure it has more practical uses as well.... for the sale price who cares.
Note, it is limited to 600F. That seems to be the limit of all cheap temperature guns. It's not high enough for some applications. e.g. to check the temperature of metal one is heating for the purpose of brazing.
I have no idea about durability. I've only owned it for a day and haven't dropped it yet. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fredericton N.B.

Very very handy tool

Date:March 11, 2011
" I use mine to get a consistent reading of the temperature of various pellets burning in my pellet stove. I point the beam at the same spot for each brand of pellets and can get an objective comparison of the heat produced, thus avoiding wasting money on pellets that produce less heat for the same (or worse, more) money per bag. I tried using this to find cold spots in the wall to check insulation heat losses, but it didn't seem to give reliable results for this purpose. Over the 4 years or so I have used this, no problems to report, still using the same 9V battery. "
+36points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

works

Date:December 5, 2010
" The temp gun works as expected. The smaller the surface area to be measured the closer you have to be so the areas around it don’t affect the reading. I use this for checking temps on a RC truck motor and need to be close to get an accurate reading. I was able to get a consistent reading off a larger wall in my house from random distances starting at across the room to being a couple inches away. Each reading was within a degree or 2 of each other. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Digital Temperature Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Handy item

Date:October 19, 2010
" I use my temperature gauge quite a bit, especially in the winter months. It helps my easily identify areas that I am experiencing heat loss. It is very easy to use. You just point and depress the trigger. You can hold it down, and check a number areas, with the memory tracking the highest temperature reading. Or you can just use the trigger to spot check. The device turns off after a few seconds of inactivity and the batteries get pretty good shelf lives. "
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2