Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stanley Stud Sensor 200

Stanley Stud Sensor 200

Stud Sensor 200 features an LCD screen that clearly displays all of the sensor's readingsWood and metal stud detection through up to 3/4" (1.8 cm) deep surface materialAC detection identifies live wires up to 2" (5 cm) deepOnePass™ center-find technology locates stud centersMarking channel improves
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Review 1 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greater Napanee, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Better electrical wire finder than stud finder

Date:November 3, 2014
" Bought this unit to replace a Black and Decker cheapo unit but found the Stanley finder no better than the B & D. If an electrical wire is nearby,forget about finding a stud. The A/C alarms constantly over riding the stud finder function. Buy either a stud finder or a wire finder. This unit does neither very well and when a stud is located it very seldom repeats the same finding,even after a reset.I could find studs easier by soundings.If you require a good stud finder you may have to spend more money but no aggravation,.....possibly.... "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good stud sensor

Date:October 26, 2014
" This is an accurate stud sensor which easily locates studs. Easy to read and durable. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

stud sensor worked on tile bathroom walls

Date:October 19, 2014
" I installed 2 safety bars above a bath tub. 4/4 holes were found with the Stanley Stud sensor 200. I am impressed with the product. Watch the short youtube on how to calibrate, basically never start over a stud and if you do it won't start. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:me

Effectie and Very Useful

Date:October 15, 2014
" I used this stud finder to hang various shelves and mirrors. This stud finder made hanging large and heavy objects a breeze. Very convenient. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works well in most situtaions

Date:March 16, 2014
" I bought this to find studs through the dense sheathing and house wrap on the outside of my house. It worked most of the time, but I had to take more than one reading to be sure.
I also used to find studs behind the ceramic tile in our bathroom. Although the instructions said it did not work through ceramic tile, I found that it worked quite well. I guess it depends on the thickness of the tile. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Kind of works

Date:June 2, 2013
" It managed to find studs on one side of my window but not the other. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, Toronto, ON, Canada

Good Product

Date:June 1, 2013
" Had to Hang up a drape rod easy to use. first time "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park, AB

This Works... Do You Really Need To Pay More?

Date:September 1, 2012
" I've used this unit extensively. We bought a new house last year and I have been wall mounting an 80 pound mirror, heavy metal artwork, speed bag platform, hooks/hangers, and all kinds of heavy artwork. I use it carefully and it's never had me put in a screw or nail in the wall where I'd miss a stud. I've hit the stud that this unit found, every time.
As an added bonus it detects electrical cables (something older stud finders that I grew up with, didn't have). So it's helped me stay away from damaging any electrical cables in the wall.
I've used it a lot, on one battery, and it's still going.
It's light, and may feel a bit flimsy, but I don't need it as a professional work tool (just for my own stuff around the house), so I really have no complaints. "
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Good value for the money!!!

Date:December 17, 2011
" I bought this after returning a Mastercraft Maximum Centrescan Stud Finder which did not work at all.
Put in the 9V battery and lo and behold, it worked like a charm. Detects stud edges as well as AC voltage. So far, has not given any false detections. I measured the stud width detected and it is exactly 1.5" most of the time.
Couldn't be happier.
"
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent purchase for the price

Date:July 24, 2011
" was very sceptical about this product but decided to purchase and worked very well. Would highly recommend it especially for the price. Can't go wrong. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just ok

Date:July 5, 2010
" Have used this stud finder for a while. Works ok for hanging pictures, etc. - but I just renovated my bedroom and it was frustrating finding the studs to fasten trim and crown mouldings. Got lots of false readings and readings that were not repeated. Ended up following the location of the drywall nails behind my baseboard trim. So my judgement is - this is ok for casual use around the house, but for any serious work, it just doesn't cut it. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finds studs

Date:June 17, 2010
" What more can I say? I love the variable depth feature. When finding floor joists on an old house that may have up to 3 layers of flooring it's great! The picture that shows when you hit a stud makes this finder really easy to use. Has quite a few features for the price. Works better than many other stud finders I've tried. Would recommend. "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Total waste of money

Date:August 5, 2009
" I bought this stud finder when I got my first house so that I would have some help hanging pictures. I thought the fact that it also detects wires and current would be a nice safety feature. However, I was disappointed with it from the start and after several months of trying to use it on various projects it has continued to disappoint me.
It will detect a stud on one pass and then not detect it on the way back, or when searching for the same stud at a lower height it will not find it. It also routinely falsely senses studs and shows them to be wider then eight inches. Resetting the unit and changing batteries does little to correct it.
If I could find the receipt, I would demand my money back and warn others that knocking of the wall is better then using this product. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maritimes

Perfect

Date:December 4, 2008
" I have found this stud finder to be very accurate, so much so I don't need to triple check like I used to with others, (like the Zircon model). This stud finder works. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville ON

The right tool at the right price

Date:September 10, 2008
" A simple product that does the job properly and for price that doesn't break the bank "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PERFECT

Date:May 19, 2008
" I would recommend this to any one, I actually bought this one and was a little unsure, didn't really know much about the stanley name. I bought it because it had an lcd screen and different dept selections. I have been very satisfied with this stud finder. I've owned it for maybe 2-3 years, have loaned it out with awesome results, dropped it, smashed it, and hung probably literally hundreds of pictures and have never missed a stud. I love it and use it quite often, have moved 3 times myself so like i said, hung quite a few pics. Awesome at any price won't fail. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Stanley Stud Sensor 200
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2