Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw

Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw

4½" diamond cutting blade1" cutting depth3.5 amp induction motorTable has three tilting positionsAdjustable rip fence45° mitre gaugeS-clamps provide stability while cuttingPlastic water reservoir will not rust
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
13
82 of 105(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Review 1 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good for a small job

Date:August 21, 2014
"I used it to tile a powder room about 25 square feet.
I had hard time installing the blade and adjusting it.
Work okay, for the price when it is on sale 70% off.
It is not worth buying the regular price at all.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Peterborough ON
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

WOW Talk About Mixed Reviews

Date:August 8, 2014
"As I research before I buy, I noted the major discrepency in customer ratings. I bought this saw on sale and feel I overpaid by the full sale price - more if I count the cost of the tile it destroyed. Fence while hard to move and fix in place, seemed to have no trouble moving while cutting the tile perhaps due to vibration and the cutting wheel would not stay tight. I spent more time cleaning the unit up to return it than I did successfully cutting tile."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap Plastic Fence that Flexes

Date:June 20, 2014
"Very disappointed in Mastercraft with this tile saw. The plastic fence is not only VERY difficult to move but more importantly, it is way too cheap and flexible. When you are pushing a large tile through, the middle of the fence flexes out slightly, but enough that the tile will bind when it proceeds further. The tile saw then shuts itself off, you have to push reset and then restart it. The point is though, that it binds due to the flex. The fence should be made out of metal, not cheap plastic! I have had 3 other tile saws in different renovations, and this is by far, the worst."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

very pleased

Date:June 1, 2014
"Easy to work, and since I had alot of tile work to do, I bought it instead of renting one... works great!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wish I'd bought earlier

Date:November 9, 2013
"Before purchasing this, I had already done a backsplash and used an anglegrinder (with diamond wheel) for it.
This wet tile table saw is soooo much easier.
Worth buying for ease of use. Cuts were not too bad. No chips and somewhat straight.
The plastic housing is a good rigid quality"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

save your money

Date:October 25, 2013
"This fence on this will give you trouble almost right away , it is almost impossible to move by hand, iv e had to use a hammer just to move it to the right location, there's a reason why this is 70 % off, put your hard earned money to a better product .."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great tile saw

Date:September 20, 2013
"Finished a large area in kitchen. The saw worked terrific! I had read the reviews before buying this and sometime we need to read between the lines. The fence worked well, clean up was easy. Anybody that has ever used a wet tile saw before knows it is a messy job. If you "have to" use the tile saw indoors prepare your work space accordingly. Plastic on the floor, back drop etc. Best saw for the Buck!!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for home use

Date:September 14, 2013
"Bought this today as I was installing 1/4 inch granite tiles and knew I had to cut several 12 inch tiles down. This saw worked flawlessly. The only comment is I don't see how you'd use it indoors with wet. I cut outside, so no problem, but there is plenty of water sucked to the top of the saw by the blade. It's not a fault just a fact. I also think people should know that other comments here complain about the fence not moving easily. FYI it only moves well when put on with the small white painted arrow facing the front of the saw. Found this out by process of elimination. Anyhow, this saw was ridiculously accurate cutting from blade to fence and probably saved me 2 extra hours, likely countless ruined tiles, and many swears. The cut granite had basically a smooth factory edge when cut. Buy it, even at regular price, if you're doing much tile cutting."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Weyburn, SK, Canada

Works Great

Date:July 2, 2013
"Fence works fine it is stiff but I had not problems moving it even after using it just rinse the grit away. The fence and the blade were square out of the box. I got this on sale for 50 bucks with 5 blades. I used it to cut 12x24 porcelain tile worked like a charm – even 1/4 inch rip along the whole length of the tile. These rip cuts were square, there was no chipping and did not break at the end of the cut. Take your time and do not rush the tile through. It is wet and messy – don’t try using it indoors that is just foolish. This saw works and anyone that has problems probably got a lemon and should have just returned it for another saw or they cannot follow simple directions. I looked at many other saws and because of the comments on this and other budget saws I was about to spend big bucks on a saw. I'm glad I didn't and you will be happy too."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed

Date:May 13, 2013
"I found a few features on this saw that are very poorly designed, which could be changed easily. 1 - The fence is a nightmare. It slides on to the bed & uses two screws to hold it in place. Fine the screws will hold it & are made of brass so they don’t rust, but trying to move the fence is ridiculous. Even clean the fence doesn’t slide very well, not withstanding when there is bits of tile on the bed (as there would be as soon as it’s used once). I had to use all my hand strength to slide it. There could be a simply hinge mechanism like on a number of table saws. So if you have to change size of your cuts more than once or twice, don’t buy this saw. 2 – the blade doesn’t line up with the safety fence/water stop. So you can’t make exact straight cuts. There is no adjusting this, since the screws holes that hold the safety fence just fit the screws. If the hole was more oblong then you could adjust it slightly to eliminate this problem. Finally, the water basin had a lot of edges, that collect the tile debris (the “sawdust”) so cleaning it requires taking it outside & using a hose sprayer.
In summary, even if you’re going to do an easy/amateur job (& this saw is cheaply priced - $50 on sale), I’d spend money on a different one, maybe at a competitor. I would never pay the normal price ($149).
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Product

Date:May 7, 2013
"We have redone our kitchen floor and our bathroom floor tiles and this product was awesome... Very easy to clean afterwards and great to store. I would recommend this to anyone who is doing tile projects."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product

Date:May 4, 2013
"really saves a lot of time and completes with a fantastic look."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada

Exceeded my expectations

Date:April 12, 2013
"I have completed 3 jobs over 2 years with this machine. I bought it on sale thinking that it may last for my 8' x 16' entrance way job and then I would have to throw it out. No way! This thing keeps going! I have since done a 10 X 16 sunroom and a bathroom with some tricky recycled glass mosaic on the walls. Ignore the reviews claiming difficult fence issues, if you are a tradesman or serious DIYer you will respect the fence is tight as it keeps it's tolerance better (perpendicularity and squareness is bang on). Also, it makes noise, so does your fridge, furnace, vacuum etc. We are cutting tile. I finally threw it out because I failed to clean the coolant tray after every use and it built up with cement from the dust. I almost felt guilty that this little thing worked so well for $50. I am buying my next one today."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worked very well

Date:March 11, 2013
"I bought this saw to do a backspalsh job (my first tiling project ever) I got it on sale for $50. It worked
great. I was using 3"X6" tiles and this saw was perfect for the job.
suggested enhancements: the fence as previously mentioned it is a very tight fit to the table so it gets jammed up pretty easily with tile dust and debris.
I also agree that the blade guard should have been clear (see through) to make the blade more visible during cutting
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You get what you paid for

Date:January 6, 2013
"This is not a good wet saw for any kind of detailed work. I attempted to cut marble mosaic tile with this saw and failed miserably. It cuts larger tiles ok, but this is definitely not a great machine if you want to take pride in your tile work."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

wished it had a bigger blade

Date:November 6, 2012
"I had to buy this at the last minute because my old 7 inch tile saw decided to call it quits. This saw has a few better features, including a better water tray, but it does have only a 4.5 inch blade, and a harder to operate fence that gets stuck all the time.
The motor sounds much different and sounds as if it is labouring a bit compared to my other power tools with blades.
All in all, if you want a budget wet saw, it is not bad. I did cut 24 inch by 24 inch porcelain tile on this but I wouldn't recommend doing it if you haven't cut tiles before. I'd hesitate at getting this if you are doing lots of tile cutting or are just about to embark on a large tile project. I only needed it to cut my last three tiles."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kenora, ON P0V, Canada

Good value for the money.

Date:October 28, 2012
"I was pleasantly surprised by this saw. It cut very well and didn't slow down in the least under load. It is noisy and sprays quite a bit of water, but for $50 on sale, you can't go wrong.
The one complaint I do have is the fence. As others have noted, it is near impossible to adjust. It is very tight and both ends need to be adjusted separately. you really have to use a hammer to tap it gently or you can't set it. I only use it for small jobs so I can get by with it. Before the next job I will likely file it a little so it slides easier (it is plastic).
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
beaverpilot98
Thunder Bay, ON
My thoughts exactly
Posted December 14, 2012
For $50 it's pretty darn good. I've been cutting 12 x18 wall tile for a couple of days now and my only complaint is the fence. It wouldn't be hard for the manufacturer to do a better job designing the fence a little better without increasing cost. I did go ahead and trim the fence with my exacto knife where it slides on the rails and this helped quite a bit.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Review 18 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw

Date:October 22, 2012
"I've used this saw to cut 12x24" porcelain tile. Works like a charm. Ignore the comments posted saying it's noisy and splashes, it's just doing it's job, your cutting through tile it's not going to be silent. The blade cover is a bit tricky because you can't see the blade with it on, this should have been made of a clear plastic, after a few cuts you start to get the feel of where exactly the blade is for more accurate cuts.
Set the blade guard to 1/4" above the thickness of your tile, and work outside. After your cut, remove tile from saw, pour water over tile to wash away the tile dust. Purchased this saw on sale, but for the job it's able to do it would be worth full price!
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value

Date:October 19, 2012
"I bought this saw on sale (approx $45) for a kitchen backsplash installation. The saw is noisy, and sprays water all over the place, but it does it's job respectably. Considering that renting a saw will cost close to $30, this is great value for the price."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Wet Tile Saw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent durability!

Date:August 17, 2012
"I was fortunate to get this saw on sale last year and completed a large tile job in the bathroom.
I now look forward to the next two jobs and using this litttle guy again! This saw worked well.
"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 6