Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Saws & Cutting Tools or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A

Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A

Mastercraft Portable Table Saw features a sliding mitre table top that promotes precise cuts with right extension table and rear out-feed support10" (25.5 cm) table saw includes stand120V, 15A, 4,500 rpm, 60HZ, 10" (25.5 cm) bladeRiving knife guard systemSelf-aligning rip fenceStand folds up for eas
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
9
28 of 44(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Review 1 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nelson
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Saw for the money, some quirks

Date:April 24, 2015
" I bought this saw knowing that it was not going to be top of the line and expected some limitations. That said Im very happy with it, and would recommend it to anyone doing light to moderate work with it. I wanted something a little bigger than the Makita job site model I have for home use.
Having read some of the other reviews when I unboxed it I was surprised but not shocked to find the instructions do not cover putting it together in fact there is surprisingly little on the actual assembly, it mostly covers the using of the saw itself, so expect to spend a lot more time setting it up than normal, and keep the box for reference as the picture on the box will help you more than the actual instructions.
You will also need some tools to fine tune the miter gage, blade, fence etc at the very least a roofers square, trisquare etc, the miter gage on the one I bought was out by a few degrees which on longer cuts ads up to a big difference and try as I might I was unable to set it because of how the miter attaches to the table, so I just marked a new notch for 90 deg.
the Saw itself is quite powerful and not at all noisy when switched off the blade stops almost immediately which for safety I really like.
the guards and anti kick back add ons are very nice easy to attach
the Fence itself surprised me by locking in place with little to no wobble something Ive fond to be an issue even on the higher end saws in this class.
most of the dust is captured in the supplied bag leaving very little on the table and floor and I assume if I attached it to the shop vac there would be none at all.
the legs supplied I thought would be wobbly and I expected it to not be as solid as one mounted to a proper bench etc but after putting a couple wood shims in place its rock solid without the use of the stabilizer arms which I think would be a tripping hazard when deployed.
the throat plates are as solid as Ive ever seen and two are supplied with the saw one for normal use and one for a dado blade.
the side of the saw comes with a space for your wrenches (supplied) extra blades (not supplied) and your fence, miter etc making it all tight in place for moving and transport.
I love how the table can be extended in a couple places for cutting larger pieces one of the main reasons I purchased this saw, after the sale price.
One drawback is that the miter attaches to a sliding plate on the table itself and the saw has no actual miter slot that runs the length of the table so using a crosscut sled is not really an option in its normal state, one would have to make something using the sides of the table in lieu of miter rails.
Unlike its previous incarnations this saw's fence can be used on both sides right and left for people like myself who on occasion find the need to do so. you can also use the fence on the extended portion to the right of the blade increasing your actual cutting area and the bar that extends out is marked with measurements for accurate cuts.
one of my favorite features is the blade raising and lowering wheel, it moves the blade almost effortlessly, it takes almost no strength at all which is nice if you are a very "experienced" woodworker, or have been injured.
Do expect to adjust the marker for the blade angle as mine at least came out of the box off by a fair bit. but its one screw easy with a tri square and screwdriver.
there are some little screws provided that you may wonder where they go, they are used to keep the table extending bars from coming right out and you screw them in place after installing the bars to the table. the one plastic foot pad goes on after the stabilizer bars are attached and be careful I broke mine trying to force it (the ribs face the floor)
So over all I have to say this saw is amazing for the money and surpassed all my expectations I had going in if you spend a little time setting it up Im sure you will get a lot of accurate use from this saw.
I will be adding a youtube review shortly if
interested
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCH6JE_0RWLLGhe8NHWWzvRA?&ab_channel=kootenayboy "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lachute, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good portable table saw

Date:October 29, 2014
" Purchased one of these to build my deck, its a great product for the price, I ripped boards, cut lattice and paneling with it "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:welland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

GOOD SAW

Date:October 28, 2014
" I have had this saw for about a month great saw for 15 amp it goes through all kinds of wood with ease and not having a lot of room its very nice it folds up great idea "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good saw

Date:October 25, 2014
" "Good value if on sale. Biggest complaint is that it moves a lot during rips. Would recommend for light to medium jobs." "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Great Value

Date:October 24, 2014
" I bought this saw a year ago for the sale price. Lots of adjustments and easy to move around and store when not in use. Good "bang for the buck" "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Trenton, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great table saw for average joe

Date:October 23, 2014
" This is a good table saw for what I need it for. I've used is lots for laminate flooring, ripping boards, cutting plywood, etc. I haven't had any issues and it performs well.
Lots of plastic parts unfortunately so likely wouldn't be a good choice for daily use. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

GOOD TOOL

Date:October 22, 2014
" I BOUGH T THIS FOR MY HUSBAND FOR XMAS AND HE LOVED IT AND USES IT ALL THE TIME. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good light duty saw

Date:October 20, 2014
" Good value if on sale. Biggest complaint is that it moves a lot during rips. Would recommend for light to medium jobs. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Warman, SK S0K, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love this table saw!!!

Date:October 17, 2014
" There are lots of options with this table saw and I am impressed with everything except for the support arm. It moves too much and can't get it to keep a straight line. Other than that I have had no problems. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good saw for the price

Date:October 15, 2014
" bought this saw for odd jobs around the house like the fact that it is light and easy to move around for the price it is not to bad on its measurements not sure that it would be good for building cabinets and that but why would it be its for rougher jobs I would think . I would recommend this "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mississauga
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome fold-up design

Date:September 2, 2014
" I bought this saw for the odd project around the house (ripping shutters after window replacement, building shelves). Consequently, it will be in storage some 99% of the time. The folding/rolling design of the stand is essential and will make sure that the saw has the smallest footprint possible. I would have rated it a 5-star product if it were more precise. As such, I have to double check all adjustments with a ruler, square or protractor to make sure that my cuts are as intended. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nipawin, SK, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Better than expected

Date:August 10, 2014
" I have had no regrets for purchasing this surprisingly powerful table saw. Poor assembly instructions make it difficult to put together but the light weight fold-up compact design is brilliant! It's not an $800 professional saw but it's more saw than I expected for the price! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Safe table saw

Date:June 4, 2014
" This Mastercraft saw is going to get you the cleanest project possible - make the project precise too "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince George, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good saw, Great price

Date:May 21, 2014
" Picked this saw up for half price and have had no issues with the stand, all locked up it is more than sturdy enough for occasional home d.i.y use.
Instructions are a bit shady in black and white and could have been better but a little trial and error and common sense will see you through. Overall v.happy with this purchase does everything I want it too and the warranty coupled with how much was paid, and also the added bonus of portability, rounds off this ( cheaper but cheerful ) saw with aplomb.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

What a waste of my time...

Date:April 26, 2014
" Junk. Table bowed and no where near true. You can even see it in the picture! The sliding portion of the table is just a piece of metal on sliders made of plastic. And no matter what you do, it's not going to be level. Not impressed, bought yesterday, returning tomorrow. "
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Saw

Date:December 28, 2013
" I found that the sliding table wasn't level with the rest of the table. I took it back to the store, and they had to open 4 boxes before they found one with a level table. Other than that, it's great. Very easy to put together, as different applications take different size bolts. The included allen wrenches make it even easier. To put the chip bag on, I tilted the saw to the fold position and didn't have to crawl under it to put the bag on. The blade and fence are nice and square.
I put the stand together first, then mounted the saw. The side supports just slide on and are held by small screws. When I was finished with assembly and cleaning up I found the instruction book in the bottom of the box. I cheched it out, and had put everything together properly. Much easier than trying to put together my kids toys on Christmas eve.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

No replacement parts after warranty exp! Beware!!

Date:December 8, 2013
" I have an older model of this where the 3 year limited warranty expired. The rip fence broke, and I called Mastercraft to buy a replacement part. I was told they don't carry replacement parts for tools that had included a warranty. Basically, if any part breaks off after 3 years, you're SOL because there are no replacement parts for purchase and warranty has expired. For such a low quality, plastic accessory, you're bound to see it break off sooner or later. For reference, I have only used this unit to cut a few pieces of wood for craft projects since purchasing and have never used it for heavy duty reno projects. My table saw is now useless and I need to purchase a new one.
Biggest waste of money ever. Stay away from this product. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

regret buying

Date:October 13, 2013
" Engineer who designed should loose there job on this one! Moving is to high and to far away from saw , so pieces tilt. Cutting small items is a nightmare. Because table not flush saw binds. Fence is not sqaure to saw, so binds and burn wood. Very dissatisfied. "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:montreal
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good for home project

Date:October 6, 2013
" its a good saw for home project. Dont take much space when we dont use it, easy to use. good performance and precision. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Alberta, Canada

is an ok saw for occasional use

Date:July 16, 2013
" I have a 'real' table saw but needed a portable one so purchased this saw almost 3 years ago, and it came with dust bag as well as laser in the blade guard. A few parts have broke but a phone call and purchase receipt confirmed, parts have been shipped out. Stand is not very stable and a pain to set up, purchased a bosch gravity table saw stand and mounted this saw to it. now set up is much easier and well worth the cost of the stand. If you need a everyday saw spend $600 + other wise for $200 on sale this saw works. you do get what you pay for. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3