Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A

Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A

Portable Mastercraft 10" table saw includes a stand120V, 15A, 4,500 rpm, 60HZ, 10" bladeRiving knife guard systemSliding mitre table top promotes precise cuts with right extension table and rear out-feed supportSelf-aligning rip fenceStand folds up for easy storage and portability
Average Customer Rating:
2.849 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
9
17 of 33(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Review 1 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nipawin, SK, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Better than expected

Date:August 10, 2014
"I have had no regrets for purchasing this surprisingly powerful table saw. Poor assembly instructions make it difficult to put together but the light weight fold-up compact design is brilliant! It's not an $800 professional saw but it's more saw than I expected for the price!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Safe table saw

Date:June 4, 2014
"This Mastercraft saw is going to get you the cleanest project possible - make the project precise too"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince George, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good saw, Great price

Date:May 21, 2014
"Picked this saw up for half price and have had no issues with the stand, all locked up it is more than sturdy enough for occasional home d.i.y use.
Instructions are a bit shady in black and white and could have been better but a little trial and error and common sense will see you through. Overall v.happy with this purchase does everything I want it too and the warranty coupled with how much was paid, and also the added bonus of portability, rounds off this ( cheaper but cheerful ) saw with aplomb.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

What a waste of my time...

Date:April 26, 2014
"Junk. Table bowed and no where near true. You can even see it in the picture! The sliding portion of the table is just a piece of metal on sliders made of plastic. And no matter what you do, it's not going to be level. Not impressed, bought yesterday, returning tomorrow."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Saw

Date:December 28, 2013
"I found that the sliding table wasn't level with the rest of the table. I took it back to the store, and they had to open 4 boxes before they found one with a level table. Other than that, it's great. Very easy to put together, as different applications take different size bolts. The included allen wrenches make it even easier. To put the chip bag on, I tilted the saw to the fold position and didn't have to crawl under it to put the bag on. The blade and fence are nice and square.
I put the stand together first, then mounted the saw. The side supports just slide on and are held by small screws. When I was finished with assembly and cleaning up I found the instruction book in the bottom of the box. I cheched it out, and had put everything together properly. Much easier than trying to put together my kids toys on Christmas eve.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

No replacement parts after warranty exp! Beware!!

Date:December 8, 2013
"I have an older model of this where the 3 year limited warranty expired. The rip fence broke, and I called Mastercraft to buy a replacement part. I was told they don't carry replacement parts for tools that had included a warranty. Basically, if any part breaks off after 3 years, you're SOL because there are no replacement parts for purchase and warranty has expired. For such a low quality, plastic accessory, you're bound to see it break off sooner or later. For reference, I have only used this unit to cut a few pieces of wood for craft projects since purchasing and have never used it for heavy duty reno projects. My table saw is now useless and I need to purchase a new one.
Biggest waste of money ever. Stay away from this product."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

regret buying

Date:October 13, 2013
"Engineer who designed should loose there job on this one! Moving is to high and to far away from saw , so pieces tilt. Cutting small items is a nightmare. Because table not flush saw binds. Fence is not sqaure to saw, so binds and burn wood. Very dissatisfied."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:montreal
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good for home project

Date:October 6, 2013
"its a good saw for home project. Dont take much space when we dont use it, easy to use. good performance and precision."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Alberta, Canada

is an ok saw for occasional use

Date:July 16, 2013
"I have a 'real' table saw but needed a portable one so purchased this saw almost 3 years ago, and it came with dust bag as well as laser in the blade guard. A few parts have broke but a phone call and purchase receipt confirmed, parts have been shipped out. Stand is not very stable and a pain to set up, purchased a bosch gravity table saw stand and mounted this saw to it. now set up is much easier and well worth the cost of the stand. If you need a everyday saw spend $600 + other wise for $200 on sale this saw works. you do get what you pay for."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Was able to return it!

Date:June 24, 2013
"This is an adendum to my review "Just dont buy it" from Frosty1234.
I called Mastercraft, they agreed the saw was defective. My local Canadian Tire store was very helpful and I was able to exchange the saw for a higher end model and just paid the difference.
Now I have a product I'm happy with and works!! Thanks Canadian Tire for your help with this product."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just don't buy it!

Date:June 18, 2013
"The list of issues with this table saw are endless and started right out of the box. I'll just say some things in point form and in order as I found them to save time.
Assembly Instructions are very poor.
Disappointed with cheap plastic parts.
Left and right sides of the table are not level with each other.
Slop in the miter gauge makes it impossible to achieve a good cut - there is no way to compensate for slop.
The fence locks poorly.
The plastic protective cover that surrounds the blade on the table is lower than the table itself - so you have a bump to go over while pushing material through.
I can go on, but you get the idea. It's very frustrating using cheap things. I would have taken it back but I had to finish a job and had to use it. Now I will have to buy a real saw and wasted my money. I will admit there are other Mastercraft products that I have bought and I like, but not this saw!!"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

Good for small projects

Date:May 26, 2013
"This is a good saw for small projects.
Only issue is with large pieces of wood.
The saw can tip over when using a large, (i.e. 4' x 8') piece of wood. (It did with me.)
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Jigsaw Puzzle

Date:April 29, 2013
"Bought a table saw. Or what i thought was a table saw. Instead it was a box with a thousand pieces and tiny little black and white instruction on how to build those pieces into a table saw (ideally). Spent a few hours going through non- descript pieces trying to put this flimsy piece of junk together. Gave up and returned it. Buyer beware."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON, Canada

junk

Date:March 20, 2013
"piece of junk do not buy this table saw i just bought it yesterday march 19th 2013 no problem at all assembling it but the slinding part of the table is higher then the rest of the table with no way of ajusting it very very disappointed with mastercraft and canadian tire"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Goderich, ON, Canada

An OK saw for a good price

Date:November 18, 2012
"I have to agree with others about the manual, you have to have a sense of humour I suppose.
Assembly didn't take that long, and had no parts leftover. lol
The stand is very wobbly even with the extensions. The adjustments were good straight out of the box. The blade wasn't suitable for laminate so I purchased one for almost 40% of what I paid for the saw. (that's ok though I use that blade on my mitre saw.
I was impressed with how much value it gives, but then again, I bought a Chinese BBQ that I thought was wonderful too, too bad it lasted a year. Time will tell.
I have about 5hours of cutting on the saw and so far has making straight and accurate cuts.
I really wouldn't recommend this saw for anything heavy but I'm hoping that it will serve my light needs.
"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Only redeeming feature is sale price

Date:October 8, 2012
"I have owned this saw for almost two years now. It is a functional saw in so far that it can spin the blade and provides a flat area to put your board on. If I had known then what I know now, I would have left the saw in the store.
Pros:
- The sale price. I would not buy this level of quality for the regular price.
- The motor seems to be able to handle the work I do.
- I have not actually broken or worn out any parts yet.
Cons:
- The biggest con for me is that instead of having a proper mitre slot, it has some ill-designed sliding table. This somewhat limits the width of board you can crosscut. The biggest drawback to me though is that I cannot make jigs since most require a standard square or T-Slot.
- The stand is somewhat flimsy. I wouldn't want to put too much weight on it.
- If the saw is already set up, getting the dust bag on and off is not an easy task. You have to reach behind it and get the cord around the lip of the outfeed.
- The crosscut mitre is very flimsy and should be checked after each cut.
"
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Shelburne

You get what you pay for

Date:July 13, 2012
"I think the adage of "You get what you pay for" applies to this product.
-The Cross cut table is so sloppy that it is useless. With a plain mitre slot you can at least make something that works.
-The include mitre gauge is akin to a plastic toy
-Plastic teeth on bevel adjuster stripped off with little use
-Fence must always be checked for square - (the yellow brand rack system is worth the extra money)
- Stand is wobbly even with the extension arms extended
-frequently used adjuster knobs on fence extension broke easily
-Brushes worn away within approx. 10hrs run time (out for repair 5weeks and then deemed unrepairable and replaced with new saw under warranty - still junk)
"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

satisfied assembler

Date:March 29, 2012
"I do not understand the complaints of assembling this product. I Just purchased it today and I spent a couple of hours assembling it. I had to think about what I was doing but what is wrong with that? The manual was necessary for assembly and it does not guide you into any errors. The only thing that I had to spend some time was the leveling extension. If you look at the diagram you will see where it goes and the rest is self explanatory. I am glad that I did not listen to the critics of this product as I got a a product that was very easy to assemble. I have not used the saw yet but I expect it will meet my needs as it looks well assembled and I do not buy the criticism that the extension table is 1/8 of an inch higher than the wrest of the table. It is 1/8 inch lower and that will not affect the cut one iota. Pay no attention to the criticism that this displacement will cause a slight bevel. I will be using the saw shortly and if I find anything wrong I will report it. Purchasers I hope you enjoy this saw"
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

signed up just to talk about this saw

Date:February 22, 2012
"i have needed a table saw for some time. but with a low income not easy. when this came on sale i decided i would get it.
well if you are cutting a large sheet of ply wood or a 2x4 in half okay its great for that. how ever the mitre gauge slides the whole table and who's ever idea that was is pure idiocy. its 1/8 of a inch higher then the rest of the table and no way to adjust it. or i have not figured out how yet. ( this is a problem since anything wide enough to rest on it would not be square with the saw since the piece would be at an angle) since the manual is the most useless piece of junk.
the screws to hold some something in the back ( i guess its a "feature" if you move it around) the heads are smaller then the holes in the bracket to attach to the machine.
the inserts for the table saw are not flush with the top of the bed and are very flimsy. they are also very thin so its not easy to make a zero clearance plate for it. which you will end up wanting if you plan on cutting anything thin. or just want cleaner cuts.
I would return it but unfortunately somebody who will remain nameless threw out the packaging. So i am stuck with this thing. Until i can afford something a lot better.
"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Portable Table Saw, 15A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could do better

Date:November 28, 2011
"Yes the manual is a joke but we managed in the end but wasted a lot of time. Picture on the box is mounted backwards. Saw is a little wobbly if you are cutting large pieces of wood - better to set on the ground than use the legs. Also the guide can only be set max 20" - if you want to cut a 4 x 8 sheet of plywood down the middle you are out of luck. Only used twice and the support arm out the back bent. Maybe you'll have better luck with another saw."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2