Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Champion 3000W Gas Generator

Champion 3000W Gas Generator

4000W gas generator uses cold start technology3000W rated and 4000W surge powerPowered by a 196cc Champion gasoline OHV engine4.0 gallon (15 L) fuel tank ensures that you have 12 running hours at 50% loadHas a noise level of 68 dBA from 23 feetIntegrated control panel with 120V twistlock, two 120V d
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
40 of 43(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 99 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Review 1 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Deal on Sale!

Date:August 11, 2014
"Purchased this item on sale. For the sale cost you can't find a better genny on the market.
Mostly feels and looks solid. Though the choke lever is platic and felt flimsy
Assembly is very easy. Even if you have very little handyman skills it should be easy enough.
Be sure to fill with oil on a nice level surface. Earlier reviews stated there was a container of oil that was only 500ml but the instructions called for 600ml. As of August 2014 there is no oil packaged in the box so be sure to pick some up at time of purchase.
After assembly, filling with oil and gas machine fire up very first pull. Ran very smoothly. It's not overly loud but not ideal for a camp ground.
Shut off fuel supply and let the machine run dry of gas. Took about 60 seconds for engine to fully die. The last 10 seconds the machine spuuter and had some vibrations from the muffler but that's expected. The machine generates some heat so let it cool before doing anything else.
I plan to use mine for emergencies so have it now stored away. My issue with long term storage is the spark plug location. It's difficult to access without getting very low to the ground the location so you need good mobility! There's not even a good view of the spark plug. Instructions say to pour half an ounce of oil in the spark plug hole (after taking the spark plug out). Not only is the spark plug hard to remove it's almost impossible to pour any oil in the hole. The funnel supplied for filling the machine with oil won't reach. Thankfully I had a small pin point oiling machine with extendable tube. It's more fumbling around then actually seeing what your doing. If you have no mechanical experience this can be a little daunting of a task.
Overall very pleased with the genny especially at such a great sale price of 45% off!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

working better since i installed a fuel filter.

Date:August 4, 2014
"had carb cleaned since last review.working fine now"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:welland,ont
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Exc generator

Date:June 30, 2014
"Purchased this gen as a backup in case of emergencies and power for job's off sites, easy start, great value , wait for sale, tons of power"
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

would not recomend

Date:June 1, 2014
"only used it twice it quit and would not start not sure why,??????????????????????????/"
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kincardine, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great buy

Date:May 31, 2014
"I purchased this generator yesterday. The generator was well packed with ample protection. The directions were user friendly. All the parts were there. The directions were easy to follow. After adding the required oil and gas and following the directions for starting, it started on the first pull. I ran it awhile than loaded it and it never falted. This was a great buy."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:brampton
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

this saved us!

Date:May 3, 2014
"We purchased this generator thankfully before the ice storm and I feel we got every pennies worth. The power went out at our house for 3 days but thankfully my boyfriend hooked this up to the furnace in our house so we still had heat. I am so glad we bought this and so thankful that it has been a reliable product this winter"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Unbeatable value - no regrets

Date:January 10, 2014
"We purchased this on sale a few years ago for emergencies and have used it several times since. We recently ended up using it practically non-stop for 7 days after a major ice storm and power outage. It powered a space heater, fridge/freezer and lights without any problem. It hesitated at one point, but this was due to simple ice build up around the air filter inside the casing - be sure to check this first if it sputters while having plenty of fuel. It also cut out completely at one point, but that was a good thing because it detected the oil level as being low (a great feature!) I'll make sure to check the oil level every running day going forward. This unit has paid for itself many times over. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a low cost emergency back up."
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great generator for emergency use

Date:December 27, 2013
"I had been doing some online research on purchasing a portable generator and I narrowed my selection down to this one. I opted for this model because it came with the wheel assembly kit and had 4 regular AC outlets (along with an optional 30Amp Twist lock outlet). I had always recalled seeing this generator going on sale at CT from time to time and, when it did, I jumped at the opportunity to purchase it. My net cost (after using my CT money) was only $50. The shipping carton looked a bit roughed up on the outside but, upon opening the box, everything inside looked to be packed securely and there was no damage to be found. Assembly was easy and straight forward. I tested the unit to confirm that it was running properly and stored it according to the manufacturer's suggestions. I had made my purchase in October and never thought that I would have had to use it so soon when the ice storm hit Toronto in December. I rolled it out of storage and it started immediately on the second pull. Knowing the power limitations of what I could run at the same time, I was still able to run a gas furnace continuously along with another appliance at the same time. I did have to alternate the power between the other appliances periodically so that I did not exceed the capacity of the generator but I anticipated this would be the norm during a blackout and, only once over a 72-hour period, did I trip the circuit breaker. At night, I was able to run a big screen TV and satellite box for the family and, before going to bed, I powered a chest freezer overnight, all at the same time running the gas furnace, with no problems. On a full tank of gas, I roughly got a 10-12 hour running time before I had to refill it. The generator ran continuously without interruption. Outside, it was a bit noisy - no more than a snow blower would be. But it did not keep me up at night. Hearing the faint engine noise when I was inside assured me that it was still running. Once the power came back on, I shut her down, gave it a quick oil change, checked the air filter and put it back in storage, ready for the next emergency - hopefully, not any time soon. I was amazed that I appeared to be the only one on the street that even had a generator running. This purchase was truly a life saver and made things more comfortable during the power outage."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Won't live without one

Date:December 24, 2013
"The ultimate test came during a 5 day power outage. This generator powered my furnace, fridge, freezer,and other outlets without any problems. I would strongly suggest hoking up an exterior outlet so you can just plug it into the house fuse panel (Electrician is needed).
My generator has now run for 5 days and nights with no issues.
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moosonee, Ontario
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great during power outages

Date:November 19, 2013
"We had a 20 hour power outage here in Moosonee the other day. I got this generator powered up and used three 12 gauge contractor Noma cables and was able to keep my place warm and powered. Running for 12 hours before shutting down for the night, I used 25 litres to power along the way a. Microwave, portable space heater, my wifi, television, play station as well as the various computers as some neighbours made their ways over. Great machine, great buy."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Broquerie, MB R0A, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Must Have

Date:November 7, 2013
"I am a weekend warrior on a budget. I've had this generator for two years now for standby power.
Recently, I used it to power my tools as I built a 14 x 18 shed. It ran 8 hours a day for several days. Uses very little fuel and starts easily.
I know, buying a cheap off-shore product can be a gamble, but this gem performed flawlessly!!
Go ahead and buy it!
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON, Canada

Good unit

Date:August 17, 2013
"We purchased our unit the last time it was on sale, it now has 70 plus hours. Although a bit heavy to load and unload its a good unit. Did alot of Crown land RV'ing this year and Genny didn't miss a beat, very easy to start. It is bit load but other campers had louder ones #A good heavy extension cord alows for placement away#. We got 12.5 hrs/tank running at 1/2 to 3/4 load. Definitely happy with mine."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC

Great Product

Date:May 24, 2013
"We just went 3 days without power— a terrible windstorm in the area, trees and power poles down everywhere. Fortunately we had purchased this generator a few years ago, for just such an emergency. Good instructions, started no problem first or second pull every time. We serviced two buildings, about 6 hours on each per day = 12 hours a day. One building was a freezer, and fridge-freezer, with occasional blender and laptop. The other building was two freezers, and a computer. No problems at all with those loads. A neighbour ran the same generator and had 3 freezers and a fridge going all at once.
So today, the day the power came back on, we decided to get another one, so we wouldn't have to take the one unit back and forth between the two buildings (though it is easy to wheel around). There it was on the front page of the CT flyer, on sale again for $299.
My wife said it wasn't as noisy as she had expected.
Highly recommend it. Saved our butts!"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lindsay, ON, Canada

Very Good !!

Date:May 24, 2013
"Have had this generator for 3 years. Works very well - pull start is very easy.
Have only used it a few times during power outages but it works great.
"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pierrefonds, Montreal, QC, Canada

great product and very useful!

Date:May 24, 2013
"Great product, even better when on sale!!
I bough this gen 4 years back and have used it twice, running it for over 10 hours when we had a power failure.. It ran my oil furnace, micro wave, TV and satellite... All good at home that winter day!!!
:)"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nipawin, SK, Canada

Great Buy

Date:February 16, 2013
"I bought this generator at 40% off.Assembled it as directed,put fuel in the tank and let it sit for a minute so the carb could fill up.Gave it choke and 1 pull it was running nice and smooth.I tested it with an old 1/2 inch drill that probably uses as much power as a new fridge and the gernerator hardly gave a grunt.For $300 bucks I couldn't go wrong.So now I can power up my fifth wheel earlier in the season and have a longer camping season."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Super Deal at Canadian Tire

Date:February 11, 2013
"Bought this unit on sale for $ 299. After following the well written installation instruction, added the oil and gasoline required. Turned on the contact switch, set the choke and opened the gas valve, pulled the motor cord and it started but stalled after only a few seconds. On the second attempt it run immediately, set the choke to run and voila it kept running smooth at a very reasonable noise level. Great product with lots of power for most electrical domestic requirements!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4000hrs +STILL RUNNING 3 1/2YEARS

Date:December 5, 2012
"FANTASTIC PRODUCT
- HAVE CHANGED THE BRUSHES ONCE FOR $13.24 (received in the mail in 4 days)THIS WAS MY FAULT USING A VERY LARGE AC WELDER FOR A PROLONG PERIOD OF TIME.
- REALLY LIKE THE LOW OIL CUT OFF SWITCH GOOD FEATURE.
- I HAVE OTHER GENERATORS THIS ONE IS THE BEST BY FAR
- I HAVE NEVER ENDORSED A PRODUCT BEFORE BELIEVE ME WHEN I TELL YOU THIS IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS PRODUCT!
"
+53points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Westlock,AB

Champion 4000 Generator

Date:August 13, 2012
"Purchased this generator one year ago for my RVing and it has been reliable and easy to start.Bought it on sale half price so was a good deal . I would certainly recommend it for camping as it is very quiet."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Champion 3000W Gas Generator
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Won't start everytime

Date:May 30, 2012
"Bought this 2 years ago, used only 4 times. First time almost wreck my shoulder from trying to start. Now won't start all."
-56points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3