Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator

Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator

Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Review 1 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oromocto, NB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

So far so good

Date:December 15, 2015
" Have had this generator for a year now and I have 46 hours on it did the oil change after the first 5hrs and did another at 46 so I'd be ready for the next storm. I'm an electrician and I recommend this product for bang for your buck perfect for transfer panels. If you want to just run a fridge and tv you do not need this big of a unit. Perf ct for larger loads I run tv and all associated equipment fridge,freezer, water pump, light, and a large 1750w heater in my living room with all this on the generator I was getting 8hrs on a tank "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Great Value

Date:December 13, 2015
" This unit was recommended to me by someone who had seen the same unit in use for three weeks this summer operating near capacity 24 hours a day with no issues.
My anticipated use is for emergencies and special events. The sale price for this generator was very good and the unit works as advertised. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Hatley, QC J0B, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

El Nino

Date:October 28, 2015
" With El Nino - weather advisories say we'll experience several power outages this winter. For those of us on well systems this seems like the right choice for keeping the water running. "
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:October 15, 2015
" I bought this generator last December. It works amazing. We had such a horrible winter, it was nice to know, when the power went out, we still had heat, lights, TV, and none of my full deep freeze, or my fridge lost anything. We were able to cook, it was has if we never lost power at all. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Workhorse

Date:October 14, 2015
" Use this generator at work can handle extreme heavy commercial loads "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Great Generator

Date:July 8, 2015
" Bought this to use on a film shoot. Very convenient size for mobile usage. A little loud but that's expected. Highly recommended and will probably buy one for personal use if it goes on sale. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bobcaygeon, Kawartha Lakes, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Well Built Generator

Date:February 16, 2015
" I'm very happy with my purchase of this Generator. The wattage to dollar ratio makes this a perfect choice for a power outage back up Generator. Easy to start and quieter then I expected. The multi function meter includes an hour meter which takes the guess work out of when to do the matainance intervals. The never flat tires is also a bonus because my previous generator tires always leaked air. The YouTube videos I found very helpful as well. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Leaking fuel after 2nd use

Date:January 29, 2015
" Ran it for a few hours during a power outage. worked great. 2nd time I fired it up, it was spilling fuel from the Carburetor. Good thing it's under warranty. Good value when on sale though. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dunville, NL A0B, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome

Date:November 9, 2014
" Bought the generator, 300 bucks knocked off the price even better. Got it home, assembly was simply. Went to start it, choke full way and press a button, I loves this product "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very impressed, easy to commission and get going

Date:January 10, 2014
" My present generator (a Homelite LR4300) has served me well for 14 years however lack of availability for parts and issues related to its age put me to work researching a replacement.
This generator made my short list of quality models. Lots of positive reviews in many sources. Has the right features: overhead valves, cast iron sleeve, electric start, and 240v twistlok connection.
Assembly was simple and straight forward and written by someone who speaks English...unlike many other products we sometimes encounter. Surprised to see quality features i didn't know about such as a built in screen on the fuel filler to prevent debris entering the fuel tank.
Performed the simple assembly and pre-start steps (ie adding oil, connecting battery and fueling). the unit started on the first turn from the electric start right out of the box. Very impressed. Even though it is 13hp, it is definitely no louder than my prior 7.5hp Homelite.
Very very very satisfied.
Didn't give a score for durability as i am not able to comment since its just darn brand spankin' new!
"
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berwick, NS

Excellent Product For The Money

Date:May 25, 2011
" Had a Coleman Powermate 5000W with the tecumseh engine. Very low tech. engine ran poorly, dirty power. Got this on sale for $749 and I am just so pleased so far. Hooked into my house through a proper transfer panel, it powers up lights, water pump, furnace, fridge etc. (not all things at once) Good clean power that enable my Uninterruptable Power Supplies for my electronics to function properly. sent an Email to support in California asking a question before I went to work, got my answer back that afternoon. Runs much quieter than the Coleman. I marked 5 stars for durability, but that really is yet to be seen. "
+183points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Champion Heavy Duty 6500W Generator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunshine Coast, B.C.

Best bang for your buck

Date:November 20, 2010
" We had a tree take out the power lines to our house last year and were without power for 8 days. Had to keep the fridge, freezer, etc. going so ended up biting the bullet and bought this unit, was looking at smaller ones but wanted to run anything I wanted. This generator is amazing..not only did it run my fridge, freezer, heaters, lights,computer, etc. but also had my 52" plasma TV on it and with everything I could throw at it, it never ran over 60% capacity. Just make sure you get a good surge protector to run anything sensitive. Electric start is fantastic, easy to read gas gauge, digital read-out gives you hours run, load and output. 240v. plug is also a bonus. The only thing I could fault it with is it's a little on the loud side but just find a good place to set it up and you won't hear it. At 50-60% load I was using approx. 1 litre of gas per hour. "
+84points
Was this review helpful to you?