Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw

Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw

Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Average Customer Rating:
3.175 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
11
23 of 40(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Campbell River, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

runs in REVERSE

Date:April 18, 2016
" bought the saw a little over a year ago. bit hard to start but for the money seemed OK. started the saw today and it was running in reverse - did not think it was possible but the proof is in the pudding. turned it off and after the mandatory 20 or so poulins it started and this time was turning in the correct direction. so far have not had any luck finding out what is going on, although OLDER Stihls had a similar issue - not very happy "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spy Hill Sk
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Not worth the money

Date:February 5, 2016
" i purchased this saw 2 years ago constantly had to be tweeking the carb on it to keep it idling right and the tope end power good when set right the saw did have good power but brought it out the other day was cutting through a log and the saw just died halfway through tried to start it again and it was seized solid pulled the plug and the cylinder was so scored it wsant even worth trying to fix so into the garbage can it went now these saws say to mix fuel at 40:1 i was mixing mine closer to 35:1 my theory is id rather put up with a little bit of smoke rather then a seized motor but apparently that theory is now busted. anyway in the two years i owned this saw it really never seen all that much work i maybe only put 4 or 5 tanks of fuel through it mostly used it around the farm trimming trees cutting posts etc. i highly suggest going to the husquavarna 435 rather then this saw it is what i went to and been laughing ever since. "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:GTA, Ontario
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Better than expected

Date:January 16, 2016
" I bought this PP4218A on sale and thought that a cheap chainsaw would be okay. I have had it for a few months and after the first start, which was a bit difficult, this saw starts without a problem. Read the instructions and follow them. I drain the fuel after I have finished with the saw and also run the saw until it runs out of fuel. I have cut 18 inch trees and also tried making log benches. This saw does choke a bit at first but runs better the more you use it. This isn't a Stihl or an Eco but it works fine. You do get what you pay for, in this case a capable saw that will do what most home owners need it to do. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Summerland, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great buy

Date:October 7, 2015
" I bought this chainsaw last year. Starts every time without a problem. Has way more power than my Echo. Cut a truck load of pine the other day without stopping then bucked up several rounds of walnut.Cut through them like butter..Lots of guts for a lower priced saw. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Niagara Falls, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't waste the time or money

Date:September 23, 2015
" Bought this in the morning and it was returned by noon. It finally started and did idle well. It continually bogged and stalled. I upgraded to the Husqvarna and will not look back.
Read the reviews as they are bang on !! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Prince George, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Junk

Date:August 30, 2015
" Bought this chainsaw this spring. Stalled from day one. barely enough power to cut through small trees. unit was completely B/O on my third use when the pull cord would not retract into the unit. Buy a better one. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw

Date:March 15, 2015
" My husband has this saw as a backup in the truck in case his runs into issues with his Stihl saws.. This saw has done the trick in times of need, but isn't as powerful as he expected it to be. He hasn't had any issues with it but that being said he hasn't put it to the test, nor has it seen regular wear and tear.. For a beginner/every so often user, it's probably an ok buy. "
Video
Click to view
"see it in action"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Get what you pay for

Date:October 28, 2014
" It stalls quickly and leaks oil. Apparently you can fix the carb but it should be fine after only a couple of uses. Spend more money and get a better quality product or just rent one occasionally. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Absolute junk

Date:October 16, 2014
" My friends told me NOT to buy it, I bought it, and brought it back. Would not stay idling very long before would shut off. Difficult to restart half the times when warm, most of the time when cold. Refused to oil her bar after the second tank of fuel. The ONLY savior was our local CT took the saw back as it was less than a month old, and I bought a Husqvarna instead. Problems solved. Good to know that Canadian Tire stands behind its warranty. "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint John, New Brunswick

Warranty not honoured

Date:September 28, 2014
" I purchased this Poulan chainsaw whose crank shaft broke while under the 2-year warranty. The store sent me to a company that deals with Poulan. When the dealer contacted Poulan, they replied that the crank shaft must have broken because the operator jammed the saw. This was definitely not the case. I took it to an independent repair shop (who has been in the business for thirty years) and they said that it is impossible to break a crank shaft in the way that I had used the chainsaw.
A neighbour has also said that although he jammed his saw several times (which again, was not the case with my saw), the crank shaft was not affected. Another company who used to deal with Poulan (but doesn’t anymore because they were too difficult to deal with) agreed that it was not possible the crank shaft broke because of jamming. In all probability, the steel was too hardened or there is a gas bubble in the steel, which is a manufacturing flaw. In fact, this type of flaw was to blame for a recent rail accident, when a bubble in the steel was discovered in a railway wheel. If a company cannot manufacture good products, they could at least honour their warranty to repair or replace. Another review from this year stated: “ The crank shaft broke at the clutch. I called the 1 800 number and they told me that it wasn't a warranty repair because the bar pinched. I was furious because there wasn't any pinch at all. I will never buy a Poulan product again." It’s like playing the lottery, you might be lucky and get one that happens to work, but chances are you’ll get a lemon and waste your money. The worst part is that Poulan says you have a warranty, but cops out when it comes time to live up to it. They won’t honour the opinions of independent dealers, only those who have a contract with them, and then the answer is “Not covered”. I am extremely disappointed and unimpressed with Poulan’s ‘your-fault’ policy. Never again.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Cheap.

Date:June 26, 2014
" After using this saw about six times the choke / on switch wore out . It's made of cheap plastic and it is a dealer only install repair . Buy a better saw and stay away from a poulan pro . "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great

Date:May 27, 2014
" My husband loves this chainsaw, he's cut down several trees, great product! "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Worst saw ever

Date:April 3, 2014
" I has purchased this saw on Feb 26 and used it for the first time on March 28. It started on the third pull. I started to cut a ash limb that was on the ground, I picked up the limb and supported it as I began to cut the saw revved really high and the chain came off. The crank shaft broke at the clutch. I called the 1 800 number and they told me that it wasn't a warranty repair because the bar pinched. I was furious because there wasn't any pinch at all. I will never buy a Poulan product again. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent Saw for the money

Date:December 2, 2013
" Starts very well if you follow the instructions. Cuts well on everything up to 24" that I've thrown at it. Runs well. Seems OK on both gas and bar oil. So far I've spent 2 x 8 hour days cutting and felling. I have several other saws in different price, size and performance ranges.-bigger Stihl for big jobs,Homelite for light stuff, and McCulloch for mid range.
This saw is light enough to use all day, yet cuts big stuff well. Will comment further once I know what chain life is like, but so far, almost no stretching or blunting. With respect to other reviewers, chain saws take a little practice. There's always also a chance of getting a "Friday" product.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

14 inch electric chainsaw

Date:October 23, 2013
" After using this 3 times in a 10 year period and bought at Canadian Tire, this is garbage, the chain was secure and I have never in the past with my other brand name chainsaw ever have a chain fly off but this Poulsan did. Not worth spending your money on any Poulsan type chainsaw whether it is gas or electric, buy a Stihl, it has far better safety features that Poulsan does not offer. "
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Aylmer, Gatineau, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Piece of junk

Date:August 22, 2013
" Bought this Chainsaw despite friends calling this chainsaw "pulling & pulling".
Purchased Aug/14/13, used it on Aug/16/13 for 5 hours.
Engine ran fine but notice the bar oil level was barely going down & would make a clacking sound during idle.
Cleaned out, removed chain & bar, emptied bar oil & refilled, no change.
Had to wait a few days until I returned to the city to get it repaired. Called 1-800#, was told to bring to a local shop, turns out this shop doesn't do warranty work for poulan. Called again, sent me to another shop, said it was a bad oil pump & the clacking sound was common in some models(?)
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Do not buy

Date:August 16, 2013
" Used for maybe 10 hrs. Right gas, lots of bar oil. Anyhow, seems like it lost all its power, stalls as soon as you ask it to cut. 100% disappointment . Could strip it down but I would need tools and time. That wasn't part o he budget.
Just buy a better saw. Skip the discount. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada

Great Chainsaw for the Money

Date:June 17, 2013
" I have owned the Poulan 42 cc saw for 10 years now and as long as one isn't cutting logs bigger than about 18-20 inches in diameter, it will do the job. I also have a 60cc Husqvarna for the bigger jobs now but the Poulan did all the work for the first 6 years of its working life. In hot weather and with big logs though it tended to develop vapour lock after running out of fuel. I used to have to bring an ice pack to cool it down while re-fuelling. Now I just pull out the Husky for the big logs.
The Poulan starts as well as any other saw and better than most, both winter and summer. Changing the spark plug and fuel filter regularly, as well as cleaning the air filter will keep it starting and running well. For the price it is one of the best chainsaws out there.
My only criticism is that the fuel cap has swollen over the years and I need pliers to take it off. It seems to thread back on OK but it doesn't come off very well. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rimbey, AB T0C, Canada

great chainsaw for job on the property

Date:May 17, 2013
" living on an acreage and dealing with the odd job that requires a chain saw, this has never let me down. bought it over 6 years ago and it's still works just fine. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lacombe, AB, Canada

good saw for the money

Date:May 12, 2013
" I got this saw for Christmas two years ago. And have not had any problems with it. Cuts good not as fast as some of the big name saws but all around good saw. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2