Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Chainsaws or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw

Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw

42 cc engine; 18" bar lengthTool-less chain tensioning systemAnti-vibe handleCarrying case includedPull-start systemDuraLife EngineAir filter systemAutomatic chain oilerReplacement chain: 054-5641
Average Customer Rating:
3.323 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
21 of 34(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Get what you pay for

Date:October 28, 2014
"It stalls quickly and leaks oil. Apparently you can fix the carb but it should be fine after only a couple of uses. Spend more money and get a better quality product or just rent one occasionally."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Absolute junk

Date:October 16, 2014
"My friends told me NOT to buy it, I bought it, and brought it back. Would not stay idling very long before would shut off. Difficult to restart half the times when warm, most of the time when cold. Refused to oil her bar after the second tank of fuel. The ONLY savior was our local CT took the saw back as it was less than a month old, and I bought a Husqvarna instead. Problems solved. Good to know that Canadian Tire stands behind its warranty."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great chainsaw

Date:October 13, 2014
"It has started for me every time, no fail, no matter the weather. I go several months between uses, and during those times I might use it several days in a row. Basically use it to cut up dead fall for fire wood but it has cut some pretty good size trees over 20". I simply follow the directions that came with the saw for starting it."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint John, New Brunswick

Warranty not honoured

Date:September 28, 2014
"I purchased this Poulan chainsaw whose crank shaft broke while under the 2-year warranty. The store sent me to a company that deals with Poulan. When the dealer contacted Poulan, they replied that the crank shaft must have broken because the operator jammed the saw. This was definitely not the case. I took it to an independent repair shop (who has been in the business for thirty years) and they said that it is impossible to break a crank shaft in the way that I had used the chainsaw.
A neighbour has also said that although he jammed his saw several times (which again, was not the case with my saw), the crank shaft was not affected. Another company who used to deal with Poulan (but doesn’t anymore because they were too difficult to deal with) agreed that it was not possible the crank shaft broke because of jamming. In all probability, the steel was too hardened or there is a gas bubble in the steel, which is a manufacturing flaw. In fact, this type of flaw was to blame for a recent rail accident, when a bubble in the steel was discovered in a railway wheel. If a company cannot manufacture good products, they could at least honour their warranty to repair or replace. Another review from this year stated: “ The crank shaft broke at the clutch. I called the 1 800 number and they told me that it wasn't a warranty repair because the bar pinched. I was furious because there wasn't any pinch at all. I will never buy a Poulan product again." It’s like playing the lottery, you might be lucky and get one that happens to work, but chances are you’ll get a lemon and waste your money. The worst part is that Poulan says you have a warranty, but cops out when it comes time to live up to it. They won’t honour the opinions of independent dealers, only those who have a contract with them, and then the answer is “Not covered”. I am extremely disappointed and unimpressed with Poulan’s ‘your-fault’ policy. Never again.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Cheap.

Date:June 26, 2014
"After using this saw about six times the choke / on switch wore out . It's made of cheap plastic and it is a dealer only install repair . Buy a better saw and stay away from a poulan pro ."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great

Date:May 27, 2014
"My husband loves this chainsaw, he's cut down several trees, great product!"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Worst saw ever

Date:April 3, 2014
"I has purchased this saw on Feb 26 and used it for the first time on March 28. It started on the third pull. I started to cut a ash limb that was on the ground, I picked up the limb and supported it as I began to cut the saw revved really high and the chain came off. The crank shaft broke at the clutch. I called the 1 800 number and they told me that it wasn't a warranty repair because the bar pinched. I was furious because there wasn't any pinch at all. I will never buy a Poulan product again."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent Saw for the money

Date:December 2, 2013
"Starts very well if you follow the instructions. Cuts well on everything up to 24" that I've thrown at it. Runs well. Seems OK on both gas and bar oil. So far I've spent 2 x 8 hour days cutting and felling. I have several other saws in different price, size and performance ranges.-bigger Stihl for big jobs,Homelite for light stuff, and McCulloch for mid range.
This saw is light enough to use all day, yet cuts big stuff well. Will comment further once I know what chain life is like, but so far, almost no stretching or blunting. With respect to other reviewers, chain saws take a little practice. There's always also a chance of getting a "Friday" product.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

14 inch electric chainsaw

Date:October 23, 2013
"After using this 3 times in a 10 year period and bought at Canadian Tire, this is garbage, the chain was secure and I have never in the past with my other brand name chainsaw ever have a chain fly off but this Poulsan did. Not worth spending your money on any Poulsan type chainsaw whether it is gas or electric, buy a Stihl, it has far better safety features that Poulsan does not offer."
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Aylmer, Gatineau, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Piece of junk

Date:August 22, 2013
"Bought this Chainsaw despite friends calling this chainsaw "pulling & pulling".
Purchased Aug/14/13, used it on Aug/16/13 for 5 hours.
Engine ran fine but notice the bar oil level was barely going down & would make a clacking sound during idle.
Cleaned out, removed chain & bar, emptied bar oil & refilled, no change.
Had to wait a few days until I returned to the city to get it repaired. Called 1-800#, was told to bring to a local shop, turns out this shop doesn't do warranty work for poulan. Called again, sent me to another shop, said it was a bad oil pump & the clacking sound was common in some models(?)
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Do not buy

Date:August 16, 2013
"Used for maybe 10 hrs. Right gas, lots of bar oil. Anyhow, seems like it lost all its power, stalls as soon as you ask it to cut. 100% disappointment . Could strip it down but I would need tools and time. That wasn't part o he budget.
Just buy a better saw. Skip the discount."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada

Great Chainsaw for the Money

Date:June 17, 2013
"I have owned the Poulan 42 cc saw for 10 years now and as long as one isn't cutting logs bigger than about 18-20 inches in diameter, it will do the job. I also have a 60cc Husqvarna for the bigger jobs now but the Poulan did all the work for the first 6 years of its working life. In hot weather and with big logs though it tended to develop vapour lock after running out of fuel. I used to have to bring an ice pack to cool it down while re-fuelling. Now I just pull out the Husky for the big logs.
The Poulan starts as well as any other saw and better than most, both winter and summer. Changing the spark plug and fuel filter regularly, as well as cleaning the air filter will keep it starting and running well. For the price it is one of the best chainsaws out there.
My only criticism is that the fuel cap has swollen over the years and I need pliers to take it off. It seems to thread back on OK but it doesn't come off very well."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rimbey, AB T0C, Canada

great chainsaw for job on the property

Date:May 17, 2013
"living on an acreage and dealing with the odd job that requires a chain saw, this has never let me down. bought it over 6 years ago and it's still works just fine."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lacombe, AB, Canada

good saw for the money

Date:May 12, 2013
"I got this saw for Christmas two years ago. And have not had any problems with it. Cuts good not as fast as some of the big name saws but all around good saw."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Parry Sound

Not Recommended

Date:July 24, 2012
"I purchased this to replace a Husqvarna 61. I am very mechanically inclined and figured I'd have no trouble with this ... wrong. I have used several weeks and have dropped and cut-up about 12 trees. Here is what I have experienced. 1) It will start as directed and quite reliably but once hot, the primer sucks air and you MUST let it sit for at least an hour before there is any chance of restarting (oh, it will restart, not continue to run) 2. After a short break-in period, it will not idle 3) the drive sprocket design is wider than the entrance/exit of the bar so any slack in the chain results in a thrown or derailed chain .... my husky threw it's chain once in the past 15 years and this unit is once per tankful.. 4) After hot, the motor has developed a "ticking" sound at high rpm that will load and stall the motor. I can remove the bar and chain an it continues. The chain break is free - it's in the motor. I found if you don't allow it to operate at full throttle, it seems OK .... great for a chain saw, eh? 5) Lastly, Canadian Tire will not exchange a "gas driven piece of equipment ..." so you MUST seek service with a repair facility .... not an issue unless you buy a new piece of equipment and it starts to screw up days after purchase. I have owned the unit for approx 4 weeks."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

Good saw after adjusting the idle

Date:May 29, 2012
"Out of the box the saw kept stalling. I followed the instructions in the manual and adjusted the idle. It has been trouble free since."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arden, ON

Awesome Little Saw

Date:November 12, 2011
"Bought this saw 8 years ago and I heat with strictly wood... no backup. I cut at least 35 bush cord per year and I sell a lot of wood. It hasn't let me down yet. I've left it in the rain, snow and outside all summer and it always starts. I got rid of Huskies and Jonsereds but always kept this one. The only thing I had to replace in 8 years (besides chain and plug) was the primer bulb finally disintegrated. Stay away from the green poulans!"
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:manitoba canada

get what you pay for

Date:October 15, 2011
"never ran right from day one despite actually measuring the oil/ fuel ratio. finally didn't run at all... went to the dumpster. keep pull-in (poulin)"
-15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than worth the money

Date:October 13, 2011
"I recently sold a STIHL MS390 that was 10 months old. I am thankful that people will pay big money for STIHL that's all i liked about it.
I have owned/used & do own/use more then a few saws, i sold the overpriced saw so i can buy another poulan, no i'm not kidding. I own other poulan saws & like them. As for people saying i't don't stay sharp or uses too much bar oil. Maybe you should brush up on your sharpening skills & all saws go thru bar oil. i know my stihl sure did.
Another thing i like about POULAN is if you're able to repair your own saw it's easy to find somebody who is selling one very cheap why i don't know. No need to buy overpriced parts.
I cut 18+ "bush" cord a year (over 50 face cord)
"
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Poulan Pro 42cc / 18-in Gas Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

reliable and starts 3rd pull when cold

Date:October 23, 2010
"I have cut some very large wood with this saw.Have used it several times and was reluctant to buy it SURE glad I did I had an ECKO before and was going to buy another one.The fella at the chainsaw store told me that poulan makes the motor for the husky.SO I thought maybe give it a shot iI have had no problems with thie saw in any way,starts very well runs reliable.When this saw dies im going to replace it with the same saw.as i heat myself with wood i needed a good hard working saw WELL I have one. If you need a decent saw for under three hundred this is it.(I have had no problem with the chain oil leaking)As well if it lasts one or two seasons so what for two hundred thirty bucks I can have a new saw again.Need one BUY this saw you will be happy for the money"
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2