Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Chainsaws or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw

Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw

2 in 1 electric chainsaw and pole saw has a 7.5 amp electric, 1.5 horsepower motorChainsaw with a 10" bar, attachs to an 8 foot pole to become a pole sawExtends to trim branches up to 8' (2.4 m)Tooled chain adjustment for easy maintenanceAutomatic chain and bar oilerReplacement chain: (54-5677)
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Review 1 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vernon, BC
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Never buy another one

Date:November 7, 2014
"I've had this saw for a bout a year after my nephew told me about the great price.
I used around my yard for pruning. It appeared to work OK. chain jumped off a number of times, which is a royal pain, especially when you're standing on a ladder pruning some top branches. Now for the bad news. I thought the chain had jumped when I was cutting a small branch (about 2" thick).
Climbed down and took the cover off and found that the sprocket was gone from the drive shaft.
Unfortunately it fell into a great deal of leaf mulch under the trees and has not been found.
I surmise that the little snap ring holding this sprocket in place broke or fell off and the sprocket came off the drive shaft and slide out of the cover.
I have several other chain saws (bigger and heavier) and know what the inside of a saw looks like. I have never had this happen with my larger saws.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

2-in-1 if it is the only one

Date:October 30, 2014
"The pole is excellent once properly installed, so I leave that way.
Remove the huge sponge from the bar oil reservoir and do not put it back in.
Even when sponge is removed it takes a while to get enough bar oil into the reservoir.
If starting after a rest there may be heavy chain-spray.
Although it cuts well with low bar oil too, so only needs topping up once completely empty.
It cradles into where you want to cut and makes cutting less awkward.
It also works in other positions, upside down and on its side, without spilling oil (even with the sponge removed).
This unit is top-heavy due to the compromises in making it a 2-in-1. I would prefer a harness and its weight balanced with a more powerful motor below, a transmission shaft through a longer pole with a (perhaps longer) bar at the top on an articulating mount. But this motor is powerful enough, just let it cut at its own pace. Then be sure to brace yourself when the pole is all that supports the chainsaw once the cut is complete.
Make more cuts to have less weight at the final triple-cut pruning at the branch collar.
This is safer as cutting can happen on another tree, away from where the ladder is set up. Also the ladder does not need to go as high, nor need to be climbed as high. Since only this chainsaw and pole need to get to the cut instead of a chainsaw and person it is also less constrictive.
I still use two other electric chainsaws for longer bar with more powerful cutting and the other for tricky bucking near dirt. This like all electric chainsaws cost less at purchase, have lower operating expenses, are quieter, and do not stink like gas chainsaws.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Poor design

Date:October 23, 2014
"There are several problems with this design.
1)The saw is too heavy for effective use as a pole saw at full extension.
2)It disengages very easily from the pole. The locking design isn't secure enough for a real-life cutting job.
3)Filling the chainoil reservoir takes for ever
4)Mine stopped functioning on the pole after very few jobs. Not wanting to do battle with CT's or Yardworks' notorious customer service departments, I took it apart myself and found a switch wire had broken within its sheath. Poor quality control.
I realise it's hard to design a pole saw that's light and yet sturdy enough for rugged outdoor use, but this one doesn't cut it.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great saw

Date:October 16, 2014
"I bought this saw to do some trimming around the yard. Works great! It is light enough to use the extension handle easily. Has more cutting ability than I expected for a little electric saw!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Value & Easy to Use

Date:October 8, 2014
"I bought this on sale to clean up my backyard. I'm a fairly short woman and had never used a chainsaw in my life, so was very weary. I was easily able to follow the instructions, cut down trees, and then cut them up into firewood. The chainsaw itself was pretty quiet, which helped to calm my nerves as well. Couldn't have made a better choice! =)"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent product

Date:September 28, 2014
"I bought this chainsaw to clear my backyard after purchasing the house. I took down 4 trees (biggest been 12in in diameter) so had to go around to take it down, lots of shrubs and little plants with it. Never had any problems, it cut trough all sort of wood type. Had to refill the chainsaw oil every 20 minutes or so as described in the instruction. It's not very noisy (compared to a gas one). Bought on sale, it's worth every penny spend on it! Your limited to where you can go since its electrical, so you need to plan accordingly. Otherwise, I highly recommend it."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Brockville, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Too Heavy!

Date:September 13, 2014
"I've been waiting for this to go on sale after reading the reviews and I was excited to get to work. I put it together but decided it was just too heavy to handle. The saw itself seems well made but I did not try it out because when it is on the end of the pole its weight is greatly magnified. I practised reaching to various spots and was quickly discouraged by accurately aiming it at overhead targets. Maybe rigging up a shoulder strap would relieve some stress, but fatigue and power tools do not mix.
A 12- or 14 gauge extension chord is required before you can plug it in, and these can easily cost half the price of the tool. Then you are still limited to reaching only that distance.
I think I will stick with my trusty 16" gas saw and keep an eye out for something lighter.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

does it for me

Date:June 1, 2014
"I don't use it too much, mostly to trim the surrounding cedars and it does the job"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great little saw.

Date:April 9, 2014
"I recently purchased this saw to clean up after the January Ice storm, now that the snow is gone and it's safe to be up there. I had some rather large broken branches (6"-8"# on my roof that were still attached to the tree. This saw chewed through them "like butta". The only complaint I have is the same as other reviews, adding chain oil to the reservoir. It is extremely slow to add, as an air lock forms almost immediately as you pour and you have to wait for the oil to make its way in. My solution to this works very well.I have one of those syringes with all the markings on it for mixing 2-cycle oil #see photo). It has a short piece of flexible tubing on it. If you fill the syringe with oil and push the tubing right into the oil tank then press the syringe, the oil fills from the bottom of the tank eliminating air locks. Try it, you'll like it."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Colborne, ON, Canada

Excellent Buy, Versatile, Works Great !!

Date:July 20, 2013
"I purchased this saw, after researching many other models. The option of using it as a handheld chainsaw is great, as well as the long reach with handle attached to trim branches. I don't have to climb a ladder now. I took the sponge out of the bar oil reservoir because I found it took too long to fill it with oil. The saw is powerful enough for all the trimming I've needed to do around the property. I've cut down 2 small trees with it, as well as trimming the small branches growing over and around the phone lines at the rear of my property. There are other lighter models on the market, but for myself, the versatility of this unit is what sold me. I got it when it went on sale. Great buy. I'm very happy with it. I have since got rid of my gas chainsaw. I recommend it."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thirsty!

Date:July 6, 2013
"That's an odd thing to say about an electric chainsaw but this one absolutely drinks bar oil!
It cuts very well and is quieter than a gas chainsaw but you can watch the oil level go down and cast a red spray over the wood you are cutting.
I can't speak to the durability of this saw because I have only used it once so far."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Suitable Purchase

Date:October 20, 2012
"I purchased this product only yesterday. Assemly was straightforward - follow the instructions carefully! A bit top heavy when attached to the extension pole but achievable with due care.
2 anomalies in the owner's manual:
1. Spong in the oil resevoir - manual says "Do Not Remove" however you cannot pour oil into the resevoit with the sponge in place so I just removed it to fill, then inserted it again.
2. Manual says you can adjust the pole length however you can't! Spring pins lock the sections into place, consequently you cannot move them once they are locked in. Just means you have to store the pole in it's extended length - no real issues with that.
Chainsaw worked fine, cut through branches 6-7" thick easily; don't force it when cutting but let it cut it's way through branches with gravity feed and it will perform beautifully!
I am very pleased with this unit and would reccomend it to anyone wanting a unit for simple home trimming. It is not a heavy-duty unit so use it appropriately.
"
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ON

Excellent.

Date:January 12, 2012
"this is a great pole saw. fully extended it is a bit heavy but a solid pole and saw. small oil reservoir so keep an eye on it."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West St Paul Manitoba

Good bang for the buck

Date:June 9, 2011
"It cuts great, even through trees 10 - 12 inches. the only down side, it's top heavy when your using the polesaw extension, but still performs like a champ."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lac-Megantic,Qc

Just what I needed

Date:September 13, 2010
"Bought this saw today but missed the sale of the other week.
I had branches quite high that were droupping down.
The poles only go in one way and DON'T try to take apart, it's not design to come apart.
Yes, I am quite please with this unit. I always had gas powered saws but now with limited cutting, the gas ones only dry up the diaphram if not in use regularly. If your tree is too far, a nice small portable generator fills the bill.
Lac-Megantic"
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks 7.5A 2-in-1 Electric Chainsaw and Polesaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Good for trimming/ instructions not clear

Date:September 6, 2010
"Bot this saw last week at 25% off. Have used it for trimming trees back around the house and in the alley. Lots of `pep', not too heavy to lift over your head, and cuts quickly and cleanly.
But watch the directions included to connect the 3-piece pole... the instructions state that bcs of the `egg-shape' of the connections, that the pieces will only fit into each other `one-way'. Simply not the case. I slid two pieces together incorrectly and then split the fibreglass pole trying to pull them apart.
Had to buy a 2nd unit to replace the broken pole (can't buy the pole separately), so now I have two chainsaws.
Also, don't forget to buy some chainsaw bar oil. My first saw purchase did not have any included (although the 2nd one did)."
+57points
Was this review helpful to you?