Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Chainsaws or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw

Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw

16" guide bar13.5 Amp, 3½ HP motor high performance designAutomatic oilerLarge oil tank sight windowFully assembledReplacement chain: 054-5690
Average Customer Rating:
3.965 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
12
67 of 84(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Review 1 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works well for small cutting jobs

Date:September 8, 2014
"Being a bit put off by the noise of gas chainsaws, I bought this small sixteen inch electric for cutting branches and small trees. It works well, its fast and accurate and useful for home use.
The only problem that I've noticed is that sawdust sticks inside the chain saw housing. Oil clogs there and sawdust sticks to it. So it needs to be cleaned each time its used."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WARNING DO NOT BUY THIS CHAINSAW

Date:July 31, 2014
"Plastic gear broke after one use. Company doesn't have the replacement part so you can't order it. Buy another chainsaw. Poulan uses cheap parts."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:morrisburg

excellent buy

Date:July 20, 2014
"Just bought this saw and I have no regret at all. This saw has a safety brake on the chain to protect your hand and the chain stop as soon as you release the trigger switch. Ample power to cut a tree and trimming.The bar nose sprooket is greaseable. Very quiet compared to a gas chain saw and no mess at all. Chain adjustment is extremely easy and does not slip out of adjustment like other brands. A bit more expensive than other makes but you get for what you pay for."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

This is the one to get.

Date:May 23, 2014
"I have a 4 year old Yardworks 16" 3.0hp chainsaw that leaks oil , only cuts marginally and aside from a static hand guard has no real safety features. So I read reviews on this Poulan chainsaw carefully before deciding to buy it.
In short, I have no regrets.
My experience...I had a company fell five 100' oak trees that were 22"-27" in diameter. I asked that they cut the trunks into 14" sections and leave the cleanup to me.
I spent two solid days with this Poulan electric cutting hundreds of cuts in the 2"- 6" range while cleaning up the limbs left behind...no problem.
I used it to cut a dozen 12"-14" vertical cuts through crotches that I knew would not split with an axe....no problem. ( remember this is oak )
In 2 days of on/off use it used one tank of oil ( maybe 4 oz) and needed to be tightened twice not including the two times I loosened the chain to sharpen it. Not bad at all and easy with the tension knob.
The chainsaw has a proper safety bar that stops the chain in the event of a kickback. In addition the chain stops instantly when the trigger is released. And I mean instantly.
The thumb safety/trigger combination is not perfect, sometimes taking a couple of tries before success, ( I'll get used to it ) but once spinning the saw performed up there with the 35cc-45cc gas power competition. You can't lean on it like a bigger professional saw ( ie: the 60cc-70cc STIHLS the tree service was using) but with reasonable force it never gave me a problem.
BTW..I ran it from a household outlet using a 100' cord...nothing special.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

First chainsaw - works great!

Date:May 20, 2014
"I got this saw to cut up some fallen trees at the cottage. I don't have electricity at the cottage so I ran it off of a 3000W generator with no problems. I chose an electric saw because I only want one gas powered device that can fail. Gas powered chainsaws are notorious for being finicky. This saw had all the power I needed to cut through the softwood trees. I haven't tried it on hardwood but I expect it will be fine given how well it cut up the pine. The only thing that I don't like about it is the safety switch on the trigger. My hand gets tired having to hold two switches down to keep the saw going."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, on
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Better than I anticipated.

Date:May 18, 2014
"I bought this on sale. There were cheaper ones, but I decided the extra amp rating might be useful. I've cut down a few small trees (3 inches) and a larger one (12 inches). It cuts with no problem. Don't need to force it.
Agreed with others. Check chain tension often at first. It loosens quickly. But very easy to tighten. It's also light. So not a problem using it for a while.
For homeowner use, I recommend this saw.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male

great beginner chainsaw

Date:May 8, 2014
"I use this chainsaw when I am cutting wood with my dad. Its great for beginners as it is lighter then the high end chainsaws! Cuts great, and is good for cutting up smaller trees! Its a great buy ..."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NW Ontario
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very impressed!

Date:April 27, 2014
"I picked this saw up today to cut up some brush in the back yard. Selling points for this were the automatic oiling system, and the Poulan (Husqvarna) name. If you've ever used an electric chain saw with a manual oiler, there is no comparison.
The chain tension is VERY easy to set with the big dial on the side, and as the instructions note, it will require re-tensioning the chain every few cuts to start with - but it gets settled in pretty fast.
A lot of people have commented on how much oil it goes through, and in the first half hour I've run it, I'm not seeing it. I filled the tank and kept checking the sight on the side, but it barely moved. But again, the manual DOES note that you should check the oil level regularly. Maybe it's just my expectations of how much oil it should use was a lot more than it actually is.
The saw is easy to handle, and really does chew through wood efficiently. I dare say almost on par with a similarly sized gas saw! No need to force it, it just chews away.
Overall, I'm very impressed with this saw, and believe it to be a great deal even at full price. If I had to pick out one thing as a negative, I find the trigger to be a little tricky/sticky to press down. There's a bit of a click when squeezing, which found me re-positioning my finger to get it going.
Oh - and don't forget to buy chain oil when you pick up this saw! It is NOT included, and the tank comes empty. I'm running the MotoMaster fall/winter oil recommended below - since the spring/summer variety isn't out here yet."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No

Stump Destroyer

Date:September 10, 2013
"I was tired of looking at the tree stump in my back yard so I decided to go and buy a chainsaw to deal with it. I maintained proper tension and oil on the chain and this little chainsaw did an excellent job of eliminating the eye sore. A good deal on sale for 99.99."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmundston, NB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great saw

Date:September 2, 2013
"I too read all the reviews before buying it, and when I did buy it, it was on sale at $20 off. Like everyone says, this is a great buy. I bought this two weeks ago and have cut down 9 trees on my property, without any problems - the smallest trees were 6 inches in diameter, and two of the larger ones were 11 inches in diameter. It did seem to use a lot of oil at the beginning, but after a few uses, the oil use is more reasonable. I also cut a lot of shrubs around my property and this thing keeps on ticking. If and when it dies, I'm buying another one."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:McCreary, MB

good electric chain saw

Date:July 27, 2013
"It handles small trees just fine. Make sure you buy and extra liter of chain oil because you don't want to run out, although you can do quite a bit of cutting before you run out of oil. You don't need an extra duty extension cord. An ordinary outdoor extension cord works. We used it lots to trim up small trees and shrubs around our yard. Very happy with it."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

texas chainsaw

Date:May 23, 2013
"One of the best products I have bought this year well worth the price I paid."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakville

Great Saw

Date:April 18, 2013
"This is a good little saw. Obiviously not as powerful as a gas powered saw, but for cutting meduim sized tree's and limbs - no problems. I cut down 3 tree's in my backyard, up to 8" diameter and it worked great. Some people have commented on how much oil it uses, I'm not sure what is normal, but a full tank of oil lasted me the entire day (lots of cutting). It's great not to have to keep filling up with gas/oil mixture and fight to get it started - just plug in and cut, very easy. Perfect for yard maintenance around the house. I would definately recommend this saw for any small to meduim jobs."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:nanaimo bc

stok

Date:January 8, 2013
"Saw is weak, it only cuts if you put all your weight into it. The chain stays sharp but uses a lot of oil. Bought it on sale, worst decision i have made in a long time!"
-20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best product for $99.99

Date:November 26, 2012
"This is a great chain saw I got it on sale I trimmed about 30 trees 3 to 8 inches in diameter in my backyard and also my neighbor trimmed his tree branches about 15. Definitely I would recommend this product as a first time user I followed all the manual instructions and need to put the oil frequently and clean the waste underneath the handle...Finally my backyard look nice and happy...."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Nice 1st time saw

Date:September 25, 2012
"We have 1/2 acre heavily treed cottage lot on 3 tiers. I had never owned or used a chainsaw, but after 2 years of using a reciprocating saw to clear fallen trees and limbing trees , I knew a chainsaw was essential.
Because I have a small lot, and electric saw was a viable option with the investment in a 30 m 20 A cord (note the cord costs as much as the saw).
I used it to buck a 14 m beech which fell over the winter, and it had lots of power to cut 8" super wet hard wood quickly.
The saw is very light and handles well and the chain stops instantly when the trigger is released. Also has a proper chain brake, so I have some confidence in using it.
The chain came loose after the 1st few cuts, but I learned how to re-mount it to drive sprocket and properly tension it. No problems after that.
Seems to use a lot of chain oil. Buy the large container.
Hope it lasts for a few years, but so far, I am happy with this purchase, particularly at CTC's sale price."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon

Sprocket tip Lubrication

Date:August 28, 2012
"I recently purchased this item based partly on the reviews here, haven't had a chance to use it yet but because of the number of comments regarding having to purchase oil, I purchased oil. One other thing that is not mentioned until you are well into the manual is you will also need to buy sprocket tip grease. The manual seems to assume that this is not your first chain saw"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dryden, ON

Very Impressed

Date:October 15, 2011
"I bought this saw to use in making a firewood processor to try and reduce the amount of bending associated with bucking up firewood for the winter.
I found this saw to be as fast as my gas chainsaw and a lot quieter. Chain oil consumption wasn't noticeably excessive as others have stated.
We bucked up and split 4 cords of birch without a hitch...didn't even have to touch up the teeth and the tooless chain adjustment was a nice treat.
"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Headwaters, BC

Great for weekend warrior and Pine Beetle logs

Date:September 19, 2011
"A great electric chainsaw for weekend cabin/cottages. Plug it into a large gas generator with a 100' heavy duty (12/3) extension cord and this saw just goes. Cuts no problem through 12" - 16" dead Pine Beetle logs. Faster than my gas chain. Only concern, chain spins for a few seconds after the cut."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:vancouver, bc

Very surprising!

Date:September 11, 2011
"I use gas chainsaws at work so I was a little skeptical about buying this. I brought home a few truck loads of fir and maple that someone cut down but the peices were massive, too large to split. I picked this up on sale to give it a try and because it's a lot less maintenance compared to gas. It cut through the smaller peices (12 inches and less in diamater) effortless. The larger peices I made it through but it took a little patience which is expected with an electric chainsaw. This exceeds the needs of anyone who needs a chainsaw for home use.
Only thing I didn't like is that it eats oil. Need to keep at least 1 full bottle handy when using this. Can't get a better electric chainsaw."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2