Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Chainsaws or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw

Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw

16" guide bar13.5 Amp, 3½ HP motor high performance designAutomatic oilerLarge oil tank sight windowFully assembledReplacement chain: 054-5690
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
9
59 of 72(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Review 1 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No

Stump Destroyer

Date:September 10, 2013
"I was tired of looking at the tree stump in my back yard so I decided to go and buy a chainsaw to deal with it. I maintained proper tension and oil on the chain and this little chainsaw did an excellent job of eliminating the eye sore. A good deal on sale for 99.99."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmundston, NB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great saw

Date:September 2, 2013
"I too read all the reviews before buying it, and when I did buy it, it was on sale at $20 off. Like everyone says, this is a great buy. I bought this two weeks ago and have cut down 9 trees on my property, without any problems - the smallest trees were 6 inches in diameter, and two of the larger ones were 11 inches in diameter. It did seem to use a lot of oil at the beginning, but after a few uses, the oil use is more reasonable. I also cut a lot of shrubs around my property and this thing keeps on ticking. If and when it dies, I'm buying another one."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:McCreary, MB

good electric chain saw

Date:July 27, 2013
"It handles small trees just fine. Make sure you buy and extra liter of chain oil because you don't want to run out, although you can do quite a bit of cutting before you run out of oil. You don't need an extra duty extension cord. An ordinary outdoor extension cord works. We used it lots to trim up small trees and shrubs around our yard. Very happy with it."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

texas chainsaw

Date:May 23, 2013
"One of the best products I have bought this year well worth the price I paid."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakville

Great Saw

Date:April 18, 2013
"This is a good little saw. Obiviously not as powerful as a gas powered saw, but for cutting meduim sized tree's and limbs - no problems. I cut down 3 tree's in my backyard, up to 8" diameter and it worked great. Some people have commented on how much oil it uses, I'm not sure what is normal, but a full tank of oil lasted me the entire day (lots of cutting). It's great not to have to keep filling up with gas/oil mixture and fight to get it started - just plug in and cut, very easy. Perfect for yard maintenance around the house. I would definately recommend this saw for any small to meduim jobs."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:nanaimo bc

stok

Date:January 8, 2013
"Saw is weak, it only cuts if you put all your weight into it. The chain stays sharp but uses a lot of oil. Bought it on sale, worst decision i have made in a long time!"
-15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best product for $99.99

Date:November 26, 2012
"This is a great chain saw I got it on sale I trimmed about 30 trees 3 to 8 inches in diameter in my backyard and also my neighbor trimmed his tree branches about 15. Definitely I would recommend this product as a first time user I followed all the manual instructions and need to put the oil frequently and clean the waste underneath the handle...Finally my backyard look nice and happy...."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Nice 1st time saw

Date:September 25, 2012
"We have 1/2 acre heavily treed cottage lot on 3 tiers. I had never owned or used a chainsaw, but after 2 years of using a reciprocating saw to clear fallen trees and limbing trees , I knew a chainsaw was essential.
Because I have a small lot, and electric saw was a viable option with the investment in a 30 m 20 A cord (note the cord costs as much as the saw).
I used it to buck a 14 m beech which fell over the winter, and it had lots of power to cut 8" super wet hard wood quickly.
The saw is very light and handles well and the chain stops instantly when the trigger is released. Also has a proper chain brake, so I have some confidence in using it.
The chain came loose after the 1st few cuts, but I learned how to re-mount it to drive sprocket and properly tension it. No problems after that.
Seems to use a lot of chain oil. Buy the large container.
Hope it lasts for a few years, but so far, I am happy with this purchase, particularly at CTC's sale price."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon

Sprocket tip Lubrication

Date:August 28, 2012
"I recently purchased this item based partly on the reviews here, haven't had a chance to use it yet but because of the number of comments regarding having to purchase oil, I purchased oil. One other thing that is not mentioned until you are well into the manual is you will also need to buy sprocket tip grease. The manual seems to assume that this is not your first chain saw"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dryden, ON

Very Impressed

Date:October 15, 2011
"I bought this saw to use in making a firewood processor to try and reduce the amount of bending associated with bucking up firewood for the winter.
I found this saw to be as fast as my gas chainsaw and a lot quieter. Chain oil consumption wasn't noticeably excessive as others have stated.
We bucked up and split 4 cords of birch without a hitch...didn't even have to touch up the teeth and the tooless chain adjustment was a nice treat.
"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Headwaters, BC

Great for weekend warrior and Pine Beetle logs

Date:September 19, 2011
"A great electric chainsaw for weekend cabin/cottages. Plug it into a large gas generator with a 100' heavy duty (12/3) extension cord and this saw just goes. Cuts no problem through 12" - 16" dead Pine Beetle logs. Faster than my gas chain. Only concern, chain spins for a few seconds after the cut."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:vancouver, bc

Very surprising!

Date:September 11, 2011
"I use gas chainsaws at work so I was a little skeptical about buying this. I brought home a few truck loads of fir and maple that someone cut down but the peices were massive, too large to split. I picked this up on sale to give it a try and because it's a lot less maintenance compared to gas. It cut through the smaller peices (12 inches and less in diamater) effortless. The larger peices I made it through but it took a little patience which is expected with an electric chainsaw. This exceeds the needs of anyone who needs a chainsaw for home use.
Only thing I didn't like is that it eats oil. Need to keep at least 1 full bottle handy when using this. Can't get a better electric chainsaw."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wlliamstown, Ontario

very good buy for the money

Date:June 5, 2011
"Again the gas saw didn't start. Checked out the web site for what was rated well and took a chance on this electric saw.
Very suprised with what it is able to do. Cut down a 40 + foot maple easily. No more worries about a saw running while climbing. Only drawback is the amount of chain oil required, but easily out weighs the gas / oil mixing cost and the constant pull starts needed for a gas machine. Also close to 1/3 the price of a good gas machine.
Could use a detail to hold the end of the extension cord to the machine plug in, but otherwise works great and can cut a medium size tree easily and I know it will start after leaving sit until the next cutting season.
"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

POULAN 16"

Date:May 22, 2011
"This saw cuts well, and fast as my stihl gas saw. The negatives are only that it uses a lot of oil, probably 3-4 times as much as my stihl gas saw. Also the manual is next to useless in terms of the saw. It tells how to cut a tree, but not how to remove the chain or s what size file is required to sharpen the chain."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad i bought this

Date:October 14, 2009
"I bought this saw several months ago to use in my yard for light duty work. So far it has performed great. It is well balanced and relatively quiet. Cuts soft and hard wood quite well. You need a bit of pressure, but your not struggling at all.
Goes through chain oil fast. Keep lots on hand.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't forget to buy chain & bar oil

Date:September 7, 2009
"Great product.... I just used it for 2 hours to do some "bucking" and performed great.
Don't forget to by OIL!!!
Should be a big red sticker on the box that says buy chain an bar oil.
My unit used almost a full tank of chain oil in about 90 minutes,
Would be 5 stars all the way if t included oil or was properly labelled box saying oil is required."
+34points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As Good as a Gas Unit

Date:May 5, 2009
"I was hesitant to pay nearly 50% more for this saw than most competitive electric models but I'm so glad that I did. This unit is more powerful than my old 16" Remington gas chainsaw and much better built. If your needs for a chainsaw are within 100' of a power outlet, I don't know why you would ever put up with the hassles of a gas unit again."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Excellent electric chainsaw

Date:April 30, 2009
"I purchased this saw as my new home had several diseased plum trees in the yard. It was evident that I had to remove the plum trees, plus I needed a saw to perform rough work around the house, etc. I wanted this saw for the convienence of electric without mixing fuel or the fumes of gas, plus the other reviews rated it so well.
I found for an electric saw it was both light and sturdy, very powerful as I easily removed and cut-up aproximately 13 diseased or dead trees. I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good light duty affordable

Date:September 28, 2008
"great for small yardwork, not for major wood cutting products tho"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Poulan 16-in 13.5A Electric Chainsaw
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moose Jaw SK

great tool

Date:September 10, 2008
"I bought this item after using a friend of mine's. It took down a 30 foot elm with a 26inch base in a short time. It was a breese to use and not being as heavy as gas I found it more manuoverable. I used mine to delimb the elm tree and prune a poplar that was growing over the house. I was extremely pleased with the item and like the fact that if I don't want to sharpen the blade(chain) I can just replace it for around $20. This item is asteal at almost any price but the one listed made my decision easy and I have yet to find anything I dislike about it."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2