Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Chainsaws or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in

Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in

12-amp electric; 3.0 horsepower motor16" bar lengthTool-less chain adjustmentAutomatic chain and bar oilerLightweight and easy to handleReplacement chain: 054-5686
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
20 of 25(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Review 1 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:July 30, 2015
" Electric isnt always worse.. this is a pretty good chain saw, happy with my purchase "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

LESS CO2 EMISSIONS

Date:July 26, 2015
" it has less co2 emissions saves sum money and is a sleek little saw! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Battleford, SK, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Handy and effective

Date:July 17, 2015
" I bought this electric chainsaw to cut my trees at backyard and it is so handy yet powerful. The price is so competitive, it's worth more than renting. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burnaby BC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Don't Buy get a different Brand

Date:June 11, 2015
" Canadian Tire doesn't carry chains for this saw. You need to drive around town to find a chain for this product. What's to point of selling a chainsaw and don't carry it's main replacement part (chain). It would make more sense if it was a disposable item. Use and throw it away !!! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Strathroy, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

excellent value

Date:August 30, 2014
" Picked up saw at 8:10 AM.Out of the box @ 8:30.Ran saw for 3 Hours Straight bucking up 6'' to 8''green wood into 16" to 20" pieces.After a short break,filled up oil reservoir.Excellent value @$20.00 off list(reg) price.Added bonus-10x CT money on the Optima Card. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Worked Great

Date:April 27, 2014
" Cut limbs off a tree damaged by the ice storm. 1" to 6" limbs were no problem and would have had no issues cutting larger ones. Very easy to control, cuts well with over and under cuts. Had no issues with the bar oil (purchased MotorMaster brand)
Great for general use bought this one over the 14" as I was worried about the smaller ones cutting power with the smaller motor. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent performer

Date:April 7, 2014
" I have used a gas powered chain saw for years but when we moved from our country home to a city property I knew I would no longer need my chainsaw so I sold it. WRONG! Ice storm! I needed a saw.
I did not have high expectations from this saw but it outperformed what I expected, and was actually better than my gas saw except of course for trailing a cord.
Yes, it uses some oil, but that is a good thing. The biggest hazard with the oil, other than letting it run out is a tendency to overflow when you fill it because it is a small container.
I cut large and small, dry and green, and tightened the chain only slightly 2 times in 3 hours of steady cutting.
The saw cuts beautifully with just its own weight - no need to push it.
I cannot guarantee how long it will last but I suspect that with care it will be my last saw. I think it is a great buy and I did not get it on sale.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

quite impressed!

Date:February 2, 2014
" I needed a chainsaw for overgrown cedars in the back yard. I looked at gas models but they were pricey for what I needed the saw for. I reviewed a few electric saws and found this saw to be priced right (below $100) and great reviews. I thought i'd give it a try.
I treated the saw like I would a gas saw, which means I didn't handle it with kid gloves. It had more than enough power to easily get through 8 - 10 inch diameter trees quickly and efficiently.
I read reviews that it went through a ton of chain oil, but I did not find it was out of the ordinary when I used it. I also read that you need to constantly adjust the chain tension which I did not encounter at all either.
Over all this saw worked like a champ!! I worked it for 2 days quite hard and so far and it runs perfectly. A great saw for someone who needs some power but does not want to deal with gas machines.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Canada

defective?

Date:November 20, 2013
" it worked fine but i returned it as i found that the button for unlocking the power was impossible to engage and so i could not easily turn the unit on and off.
the chain kept coming off but i think that the chain lock and the cover lock wasn't tightened enough
other than that i liked it. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbellton, NB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

First Electric

Date:October 25, 2013
" Well when I used this I found it very easy to use. Speed of cut was better the my HomeLite on most sizes of tree. I have cut up to a 14" tree with it and have cut at least a full chord or more. Chain went loose twice on me but was easier to set tension then on any Gas one. I noticed that you do not need to force the machine for cutting. It will work its own speed and still be fast. I read most of the comments from others and think that this is where their chains came loose. I have hours on mine and only came loose when I tried to force it to see how hard it could cut. Normal use and it is just fine. For you dollar this is a great machine. I am just trying to think of how to get it out in the forest and do some work out there. I would definetly buy another of these. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:calgary
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Total waste of money

Date:September 1, 2013
" This was a gift I received few month ago. I read all the instruction, added the oil, check the chain tension and all. I started to cut a branch about 4 inches in diameter and after one inches into my cut the chain went loose. Settled the chain back as instructed, tried to continue the cut and the chain went loose again. I borrowed my neighbour's chainsaw to do the job. What a piece of junk. "
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, On

Keep tension on the chain

Date:July 27, 2013
" This more powerful Chainsaw has a tendency to loosen on its chain tension with 10 minutes of use.
My chain tangled and then jumped out of track twice.
After this initial experience, I started to check the tension adjustment every 3 serious (2" or more) cuts and I can see some wear-in during the first day of use. As long as I keep on top of oil level (every 15min check) and tension, the tool worked a solid four hour shift with three mid size trees.
I like the yardworks series because you can remove the chain cover with a big knob without removing gloves.
I will be cleaning out my tool after each day; there is a lot of sawdust that backs up into the chain drive area.
I must say that its easier to handle than a gas chainsaw with less choking smoke and heat and much less vibration to the arms. The grip and guard are just the right size, and tend to be oversized on a gas model. The product is also lighter than my older gas 16".
The regular price is a bit on the high side but when this product is on special sale at $80, its a good deal. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Excellent

Date:May 4, 2013
" Pays for itself in first day of use compared to having tree cutters come in.
Make sure you wear safety glasses and follow the safety guidelines.
Excellent deal when you get a sale price!"
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

Great value and it works!

Date:April 13, 2013
" I had a bunch of elm trees come down in the ice storm, most around 10 inch diameter. This saw cleared it all into fireplace size logs within an hour! Keep it oiled, keep safe, read the instructions and don't push it but most of all have fun! "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Leaks Chain Oil

Date:December 14, 2012
" Operation note states that "It is normal for oil to seep from the saw when not in use. to prevent seepage, empty the oil tank after each use". If you miss this note you will have a mess and waste chain oil. Also, it is probably not easy to pour oil from the chain saw back into the original container. This oil seep problem does not occur with my gas chain saw. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Great value and performance

Date:November 15, 2012
" First day of use and very impressed. Doesn't come with chain oil but I find that vegetable oil works just fine, although apparently you may have to refill it more often.
No problem cutting 4" branches. Pays for itself in first day of use compared to having tree cutters come in.
Make sure you wear safety glasses and follow the safety guidelines.
Excellent deal when you get a sale price! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Burnt out after 45 Minutes

Date:August 24, 2012
" The saw burnt out after about 45 minutes of work. I was cutting large trunks into sections for splitting. The motor began to smell so I stopped and put the saw down. After 15 minutes it worked but seemed to be weaker. A few minutes later, it quit for good. Too bad as it seemed adequate enough for light duty work.
It does however use loads of bar oil. Hard to believe how much actually. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love it

Date:April 10, 2012
" Very impressed with the power and quality. Cut a few 1 foot Alders very quickly and effortlessly. Much better than I would have ever anticipated. Bought in on sale and bang for your buck, this is a great buy. If you're considering an electric chainsaw, you will be very happy with this one. "
+34points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, Ontario

A Great Purchase

Date:October 30, 2011
" I just picked up this saw yesterday for 69.99, brought it home, put bar oil in it and away it went. I cleared 4 medium sized dead trees out of my backyard with it so far. I am very impressed with this saw as it has lots of power and it is very easy to use. Other reviews have said that it uses a lot of bar and chain oil, from my experience it seems to just have a very small tank, so you have to fill it up often. Overall I am very impressed with this saw and i would highly recommend to anyone who wishes to occasionly to cut down medium sized trees. "
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yardworks Electric Chainsaw, 12 A, 16-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Halifax, N.S.

Good purchase...but....

Date:June 21, 2011
" I bought the saw to cut down two medium and two large dead hardwood trees in my yard. I have so far cut the two medium trees down. The saw did a good job in the 8-10" trunk size, when cuting the tree to chopping length. Above this, it became a chore and I'd recommend that someone look for a larger saw. This, in my opinion, is a good clearing saw for a backyard handyman.
Finally, the saw blade uses a lot of chain oil and the reservoir is way too small for cutting more than 6-8" widths; you often have to stop to fill the reservoir. It's a handy saw, but not as close to the work-horse some have made it out to be (in my opinion, that is!). "
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2