Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Drills or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver

Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver

The 20V Max Lihium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver has a 1/2" single-sleeve keyless chuck and can handle up to 330 of in-lb torque2-speed gearbox with variable ranges, from 0-420 RPM (low range) and 0-1,500 RPM (high range)Forward/reverse LED indicator at top of drillBuilt-in LED work light allows for
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Review 1 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Westminster, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

worth the money

Date:October 27, 2014
" it works really well! I recommend this tool for home use and part time carpenters "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Great drill

Date:October 25, 2014
" I use this drill infrequently and do not charge it often, but whenever I need it, the charge is still available "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:welland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

best buy

Date:October 25, 2014
" if you are looking for a cordless drill this is the one I bought this drill when it was not on sale but now that it is I may buy another holds a charge for a long time not that heavy rugged a must have "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love it

Date:October 23, 2014
" Best bang for your buck if you are a DIYer. Have had this one for a few months now and it delivers all the power I need for projects around the home. Battery charge time is about an hour and the battery life indicator is pretty handy. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bishop's Falls, NL

Good Purchase

Date:October 23, 2014
" Have owned one for two years. Excellent for drilling or driving. Good torque and/or speed. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I loved it

Date:October 21, 2014
" Very powerful. I was impressed! I used it at work and at home, a great tool. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great drill at a competitive price

Date:October 14, 2014
" Works very well, feels like it's good quality. I've used it for many different small projects around the house. Battery holds a charge for a good amount of time also. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:woodbridge, ontario
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

cordless drill

Date:June 3, 2014
" I purchased this drill for my husband and he likes it. He likes the grip and how it works and it was on sale. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good Buy On Sale

Date:May 24, 2014
" I've had this drill for a year & a half now & I figured I'd write a review to let people know what to expect down the road.
I am impressed with the power, Charging time, durability ( I have dropped it a few times & no harm done - * I don't recommend abusing tools but we all have dropped a tool at one time or another) lightweight & all around usefulness of this drill. My only complaint is the fact that it only comes with 1 battery. I’ve had no problems yet with it.
I have used it to set screws, drill holes & polish my car.
Fully charged it lasts just about an hr. with continuous use. And that's giving the drill cool down breaks while I was polishing. Then it takes exactly 1 hr. to charge. The charger tells you how many minutes are needed for a charge starting at 60. So if you had 2 batteries, you could work continually all day.
I had to use a corded one also while polishing when this battery was on the charger. This is why I only gave it 4 stars. I wish I had bought two of them while they were on sale. Because buying a spare battery is almost the same as buying the whole drill when they have it on special.
If you plan on using this drill hours at a time, it would be wise to buy TWO of them when they are on sale. Because you will need the extra battery. Batteries are $80.00 & rarely go on sale. Why not have a spare drill for the same price as buying this drill & spare battery later?
But if you only use a drill occasionally, this one is perfect. We’ll see how this is after 3 years. So far so good.
NOTE***** I checked "NO" on the "Would you purchase your next Canadian Tire product online?"
because I like to get it directly from the store myself.
I have no experience with CanadianTire Online purchases .
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great drill

Date:May 18, 2014
" Light weight, powerful and easy to use in small space. It works fine in outdoor tasks in the fields, installing small wood projects and repairing buildings. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:vancouver

Fantastic Drill

Date:May 14, 2014
" This drill as well as all the other Mastercraft cordless tools are great good power and good battery life. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great drill, especially at sale prices

Date:May 5, 2014
" We picked this drill up on sale last year and we have been using it for everything. Holds charge long too "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy with this drill

Date:May 5, 2014
" I needed this for my daughter's high school physic project and am so happy I bought it. I has come in handy for other jobs around the house and works well. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orléans, Ottawa, ON K1C, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Drilling away

Date:May 3, 2014
" I just love cordless tools as I only use for residential purposes and this one is great. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Good for the Low Price

Date:May 2, 2014
" Would definitely recommend this drill to anyone looking for a cheaper cordless drill. Good quality and lots of torque. Have used it for 6 months now and never had a problem with it. Battery lasts a long time. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Fantastic Light-Medium Duty Drill/Driver

Date:March 6, 2014
" The Good:
After almost a year of use: it's just well designed and well built.
Good power due to the battery pack's 20 volt 1300mAh Li-Ion chemistry (some of us know it's not a true 20 volt system, but most don't care about that technicality). Out of all the projects I've used this tool on only once did I run out of juice (heavy drilling, countersinking, and lag driving: large gardening bench project). The battery pack charges back up in 45min - 60min (from roughly flat) and the 'smart' charger has a digital read-out for time-remaining. The charge level indicator on the front of the battery pack is very handy.
The rubber over-molds on the body make it comfortable to use but do attract a little more dust in use.
The Bad:
The included double-ended bits have a tendency to strip if used on poor fitting heads or if used with poor technique.
The chuck teeth were slightly out of alignment (one tooth was proud about 1mm from the other two) but this did not affect the performance of gripping surfaces.
Wishes:
The included carrying "tote" is just okay. For this price I would much rather have a roto-molded hardcase like other Mastercraft products of days old: A case more suited to the quality of the tool.
The LED worklight does its job but it would be better if activation started early on the soft-press of the trigger (before motor activation) and timed-out a few seconds after release of the trigger.
The gearbox selector doesn't engage 100% if there is a slight misalignment of the gears on stop. Not really an issue, as switching the selector back and fourth tends to put the gears back into alignment.
I wish the clutch selector numbers and symbols weren't painted on. If they were molded in it would be impossible to have them scratch off.
Conclusion:
At full price it's a good tool. On sale, it's a fantastic value.
"
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Impressive

Date:January 2, 2014
" An amazing drill. It is the only drill that I use now. If you are looking for a drill that will do its job right, than this is for you. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rocky Mountain House, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Upgrade

Date:October 26, 2013
" I haven't had a real chance to use this drill just yet but I'm already impressed with it. I got it as part of the three piece kit that included the small Circular saw and Multi Crafter tools. I have had the Power X Change drills and they were heavier duty but still useable. I like the features of the direction lights and included double bits.
I picked up an extra 2.6Ah battery for the set of tools I got as it only included two of the standard 1.3Ah batteries. It's a rule of thumb I have, “Always get extra batteries, upgrade it if and when possible.” The difference in price between the batteries is only $20 so it’s well worth upgrading for that minor of a difference. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Duncan, BC, Canada

good drill

Date:October 14, 2013
" I like this one. The lightest I have ever had, can use it all day and not feel like I have lugged a barbell around. Lots of power, and the battery lasts a decent time. Only con is that it only comes with one battery, so when it is dry I am without a drill until it is recharged. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 20V Max Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Great Drill/Driver!

Date:June 9, 2013
" I bought this drill/driver to build two raised bed vegetable garden boxes, and it did the job as a drill and as a driver!
Power is excellent. Nice features, including an LED work light. The charger is amazing: the visual display showing the number of minutes remaining until charge is complete is a nice touch. The charger is smart, too: it won't allow overcharging of the battery. And a full charge requires only 60 minutes.
I highly recommend this drill/driver. If you can, wait for it to go on sale. I bought it on sale for $100. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2