Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Drills or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc

Kit includes corded hammer drill (54-2986)Variable speeds 0-2,600 rpm/0-46,800 bpmSelect button for drilling or hammer drillingConvenient storage case with 100 accessories6A
Average Customer Rating:
3.798 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
60
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 star
20
136 of 168(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Review 1 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dryden, ON

Purchased 3 years ago

Date:August 15, 2012
"I purchased this drill 3 years ago. It has handled every job I've used it for. Drills through 10 inches of landscape ties with a 1/2" auger bit with ease. Supplied case and bits are good quality. Depth stop is handy."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:toronto

what a dud

Date:July 25, 2013
"Drilled 2 holes through soft brick, and the chuck gave out and permanently jammed. This is the 2nd such drill that gave out after initial use. Forget it."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

how can ya beat the price 29 bucks

Date:May 29, 2013
"havent even used it yet but someday when i need it it will be there"
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only good things to say

Date:May 27, 2013
"Great dual mode hammer drill/regular drill. I was constantly getting frustrated with my cordless drills so my lady bought me this ;)"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Good value when on sale

Date:May 21, 2013
"Have been using this tool for over 7 years. Originally picked up on sale for $43 bucks or around that. Given such low price, there is definitely some value in the tool especially considering included accessories.
While I am no longer in trades (7 years in carpentry), I like building and doing things around the house so i know something about the tools as I used/owned a large array of different tools of different brands, designation and quality. Right off the bat please realize that this is in no way a professional tool, you get what you pay for (in this case you get a bit more but still not much).
Since I had that tool I gave it a good use including drilling wood, metal, hammer drilling concrete, mixing mortar and even sanding the floors (with a special sanding disk).
Pros:
Low price (on sale)
Extensive accessory kit of acceptable quality.
Ok durability for light to medium tasks. This unit will last if used properly. Don't let it overheat and do not abuse.
Looks like motor has decent power and torque however same is negated by very high RPM of around 2,500 which is excessive and results in a loss of power.
Variable speed (unlike somebody mentioned here)
Cons:
Very high RPM = less power and less control. As somebody mentioned, most of the jobs are done at 1/3 or 1/2 the speed.
While drill has a variable speed switch, there is no magnetic break so there is a lot of momentum in a fully going unit.
Hammer action is a joke. It is still possible to get a job done but every hole takes forever. I do not even try to drill a hole bigger than 3/8" right away - always drill a smaller "pilot" hole first and only than put a bigger bit to widen the hole. As was mentioned in many reviews, chuck loosens almost immediately due to vibration from the hammering mechanism and tool requires constant retigtening. Hammer action also produces blood chilling hi-pitch loud noise. Hammer drilling is the major draw back of this unit and it can only be used in soft materials or if you know how to use junk tools and have time/patience. However I am yet to see acceptable concrete drilling from non-SDS machines - even way more expensive Dewalt and Hilti are struggling here. This unit will drill through masonry though, however hard concrete may be just beyond its reach.
Albeit small size this drill is quite heavy and you will definitely feel the weight if using it for some time.
Overall this unit can be a good deal for occasional DIY-er who uses it lightly and does not require hammer drilling (or have a proper SDS tool for it)."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Drill

Date:May 17, 2013
"The drill is very good. The bits are a little soft but good enough for light duty but this is not a variable speed drill so it isn't good for screw driving. Other than that this kit is a good deal when it is on sale."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Englehart, ON P0J, Canada

Reliable

Date:May 12, 2013
"Have had this for a year and a half drilling concrete, steel and wood all of which it handles easily. Forgot it ouside for a month or so this winter and after cleaning the rust off the chuck, oiling it and letting the unit dry it works as well as ever. The only critique I'd have is the hammer selector needs a locking function as have accidentally activated it when twisting around in tight spots a couple of times."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

Lots of Power!

Date:March 1, 2013
"I used it to drill holes in concrete to attach a sub-floor in my basement. It worked great, especially with the attached depth rod. However, use ear plugs as depending on what your drilling...it can be loud."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Got the job done

Date:February 23, 2013
"Worked well for drilling a 3/8" hole into concrete to install a couple anchor bolts. Chewed through it quickly. Buy this on sale! Good product."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pierrefonds, Montreal, QC, Canada

good drill, buy when on sale

Date:January 23, 2013
"I bought this drill a few years back when it was on sale, ~ 70% off? I used it heavily when drilling holes in cement for a week, then the gears got stripped - Returned it for a new unit, no issues since then...
As most have stated, it works well until it fails - Keep the receipt.. Buy it on sale!
This isn't a construction grade product, but does the job around the house...
:)"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stayner, ON, Canada

Good Drill

Date:January 2, 2013
"I had this drill for over 6 years and had no issues, used it to drill hundreds of screws in concrete when laying a sub-floor. Have used it on my truck and many home projects without issues. The only thing I don't recommend this product for is mixing drywall compound, the drill will overheat."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Do not buy: DEFECTIVE

Date:December 27, 2012
"I bought 2 of these and the hammer action did not work for either. This is obviously a defective product on sale to get rid of it. Don't waste your time."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, Ontario

Can't find a better drill for the price

Date:December 20, 2012
"I recieved this drill as a gift a few years ago. We built a 5 stall horse barn with this drill and had zero issues. The kit that came with it was quite usefull and the depth gauge works well. The only downside is I found this drill a little heavy for all day use. If I had to buy another corded drill, this one would be on the top of my shopping list."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver BC

Chuck will not stay tight

Date:November 26, 2012
"If you use this drill as a hammer drill the chuck will not stay tight. I read the reviews and saw some say don't bother with this drill and purchased it anyway. The chuck came loose on my first hole and from then on could not keep it tight no matter how hard I tightened it. I oiled it thoroughly as well in an attempt to solve the problem. On my way back to return it now after setting up all my materials for the day."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

Poor Puchase

Date:October 29, 2012
"This Drill worked for 8 seconds on the job. Don't waste your time and money. Pay for the "right tool"."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park, AB, Canada

Hardly used and need repair

Date:October 14, 2012
"I purchased my drill more than 3 years ago, it only gets very limited light duty use. It now is wide open when I plug it in. It needs a new switch installed. My last drill was a Black and Decker and I owned it for 15 yrs with no trouble. Disappointed in this drill for the little use it has had. Not sure I would buy another Mastercraft power tool?."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Welland, ON, Canada

JUNK

Date:October 3, 2012
"I purchased this drill for light work arround the cottage and the first time I Used it it failed . I brought it back to Canadian Tire and it was replaced with no issues. The second one was used for 0ne summer about 5 times and it the past week iI used it to drill a few holes in cement blocks and the gears in the drill got stripped. I think this drill should be pulled from the shelves."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON

Mastercraft corded hammer drill kit

Date:September 3, 2012
"excellent product; used successfully with deck repair and building of same; very easy to use."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg

Contractor grade hobby price

Date:September 2, 2012
"I used this unit to drill every hole in a two room addition I built on my house. Even drilling large diameter, deep holes into concrete for rebar the unit held up. It was bought on sale because it was cheaper than RENTING a brand name hammer drill so FANTASTIC value for the money."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Corded Hammer Drill Kit, 100-pc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hammer Drill

Date:August 29, 2012
"Very smooth and easy to use, the case & the extras in the kit came in handy."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9