Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Drills - Cordless or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver

18V cordless drill/driver. 3/8" chuck single sleeve. One 18V (1.3A) NiCad battery. Weight: 3 lbs., 13 oz
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Review 1 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal

perfect tool, perfect price

Date:May 13, 2013
"This affordable drill is easy to use, even if, like me, you are not a handy person"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for first time homeowner

Date:August 28, 2012
"When I bought my first house, I used this drill for assembling all of my new furniture and for hanging blinds in each of the windows. The drill is a good size, not too heavy, and the battery lasts long enough to get a lot of work done. The bits are easy to change."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawkesbury, ON, Canada

Good for a Mister fix it like myself

Date:August 5, 2012
"Purchased this tool over 5 yrs ago and batteries are not lasting long anymore. But I bought it on sale has a kit including 2 batteries at 69.99, so I got my monies worth. The last project I did with it is my ice fishing shack. Good tool for the price."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chilliwack, BC

Does a good job

Date:January 2, 2010
"Works well for any job I have used it for. Drove hundreds of screws on a wooden deck and had no complaints. Recharges quickly."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Good drill for occassional user

Date:January 1, 2010
"Don't expect this drill to perform or have the same torque as a Dewalt or Hitachi. But for the price [especially on sale], it can be a real good choice for the occasional user or perhaps someone who wants an inexpensive second drill on hand.
I have two cordless drills .... this 18v Job Mate and an industrial cordless. In all honesty, I probably use the Job Mate as much or more than the other drill simply because the Job Mate is a little smaller and lighter.
In the 1-1/2 years that I have had the Job Mate, I have had no trouble with the drill, batteries or charger."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Penticton BC

Date:December 23, 2008
"I would never buy this tool again, the power is min., the batteries will not hold a charge for long."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Best drill I have

Date:September 19, 2008
"This drill just keeps going on a charge, makes my work easier and being cord free I can move around my workshop with ease.
I actually have 3 of these,
The price is great!!
The only thing that prevents me from giving it a 5 star rating is one battery that wouldn't recharge.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK

Save your money

Date:September 16, 2008
"Not entirely useless but close enough that you might want to save your money"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK

Good quality for the do it yourselfer

Date:September 9, 2008
"This drill is good quality for its price, I put it to the test on a few occasions and found that it stands up to moderate work very easily. The charge is quick and it has more than enough power for a do it yourselfer. This si the second Jobmate drill I hav owned, the first one I bought lasted over 10 years."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON

Just won't cut it

Date:May 29, 2008
"Good tool to have if you live in an apartment or a turn key house which doesn't need much work. But since we purchased a 60 y/o house in need of major renovations, it just won't cut it.
Not enough tork. Batterie life isn't the best."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island

Great value for the price.

Date:May 10, 2008
"Nice drill given the price -- can do pretty much anything you would ask of a cordless -- and at this price a great value."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

not a bad one.

Date:May 3, 2008
"It is ok if you don't pay full price for it.
Torque is on the lower end, about 1/2 of what a Dewalt does but ok for screws in the drywall.
It can get stuck if you try to drill with a large bit.
If you use t a lot, get Mastercraft brand, but for once a month type of use it will do.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:belleville, ont

great purchase

Date:March 31, 2008
"renovated a whole house with it. drywall. building closets. putting up cupboards, it worked for every job, big and little"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Senneterre, QC

Good,.. but

Date:March 29, 2008
"Drill is O.K. for light jobs. After a year it's
still going great, but I know that the battery
will eventually lose its power. The cost of a
replacement battery is more than what I paid
for the drill. I don't know why this is so.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Light Duty

Date:January 11, 2008
"If your looking for a drill to use every once in a while around the house, its a good value for your money. However, it wont last on larger projects. I used mine 2 or 3 times a week and killed two of these drills in less then 2 months. It has lots of power, but just doesn't hold up long term."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McBride BC

Excellent Drill

Date:October 26, 2007
"I was able to remodel the lower level of our house. The drill worked great, recharged fast, easy to change drill bits."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC

Good value for the price

Date:October 24, 2007
"Got this drill for $20 with the sale, can't really beat it for the price. Good power, battery lasts quite a long time for light household use. Unit is not too heavy, and fairly well balanced.
One minor compliants. The slip clutch setting is not too good, there is not a smooth progression through the range. It slips farily easily at most of the lower settings, then there is a big jump at the top 2 settings.
Also, the battery gets very hot during recharge, make sure you unplug it after a few hours or it will keep trying to charge and heat it up. I think the battery will be fried pretty quickly that way."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good drill

Date:October 3, 2007
"for the price the drill has lots of kick and comes with asseceries"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Jobmate 18V NiCad Cordless Drill/Driver
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5