Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories

Oscillating tool features 10000-18500 opmOscillating angle is 2.8°Includes: 3-1/2" half circle saw blade, 1-1/4" wood plunge cutting saw blade, 3/4" wood plunge cutting saw blade, 2" scraper blade, 1 sanding pad, 5 hook and loop sandpaper and blade wrench and soft sided tote
Average Customer Rating:
3.346 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
17 of 26(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Review 1 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grand Falls-Windsor, NL, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

What did I do without this?

Date:October 19, 2013
"Bought this a week ago as I was installing hard wood floors. Fortunately it came on sale when I needed it. Before that I was using Mastercraft Reversible Dovetail saw. That was another purchase but takes so long to use and is slow and awkward.
The oscillating tool, used with the 1-1/4" wood plunge cutting saw blade, did the job in no time. Easy to use. Accurate. Changing blades is simple.
No complaints but one beef: the quality of the blades could be better. Maybe that is so you have to buy better blades after the stock ones wear out. Only problem with this logic is I will search around for better quality and better price, Canadian Tire sells a good tool but partners it with mediocre accessories.
They get me as a customer for a major purchase then makes me go elsewhere.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

BUY IT!

Date:September 17, 2013
"Bought this saw a month ago. So far I have installed our new kitchen cabinets a vented fan, cut drywall, cut 1x3 to repair drywall, abs pipe. I have now moved onto my basement reno and it is running strong. I did have one scare as I thought the shaft had broken but it turned out to be a broken blade."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Temiskaming Shores, ON, Canada

Very handy tool to have on the job.

Date:July 9, 2013
"I own a reno business so I'm always buying some new too to make life at work a little easier.
Never thought I would ever use this tool much but decided to buy one anyways when they came on sale. Had it for a year now and it has cut alot of stuff. I have used it for so much more than just flooring or door mouldings.
I have worn out 3 blades now and its still going strong. The only thing is you have to be careful not to let it overheat it when doing heavy cutting with it. Let it cool down if it seems to be getting too hot.
For the price and the time it has saved me it would have paid for itself even at full price."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:London, Ontario

Poor workmanship

Date:June 20, 2013
"I have had three of these tools. One lasted about 5 minutes, one lasted less than five seconds, and the third, after about 3 minutes is making the same rattling sounds in the gearbox area the others made before they died. All three were from the same production batch (from the number on the side of the box) so maybe they had a bad batch. I am taking the last one back, but I am going to try and get my money back and buy a different brand."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thornhill, ON

The Tool with Multipule Personalites

Date:May 22, 2013
"So handy for so many situations, unlimited to your imagination and creativity...This tool with the included attachments get the job done and saves a lot of time and money on projects and repairs. It is quite loud when in use."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Handy tool

Date:May 6, 2013
"Used this tool to do a lot of trim work. Especially handy when doing renovations like new flooring and you need go cut off door boxes and casings."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corner Brook, NL, Canada

Sparks, smoke and heat!

Date:February 7, 2013
"Followed the instructions. The tool overheated, started sparking. I immediately pulled the plug on the unit. While I left it to cool down, I noticed an acidic smell in my workroom. Looked at the machine and smoke was coming out of all ends of the tool. Worked well the first time I used it, this was only the second time. As this was a gift, I doubt I will be able to return this to my Canadian Tire in Corner Brook NL. They never return anything."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pierrefonds, Montreal, QC, Canada

Great deal at $29.99!

Date:January 22, 2013
"Bought this product after having used a similar one at a job site.. At the price, I look forward to using it on my next job! I will likely have to buy more accessories, which will cost more than what I paid for the tool!!"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

I use a Dremel…Dad has…this

Date:November 23, 2012
"Oscillating tools started with the Fein Multimaster decades ago and the price restricted it too tradesmen. Some years back Fein’s patent ran out and almost a dozen knock offs have come on the market with a wide range in price and quality.
They’re great if you ever have to make a cut in an awkward location. They are the Swiss army knives of the tool box. I’ve had a Dremel MultiMax for a couple of years and with the right blades used it for a wide variety of jobs:
• scraping tile adhesive off a floor
• sanding in corners
• undercut doors when installing flooring
• making straight cuts (if you have a guide)
• rasping away thin set left over after a tile is removed
• cutting out grout between tiles (still slow but faster than any other grout removal tool I’ve used before)
• cutting pipe and bolts (you need a metal cutting blade and the job takes forever)
• plunge cuts into sheet stock and ¾” boards (it won’t work in 2x stock)
Also like a pocket knife, it may not be the best tool for a job. You don’t want to use this for sanding a deck or cutting 2x4s. It can do both jobs, but it does them badly compared to an random orbital sander or a circular saw.
My experience with the Canadian Tire came about when my Dad asked me to help him with a few odd projects around the house such as replacing a toilet, removing a vinyl floor in the bathroom, trimming some copper pipes, and scribing a cut for a new bathroom cabinet. I forgot to bring my own Dremel tool and seriously considered making the two hour drive back home. Instead, we went to his local CT and found this model on sale for around $35-40 that week. It came with a few basic attachments and we picked up a couple of Mastercraft scraper blades and metal/wood cutting blades. Here are my thoughts on the tool:
• I made a plunge cuts through some plywood for pipes. The cuts were squared off nicely.
• We had to cut away caulking around the old bathroom cabinet. We mangled the cuts, but the new cabinet covered our messy work.
• I used a piece of wood to act as a guide while scraping
• We added a new electrical socket, which meant cutting some holes in the drywall. The job was slower than a drywall knife but made less mess and
• We couldn’t unstick the rusty floor bolts on the toilet. The metal cutting blades did a slow job of cutting the bolts, but it was still faster than loosening them with
• The toilet was caulked to the floor. When we tried to lift the toilet up, the vinyl flooring started coming up with it. We used a scraper blade to remove the caulking and clean the remaining gunk on the vinyl tiles.
The MasterCraft tool did all of these jobs, but we found it performed in a flaky way. The tool had a lot of heat buildup and it takes a long time for it to cool down. I’ve worked my Dremel MultiMax harder than the MasterCraft and it never heated up this much. The hottest parts were closest to the blade, making it uncomfortable to hold the tool at the point where you need to hold it for maximum.
The MasterCraft oscillating tool quit on us twice. In one case it may have been from heat build up while cutting the toilet bolts. The other time was in the middle of cutting the drywall. (Maybe some drywall dust got into the motor?) I've done the same types of jobs with my Dremel, but it never quit on me.
If you only have a few small projects and you can catch this on sale for under $40, I guess it’s worthwhile buying. It lasted long enough to accomplish the jobs we wanted, but the quality isn’t there. If you have to choose between this tool at full price ($100) vs. paying an extra $20-30 for a Dremel go with the Dremel. (or another reputable brand like Rockwell or Ridgid),"
+103points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada

Didn't know I needed it till I got it!

Date:November 8, 2012
"This is one of those tools you need but dont know you do till you have it at your disposal. Need to undercut door trim, no problem. Need to regrout or clean the grout between tiles, no problem. Need to sand, no problem. Have a nail or screw that wont come out between two surfaces...no problem just cut it off. I dont use it often but when I do it saves a heck of time, like undercutting trim. Buy on Sale 40$"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ottawa

best value tool I've ever purchased.

Date:November 7, 2012
"I've had this tool for a bit over a year. I've used it to cut drywall, cut portions out of 4x4 pressure treated wood, sand wood, and as a rasp.
I've been very surprised at how well it has performed, and is probably the cheapest power tool I've ever purchased. I've used it for hours at a time in sanding cedar wood for a deck, never had a problem.
The only bad thing I've got to say is that occasionally I've had to re-tighten the cutting blades because they sometimes loosen after a while.
I highly recommend the accessory kit that's available."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada

Worked great

Date:October 12, 2012
"I have used this for a few small jobs around the home. The thing works great with a little practice. Did some nice work on trim that I laid some hard wood under. Saved me a ton of time and the cuts are clean and straight.
Well worth the price. Especially when it's on sale."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cochrane, AB

Its worked very well for me

Date:September 2, 2012
"A little surprised reading previous reviews on this product. My experience has been positive and I've since purchased the accessory kit on sale. The unit oscillates in a cutting motion with a variety of blades for sanding, cutting and scraping. I've used this unit to cut mortises, sand window sills and loved the flat and pointed sanding pad. The rough sanding/grinding head took seconds to eat through an uneven floor board. This is one of those tools that is unique and can provide a solution standard tools can not."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Patience

Date:August 24, 2012
"With patience this little tool can get you out of a bind. Don't expect too much but then you don't pay too much."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Victoria

Yes and no

Date:April 6, 2012
"I loved this tool up until it overheated. It didn't stop running and I didn't have time to let it cool down so I finished the job. It was too hot to touch around the vents and the metal housing so it was a bit tricky using it.
And after I was done, the screws that hold the metal housing to the plastic were loose and one screw won't even tighten anymore. Plus the lubricant has now vibrated and leaked out of the gear box area.
No receipt of course, so I have to fix it myself ...sigh"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Over hyped

Date:March 26, 2012
"I don't understand the 5 star reviews in here at all. It was a labour for me to cut through drywall with this tool and cutting through hardwood is a joke. The replacement blades are way over priced."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nelson, BC

Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool

Date:February 19, 2012
"I used two blades and both broke shortly after using them. The speed slows down unexpectedly even with no load.
I don't know what other manufacture's blades are usable on this, but if the ones designed for this product are as bad as the ones I got ,I will think very seriously about not purchasing any more Mastercraft products.
Unfortunately, I misplaced my receipt so I can't return it.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Multi Crafter Tool

Date:February 15, 2012
"It is not inverter friendly .
It will sometimes intermit between On and Off .
It will sometimes not even turn On , so by playing with it , turning the switch on and off ,
adjusting the variable speed selector I have always been able to get it to go .
I found this out by returning the first one and when I got the second one home it did the same thing .
It does not seem to matter about the size of the inverters either ( 3000 watt or a 1750 watt ) .
They did the same thing .
I have a friend that loaned me his Dremel and it worked perfectly on my inverters .
All of my inverters are Modified Sine Wave and not a True Full Sine Wave .
All in All ,I love this little tool and because I got it at $34.00 plus tax and has a three year warranty I can`t
see anyone going wrong with this purchase .
I would not recommend cutting any metal nails or screws with it .
Denis"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone needs this product

Date:January 11, 2012
"Heavy tool, very sturdy and strong build.
Millions of uses for this product. Everyone needs to own one. On sale for $34.00, why not?
Sands great, cuts virtually everything. Just used this to trim spray foam insulation! You will never regret this purchase. Buy corded as it has more power, and guaranteed to work when you need it to vs. charging batteries.
"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 2.5A Corded Oscillating Tool with 12 Accessories
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto

carefully inspect BEFORE purchasing

Date:September 13, 2011
"bought one of these on sale this week. after I put a blade on it, noticed that the blade did not point straight out (i.e. it was crooked). double-checked it & was on right. as the oscillating head "rotates" back and forth about 5 degrees, thought that it might have "locked" off centre, so I ran the tool several times, but each time it stopped, was still crooked at the same angle. as the manual did not say anything as to how to straighten a misaligned accessory head, figured that I just got a defective one and took it back to the store to exchange it. don't know if all of the units of this particular model have this problem or if it was just a manufacturing glitch with the "batch"/"lot" that this particular Cdn T received, but four other tools at the store had the exact same problem. wd have really liked to have one of these as they are very handy and as the sale price makes them a great value, but a misaligned accessory head makes this unit useless for doing jobs where a straight forward cut is desired (e.g. when cutting baseboards, etc). if considering this product, inspect it carefully in-store B4 buying. now, I guess that I'll have to wait for the cordless version or a Dremel model to go on sale."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2