Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander

Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander

12,000 OPM single speed control5" base with hook and loop fastening systemComes with three sanding discsThrough the pad dust extraction system
Average Customer Rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
28 of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Review 1 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rocky Mountain House, AB

Works well

Date:October 10, 2010
"I have some work for this sander that got it taking turns with the Black & Decker I also got from CT. It has the same power as the B&D but runs a little slower because of the polishing feature but still works great. I noticed that it works better from 80grit and up and trading grades of paper for progressive sanding helps keep it and the other sander from getting overly hot. The collection bag is effective but vacuming after each sanding session helps the sanding disks getting gummed up. It handles plastic nicely and does a great job on wood too. At the sale price it is a great buy and worth the purchase. I would like to try the polishing feature it's size would be great for a touch up on the wax.
This sander is easy on the hands and works best with a light touch, forcing it down doesn't help letting it do the job on it's own works best.
Another good thing about the speed is that it won't gouge in when you first put it on the work, it polietly starts sanding.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
Black & Decker 2.4A 5-in. Random-Orbit Sander
4.8 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best bargain orbital sander I've found

Date:June 25, 2013
"I made use of my dad's Mastercraft random orbital sander while building a deck this spring. Things I liked:
- It's a decent job capturing sawdust, but you'll still want a mask for sub-micron particles that slip through the bag.
-The velcro that hold's the sandpaper wore out, but only after a LOT of use building the deck. and using it for jobs you ought to do with a belt sander.
-The price. We had to replace it, but when it's on sale it's a bargain.
Things that I didn't like:
-vibrates way more than the name brand ones I've used at work. It's uncomfortable to use for extended periods.
-Prone to tipping.
- no way to hook up a shop vac conveniently. (We did manage to, using lots of duct tape.)
Overall I liked this sander's performance and I think it's a quality product. I only used it on a few weekends, so I can't comment on durability. When it's on sale, it's great value."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product

Date:January 2, 2012
"We have been using this product to sand imperfections out of the logs on our new cabin and find that out of all the sanders (5 or 6) that we have used this one is the best ! No nicks or gouging."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Weekend Warrior

Date:August 3, 2012
"This tool was my go to sander for a couple years and I still keep it around. It's taken a kicken and keeps on ticken. It's comfortable to hold and not to heavy, that it makes long sanding jobs difficult. The dust collector is about a useful as a screen-door on a submarine but I rigged my shop vac to it and that does the trick. It has enough power to get you through but to much pressure and it'll quickly slow down. Not an issue unless you need to heavily remove a lot of material. I have a a heavy duty 3.3 amp Bosch orbit sander now but I still dig up this guy for the odd job as it's lighter. Great tool for the money."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON, Canada

Fantastic value

Date:December 13, 2012
"I am a hardcore DIYer and decided to give this unit a try after my DeWalt died. This sander works just as well as my old $100 unit did and provides a very nice finish. The speed control allows you to approach the surface at a slow speed to avoid gouging your work. The only gripe I have is that the plastic protective cover over the power switch (it's a dust cover) is not very pliable and it can be difficult to turn the unit on and off, especially if you are working in the cold. When this unit is on sale, the value simply can't be beat."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Good quality product

Date:August 29, 2012
"Great addition to any DIY'ers tool collection. I haven't used it too many times, but each time I did, it worked perfectly, from refinishing/levelling my old coffee table to polishing my automotive paint jobs. Reduced hours of manual labor to seconds."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Deer Lake, NL, Canada

Excellent Value

Date:May 15, 2013
"Had this on sale for 1/2 price. best sander iv ever had. used it for sanding rails, sanding my car and sanding tables. worked perfect and has never had problems in 2 years iv owned it. the pads stay in place great and sands down fast smooth and easy. no pressure from my hands anymore I tell ya. if u need one and can get this one, go for it, you wont be disapointed"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sander

Date:May 14, 2013
""This tool was my go to sander for a couple years and I still keep it around. It's taken a kicken and keeps on ticken. It's comfortable to hold and not to heavy, that it makes long sanding jobs difficult. The dust collector is about a useful as a screen-door on a submarine but I rigged my shop vac to it and that does the trick. It has enough power to get you through but to much pressure and it'll quickly slow down. Not an issue unless you need to heavily remove a lot of material. I have a a heavy duty 3.3 amp Bosch orbit sander now but I still dig up this guy for the odd job as it's lighter. Great tool for the money.""
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Little sander that could

Date:May 29, 2014
"This no fancy orbital sander is great for the occasional usage and can step up for longer larger projects. I have used mine to sand down a cedar deck 14' x 14'. Quite a chore but it got it done and the finish was amazing (using 220 grit).
The suction is adequate. If a conversion kit was available to attach to a vacuum it would be perfect.
Attaching and removing the sanding discs is as expected and they are held securely.
One needs to be careful when getting to and edge of a work area and the loss of contact to the sanding disc can either tear the edges of the disc or add pressure to the edge of the wood causing more material to be removed than desired.
My only complaint is the design of the bag and cord. The power cord hangs over the bag and over time a rip can occur on the bag. I got the bag replaced and added a sock to prevent future damage. To be honest most orbital sander have this flaw.
Regular price they are good, sales price they are amazing."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

50% off !!!

Date:May 16, 2013
"Got this Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander/Polisher at a 50% off price and is working fine so far!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Steinbach, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

R O Sander

Date:April 13, 2014
"This unit works well. I purchased it on sale and took it home. I turned it on and it revved up then died. So I took it back to CT the following morning and got a replacement. This one kept on working and it still works. Just in case though, I went and bought a second as a backup. I would have given it five stars except for the first fail.
Would recommend to anyone.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:17 or Under
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good unit for beginners

Date:June 15, 2014
"this sander is a good sander for a beginner and it reasonably priced for a orbital sander. the only thing that is not good is that it vibrates way too much and make your hand feel numb."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC, Canada

Great deal

Date:May 13, 2013
"Just bought this at half price. Only have used it once so far but it did a great job smoothing out my walls."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

Excellent sander at a great price

Date:October 2, 2010
"We already owned a MasterCraft palm sander. While it's fine for detail sanding (e.g., between coats of finish), but they aren't so great for smoothing out wood dents. We recently acquired a desk, a dresser, and night stand. All were still solid, but suffered from dents, dings, and about a dozen coats of paint. Sanding off the paint and smoothing out the scratches took too long with a palm sander, even using 60 grit sandpaper. This is where a random orbital sander (ROS) excels: removing layers of material and smoothing out rough surfaces. We originally considered buying a name brand, but when we saw a MasterCraft ROS for about half the price we decided to buy that one. (Even better, MasterCraft tools can often be bought at half price.) Orbital sanders usually take a special kind of sand paper that loops onto the machine, making it fast and easy to change sandpaper. Our new sander came with enough sheets to finish off the desk, although we had to buy more sandpaper to complete the job. (CT sells it.) The ROS made quick work of the paint. Originally we thought we'd have to use a lot of wood filler, but the sander did a good job of leveling out shallow dents and scratches. The only problem we ran into was doing sanding between coats of stain. Even thought we used a fine grit paper, the ROS went through our new coat. (This is where a finish sander is the right tool.) We've also used the orbital sander to level out uneven sections in a wood floor and it works great, except in corners where the circular base couldn't get in all the way. Overall, this is a fine random orbital sander for an excellent price."
+73points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Very good sander

Date:June 27, 2012
"I spent a whole day using this sander to strip paint and sand a fence that my sheet sander simply couldn't handle without tearing the sandpaper. This sander easily stripped off the peeling paint, where the sand paper would've just torn on my sheet sander. Also, despite several hours of straight use at max RPM, the sander was very cool to the touch. I'm not sure that I would use this to apply any polish though, as the sander does collect a lot of dust on the outside and is hard to clean.
I would've rated this product higher, except for two problems that I came across. Perhaps it's just my bad luck, or you could probably argue that these issues aren't problems with the product itself, but I'll include them anyway.
First, and I'm not sure if this is common to hook and loop sanders, but more than half of the 5 pack of coarse sanding discs that I bought flew off the sander while it was running. I thought at first that the backing might've worn off, but it seemed to be the same as the remaining unused discs and there was plent of grit on the discs that flew off. Unfortunately, the discs that flew off would no longer stick to the sander. Perhaps I simply bought a pack of defective discs.
Second, it was clear that someone had clearly opened and returned the sander before I bought it. I bought the sander on sale a few months ago, but due to other projects, hadn't gotten around to opening it. When I finally did, I couldn't find any polishing pad in the box and the 3 discs that were supposed to be included were replaced by five smaller 4.5" the sanding discs. Unfortunately, I never bothered to check that everything was in the box in-store, as the sander was behind a locked cabinet. I find it very disappointing that CT didn't pick up on the missing polishing pad and extra mis-sized discs on the return, as it clearly states the included items on the box."
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this sander

Date:June 23, 2010
"I bought this to replace the defective Rockwell Sander I bought from Lowe's.
I use this on my deck, on cars, for woodworking, for everything. The sanding pads are easy to replace and easy to use.
Variable speed feature is amazing. This sander is very smooth and very efficient."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Good buy especially on sale

Date:September 30, 2011
"I bought this sander recently and I found it to be very good for the price (paid $21.99 on special). It performs very well, the noise less is reasonable and while the dust accumulator is very good don’t expect it to pick up 100% of it. Good buy and a much better buy on special."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mastercraft random orbital sander

Date:May 9, 2012
"After only 4 months of use my mastercraft sander developed the following problems. (1.)The dust bag attachment kept falling off during use dumping sawdust powder everywhere. I cleaned the plastic connection several times but it no longer will stay on. (2.) The bearings began to wear out prematurely, unit began to make grinding noise when turned on and then stopped turned/functioning. (3.) During use, the fan/exhaust port blows air towards the user, if dust bag is full or disc holes blocked, unit blows dust into users face."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great sander for the price!

Date:May 16, 2013
"it gets the job done and looks good doing it. it falls short of higher end sanders but for any residential project this sander is very worth what you pay for it!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 2A Random Orbit Sander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston

Great Time Saver

Date:June 18, 2010
"This sander has made many jobs for me much easier. I find it does a great job and certainly is easier on me than all the hand sanding I have done in the past. On sale, it is an even better value."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2