Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Sanding & Grinding Accessories or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V

Oscillating tool features 18,000 rpm, includes lithium ion battery and diagnostic fast charger. Features push button speed control and LED light. Ergonomic design with rubber over mould on handle. Unique tool for sanding, grinding, scraping and more
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
9 of 20(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Review 1 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Elliot Lake,ON

awesome toy

Date:August 14, 2012
"have used this tool for over a year now trimming doors and baseboards, for the installation of new flooring, it has not let me down"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Quality Tool

Date:March 28, 2012
"This tool is poor Quality.
I would not even bother with it when on sale for 50% off.
Go with another brand or maybe try the corded model.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Extremely poor battery life!

Date:March 11, 2012
"I purchased this tool whith the intention of using it to remove grout in a shower. While it is bad at the job of removing the grout, the battery lasts for a maximum working time of 12-15 minutes.
The tool would be okay for very light duty work but if your intention is to use it for anything other than short periods of light work, you will be disappointed as I am."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Totally misrepresented!!

Date:September 28, 2011
"There is a demo vid of this on the CT website. It shows it cutting a hole in hardwood flooring for a floor vent. They show the "final cut" showing the wood falling free. Well it must have taken a few hours to do it off camera. I too was installing 10mm lam flooring and had to cut only the trim around the bottom of the door frames. Took about 15 min to cut a 1/4 off of the bottom of the trim, trim was just under 3/4" thick! I used the round wood cutter, the saw stopped about 8 times due to over heating. Saw would not cut all the way through and I had to finish it with a trim saw. Even trying to cut a piece of 2" trim that was less than 1/4 thick (softwood) took about 6 mins"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

12 Volt Oscillating Tool

Date:August 5, 2011
"The tool itself is great. The attachments do many different light duty jobs. It's the 12 volt battery that is terrible. I needed it for trimming moldings while installing new flooring. Though it did an excellent job it would only make three cuts and the battery would need to be charged. I ended up returning the saw. Save the frustration and wait for the corded model to go on sale, it's a keeper."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Battery life is crazy short

Date:April 20, 2011
"Overall the saw works relatively good. You could use a flush cut saw for the same purpose. However, this saw will perform the job much quicker. This is a good thing, because the battery life is extremely short. I maybe got 10 minutes of work from the tool at full speed before the battery went dead. So although it did make the job much easier, don't expect to be doing any large project with it.
Pros
- Easy to use
- Able to cut in hard to reach areas
- Cut materiel extremely flush with control areas
Cons
- Battery life
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Needs better quality control

Date:April 15, 2011
"Purchased this unit about a month ago and had 3 exchanges before I got one that worked properly.
Poor quality control as the units did not work properly right out of the box. One would stop if you turned it on it's side. One would only start after repeated tries. One was running very slow on a full charge battery. That said, a properly running unit works great. Battery lasts a fair time but I would recommend an extra if you are doing a bigger project. Battery charges in about half an hour and has a handy battery level meter. I would have given this product a much higher rating if the quality control was better.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BUY CORDED UNIT!

Date:March 28, 2011
"Bought this at a half price sale. Little power and short run time. Should have come with two batteries."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

don't go cordless

Date:March 4, 2011
"This is one of the best tools ever but DON'T go cordless. I've had the corded version and I can't count the number of times I have used it. I've used it for making difficult cuts in baseboards. trim, cutting ABS pipe, installing door hinges and door sets. The uses are to numerous to mention. You buy this tool ( NOT CORDLESS) and you'll be very amazed at the number of times you will use it. I'll bet Mike HOMES has a dozen of them."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk even @ half the price

Date:December 7, 2010
"In a nutshell, if you think it's an alternative to the tool as seen on TV, you will be dissapointed. The blades are useless! It can't cut metal. Does a good job on plastic & a fair job on wood.
The battery is a joke! I think I get 10 mins out of it, when it does charge. Not sure if the Dremel is better. The only thing it is good @ is cutting base boards, barely."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:northern ontario

great for the (1/2) price!

Date:September 10, 2010
"Having read the other reviews, I was surprized that there has been troubles with the battery. Mine worked great right out of the box; charged up quickly after 2-3 hours of use. I found that when cutting though wood and particle-board it worked best at higher speeds. I was pleased that it took Dremel cutters for replacements. I have used the Dremel corded unit, but I prefer this tool more because the weight, the light, and cordless usability advantage. It never hurts to have a back-up battery in the kit (suggestion). All my Mastercraft tools, to date, have been very good."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Purchase

Date:September 3, 2010
"Bought this tool on sale and I am using it to trim all the casing, wall board and door frames so that I can replace carpet with hardwood floors. This little tool was almost perfect for the job.
As the instructions say, don't force it to work faster because it works slower the harder you push it through the material. As the instructions say, the battery won't charge if it is too hot or too cold. A second battery is essential if you want to work a long time without stopping.
It would be nice if the tool had a more aggressive cutter attachment. In addition, I found the tool works much better if it is set on the lowest speed for all jobs and the battery lasts much much longer as well."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:August 19, 2010
"Received as a gift... Right from the box the battery would not take a charge.. After reading the manual, discovered it was defective... Bad battery.. If this is the quality control on this product, i am going to try and get a refund rather than an exchange... I would stay away from this product"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk. Do not buy. Unreliable.

Date:August 7, 2010
"Battery life is very poor. Dies within a few minutes of use. Charge fast but rather annoying to have to wait for it to charge in the middle of a job.
The battery completely died the next day i bought it. I was using the tool and then it just stopped working. I put the battery on the charger and the red light was ON and NOT blinking, wich means defective battery...
After looking at the other comments regarding the battery, I dont want a replacement and I'll try to return it and get the Dremel instead."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT

Disappointed

Date:July 30, 2010
"The battery life on this thing is poor. I bought it because it was cheap, but would prefer a plug in model. I see no occasion when I would value the batter power.
I had trouble getting it to hold on to the blades. The screw holding the blades would get loose on a regular basis. I had to tighten it far too tight to get it to hold the blade.
But the end of it came when the battery died altogether. As my local Canadian Tire didn't have a replacement, I traded the thing in for the Dremel equivalent. The latter was the price of this one when this is not on sale, but was gutsier, plug-in, and didn't have the loose blades problem."
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:kamloops bc

tryed it for floorin

Date:June 13, 2010
"i got this for doin a floring job , to cut out the vent holes and it could not cut 6inches of laminet flooring , was kinda sad it took 3 charges to do two vent holes , would rather it be corded but i do like how u can use the other blades on it"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little tool

Date:April 29, 2010
"Just bought it yesterday half price. Great little tool,
doesn't make any noise at all. As specified fits with "DREMEL" attachements. However at full price why not get the original that does not need recharging, still a great little tool. Works great !
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington Ontario

Awesome precision tool

Date:January 26, 2010
"I love this thing. It is great for all the small, fine detail type jobs and those hard to reach areas. The first project I used it for was to cut out a section of drainpipe in my washroom to add a tee for an additional sink I was installing. This would have been virtually impossible with a hack saw or any other type of saw. There was just no room to maneuver between the studs and cabinetry. Since then I used it many times for odd jobs like cutting holes in my entertainment unit to run cables. I used it to trim casing around a doorframe (while the casing was still installed). This is not meant for heavy duty use. It is not for sanding a table top or cutting a sheet of plywood. It is very easy to use and I never had any issues with the battery wearing down. If you do a lot of fine detailed work, then this would be a great tool for you."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Tool

Date:January 23, 2010
"I had To cut and replace a PVC pipe in a very small hard to reach place and the only tool I had that would work was this one. I laminated my entire basement, this tool was great for notching out corners, and many other things. The only draw back is the battery charge doesn't last long, but it does charge quick. It should have came with two batteries."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Oscillating Tool with 15 Accessories, 12V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mount Pearl, NL

Excellent muti purpose tool!

Date:January 16, 2010
"I bought this item with the intention of using it to cut off some laminate flooring that a wall was put on top of.
I haven't gotten to that part of the job yet, but I have used it for a whole bunch of others, including, cutting out drywall, notching out a 2x4, cutting off the bottom wall plate for a door opening.
I can still think of many more uses for this job alone, and it has paid for itself already.
The only downfall to this product is that it will overheat if you overwork it, and that the battery life is not as long as i would like, however, the quick charger (less than 1 hour) does help get you back to work faster than most chargers.
This is one unit that I wish was either corded, or at least have an extra battery for."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?