Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Garage Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Mastercraft Garage Heater

Ideal for garages and workshops190-cfm offers quiet running operation of unitThermal cut -off safety protection and automatically shuts off heating element if airflow is restrictedStainless-steel tubular element with built in thermostat switchFan is propeller type accurately balanced and correctly pitched to optimize performance6' cord and NEMA 6-30P plug stores around handle240V/208V, 4,800W11 x 9-1/8 x 7¼" d (28 x 23 x 18 cm)9.7 lbs (4.4kg)
Average Customer Rating:
2.593 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
9
12 of 27(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Review 1 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burin, NL, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't waste your monet

Date:February 5, 2014
"I have a 12x12 shed, the fan forced like warm air won't even keep that at a comfortable temperature."
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Defective product

Date:January 9, 2014
"It's loud but it does throw enough heat. However, you can't shut it off! The dial in the off position simply set the unit to a very low temp setting. It was -15C. I opened the shop door and the heater came on. Exchanged the unit. Replacement unit behaved the same. Returned it for full refund."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does not work as stated - will return ASAP

Date:January 6, 2014
"I purchased 2 of these to keep the foundation warm in my new home build. The heat they produce is very limited to non existant and the control knob does not allow you to turn off the unit, nor does it tell you what the control knob does. I purchased 2 DIMPLEX units of the same rating 4800w which crank out much more heat than these mastercraft units. There is something wrong with this design and or they are all defective. Please do not purchase these for any kind of heavy dury work, they may be ok for a no frill single room/small garage, but given the wattage rating they do not perform as rated. One thing I noticed in the box literature it states the motor is 4800 watts with no mention of the heater wattage - not sure if that is a chinese translation issue or a way out of the 4800w rating. Also the Dimplex actually states a BTU rating 13000BTUs, these have no rating at all anywhere on the package - a sign to read in the quality of the unit"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Way to make this work better

Date:January 1, 2014
"This is a loud fan but it does move a lot of air. After a while my fan sounded like it was chopping leaves. Here is what I did. Remove the outer case first. This requires removing the screws all around the back piece and the larger solid case. The screws on the top also use a nut on the inside. Remove these after removing one of the handle screws (also an inside nut).
Once I removed the case I noticed that the fan assembly was pushed up against the heater coil. The location of the screw holes on the top seems to be incorrect and accounts for this on my fan. I simply bent the fan support back so it no longer touched the coil. However this rattling loosened the fan on its shaft. Remove the red goo on the Allen screw and tighten the screw hard.
I am running it without the case - maybe not a good idea but I would have to figure out where to drill new holes on the top of the case. I don't recommend running the heater this way unless you are having the same problem.
It is quieter and seems to heat up better now that I have it working. Quite toasty in my garage. I was ready to toss it, but I will keep it a while."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Better out there

Date:December 13, 2013
"these are very loud and don't work near as well as the similar looking Dimplex, which coats more (about a Wilfred laurier at most places) but it is very quiet and keeps my basement constant 20 degrees....but you wont find them on sale....you get what you pay for!!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Loud and faulty heater

Date:December 10, 2013
"Even though I had read the bad reviews I took a chance on this heater when it was on sale.
Like others said it is very loud because it does push a lot of air. The air isn't hot but it took the chill out of my workspace after a few hours.
For some reason the plug is upside down with the ground prong towards the cord. My outlets and other tools have the ground at the top. The cord is also very short.
I bought one of these heaters and then exchanged it the next day. I returned the heater on the third day. Both units had the same problem: The temperature control didn't work and they would not turn off. It didn't matter where the knob was set the heat was the same, and turning the knob to the off position wouldn't stop the heat or the fan. I had to switch the breaker off so that I could unplug heater.
Usually mastercraft does a pretty good job for a decent price but this heater is a big miss."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

doesn't heat

Date:November 19, 2013
"purchased unit and it doesn't produce much heat. the fan is also noisy. I left it on for about 2 hours and it only made a few degrees difference. meanwhile I couldn't hear myself think over the blender level of noise it was making. I returned it and purchased a similar model from another store for $30 more. That model is super quiet and within 10 minutes had raised the temp by 10 degrees in my garage. Don't waste your money on this product."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

It's ok

Date:March 27, 2013
"I have built 3 houses and I always use these types of heating units for the garage, baseboards take up too much space and time to heat a 200sq ft garage, I hang this unit from the ceiling with 2 hooks and two heavy duty ti-wraps to isolate the vibrations. just have the electrician install a basic 220v plug on the ceiling so you don't have to cut or modify the units and void the warranty, the other heaters like this are temporary heaters during the construction and cannot be installed permanently in a garage, this is the only one. I have to admit 1 of the 3 units failed, a wire disconnected from the vibrations, I had to repair it. Yes it's very noisy, my garage is under my bedroom and I can hear it going on and off but you get used to it. For the price (wait for a sale) I think it's a good deal. cheapest competition is 130$."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It suits some jobs very well

Date:December 16, 2012
"Ok it's loud, as it really does move air, and it doesn't get hot also because it's moving air. But it is making heat , 4.8 Kw worth so if you want to evenly spread heat around it's great. After adjusting the thermostat range up to 55c ( voided warranty and bent the bi-metalic strip ) it heated a small room up in a few hours ( sterilizing an insect problem ) and for the price it's well built. Yes I'd expect more from a $300.00 heater, but an expensive 4.8 Kw heater will produce the same amount of heat, and the same power bills. Using thermometers one behind and one a meter after it , I was seeing a 15c increase consistently. Only other thing I'd like is a switch to allow the fan to run full time, but in most places that would just wear the fan out sooner. I'll be buying another."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Very Disappointed!

Date:November 16, 2012
"First off we had to find some sort of adaptor to even plug it in... more money. When we finally get to use it... was VERY disappointed! Fan blew fine, but was VERY noisy and NO heat. It was blowing barely luke warm air. Left it on for quite awhile to see if it warmed up and improved at all... Nope! Do not waste your money or time on this piece of junk does not heat up at all!"
-28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, SK, Canada

Noisy but quite nice

Date:November 13, 2012
"The only bad thing about this unit is that it is very noisy.
Can somebody get parts to repair this thing?
I'm on my second one in 3 years and today when I went to get it replaced a third time I was told that I was 13 days to late. The 3 years warranty had just expired.
I trid to get it fixed and was told that they are made so cheap that it isn't worth fixing. The temperature control on both units went. In order to shut the unit down I had to unplug it. Otherwise it stayed on maximum fan speed and heat.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:saskatoon,sk

Don't expect too much

Date:July 4, 2012
"I've had this same model for about four years now. Every year or so the bearing go in the fan and I just take it back and get a new one. It heats my 2 and a half car garage well for an electric model. Yes your power bill will go up. No it is not supposed to blow "hot" air just warm. Yes it is loud but this is for a garage not a man cave. For $50 bucks and no hassle return I have found it to be a good deal."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay ON

Works well

Date:February 29, 2012
"I can only hope that this one works as well as the unit its replacing. I had an identical but allot older version of it that I used for 5 or 6 years. The previous one which was used to heat a 20x30' garage and did so quite well even at forty below. I will admit that it is a little on the loud side but it moves allot of air. Over all I'm happy with the old one and hope that it last the four or five years that the previous one did."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON

Mediocre

Date:October 6, 2011
"I haven't used or tried other heaters of this type, but I see plenty of 4800w construction heater for sale at other stores. I wonder if they are all so weak as this one...?
My garage is 16x20, if I turn this thing on, shut the door and leave, I can return in about an hour to a garage that is 8-10 degrees warmer. I'm not sure if this is normal... but the unit does not blow hot air. It blows air that literally still feels cool. When I shut it off, the unit does get hot so I am thinking it's working... at least somewhat. I may exchange it this winter but judging from other reviews, I am not likely to see a difference.
As others have noted, this thing is annoyingly loud.
Overall, I'm not happy with it. I'll be looking to supplement my heating needs this winter with a propane bullet heater... I'll use that to bring it up to temp, and then use this thing to maintain it perhaps. Fingers crossed."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Medicine Hat, AB

Not all are built equal

Date:February 13, 2011
"Purchased this heater on sale, i was fooled. Put a 220 line into the garage on a 30 amp breaker as recommended, never got hot. The element did not get as hot as others I have seen. Took it back to the store to exchange, and the second was the same. They do move a lot of air, but it I wanted a fan, I would have bought a fan. Also the unit is 5X as louder as a different brand that I purchased after taking the second one back. Not the best product out there........"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Grand Falls-Windsor, NL

Not so good

Date:February 6, 2011
"I bought this for my insulated shed, so I can work in the wintertime. It's too noisy to be in the shed with the heater on. Its managed to vibrate several of its screws loose. The heat output isn't what you'd expect for 4800 watts. With the need to wire in a dedicated heater circuit for it, there are better choices for more heat and less noise."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Works but ...

Date:September 18, 2010
"Wait until you get your first power bill if you use this on a regular basis!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

heaters don't work

Date:February 27, 2010
"I bought the heater for my son in law.Had proper wiring installed.Heater does not get hot.returned four times.mang. at whitby store called the factory and they hung up on him. This heater should be removed from shelf."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good value

Date:January 3, 2010
"This unit is the same price or less than far less powerful heaters (4800 watts versus 1000 watts or less). I found the heater quite noisy when running. The fan is quite powerful, but the heating element does not quite produce enough heat. I wired in a 240 volt line from my garage to my panel - simple enough to do (use 12-3 line and a 240 volt, 20 amp breaker). It seems well built and solid. I have it sitting in a top corner of my garage pointing down at an angle. The cord is only about 3 feet long so think about where to install your outlet."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Garage Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Noisy

Date:December 15, 2009
"I bought this for my husbands garage "play room" and although it does keep our double garage warm, it is very noisy. We had to pay to have the outlet installed and hooked up and this is not the heater I would buy again or recommend to anyone. Poker is played warm but definitely causes very loud talk and music when it does click on periodically...our element never turns red either. I think I could have found a better heater for the $400 it cost! (unit + hookup)"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2