Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit

Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit

Set includes 5 function, 9 range digital multimeter, wire strippers and needlenose pliersDC voltage - 200mV, 2000mV, 20V, 200V, 1000VAC voltage - 200V, 750VDC current - 200µA, 2000µA, 20A, 200mA, 10AResistance - 200, 2k, 20k, 200k, 2000kDiode testDigital display size is 12.83mmIncludes carrying case
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
15 of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Review 1 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville, ON L1C, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Usefull Tool

Date:September 14, 2014
"I purchased two meters one for a gift, it works well for me. Hard to beat the sale price."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Not bad

Date:December 27, 2013
"The wire strippers and pliers are junk.
I've used the tester on countless occasions from testing all sorts of batteries: watch, ni-cd, li-ion, nimh, li-po, 12v SLA, etc.., to verifying wiring continuity, and testing resistance on circuits.
I'm an amateur DIYer when it comes to electrics, and this DMM suits me just fine."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

That Price is barely to beat

Date:July 5, 2013
"I needed a tester today and got this one on the way to the job. Though I like it comes in a case, the tester is ending up in my tool bag anyways.
It did exactly what I needed it to do, after I figured I need a 9V batterie. Was that somewhere written on the cardboard wrapping?
I also used the pliers but not the crimper yet.
The pliers are ok thus far and since I see it the way I bought a decent tester for 10 bucks, I don't mind too much how long they last.
And I owe professional grade pliers of that kind already.
At all it's actually a five star bargain.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pierrefonds, Montreal, QC, Canada

OK product for occasional use

Date:May 16, 2013
"I bought this product on sale and have used it occasionally, seems to be pretty accurate and has helped me out when I wasn't sure if a battery was fully charged or my outboard alternator was working...
So far, so good!!!
Pliers and wire stripper are OK as well..."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC, Canada

very handy unit

Date:May 13, 2013
"was a nice bonus that it came with the needlenose pliars and crimpers, the meter does everything i need it to. only thing that would be nice is a continuity tester but no big deal i mean its easy enough to look at the ohmmeter lol"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

low quality

Date:December 19, 2012
"the handle for plier broke very easily. so the plier is garbage.it's like it was made of plastic. The multimeter seems ok."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Aylmer ON

Good forBbeginners

Date:August 21, 2012
"I am no electrician but my dad is, and when I saw this in the flyer for $10 I asked my dad and he greatly encouraged me to buy it. It has worked well for me and the pliers and wire stripper are a huge bonus( if the were bought separately, one would be more than $10)"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON, Canada

Good for minor repairs

Date:August 21, 2012
"Bought on sale for $15. I use this mainly for hobby electronics work and to test outlets for power in my home. Works good for those purposes. Never had a need for a continuity tester. Probably for automotive work? Buy when on special for under $15 as that's about what it's really worth. $50 would buy you a much better meter elsewhere with all the extras for continuity testing for example. This is good enough for my purposes."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kanata, ON

Good for hobby/home use

Date:September 18, 2011
"I bought this unit during one of CT's awesome sales for something like 60% off (at least. It's been a couple years).
For casual home use this unit works quite well. The leads are long enough for most tasks and there is a leg on the back of the meter to stand it up.
The case is handy and there is enough space to throw in a roll of vinyl tape and a receptacle tester (52-0027-4).
The only drawback that I have encountered is the lack of a continuity tone (as mentioned by others here). But I knew that before I bought it.
Other than that, it has served me well for the automotive and home renovation tasks that I needed it for.
It is a good deal (especially when on sale) and I have recommended it to others."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Beginner's Set

Date:February 24, 2011
"This is a nice set for beginners, if you need a multimeter for occasional use, get this one, nicely priced when on sale, considering the wire stripper and long nose pliers included in the hard shell case.
If you are an advanced user get the unit #52-0052-2
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Probe Problems

Date:September 14, 2010
"The price is right, but the probes are not sound. It's ironic that the device is normally used to ensure circuit continuity in something else, since the probe connectors for this multimeter (and I suspect it's product family) is short and weakly connected and likes to fall out. This was mentioned by another reviewer, but I'm surprised that no one else did. Also, no hands-free probe holder, which I have decided is a must for a multimeter."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Terrible!

Date:January 13, 2010
"I bought one in Dec 2009. I tried on electric outlet, and it showed me 155V. I tried on a 1.5V battery, it showed me 1.8V. I used my other (analog) miltimeter and got 110V and 1.5V respectively.
I went back to the store and asked for an exchange. To be sure, I did the same tests on the site and got the same results. So I had to return this thing."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good buy for home use

Date:January 12, 2010
"good buy for home use, no continuity beep which is a bit annoying to check the display all the time"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lachute, QC

Good for amateurs

Date:January 1, 2010
"This multimeter is ok for beginners like myself. It's kind of basic, but does the simple jobs. It's pretty accurate. However, as this was my first multimeter I thought it was defective as I wasn't getting any reading from anything. My friend tried to figure it out and found out it was because the leads weren't completely plugged in. I didn't realize the leads have to be crammed into the meter (I didn't do this because I was scared to break it). So definitely recommended for small jobs. And remember, if you're not getting a reading, jam the leads into the meter!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Great to have around the house!

Date:March 12, 2009
"I do a lot of my own electrical work on vehicles and sometimes around the house if I consider it 'light' enough. This is a good meter to have and the digital readout is MUCH better than my old analog unit that bounced all over the place unless you have super steady hands cased in concrete. The added tools are a bonus. I got this on sale just last week for $9.99!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:morrisburg Ont

good little meter

Date:January 1, 2009
"I bought this meter on sale over 3 years ago and this is the perfect compagnion for testing electrical as long as you can read the scales. It is easy to use and I dont see any problem with this purchase. I use it on my car testing circuits, in the house for continuity power on fuses etc and ac voltage testing. good buy. And the tools that come with it are of good quality also."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great buy

Date:September 30, 2008
"I cannot belive I baught this complete kit for so little, great quality at a great price."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Looks Cheap

Date:September 29, 2008
"I suppose to change my recent bought digital multi-tester (i.e. Innova) which was on sale last week for $10.00 (original price $24.99). Upon checking these items I found out that the units looks sooo cheap. Bad quality is my first impression. I checked the items were not even having a brand name on it. It was just like an immitation. I always like Mastercraft products but not this one. I will not recommend this unit because it seems to me it is a waste of money. Always buy good qualities because it will last long and worth your money."
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Johns

Great Deal

Date:October 29, 2007
"This was a great buy at 9.99 plus tax for a digital multimeter with 19 ranges and 5 functions. It says on the box specifically "Uses 9v battery(sold seperately)" for those who said in their reviews that it didnt! All in all it is a great multimeter for the price and i would recomend it to other buyers."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Where is the battery?

Date:September 15, 2007
"I bought this item fearing that my battery was in trouble. I opened up the package and looked at the meter to try and figure out where the 20V setting was. The symbols on the face do not lend to easy use. The directions in the book are less than easy to follow as they do not interpret any of the symbols on the actual meter. This leads me to believe that the instructions are made to work for many different meters.
I was unable to make the meter work and brought my car home, it made it, and took the meter back off to discover it did not come with the 9V battery. No where on the packaging does it mention a battery needed or even what type the meter uses. I found this to be surprising for a Canadian Tire product.
Overall I would say that the meter was disappointing. On sale for $20 but requiring a $5 battery and a screw driver to even test your car battery makes this just an average deal and a lot of frustration due to the lack of directions.
"
-20points
Was this review helpful to you?