Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit

Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit

Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
19 of 25(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Review 1 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Vancouver, BC
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Can't read scales

Date:February 7, 2016
" I returned this item. It was the second one that had been returned today ( at 10:30 AM ).
The meter in the box does not resemble the item in the flyer.
I could not read the scale around the dial for setting the meter on DC, even with reading glasses. It was reverse orange on grey type and fuzzy.
I will wait for another to go on sale.
I'm stuck with two 9V batteries I bought for it. Guess they will power my smoke detectors.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good

Date:October 30, 2015
" Great multimeter , never had any problem with it. Great item. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

It works but mine dose not look like this one!

Date:October 29, 2015
" It works but mine dose not look like this one! I bought it on sale but could not find it! They sold me to seems to be a older one! But cant argue the price! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Thomas, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good

Date:October 11, 2015
" I've had this for more than ten years. The wires to the test leads broke a long time ago and the stripper was of poor construction to start with but, the meter just keeps on going. I don't use it everyday but enough to have to change the battery about every 6 months. The pliers still work like new. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:17 or Under
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

beginners set

Date:October 9, 2015
" not very high quality, seems like more of a beginners set. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville, ON L1C, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Usefull Tool

Date:September 14, 2014
" I purchased two meters one for a gift, it works well for me. Hard to beat the sale price. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Not bad

Date:December 27, 2013
" The wire strippers and pliers are junk.
I've used the tester on countless occasions from testing all sorts of batteries: watch, ni-cd, li-ion, nimh, li-po, 12v SLA, etc.., to verifying wiring continuity, and testing resistance on circuits.
I'm an amateur DIYer when it comes to electrics, and this DMM suits me just fine. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

That Price is barely to beat

Date:July 5, 2013
" I needed a tester today and got this one on the way to the job. Though I like it comes in a case, the tester is ending up in my tool bag anyways.
It did exactly what I needed it to do, after I figured I need a 9V batterie. Was that somewhere written on the cardboard wrapping?
I also used the pliers but not the crimper yet.
The pliers are ok thus far and since I see it the way I bought a decent tester for 10 bucks, I don't mind too much how long they last.
And I owe professional grade pliers of that kind already.
At all it's actually a five star bargain.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pierrefonds, Montreal, QC, Canada

OK product for occasional use

Date:May 16, 2013
" I bought this product on sale and have used it occasionally, seems to be pretty accurate and has helped me out when I wasn't sure if a battery was fully charged or my outboard alternator was working...
So far, so good!!!
Pliers and wire stripper are OK as well... "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC, Canada

very handy unit

Date:May 13, 2013
" was a nice bonus that it came with the needlenose pliars and crimpers, the meter does everything i need it to. only thing that would be nice is a continuity tester but no big deal i mean its easy enough to look at the ohmmeter lol "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

low quality

Date:December 19, 2012
" the handle for plier broke very easily. so the plier is garbage.it's like it was made of plastic. The multimeter seems ok. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Aylmer ON

Good forBbeginners

Date:August 21, 2012
" I am no electrician but my dad is, and when I saw this in the flyer for $10 I asked my dad and he greatly encouraged me to buy it. It has worked well for me and the pliers and wire stripper are a huge bonus( if the were bought separately, one would be more than $10) "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON, Canada

Good for minor repairs

Date:August 21, 2012
" Bought on sale for $15. I use this mainly for hobby electronics work and to test outlets for power in my home. Works good for those purposes. Never had a need for a continuity tester. Probably for automotive work? Buy when on special for under $15 as that's about what it's really worth. $50 would buy you a much better meter elsewhere with all the extras for continuity testing for example. This is good enough for my purposes. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kanata, ON

Good for hobby/home use

Date:September 18, 2011
" I bought this unit during one of CT's awesome sales for something like 60% off (at least. It's been a couple years).
For casual home use this unit works quite well. The leads are long enough for most tasks and there is a leg on the back of the meter to stand it up.
The case is handy and there is enough space to throw in a roll of vinyl tape and a receptacle tester (52-0027-4).
The only drawback that I have encountered is the lack of a continuity tone (as mentioned by others here). But I knew that before I bought it.
Other than that, it has served me well for the automotive and home renovation tasks that I needed it for.
It is a good deal (especially when on sale) and I have recommended it to others. "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Beginner's Set

Date:February 24, 2011
" This is a nice set for beginners, if you need a multimeter for occasional use, get this one, nicely priced when on sale, considering the wire stripper and long nose pliers included in the hard shell case.
If you are an advanced user get the unit #52-0052-2
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Probe Problems

Date:September 14, 2010
" The price is right, but the probes are not sound. It's ironic that the device is normally used to ensure circuit continuity in something else, since the probe connectors for this multimeter (and I suspect it's product family) is short and weakly connected and likes to fall out. This was mentioned by another reviewer, but I'm surprised that no one else did. Also, no hands-free probe holder, which I have decided is a must for a multimeter. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Terrible!

Date:January 13, 2010
" I bought one in Dec 2009. I tried on electric outlet, and it showed me 155V. I tried on a 1.5V battery, it showed me 1.8V. I used my other (analog) miltimeter and got 110V and 1.5V respectively.
I went back to the store and asked for an exchange. To be sure, I did the same tests on the site and got the same results. So I had to return this thing. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good buy for home use

Date:January 12, 2010
" good buy for home use, no continuity beep which is a bit annoying to check the display all the time "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lachute, QC

Good for amateurs

Date:January 1, 2010
" This multimeter is ok for beginners like myself. It's kind of basic, but does the simple jobs. It's pretty accurate. However, as this was my first multimeter I thought it was defective as I wasn't getting any reading from anything. My friend tried to figure it out and found out it was because the leads weren't completely plugged in. I didn't realize the leads have to be crammed into the meter (I didn't do this because I was scared to break it). So definitely recommended for small jobs. And remember, if you're not getting a reading, jam the leads into the meter! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft 3 Piece Multimeter Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Great to have around the house!

Date:March 12, 2009
" I do a lot of my own electrical work on vehicles and sometimes around the house if I consider it 'light' enough. This is a good meter to have and the digital readout is MUCH better than my old analog unit that bounced all over the place unless you have super steady hands cased in concrete. The added tools are a bonus. I got this on sale just last week for $9.99! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2