Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter

Mastercraft Digital Multimeter

Five functions with 9 rangesDC voltage - 200mV, 2000mV, 20V, 200V, 1000VAC voltage - 200V, 750VDC current - 200µA, 2000µA, 20A, 200mA, 10AResistance - 200, 2k, 20k, 200k, 2000kDiode testDigital display size is 12.83mm
Average Customer Rating:
3.968 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
25 of 31(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Review 1 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

did not work

Date:May 15, 2016
" I purchased one unit and found it didn't work. returned it for a second one and that one didn't work either. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Williams Lake, BC, Canada

Good but

Date:March 8, 2016
" The reader works fine but I cannot read the settings dial around the circle of choices due to poor colour choice and printing font. Is there a replacement that we can put over the the existing one? "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wawa, ON P0S, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Pleased With This Tester

Date:October 24, 2015
" This tester was exactly what I was looking for & serves me very well...It performs perfectly. I would recommend it to anyone who needs a good quality tester. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:North York, Toronto, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Limited Uses

Date:July 18, 2015
" This multimeter is good for basic troubleshooting such as testing outlets, fuses, measuring resistors, etc. There is no continuity testing available. If you require a multimeter for circuit / electronics then this may not be the most ideal one. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Junk

Date:January 6, 2015
" Good luck trying to do resistance tests on it. Diode testing and voltage seem to work ok. I doubt micro and milliamps work at all since good meters (like Fluke) you have to pay a premium to have that option. Can't recommend unless you want to just test batteries. You're better off getting the Amprobe AM-500 for a few dollars more if you want to do anything more than that. The AM-500 also auto ranges. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Campbell River, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent value on sale

Date:December 22, 2014
" I have a few of these, scattered in boats, trucks, garages and my house. They do exactly what I need and I never worry about wrecking one. (a friend did that for me!) Required equipment if you're working on electrical of any sort. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dundas, Hamilton, ON, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

great for what I need it for..

Date:November 19, 2014
" I bought this to check my motorcycle charging system, but actually use it monthly to check the life of simple alkaline batteries before I recycle them.
Often there is some life left in AA batteries that they can be re-purposed for a clock or something, or a good battery gets mixed in with some dead ones.
Seems to go on sale quite often.
***Just remember to shut if off before storing or the 9V battery will require replacement next time. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works good

Date:October 14, 2014
" For the price it works well, just find replacing the battery a pain, its 2 tiny screws and its 9 volt, which I never have on hand! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great value for money.

Date:August 30, 2014
" These come on sale regularly for 25% of the regular price. They take a standard 9 v battery and not some odd size thats hard to find and expensive. Often when on sale they come with a wire stripper and a needle nose pliers, all in a plastic case. I usually chuck the case. I have three of these now, spread through out my house and garage. Never have to go far to grab a meter. Why not at the low low sale price. Have had no issues with performance. Easy to read screen. I highly recommend these useful meters. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good DMM, Bad probes

Date:March 6, 2014
" This DMM works well, however, the probes are poorly made.
One of the leads broke away from the probe end inside the handle. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

Simple but effective house-hold tool.

Date:May 25, 2013
" This digital multimeter is great for any home do-it-yourselfer. This multimeter can give you many needed electronics measurements, as well as alternating and direct current and voltage readings, and in a simple format. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great basic mulitmeter

Date:May 22, 2013
" This multimeter often goes on sale for 50% off. It's good for basic tests, and works. I don't use multimeters often, so this one was perfect for me -- inexpensive, but functional. Good to have as a backup tool. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB

Does the Job

Date:May 20, 2013
" Not the best tester you can buy, for the price it gets the job done. The dial for settings are a bit of a challenge to read in dim light.
All in all it does exactly what I needed and quite accurate to boot. A good buy if you need a multi function tester just once in awhile.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chatham, Chatham-Kent, ON, Canada

Great deal but hard to read

Date:December 6, 2012
" The display is fine but I can barely see the dial settings, not enough contrast, good luck trying to set the dial under the dash of a car. I had to write the numbers on with an indelible micro tip marker. I agree with others,... it needs a continuity beep sound and an auto power off function. Great product though at $10 on sale. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Have it for couple years now

Date:September 6, 2012
" I use it mainly to check voltages of my batteries and this tool hasn't failed yet. After many years of use, I find this tool very reliable and accurate. They should make it easier to replace the battery, currently you have to unscrew one screw to replace the battery! A auto shut off would be nice because sometimes you forget to turn it off and it drains the battery. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Well

Date:May 24, 2012
" I purchased this on sale for $9.99 and I have had no problems at all with the unit. I also just wish that the continuity tester had a beep. Overall well worth the money when on sale for $9.99 "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:toronto

great for starters when on sale

Date:June 16, 2011
" for a noob like me, this is a great item, goes on sale with couple of extra tools for $9.99 sometimes ...as far as i could measure the readings were good, i am not an advanced user so for my needs this is perfect and the price is very reasonable too. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Tester

Date:December 30, 2009
" I bought it for test voltage on wires but it works great for testing batteries too. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Impedance

Date:June 16, 2009
" I bought this multimeter and not even in the manual does it should the maximum Impedance this meter can handle. Please have this information available "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Niagara ON

OK Meter but with Cons

Date:April 1, 2009
" Purchased this meter a few weeks ago while on sale for $10. I use meters often. In general, the meter works ok. It DOES'NT have a continuity "beep", which I wish it did. The 9v battery is a pain to change if on the fly, as you have to remove 2 small screws on the back. When I first connected the leads, + was ok, but the - refused to go in completely. The lead plug has/had a plastic surround protector that prevented the plug from going in all the way. (Bad mold??) I had to cut the plastic off to insert it properly. This tester I will be using around the house, not on the job. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2