Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter

Mastercraft Digital Multimeter

Five functions with 9 rangesDC voltage - 200mV, 2000mV, 20V, 200V, 1000VAC voltage - 200V, 750VDC current - 200µA, 2000µA, 20A, 200mA, 10AResistance - 200, 2k, 20k, 200k, 2000kDiode testDigital display size is 12.83mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Review 1 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great value for money.

Date:August 30, 2014
"These come on sale regularly for 25% of the regular price. They take a standard 9 v battery and not some odd size thats hard to find and expensive. Often when on sale they come with a wire stripper and a needle nose pliers, all in a plastic case. I usually chuck the case. I have three of these now, spread through out my house and garage. Never have to go far to grab a meter. Why not at the low low sale price. Have had no issues with performance. Easy to read screen. I highly recommend these useful meters."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good DMM, Bad probes

Date:March 6, 2014
"This DMM works well, however, the probes are poorly made.
One of the leads broke away from the probe end inside the handle."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

Simple but effective house-hold tool.

Date:May 25, 2013
"This digital multimeter is great for any home do-it-yourselfer. This multimeter can give you many needed electronics measurements, as well as alternating and direct current and voltage readings, and in a simple format."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great basic mulitmeter

Date:May 22, 2013
"This multimeter often goes on sale for 50% off. It's good for basic tests, and works. I don't use multimeters often, so this one was perfect for me -- inexpensive, but functional. Good to have as a backup tool."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB

Does the Job

Date:May 20, 2013
"Not the best tester you can buy, for the price it gets the job done. The dial for settings are a bit of a challenge to read in dim light.
All in all it does exactly what I needed and quite accurate to boot. A good buy if you need a multi function tester just once in awhile.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chatham, Chatham-Kent, ON, Canada

Great deal but hard to read

Date:December 6, 2012
"The display is fine but I can barely see the dial settings, not enough contrast, good luck trying to set the dial under the dash of a car. I had to write the numbers on with an indelible micro tip marker. I agree with others,... it needs a continuity beep sound and an auto power off function. Great product though at $10 on sale."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Have it for couple years now

Date:September 6, 2012
"I use it mainly to check voltages of my batteries and this tool hasn't failed yet. After many years of use, I find this tool very reliable and accurate. They should make it easier to replace the battery, currently you have to unscrew one screw to replace the battery! A auto shut off would be nice because sometimes you forget to turn it off and it drains the battery."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Well

Date:May 24, 2012
"I purchased this on sale for $9.99 and I have had no problems at all with the unit. I also just wish that the continuity tester had a beep. Overall well worth the money when on sale for $9.99"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:toronto

great for starters when on sale

Date:June 16, 2011
"for a noob like me, this is a great item, goes on sale with couple of extra tools for $9.99 sometimes ...as far as i could measure the readings were good, i am not an advanced user so for my needs this is perfect and the price is very reasonable too."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Tester

Date:December 30, 2009
"I bought it for test voltage on wires but it works great for testing batteries too."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Impedance

Date:June 16, 2009
"I bought this multimeter and not even in the manual does it should the maximum Impedance this meter can handle. Please have this information available"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Niagara ON

OK Meter but with Cons

Date:April 1, 2009
"Purchased this meter a few weeks ago while on sale for $10. I use meters often. In general, the meter works ok. It DOES'NT have a continuity "beep", which I wish it did. The 9v battery is a pain to change if on the fly, as you have to remove 2 small screws on the back. When I first connected the leads, + was ok, but the - refused to go in completely. The lead plug has/had a plastic surround protector that prevented the plug from going in all the way. (Bad mold??) I had to cut the plastic off to insert it properly. This tester I will be using around the house, not on the job."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:North Bay

Hard to understand settings

Date:January 9, 2009
"I bought this on sale. It has all the features i needed but it is not easy to use unless you have experience with electronic symbols and terms. For instance there are no AC or DC indicators to tell you which setting it which, it uses symbols which i am not familliar with. The manual is no help either."
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

part of last digit on LCD screen

Date:December 22, 2008
"went blank, so I am guessing at the number. Not really an issue as it is quite easy to find out what it is.
I would only buy this or other multi meters on sale.
Has a flip up stand at the back so you can read the meter easily while testing."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Quebec

Very good multimeter

Date:April 16, 2008
"It's a very useful tool for electronics enthusiasts. I have used this tool to test computer power supplies, resistances and to test various other electronic circuits. I was even able to detect that there was a problem with the AC current (which was about 133 volts before I report the problem) in the region where I live. It has a sturdy design with a rubber-like molding around it and the sensors are accurate. It would have been even better if it had included capacitors check but otherwise, it's a very good multimeter to have around."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saint John , NB

Good product

Date:April 8, 2008
"I use this at home and it has always worked very well. Easy to use and read.Bought it on sale which made it a great price for the product."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NB

Great when on Sale

Date:March 29, 2008
"I got this when it was 1/2 price ... great deal.
It does the job. I managed to find a live power supply for my dishwasher with this :).
Just make sure you have the right settings on, or be prepared to get a big spark (I left it on default and didn't realise it until too late) ... Still works fine too!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Quesnel, BC

digi happy

Date:March 28, 2008
"Awsome price, works well for my home and auto uses. I also like using the Mastercraft Digital Multiimeter for my hobbies."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sudbury,ON

Great Product

Date:March 28, 2008
"Bought this item for about the price it's on sale for in this weeks flyer. I have been very pleased with it especially for the bargain price. I especially like the fact the probes are not permanently attached like the previous one I owned which ended up getting pinched and cut when closing my toolbox leaving it useless."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Mastercraft Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON

Nice little Meter

Date:March 28, 2008
"The only thing I would like this to do that it dosn't is make noise. Other than that, it works great has a little stand on the back for bench work and has a bunch of settings.
Got it cheep with a gas purchase and was well worth the price.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2