Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Autoranging Digital Multimeter

Autoranging Digital Multimeter

Full autoranging multimeter, 8 functions and 28 ranges with auto power-off after 30 minsDC voltage - 4V, 40V, 400V, 1000VAC voltage - 4V, 40V, 400V, 750VDC current - 400µA, 40mA, 400mA, 4A, 10AResistance - 400, 4k, 40k, 400k, 4M, 40MDiode testContinuity beeperTemperatue 0 to 1000 degrees Fahrenheit
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Review 1 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sarnia, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Handy meter

Date:October 16, 2014
"Works well, great for around the house , shop and auto. Alligator ends would be good to get with it."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid, effective item

Date:October 12, 2014
"Great tool, very reliable. Somewhat bigger than expected, but a great quality/price ratio."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good Value for average user

Date:May 27, 2014
"I have owned this product for well over a year. It has helped me successfully fix a clothes dryer, oven and car that had an issue with the alternator. I paid full price for the multimeter, but even then it has been worth it. The money saved in repairs more than offset buying the product at full price. A worthwhile investment. Everything still functions after over a year of moderate use."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Tester

Date:January 16, 2014
"Have had it over three year, I use this tester every day at work and never had any problems.
Very durable"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON

Good Meter for the price

Date:January 3, 2013
"I use this meter on a daiy basis to check average jobs. I bought this on sale 3 years ago oly to save my very expensive meter for more presice tasks. You might want to consider a better set of test leads. I found these ones to be short and awkward for most of the stuff i do and the banana plugs tend to get sloppy with time. If this meter quit on me i would be sure to buy another when it comes up on sale."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington, ON, Canada

Looks good on paper BUT.....

Date:December 20, 2012
"I looked at the features and accuracy for this product, read the reviews, and wondered why this was discounted 60% off. I found out shortly after purchasing the 52-0052-2 multimeter AND the optional temperature sensor 52-0037-0.
1. The capacitance needs to be zeroed using hold feature before any measurement is made (I guess it is not calibrated too well at the factory).
2. Frequency function works for a on-off frequency but does not capture voltage rises in a high/low voltage pulse.
3. Temperature looks like it is accurate in a warm house reading 68F but once the probe is removed, the reading stays the same. It does go up and down the temperature scale when exposed to temperature changes HOWEVER not even close to being accurate at all. Today is 2C outside and it shows me 11C. I think that is a little more than the 1% rdg + 6dgts. stated in the spec sheet. Using this multimeter and temperature probe would prove water freezes at 42F.
4. Ohm meter would not zero due to test probe being bad. Used my old probes to see how good this meter really is.
In short, it will be returned tomorrow. I'm not impressed at all with this product."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sherwood Park, AB

More Than Enough For Most Of Us

Date:September 4, 2012
"I'm not an electrician, and this isn't for work. I'm not a pro, so I can't give you a breakdown of the strengths and weaknesses of the subtle nuances of this unit. I use this unit around the house for testing and fixing electrical appliances, etc., and also for hobby projects like building guitar cables, powered guitar effects pedal boards, and things of that nature. It has all the functions I use, all the ones I know of, and then a few more. 95% of the time I am just checking that a circuit exists, and just listen for tone, and don't actually use many of the meters often. It does way more than I need it to do, as a hobbyist.
It seems durable enough - I bet it can be dropped more than once. The batteries seem to last forever, I haven't changed them since I got it like 5 years ago. Seems trustworthy - I've never had any reason to believe I've been getting inaccurate readings.
All those positives being said, I think for most of us, this unit is overkill and perhaps too expensive at regular price - while probably not good enough for the elitists. I got mine a lot cheaper (about $30). So in my opinion, if you can wait for it to go on sale, then it's a good deal."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent for $25

Date:August 2, 2012
"This thing is HUGE, biggest multimeter I've used.
General build quality is mediocre, test leads are total garbage. The banana connectors didn't make proper contact with the socket making intermittent contact, had to get some pliers and fix them myself, this was the case on both the units I bought.
The actual capabilities of this unit are not bad however, and it performs all functions adequately.
You get what you pay for, Don't consider paying more than $25 for it, that what its actually worth."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada

Great for the Sale Price. Also measures AC Current

Date:July 28, 2012
"This meter can measure AC Current, (as well as DC Current). This is not listed in the features on the CTC website, but is printed on the package liner. I find it does have +/- 1% accuracy, which is great. I needed a spare AC Current meter as a backup for my OLD Beckman 3020 and this meter fits the bill. I ran out and bought a second one at the sale price."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ottawa

Good value, great for old eyes, ALMOST everything

Date:July 7, 2012
"Great value, as the manager sold it to me at the last sale price. (I had a rain-cheque for the inferior 052-0055 meter that sells for only $5 less at regular price).
Even at regular price this meter would be competitive. I use a meter daily at work (medical devices service tech), and this stands up favourably to my UNI-T ut39a.
Backlight is excellent, but not sure how it will affect battery life, as it does seem quite bright.
Test leads are adequate, nice that they have threaded tips to accept alligator clips. I'd have preferred silicon leads, but hey, at the price I paid...
Wish it included the temp. probe.
Wish the capacitance checker could test power supply caps (10 uF and higher).
This will be a keeper, and will see lots of use at my home for my hobby of restoring antique tube-type radios/amps.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

More than enough for home use

Date:July 25, 2011
"You can get this one for under $20 and that's a bargain.
As a professional in the electrical field I think this is a decent, easy to use and sturdy instrument.
You can't compare this one with a Fluke that cost 20 times more, but for every day use I highly recommend it. A lot better the old Radio Shack it replaced.
For your own safety, get familiar with the functions and operation before attempting to use it if you are not familiar with electrical instruments.
If properly used, you can expect many years of service.
"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Meter!!.

Date:December 6, 2010
"I use this autoranging meter all the time. Never lets me down. Good battery life and the cover sure has saved this meter many times. Do yourself a favour and throw out the cheap test leads and buy good ones. The meter does not have a auto zero feature, but the backlight and ohm buzzer feature are very handy. Well worth the money."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary

Decent household meter

Date:July 18, 2010
"If you get this meter on sale you'll be very hard-pressed to match its value anywhere else.
Pros:
- very good range of measurement capabilities beyond just the usual volts/ohms/milliamps
- relative reading and data hold features eliminate writing & calculating
- audible beeps on key commands and tone on continuity function for convenient eyes-off operation
- great high-contrast display with remarkably good backlighting (bright white)
Cons:
- almost clownishly oversized (removing the blue vinyl sheath/glove makes its dimensions appear a bit more reasonable)
- the foldaway plastic stand is a complete joke (does not have click stops so it tends to flop around)
- the included probes are cheap/flimsy and don't last long
"
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint-Eustache

Good tester

Date:May 19, 2010
"Does it all, Backlight feature and hold feature are great to have"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Essex, ON

Good Multimeter

Date:January 24, 2010
"Works good, is a little big, but it's built well and has a nice rubber casing to protect it if you drop it.
Mine uses a 9 volt battery, not the 1 AAA it says.
Also, it would be nice if it came with the temperature probes (#0520037) I can't seem to find them, went to my local CT and no luck.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great great meter!!!

Date:January 12, 2010
"like other have said only wish it was a cat3 then i wouldnt have had to buy a reed, use this one for mostly home use now, car use etc... a great meter however"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

awesome meter

Date:November 2, 2008
"I picked this up at $20.00 and can't believe how well made it is. I use it in my camera store to test batteries. compared to all the 'cheap' $20 battery testers we have gone through this is the rolls royce. wish it had paddle contacts as well as needle contacts. runs on a 9 volt battery not included."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville ON

Great meter, even not on sale

Date:September 19, 2008
"I am a handyman and business owner who uses a multimeter at least a few times a month, and have since I've probably been 10. I bought this meter on sale (about $30) about a year ago. It is great. I do have one other expensive Sperry meter w/ a clamp-on ammeter (which is necessary for my work), but if I didn't need the high-range ammeter function, this #52-0052-2 would be all I need. The temp probe is ridiculously cheap at only about $12, and it's a great function. The display is huge and very legible. I also think the beeping continuity feature is great -- no need to be constantly glancing back at the meter to look for the 0.0 ohm. Even at its regular $60, it's a good deal. I think it was once on sale for even lower than the $30 I bought it for."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Thomas ,Ont

great buy

Date:September 9, 2008
"Just bought it on sale , works even better than my last one ,which finaly died on me .I like the big read out and the back light ."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Autoranging Digital Multimeter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Great Meter

Date:June 5, 2008
"I originally bought this meter as it had all of the features I required for my line of work. However when I got hired on to a big company they insist that all meters be CAT III (this meter is a CAT II), which is a safety rating. I have since spent $100's on meters that do what this one does.
I know that comparing this meter to a high end meter is not a fair comparison. However for light use this meter is a good choice. If you are using a meter everyday, the extra money may mean everything, including your life.
I love this meter so much i have 2 of them, just wish it was a CAT III.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2