Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer

Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer

Premium asphalt protection against damage from oil, salt, gas and chemicalsResists stains17L pail covers 375-sq ft surfaceRubberized for increased flexibility
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
35 of 45(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Review 1 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

"Airport Grade"

Date:May 27, 2014
"their Airport grade is the equivalent to Mcdonalds 100% real beef. Its a company logo. If an airplane came down on this garbage it would smash right through it. What is actually in the bucket is acrylic and water based sealant that sits on top of the driveway, Ashphaltine is the black stuff originally in your stone, this is nowhere near the same chemistry of the stuff. if you do not re apply this every year your driveway will be a spider web of cracks."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good

Date:May 26, 2014
"This sealant works well for cracks in the driveway or the basement"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

GREAT STUFF

Date:May 16, 2014
"Great sealer! Easy, odorless application. I have used this in my garage for several years now and it stands up well to sand and salt"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Renews Old Driveway

Date:May 10, 2014
"Easy to apply. I recommend you turn it upside down for a day prior to use so that it mixes. Mixing will require an electric mixer. Gives the driveway a nice freshly paved look."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada

Black Knight airport grade sealer

Date:July 22, 2013
"Just finished using this product. As suggested by someone previously, use an old bucket that you are willing to throw out for ease of mixing. By splitting the amount and stirring with a long stick things go much easier and provide better consistency. Keep mixing in the new buckets as you go along to keep the same overall look. In time we'll see how this does over winter, but for now the finish is excellent and not shiny. Neighbour just got his sprayed commercially and my driveway looks far better. If it lasts this will become my new norm."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Welland, ON, Canada

good product

Date:May 24, 2013
"May 2013..tried the airport grade driveway sealer .turned out very good ..1 have a 750sq ft drive, recommend 3 pails...the third pail was a second coat 1 hr after the first coat to hide any missed spots..very good product at a good price. used rollers as opposed to squeegee..much better results than the door to door spray system that only lasts a month and cost 3 x as much..."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Laval, QC, Canada

DON'T RECOMMEND

Date:May 20, 2013
"You need arms like weightlifter to stir it and it never becomes evenly conistant. Leaves rough grout sticking up from driveway from non-stirred thick part. Because it's so thick at the bottm of the pail stirring it causes splashes. Be careful. Apparently it's sand at the bottom....supposed to create non-skidding surface. I used the cheaper on for years and it worked just as well."
-14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada

Good coverage

Date:September 12, 2012
"Driveway is 3 years old (still smooth) and this was first time sealing it. Used up one and a half cans with roller for first coat, covering 800 sq ft. Not enough left for second coat, so to use up remaining product went back and touched up spots where I missed. Good product when mixed well. Keep stirring as you go, and when possible pour back and forth between two containers to get heavier solids mixed well for consistency."
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Sealer

Date:September 9, 2012
"I always use this sealer on my driveway. For some reason, my first pail looked blue and the other looked black when it was done. I can remember in the past having the whole driveway looking black when it was done. I just stirred it with a stick. I used to use a paint mixer on the drill but it's really easy to spill over the edges of the pail and get sealer on yourself. I have been using a squeegee but the past 2 times I've done it I've been getting a lot of streaks. The good thing is that the squeegee lets the sealer fill in the bigger gaps that a roller wouldn't get into."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto,ON

Airport Driveway Sealer

Date:August 21, 2012
"Airport grade driveway sealer is the brand I use. It's effective coating once dried looks nice."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

good product

Date:August 12, 2012
"Saves your driveway from cracks, good product
easy to apply mix way before use it, apply during sunny day....
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonchuck

Rollin Rollin Rollin

Date:July 29, 2012
"Ask the paint counter guys to throw pails on mixer. Huge diff to consistency. You can still blend pails if you want but I never have. I use every three years and works very well. I just use the leaf blower on high to clean off driveway and roller works well with any dust just getting rolled into black liquid. Main thing is get all large debris off or it sticks to roller and makes a poor finish. Also, if you want it to have a good finish don't cheap out and roll it on as thin as you can. Buy an extra bucket or two and roll a little thicker and the results will show much better in subsequent years. Have fun Rollin!"
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Rustico, PE, Canada

Saves your driveway

Date:July 29, 2012
"I'm a bus driver and I use this product every summer. This product saves my driveway from all the leaks and messes from my diesel bus."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa,ON

Don't know what happened

Date:February 22, 2012
"Used this product last fall and follow the instruction to the letter
Applied it using a squeegee (wish I would have used a roller) and it looked good, satisfied with the result so far
However this winter with the snow removal it all came off with the ice and now it's all peeling off my driveway
It looks horrible and is everywhere because it gets stuck to your boots
Now I have to sweep and pressure wash it off completely and start over
I might have done something wrong but I can't figure it out
"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hamilton

Great Product

Date:October 2, 2011
"Put this on my driveway that has not been sealed in several years. Product went on very smoothly with roller. As others have stated mix the product good as stated on the directions and it wiil work fine. Best advice was split the pail in half mix both and then combine and mix again. Had many people comment that it looked like a newly paved driveway when it was all finished. Would recomend this product to anyone."
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON

Decent for the price

Date:September 20, 2011
"I purchased this driveway sealer and sealed my driveway this past weekend. I would recommend you wear gloves while doing this because it is difficult to get this stuff off your hands and under your finger nails. Also, make sure you stir the contents a lot. I did my best to mix it up and realized halfway down my driveway that the further down i got in the bucket the thicker the sealer and the more it covered. I had to go back because I wasn't happy with the way it spread at the beginning (probably because it was not mixed as well). Also wear shoes/clothes you dont want because there is a lot of splatter with the roller. Don't cheapen out on the roller, it'll help apply the sealer.
I would try a different brand next time but i am satisfied with the result."
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grand Falls-Windsor

Great Product

Date:September 11, 2011
"Very pleased with this product and would buy again"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just used this today

Date:August 28, 2011
"I just did my driveway today. My driveway is 4 years old & was last done 3 years ago. It is just under 1100 sq ft & took just less than 2 pails. It took a little over 3 hours to do it. Product was easy to stir by hand, no problems getting a good mix. Able to walk on it within 2 hours. Time will tell how long it lasts."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint John, New Brunswick

Extremely Disappointed

Date:August 15, 2011
"My wife and I spent the better part of a day rolling this stuff on our driveway at first it lloked great, but after one winter and less than a year later it’s hard to tell we even put it on. The only way you can tell is the high traffic areas are totally worn through. The rest is faded almost grey in color. Even areas that have no traffic have spots worn through. It's not from lack of prepping the surface, first we swept the large debris then high pressure washed. I’ve added some pics, have a look. Avoid this product!"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Sealer blues

Date:July 13, 2011
"I tried this product earlier this summer and it was one of the worst projects I've undertaken. Not only did it take me A LONG time to stir but when I finished there were streaks across the drive and 2 different shades. No help from their customer service. I'm trying a differnt brand no doubt."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3