Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Stains & Sealants or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer

Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer

Premium asphalt protection against damage from oil, salt, gas and chemicalsResists stains17L pail covers 375-sq ft surfaceRubberized for increased flexibility
Average Customer Rating:
3.84 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
39 of 50(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Review 1 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great buy

Date:July 7, 2015
" now we can finally do the drive way, so it looks so much better... "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:uxbridge on.
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

disappointed

Date:June 28, 2015
" Applied 7 pails {4000sq ft}In2013 summer. In the spring of 2014,70% changed into granules.My drive way looks ugly now,most of the product is and gone and left tarry streaks. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Great White North

Won’t use this product again…

Date:April 11, 2015
" Did almost 1000 sq ft of asphalt in Sep 2014. Adhered to the product directions re surface prep, temperature and application. Here we are in Apr 2015 and the sealer is flaking off in numerous locations, many of which see very little traffic. I will not use this product again. I used the CT Bakor acrylic sealer on this driveway for years with no issues. A coating of that product would last two to three years. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sportyclassic

WORKED WELL

Date:March 6, 2015
" I used several pails to do 2 coats very late in the season, used a birdcage and drill, mixed in spare bucket for ease of pour and color consistency, Used both squeegee and roller, squeegees at CT are not suitable got to the big orange box and get a pro one and reuse it. Splashed it around a bit too much as it is more watery than expected will see if it can be removed of the garage doors in the spring if not no big deal as the color is putrid anyways black will work well to cover. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good Product

Date:October 28, 2014
" Usually on sale, mix well, goes on easy. Save 100-200$ by doing it yourself in a couple of hours. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good product if you can remove the lid

Date:August 27, 2014
" I have used this product before & it did a great job on the driveway with positive comments from passersby. I purchased a mixing tool that I connected to my drill which if used carefully, does a better job of mixing the product than if you do it by hand. My biggest complaint was removing the lid. I understand that the lid has to be secure, however it took me over an hour to remove it and I ended up cutting if off. I wish there was an easier way so if anyone has any suggestion please post them with your review. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Antigonish, NS, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Used this product before and using it again

Date:August 18, 2014
" Yes, it takes time to apply but if it is to be done well, it is what it is. As posted by someone else, I used a paint-roller (three of them), which helped to get the sealer into small, pebble-sized holes created over years of use. I applied what was left from an older bucket, an unopened one that was 4-5 years old plus some from a new purchase. The colour of the driveway is completely uniform. It rained about 36 hours after finishing but I am confident that this won't affect the duration of the product, which has certainly improved the look of a 19-year-old driveway. BTW, before applying, I used the Airport crack-filler for both small and large cracks but didn't wait 48 hours until applying the sealer. This time of year, I'd be lucky to have 48 hours between rainstorms. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good

Date:May 26, 2014
" This sealant works well for cracks in the driveway or the basement "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Renews Old Driveway

Date:May 10, 2014
" Easy to apply. I recommend you turn it upside down for a day prior to use so that it mixes. Mixing will require an electric mixer. Gives the driveway a nice freshly paved look. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada

Black Knight airport grade sealer

Date:July 22, 2013
" Just finished using this product. As suggested by someone previously, use an old bucket that you are willing to throw out for ease of mixing. By splitting the amount and stirring with a long stick things go much easier and provide better consistency. Keep mixing in the new buckets as you go along to keep the same overall look. In time we'll see how this does over winter, but for now the finish is excellent and not shiny. Neighbour just got his sprayed commercially and my driveway looks far better. If it lasts this will become my new norm. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Welland, ON, Canada

good product

Date:May 24, 2013
" May 2013..tried the airport grade driveway sealer .turned out very good ..1 have a 750sq ft drive, recommend 3 pails...the third pail was a second coat 1 hr after the first coat to hide any missed spots..very good product at a good price. used rollers as opposed to squeegee..much better results than the door to door spray system that only lasts a month and cost 3 x as much... "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Laval, QC, Canada

DON'T RECOMMEND

Date:May 20, 2013
" You need arms like weightlifter to stir it and it never becomes evenly conistant. Leaves rough grout sticking up from driveway from non-stirred thick part. Because it's so thick at the bottm of the pail stirring it causes splashes. Be careful. Apparently it's sand at the bottom....supposed to create non-skidding surface. I used the cheaper on for years and it worked just as well. "
-17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada

Good coverage

Date:September 12, 2012
" Driveway is 3 years old (still smooth) and this was first time sealing it. Used up one and a half cans with roller for first coat, covering 800 sq ft. Not enough left for second coat, so to use up remaining product went back and touched up spots where I missed. Good product when mixed well. Keep stirring as you go, and when possible pour back and forth between two containers to get heavier solids mixed well for consistency. "
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Sealer

Date:September 9, 2012
" I always use this sealer on my driveway. For some reason, my first pail looked blue and the other looked black when it was done. I can remember in the past having the whole driveway looking black when it was done. I just stirred it with a stick. I used to use a paint mixer on the drill but it's really easy to spill over the edges of the pail and get sealer on yourself. I have been using a squeegee but the past 2 times I've done it I've been getting a lot of streaks. The good thing is that the squeegee lets the sealer fill in the bigger gaps that a roller wouldn't get into. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto,ON

Airport Driveway Sealer

Date:August 21, 2012
" Airport grade driveway sealer is the brand I use. It's effective coating once dried looks nice. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

good product

Date:August 12, 2012
" Saves your driveway from cracks, good product
easy to apply mix way before use it, apply during sunny day....
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonchuck

Rollin Rollin Rollin

Date:July 29, 2012
" Ask the paint counter guys to throw pails on mixer. Huge diff to consistency. You can still blend pails if you want but I never have. I use every three years and works very well. I just use the leaf blower on high to clean off driveway and roller works well with any dust just getting rolled into black liquid. Main thing is get all large debris off or it sticks to roller and makes a poor finish. Also, if you want it to have a good finish don't cheap out and roll it on as thin as you can. Buy an extra bucket or two and roll a little thicker and the results will show much better in subsequent years. Have fun Rollin! "
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Rustico, PE, Canada

Saves your driveway

Date:July 29, 2012
" I'm a bus driver and I use this product every summer. This product saves my driveway from all the leaks and messes from my diesel bus. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa,ON

Don't know what happened

Date:February 22, 2012
" Used this product last fall and follow the instruction to the letter
Applied it using a squeegee (wish I would have used a roller) and it looked good, satisfied with the result so far
However this winter with the snow removal it all came off with the ice and now it's all peeling off my driveway
It looks horrible and is everywhere because it gets stuck to your boots
Now I have to sweep and pressure wash it off completely and start over
I might have done something wrong but I can't figure it out
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Airport-Grade Driveway Sealer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hamilton

Great Product

Date:October 2, 2011
" Put this on my driveway that has not been sealed in several years. Product went on very smoothly with roller. As others have stated mix the product good as stated on the directions and it wiil work fine. Best advice was split the pail in half mix both and then combine and mix again. Had many people comment that it looked like a newly paved driveway when it was all finished. Would recomend this product to anyone. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3