Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Protection or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Rust Check Rust Converter

Rust Check Rust Converter

Converts rust to a paintable primer on all metal surfacesAerosol283g
Average Customer Rating:
2.917 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Rust Check Rust Converter
Review 1 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Burlington, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Rust to paint in no time

Date:October 22, 2014
" I used this product on on several rusting parts of my car, including one that had already made a hole into the body panel. I did several applications. I did not cover areas I did not want to spray with newspaper, so it got a little messy around the rusted area. I would recommend taping off with newspaper to do a more professional job. I also bought paint and painted over it. I would recommend sanding down, taping off area, and again applying paint lightly several times. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Have Reasonable Expectations

Date:July 28, 2013
" On surface rust this works exceptionally well provided you follow the instructions and use the brush on type. The spray is less effective, presumably because brushing demands better prep and the action of brushing works it into pinholes and pits. It converts the rust and provides a good barrier to prevent reoccurrence.
For those with automotive applications in mind this will work fine if you have a surface scratch or scrape on your car that has developed oxidation. This will not work if your paint has begun to bubble and rust is appearing at a location with no evident surface damage.
If this is happening it is because the panel is rotting through from the inside. Surface applied products will never work because the active (hidden) rust can not be treated. If that has happened you need to replace the panel, or cut out all the affected metal and patch.
For reference this is perforation rust - meaning moisture has perforated through the metal from the backside and gotten under the paint. If you are still under warranty, you should know that there doesn't need to be a hole eaten through the panel for a perforation claim. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

fantasy vs. hard work

Date:July 2, 2013
" "Rust Check Rust Converter Quickly converts rusted surfaces from all metals to a paintable primer. "
In our fantasies, we would spray this product over any amount of rust and convert rust into primer.
In reality, use your favourite power tools (e.g. rotating wire brush) to scrape the rust down to 90% shiny metal. It would take a lot more work to remove more metal until the red rust pits are gone, but we can stop here and convert the red iron oxide pits in the metal to black iron phosphate, which takes less than 10 minutes to see the results given the prior cleaning.
At least this is my approach on a 19 year old car that I'm not expecting to see its 25th birthday. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada

Doesn't work

Date:November 4, 2012
" I followed the directions on the can. I had a patch 4 X 3 inch on the side of the van. I applied that on bare rust (free of dirt or grease). Absolutely nothing happened, no rust was converted. I waited 12 hours, re-applied again, waited few hours, and nothing. All it did, it formed a paintable clear layer over the rust, which never changed colour. Rust remained the same. "
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Good call

Date:August 29, 2012
" Just follow the directions. The surface left behind is easily painted. Worked well, all in all, great for auto and other purposes. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

aerosol can was decent

Date:December 6, 2011
" The aerosol can converted the rust as expected. The other reviews indicated the material should be brushed before and this is very good advice.
One issue was that the paint seemed to rub off the metal after the rust converter was applied and it was painted. Almost like a grease. A sealant layer may have helped, but for this project it wasn't something I was willing to waste my time on. (it's a steel plate sitting indoors on the ground). As well, using automotive paint over the rust converter may have helped as well. I only used a standard spray paint for metals.
Short of the paint rubbing off, I was generally happy with it's performance. The spray can made things very convenient, and the instant change to black showed where you had gone over. Int the future I might consider just leaving the black exposed. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island B.C.

Stops the rust

Date:June 14, 2011
" I have used products in the past that take 24 hours to do their job. Then I tried this on my car and was pleasantly surprised. First, pour the amount you intend to use in a separate container, then use a small brush to coat the rusty areas. (Do not contaminate the unused product in the bottle.) In about 20 minutes it will be ready for primer if you don't put it on to heavy. If so, wipe it with a water dampened cloth. You need to paint over this product. I use an etch primer then prime and paint. The results will last.
Be wise. This is an active chemical that reacts and disolves the surface rust and eats into the rust down to the metal. When applied right, the metal will be black or grey. Works super on refinishing manifolds. A little goes a long way, so don't overuse it.
Do not breath the fumes or get it all over yourself or things. Scrape away the loose rust with a wire brush and blow with air or brush the metal before applying. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Great if you use it right

Date:August 19, 2010
" After reading these reviews, I was very skeptical about this product. However, it was the only thing available at the CT store. I bought the bottle instead of the spray can, and I think that may be part of the problem. You have much better control using a small brush instead of spraying it everywhere.
The process converts ferric oxide (rust) to ferric phosphate, which is a hard, black substance that protects the surface from further rusting. But it cannot do the conversion if there is no rust at that spot. The problem others are having is they apply it only once, and expect the rust to be gone. But other nearby spots will rust later, so everyone thinks the product doesn't work.
But it works fine. Just shake the bottle and pour some in a small container. Use a wire brush to remove the loose rust. Apply the solution with a small brush, and wait until it dries. You will see some parts have turned black, and there will be a sticky coating on the object. Wash this coating off, and wait several hours. You will see rust has formed in places that used to be shiny. Apply the solution again, and repeat the process. Eventually you will cover the object with a hard black coat that stops further rusting. I have used this on my car and it works like a charm.
I also treated ten items and I hope the picture will upload so you can see the results. Some of these items were completely covered in rust. They only needed one or two applications. Some of the other items had only a few rust spots. These items took most of the work and required numerous applications to stop the new rust from forming. But it's easy to tell when you are done. There's no more rust!
Note this product is useful when you want to form a hard black coating on something. Other products are useful when you need to lubricate something and keep it from rusting. Another different product is needed if you want to remove the rust completely. These products are all useful for their intended application, but you have to get the right one for your application. For my purpose, I want the hard black coating to stop further rust on nuts and bolts on my car, and to stop rust from spreading under the paint. This product does exactly what I need, and it works very well! "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victoria BC

Would not recommend

Date:June 1, 2010
" I decided to try this on a rusty shovel before something important. I followed the instructions on the bottle. However after applying the rust did not look converted. But I waited for a few weeks to see what would happen. The rust kept right on rusting under the coating. Would not recommend or use again. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dont get this

Date:March 31, 2010
" I did everything the instruction says, and it just dosent work. I applied it on little spots (about 1/8 inch) and after 2 weeks it went off and started to rust. "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Worst purchase ever

Date:December 10, 2008
" I bought an aerosol can of this stuff to go at some areas rust on my garage door roller tracks and mounting bolts. What an absolute waste of my time and money. Half a can and four liberal "treatments" later, the rust is as red and healthy as it was before the first squirt.
Give this stuff a miss. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Rust Check Rust Converter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

problems not indicated on label

Date:January 30, 2008
" I got this in the spray version at my local Can. Tire (though I only see the bottle on the website.) It was a fiasco! It did seem to convert the rust in the fashion of "naval jelly" (but without as much of a stink.)
However, I can't recommend it; The label claimed that it could be painted over later without cleaning it off. Wherever I primed with Tremclad over it, the primer would not dry: just like it was going over grease or wax! (The same can of paint went on fine where there was bare metal but no converter.)
Also, it ate right through automotive masking tape and damaged good paint underneath, which then couldn't be repainted without first removing all traces of the product! I started with a small rust spot that turned into a medium-sized paint repair.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?