Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Protection or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System

CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System

Used by industry professionals in some of the harshest industrial conditions for 20 years (salt harvesting, mining, aviation, snow removal)Prevents the onset of rust and inhibits the spread on vehicles that already have rustOne-time installation includes annual checkupsProtects the painted panels on
Average Customer Rating:
2.674 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
23
22 of 46(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer Reviews for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Review 1 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Another Snake Oil Product

Date:September 20, 2014
"These devices have already been proven not to work.
But they do give you a blinking LED to give you hope. LOL
You are far better getting your vehicle Krowned."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Extremely poor customer service

Date:September 10, 2014
"I purchased this unit in 2011 and have been fighting with the company since 2012 to repair rust damage that surfaced over that year They claim I never submitted forms or made follow up appointments even though I have sent them the information. They obviously do not stand behind their product. I have already had to have a new unit installed as the first failed within a few months of installation.
I would have never purchased this product if I had known the headaches dealing with the manufacture has caused. I would not recommend it to anyone.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent Product

Date:August 16, 2014
"I have had this on my 2007 Silverado since 2008 and have had no rust anywhere. I drive my truck in quarries and gravel pits, so it gets a lot of lime dust under and inside the truck. I wash it at least twice a week just to keep it clean. I now have 184000 kms. on it. I liked it so much that I also installed one on my 2005 Chrysler 300. It has been a year since installation and no rust. I recently purchased a 2009 Sierra, which I will get one for it as well. I highly recommend this product."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pointe-Claire, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not worth it

Date:June 13, 2014
"It has been install for three years, now rust and corrosion started, is it supposed to prevent any rust, I would prefer to do annual treatment for rust at least it will prevent any corrosion"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product

Date:April 24, 2014
"Installed one on our van about 3 years ago and not even the battery cables corrode now."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

expectation management

Date:November 13, 2013
"When purchased this product, I had an expectation of this device will prevent my car body and internals from rusting.... It was an incorrect expectation. If you are like me thinking to protect your car from surface rust, do *not* buy this product.
I had a 98 honda accord. As with all hondas it just ran. However, at age of 13, its body rusted so badly, that it started to leak inside when it rained outside. :-) With that experience, I am now paying close attention to rusts. I bought this device hoping it will help to prolong the life of my new Infinite G35S which already a 4 years old car by now. Two days after I installed this unit, its LED no longer blinks. Exchanged for a new one. 3 weeks later, I found a newly developed rust spot on the surface of the car. Called the owner of this counteract company. He confirmed that the unit will *not* help to prevent the rust from forming. It only delays a few more hours. It certainly not helping, consider our salty winter.... I also talked to the tech at canadiantire and part source, who also confirmed that the device will *not* prevent rust from forming. However, both sources had made it clear that the device will slow down corrosion process (how much slower is not clear).
I would suggest *not* to buy this device for consumer cars/trucks. It may makes sense for commercial fleets as they usually much more costy to replace. Even if 15 years later, I am still driving my car, It will still be not clear if it is the advance car manufacturing technologies that will have helped to prolong the life of the car or this device."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canada , init !
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Does not work - dealer fitted

Date:September 29, 2013
"I did not buy this from Canadian Tire, so I'm not having a go at them !!! apparently Team Chrysler fitted this to my wife's car about 7 years ago when it was new, along with an underbody seal. Now the car's underbody is great, but that is more due to the anti-corrsion coating.
This unit I only found recently, and didnt know what it was, after removing the battery to check what this flashing red light was I laughed.
The actual connector was rusted and one lead had snapped off and the wire was green with virdigris (copper rust), some kinda anti-rust device, if it can't even protect its own parts how is it going to protect anything else.
There is a 5 year g'tee so this is well over, this device is pure snake oil.
Dont waste your money, from new, get a proper underbody wax seal and repair ANY and ALL chips immediatly
The picture shows the unit installed and the power connection missing the blue lead which has snapped of due to rust !"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener
Age:65 or Over
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Do not work on cars

Date:August 14, 2013
"These products came out 30 years ago, they did work then and they don't work know. They work on boats and on some bridges do to being in contact with water. Would suggest you do research on this type of product on the internet, tells how they work and why the don't work on cars"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

Doesn't work! Doen't last! Poor Product!

Date:June 13, 2013
"Installed this just over a year ago and need a replacement. Thought the first one didn't do the job properly due to a bad unit, the 2nd one is the same.
Only the area close to the unit have very little to no rust. You may need 2 or more of this in your vehicle.
Waste of time and money!"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't work unortunately

Date:June 9, 2013
"I bought this hoping my new car would rust much more slowly or not at all
However its rusting at the same rate as another of the same model.
Don't trust this item, mine was installed by Canadian Tire, iron rusts, paint is supposed to prevent water from getting to the iron, but chips will cause metal to show, and then water causes it to rust.
Oil rustproofing may be messy, but works a lot better then this gimmick :(
Rust is very difficult to treat, so don't be like me, get something better then the counteract as soon as you buy the car.
You won't know this doesn't work for years because modern car bodies are galvanized before painting to slow down rust formation, so reviews that say it works are because the galvanization has slowed down rust formation, not this item.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:toronto

Installed it 2 years ago

Date:April 30, 2013
"Bought this and installed it just over two years.....a complete waste of my money. I have more rust than ever and it grows faster every year. Spend your money and get the oil based undercoating every couple of years. It's a better deal in the long run."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON

Excellent Product

Date:April 7, 2013
"Installed the CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System 3 years ago and had my yearly checkup and there is still no rust on my car thus far."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
-19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canada

Doesn't work

Date:February 19, 2013
"Put this on 2 of my vehicles and within 2 years they both have more than minor rust. Tried to get warrantee from company, but that was a waste of time. They don't stand behind thier product. DON'T BUY THIS"
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada

Seem to make your car rust faster

Date:February 8, 2013
"Being a body man and a mechanic, I wanted to see if this stuff work and had it installed a year ago when there was very little rust under neath, now a year later, I could not believe how fast the rust had accelarated under the car body. So i figure this is a dealer reccomended product so they can sell more car in the future. Anything with a electrical connection that is expose to salt and oxygen will corrode at a faster rate like bare copper wire and positive connection on battery post. So what it was actually doing on the expose metal under your car is rusting faster. Most people don't look under their car but just the outside where it is protected already. It work great if it was under water where there is no oxygen. So this is why this theory was never proven to be effective, just a gimmick to a miracle solution which will never beat a good washing and a regular oil spray under the car.
I wouldn't even give it away just throw it in the garbage.
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Counter Act - Excellent Product

Date:January 29, 2013
"I don't understand the negative reviews. They have to be the result of improper installation or the vehicle was already rusted to badly.
I put it onto a 2 year old truck and have had it in operation for 2 1/2 years now, and I can tell you, it is excellent! Here's the proof positive.
Before installation, small rust spots began to appear on the steel rims. Large areas of rust had already began on the steel headache rack on the back. After 2 1/2 years the rust on both steel rims and headache rack have actually decreased. The steel bolts on the headache rack had a thick layer of fuzzy rust. They are now Clean !
Do yourself a favor! Have one professionally installed!"
-33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada

shady warranty

Date:December 31, 2012
"I finally received the registration form by mail...At this point I cannot comment on the quality of the product, but rather on the warranty requirements. See below as per the registration form:
- the warranty needs to be filled out by CT within 15 days of the purchase (!) - impossible since it takes more than that to obtain the registration form;
- car to be rust free - CT will inspect the car when filling out the form;
- car to be less than 5 yrs old;
- less than 80 000 km;
- warranty available only for cars that are "used non-commercially in highway driving" ("!!"). The warranty excludes vehicles which have been used or registered as commercial vehicles (!!!);
- car has no prior paint or body work;
- what is protected under the warranty: "vehicle's exterior painted metal body panels from rust originating from the inside surface of the body panels in the designated areas";
- warranty coverage: 5 yrs or 100 000 km, whichever comes first
All these conditions tell me one thing: not even the manufacturer trusts the product!!! I now have the system installed, with no chance for warranty and willing to return it to CT despite additional costs for uninstalling."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON, Canada

scam

Date:December 4, 2012
"does not work. I work in a body shop & we see these things all the time. Cars with them that have rust in all the typical areas. Oil based rust proofing is your best option. Repairing damaged vehicles we see it first hand. Cars rustproofed come apart so much easier. The seams, cracks , nooks & cranies are typically in good shape. Cars that have not been rust proofed or have that scam electronic thing on it do not come apart with ease. The bolts are rusted seams are showing signs of rust etc."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada

Beware: zero customer support!! NO WARRANTY!!!

Date:November 22, 2012
"Cannot talk about performance as I bought it only in October 2012.
Poor rating due to inexistence of custumor support from Counter Act. CT techs did well in explaining how it works and where the sensors/terminals are installed.
This is where I got stuck - and still am. I purchased the product in October 2012. There is a registration form in the manual, however there is a stamp on top of it saying that you should contact counteract for the new registration form (707A). You are supposed to register the product as soon as you purchase/install, otherwise THE WARRANTY IS VOIDED. So I emailed them about three weeks ago to ask for the new form and still didn't get an answer. Then I called them about the same time and (my impression was that# an old lady picked up and said that the guys #!?# are at a trade show in Vegas for a week and they will get back to me once they return...of course it never happened. Obviously sounds like a small family business potentially running a big scam. Today I called their 1 800 number and the message box is full #!). Obviously, they got a lot of calls and they are unable to deal with the flux of customers resulted from this big contract with CT. Am I the only one asking for the registration form? Is this a national scale scam?"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

This does work! Bad reviews may be bad installs

Date:November 15, 2012
"I've been using corrosion prevention modules for over a decade, and have never had rust since, and I live in Ottawa! (Road-salt central!). I had one vehicle in my fleet that didn't have it, and the lower panels rusted out completely. People who have trouble are possibly due to bad installs (a very common problem). All body panels should be checked for voltage after install. If test fails in some areas, then the car is the culprit (panels are insulated from eachother). If it drains your battery then you have a bad unit."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for CounterAct Electronic Rust Protection System
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Kills your battery

Date:October 19, 2012
"I bought this thing , and a new battery to prepare for winter. I don't drive my truck everyday, sometimes I go more than a week without driving it . Well it didn't take long before my battery was dead. I was hoping that perhaps the battery was just bad and replaced it. Well it happened again. I've since unhooked the counteract and had no battery trouble since."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3