Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Hands free screen door - opens easily when your hands are fullCloses itself with 18 powerful magnetsCan be set up in seconds - no tools requiredGreat for guests that forget to close the screen doorIdeal for pets
Average Customer Rating:
2.414 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
11
11 of 29(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Review 1 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Terrible Quality!

Date:September 27, 2013
"I bought two of them and the magnets are too weak to keep it closed during a small breeze."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works great on single doors (lookwise)

Date:September 10, 2013
"I used it at the cottage on the back of the house door. Works great! I first laid out the screen on the floor in order to join the magnets together. Then I installed the velcro around the door frame due to the size and to make it "look friendly". The trick to make the magnet snap back together is to install the middle top velcro (where the magnets are to join) an inch higher than the right & left corners so that gravity will naturally make them drop back together."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oromocto, NB

wish I had kept my receipt

Date:July 19, 2013
"this worked well for me for about 3 days then the heat from the sun melted the glue on the velcro strips and the screen won't stay up anymore.
The tacks keep falling out every time I go through the door, but it does work well for my dog :-) He loves coming and going whenever he wants.
The magnets won't stick together if there's even the slightest hint of a decent breeze outside...which is defeating the purpose - to let the fresh air in and keep the bugs out.
I won't buy anymore of these doors, but I will buy a proper screen door. My dog won't be able to come and go as he pleases, but at least I'll have a product that works well.
You get what you pay for."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:BC

Open the doors

Date:July 7, 2013
"I purchased this last year...I did not want to put the sticky velcro all over the door jam...sooo....I folded the Magic Mesh over a retractable curtain rod ( the ones with the rubber ends) sewed a few stiches to hold it to the rod and placed it in the doorway. i only used one of the velcro pieces on either side to keep it from blowing around and it works great. I can remove it or put it back up easiy with out all the ugly velcro tabs. We have 2 dogs, they go in and out as they please and we have tons of the sticky velcro to use a new piece for several summers."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

misleading - don't bother

Date:July 1, 2013
"Photo on box isn't how it's installed. Most exterior doors swing in. So this goes on the outside of your house and makes your house look cheap because they are not square. I bought 2 of these and both had to be pulled up at the top center to make the magnets line up. Then the mesh is almost 39" wide. So if your door frame isn't that wide, you have to put the velcro in a few inches from the product edges and the extra that hangs outside your door frame looks horrible. So I took them down and ripped one in the process. Not even worth $20 on sale :)"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East York, Toronto, ON, Canada

Uneasy on the eyes

Date:June 7, 2013
"This product made my balconly look cheap and ugly. Besides that, I bought it so I could leave my balcony door open for my husky to go in and out at his own convenience. Problem was the magnets were too strong and he had to use force to open it. He didn't like it and stopped going out on the balcony! The adhesive did not stick to the wooden frame and started falling off after two days. They should make different length and width sizes as this was far too large for a balcony door. I would rather have bugs fly in my house then this, which is why I returned it."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS, Canada

Love it, but what did you expect for $20.00

Date:June 6, 2013
"Excellent idea. Installed easy enough. We do not have pets but the neighbours dog did find its way in, as well as a cat that came from who knows where. We glued the velcro to the mesh and the door frame as it kept coming apart. Before the season was done the screen was separating from the side mesh. Patch with Duct Tape. Looked horrible. Wind did blow it open and of course magnets would stick to the steel door. It did serve its purpose with the flies. When they go on sale this year I will buy another."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON, Canada

Didn't work

Date:June 2, 2013
"Tried to install on our sliding door for 2 cats. Did not look good, magnets did not snap together would love to find an option for a cat door with having to install a new screen door."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

TD

Date:May 20, 2013
"i READ THE REVIEWS AND DECIDED TO DO SOME REINFORCE THE MAGNETS WITH A LITTLE SHOE GOO. AND NOW AFTER 200 HUNDREDS EXITS OF THE HERD , STILL NO PROBLEM.EVEN GLUED THE VELCRO WITH A LITTLE DAB OF SHOE GOO AND THE ARE HOLDING UP FINE.AT THE BOTTOM WHERE THE PAWS ARE WARING THE SCREEN , I PATCHED IN SOME VINYL SCREEN WITH SHOE GOO OF COURSE AND IT WILL LAST FOR EVER AND IT HELPS WITH THE EXTRA WEIGH TO CLOSE WITH PROPER ALIGNMENT.
CHEERS TO THE SCREEN AND SHOE GOO(I FIX EVERYTHING WITH SHOE GOO)
"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Thomas, ON, Canada

Not Doggy Proof

Date:May 16, 2013
"Concept is good and it functioned for 1 week before the bottom magnets fell apart. We have 3 dogs and the plastic holding the magnets just came apart. These should be better quality for the amount you pay. Also mesh is easily torn by dog paws.
If you have no pets, great!
If you have dogs that paw the mesh to get through then buyer beware.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Magic Mesh

Date:May 15, 2013
"This is the second door we have purchased. We have two large dogs and they love being able to go outside at their own free will. The first door we bought last season and it held up quite nicely. This year we put it up again and lost a bunch of the magnets. I did contact Magic Mesh and they said they will replace it for me."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charlottetown, PE, Canada

Great idea, poor quality

Date:May 11, 2013
"Within an hour of putting this up our dog pawed it and broke the screen. Within two days the mesh was coming apart from the seams at the top. I love the idea but the quality is poor."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON, Canada

Good idea but only if you have wooden doors

Date:April 26, 2013
"Tried these because it's nice to be able to open the door and let some fresh air in. I have 2 dogs so it's not possible to do that with the usual screen doors - even though I have a dog flap, as soon as the dogs see the door open, away they go & having already gone through replacing 3 screen doors thought this would be a good alternative!
Although the idea is good, the biggest problem is that the magnets quite often stick to the (metal# door or surround rather than returning to the original position and sticking to the opposite magnet.
Perhaps my dogs are just overly energetic! But what happens is that one or both sides fly open and at least one of the magnets attaches itself to the door or surround, thereby holding the curtain open, instead of returning to its original position.....very frustrating.
So, unfortunately, after a week of having to unhook the magnet from the door several times a day #& more flies etc in the house than I care for!) I gave up on it.
Good idea, but only if you walk through it very slowly & carefully......and you don't own big dogs!"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada

Didn't last long

Date:April 7, 2013
"I've had it up for 2 weeks. I have two big old dogs that go outside possibly 5 times a day. The bottom plastic piece that holds the magnet has broken and the magnet fell out never to be found again. I thought that the screen would tear before anything but apparently I was wrong. Good concept, cheap parts that don't hold up to use."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Worth it

Date:March 30, 2013
"I volunteer at an animal shelter and we had a rough time when fly season arrived. I bought two of these and placed them on two doors leading to the problem area. They work great, even the dogs have no trouble using them.
With the amount of use they get I only expected to get one seasons use out of them then they had to be tossed but they did hold up for the season. The velcro and tacks did not cut it so I used a staple gun to hold the screens in place and they definitely helped cut down on our fly problem.
I would definitely recommend this product but keep in mind, for $25 you are not buying high quality. As long as you keep an open mind and are willing to improvise when needed (such as a staple gun instead of tacks and velcro) you will be satisfied.
"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cobble Hill, BC

Great Idea But Lacking Quality

Date:September 2, 2012
"Great idea but the method of attachment is iffy. The velcro works much better if you sew it to the screen and can use a staple gun to attach it to the door frame. I only got 11 out of the 12 velcro strips and added a few more from my own supply to get it to work. Start the attachment from the floor so that the screen doesn't drag on the ground. One of the magnet clips came apart the first time I walked through the screen. I pushed it firmly back together and it's holding for now. It is alot easier to get through than a screen door with a wheelchair. Buy it on sale and its an OK deal."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:regina, sk

best portable door ever

Date:August 26, 2012
"I packed 4 of these in my suitcase to Jamaica in May and instead of using the velcro because they were to be permanent additions, we used a basic staplegun. FANTASTIC! Everybody loves them and wants me to bring more ;)"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good idea that didn't work

Date:August 20, 2012
"I bought this product and installed it on my door, which has a vinyl door frame and the door swings into my house. I cleaned the door frame as directed and the screen installed easily enough, but would not stay up. After an hour of going outside to fasten the screen back up every 10 minutes or so, I gave up and returned the product. It was a good idea, but it didn't work on my vinyl door frame."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:BC

good product!

Date:August 17, 2012
"It's very easy to install, and works like a charm.
If you're not interested in paying $100 + for a sliding screen door, this one works just fine and is great for the summer. No more spiders coming into my room at night!!!"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love it

Date:August 14, 2012
"I have 4 dogs who are in and out of the house constantly and this is the best product ever. I have had no troubles with it other than it sticks to the steel door if it isn't opened all the way. Otherwise, I love it!"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2