Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Hands free screen door - opens easily when your hands are fullCloses itself with 18 powerful magnetsCan be set up in seconds - no tools requiredGreat for guests that forget to close the screen doorIdeal for pets
Average Customer Rating:
2.635 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
18
25 of 52(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Review 1 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

SOlid screen

Date:July 29, 2015
" The screen works well in the start. I don't think it will last 3 summers. The glue that hold the velcro didn't last in the hot sun. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

Date:July 28, 2015
" these are great. dont last too long but for the low price you can just buy another at the end of summer "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good product, does what its supposed to do

Date:July 25, 2015
" This has been a great purchase for my apartment. I didn't have a screen for my balcony door, and bugs were getting in frequently. I installed the magic mesh, and havent had any bugs since. for it to work the best requires a very precise install of the adhesive velcro strips. it has held up nicely over the last 2 weeks. def recommend if it fits your door/space well. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Magic Mesh - a solid A

Date:July 17, 2015
" The concept is excellent, walk through the screen door (no hands) and it closes magnetically behind you.
Good value for under $20! Easy to install too. double-sided sticky tape could be stickier - depends on the surface it mounts to. But, has tacks for additional stick. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Squamish, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty cool

Date:July 13, 2015
" I am very happy with this item. I run a daycare and needed to have some fresh air getting in as there are no opening windows in our room. This was a perfect option. The glue on the Velcro is a bit touch and go...could be stickier but it works. If I had a wood frame I would have tacked it up. And I love the magnets and the sound when they click together. The children love it too. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Serves the purpose

Date:July 9, 2015
" This screen keeps the wasps and moths out of our home and allows us to leave the patio door open while our dog can go in and out as often as he wants - and the screen closes behind him. It serves the purpose we bought it for. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Trust the reviews and don't do what I did

Date:July 8, 2015
" So normally I don't write reviews but I feel I need to for this. I read the reviews on here and it was a mixed bag some good some bad I decided to go ahead and get it anyways-bad choice. It's been up for 4 days and 3/4 of it has fallen off the frame for the second time. Save yourself he money and find something else. Canadian tire really should really pull this useless product it's a great concept but it just doesn't work. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Good product but needs adjustment

Date:July 2, 2015
" We've had one on our back door for several years now. I think we're on our second screen. It allows fresh air into the house and our dog can come and go as she pleases. We found that the velcro doesn't stick very well when it gets too hot. We put it up with industrial grade velcro and that didn't stick either. We'd return home to find it lying on the deck.
This year I folded the solid black edge under the vinyl edging around the door and then clipped it in place with some large "alligator" paper clips. That has worked really well and looks nice and clean. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canmore, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Concept Dissapointing Result

Date:June 27, 2015
" I have had one of these screens before and after the dog clawed into it we had to replace it after a three year run. So this year we did replace it and I have to say that the result was very bad. We have had it installed for three weeks now and we have lost 3 of the magnets so far. This product is now bordering completely useless and depending where in sequence the next magnet falls off it will again have to be replaced. At this rate it would take about 5 screens to get you through a season.
Canadian Tire Corp: Really it is time to take this one off the shelves or take a trip to wherever they are made and increase the Quality Control. This is not the type of experience your clients are looking for. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love this product

Date:June 1, 2015
" This is not the best quality product but for the price it's okay. Easy to install; and great for my kids no longer telling them to close the screen. Installed mine in less then 10 minutes. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:LOrignal Ontario
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap Quality But Idea Is Good

Date:May 28, 2015
" The one I bought is too small for my big patio door. It needs to be made so that there is 75% of it on one side and 25% on the other side and then you would be able to tack it to the side door frames and still have the opening in front of the functional side of your patio door. The tacks are useless and fell out almost right away. The sticky gluey part of the velcro is not the greatest quality. The screen part is good though, I've been walking through mine for 6 months now, and it has not ripped or broken. I bought it to keep spiders etc. from coming into the house and it does prevent most of that. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not as EASY as it claims

Date:October 8, 2014
" Terrible product. says it easy to install..... its not. Pretty complicated. Dont think you can do it on your own.
Its `says fits most doors...... it doesn't. Way too big, even for my 6 foot slider.
"
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

functional but low quality

Date:October 6, 2014
" It worked well to keep bugs out but often blew open from wind. It ripped at the seams and only really good for one season's use. We will need to buy another next summer. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor Quality - Doesn't work.

Date:September 12, 2014
" After a week all the magnets fell off. I will be returning it. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap

Date:September 3, 2014
" Had this screen for about 2 months now. Almost all of the adhesive has come off from the summer weather, and the small tacks don't do much. I ended up using finishing nails to rehang it and hold it up. Discovered today that one of the magnets on the bottom has broken off and is now missing...Lets hope the dog didn't eat it... "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mission, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I like it!

Date:August 1, 2014
" I read the reviews and saw the low rating but I had to try it as I am in and out on the patio all the time. The sticky pads didn't stick that great but I used the tacks and I love this screen door. I have arthritis and the previous screen door had a tiny, hard to grip handle that was driving me nuts. Just walk right through this one and it closes well behind me. I have had no flies at all since I installed it two days ago. Maybe they hate the stripes?
One issue is that if ya do close the glass door REMEMBER not to just walk fast through it ")
PS Installed mine on the inside of a sliding glass door.
I like it! It suits me just fine.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't expect it to last!

Date:July 28, 2014
" I bought one of these when they first came out and was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked on the door way to my deck. The magnets snapped together beautifully and the cats loved being able to come and go as they pleased. However, said cats clawed at it once too often and it was time to buy a new one.
The price has come down a little this year, but the quality has come down a lot! The magnets are weaker so that, if there's even a slight breeze, they don't always engage. The magnets themselves were set back too far so that there was fabric getting in the way of the magnets locking. I had to trim this with scissors. The screen still works, and it's a great idea, but I would rather pay a little more for a better finished product.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beiseker, AB T0M, Canada

Great for pets

Date:July 5, 2014
" This works wonderful.......cat comes and goes as she likes now, without having to continually open and close the door for her. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edson, AB, Canada

Good product for price paid

Date:June 27, 2014
" I was very happy with this product considering the price I paid. I wanted a product that would allow my animals to come and go as they desire. I tacked it up and it was good last summer. It is definitely worn since the winter but I plan on buying a new one. I've had to fix some of the magnets when they fell off but I just added some crazy glue to them and replaced them on the screen. Perfect for my dog and cat to sneak in and out of!!! "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tweed
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

DO NOT BUY

Date:June 4, 2014
" We recently bought this for our 6x12 enclosed trailer.
First we were missing 4 of the Velcro strips to hold the mesh onto the wall.
2nd the middle magnet had demagnetized making it useless.
3rd It has VERY weak magnets and does NOT close as shown on TV..
DO NOT BUY this .A waste of Money !!
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3