Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Hands free screen door - opens easily when your hands are fullCloses itself with 18 powerful magnetsCan be set up in seconds - no tools requiredGreat for guests that forget to close the screen doorIdeal for pets
Average Customer Rating:
2.513 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
13
16 of 37(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Review 1 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mission, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I like it!

Date:August 1, 2014
"I read the reviews and saw the low rating but I had to try it as I am in and out on the patio all the time. The sticky pads didn't stick that great but I used the tacks and I love this screen door. I have arthritis and the previous screen door had a tiny, hard to grip handle that was driving me nuts. Just walk right through this one and it closes well behind me. I have had no flies at all since I installed it two days ago. Maybe they hate the stripes?
One issue is that if ya do close the glass door REMEMBER not to just walk fast through it ")
PS Installed mine on the inside of a sliding glass door.
I like it! It suits me just fine.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't expect it to last!

Date:July 28, 2014
"I bought one of these when they first came out and was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked on the door way to my deck. The magnets snapped together beautifully and the cats loved being able to come and go as they pleased. However, said cats clawed at it once too often and it was time to buy a new one.
The price has come down a little this year, but the quality has come down a lot! The magnets are weaker so that, if there's even a slight breeze, they don't always engage. The magnets themselves were set back too far so that there was fabric getting in the way of the magnets locking. I had to trim this with scissors. The screen still works, and it's a great idea, but I would rather pay a little more for a better finished product.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beiseker, AB T0M, Canada

Great for pets

Date:July 5, 2014
"This works wonderful.......cat comes and goes as she likes now, without having to continually open and close the door for her."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edson, AB, Canada

Good product for price paid

Date:June 27, 2014
"I was very happy with this product considering the price I paid. I wanted a product that would allow my animals to come and go as they desire. I tacked it up and it was good last summer. It is definitely worn since the winter but I plan on buying a new one. I've had to fix some of the magnets when they fell off but I just added some crazy glue to them and replaced them on the screen. Perfect for my dog and cat to sneak in and out of!!!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tweed
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

DO NOT BUY

Date:June 4, 2014
"We recently bought this for our 6x12 enclosed trailer.
First we were missing 4 of the Velcro strips to hold the mesh onto the wall.
2nd the middle magnet had demagnetized making it useless.
3rd It has VERY weak magnets and does NOT close as shown on TV..
DO NOT BUY this .A waste of Money !!
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Almost, but not durable enough

Date:May 25, 2014
"I knew it wouldn't work. The package even tries to warn you: "As seen on TV" is nature's way of trying to warn the consumer to find a better use for money, like, say, burning cash for heat... but I didn't pay attention to the warnings.
And yeah, it almost works. When you can get the adhesive to stick the enclosure does come to a close with a satisfying series of clicks.
Unless there is a breeze. Or when the adhesive fails #within minutes.#
So, I went back to the store and bought some proper Velcro adhesive strips. Now the screen itself can't stand up to the task and is wearing badly.
It won't last a month."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exellent Product

Date:May 21, 2014
"Easy to put up and take down. Keeps bugs out of the house while letting fresh air in."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Interior BC
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor quality, waste of money.

Date:May 10, 2014
"Save your money!
installed it one warm day and the next morning it was hanging out of line. The overnight temperature drop was all it took. The magnets didn't align properly straight out of the box, the sewing job is awful (not square).
Our door is the perfect size, hence I would expect a perfect fit.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Terrible Quality!

Date:September 27, 2013
"I bought two of them and the magnets are too weak to keep it closed during a small breeze."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works great on single doors (lookwise)

Date:September 10, 2013
"I used it at the cottage on the back of the house door. Works great! I first laid out the screen on the floor in order to join the magnets together. Then I installed the velcro around the door frame due to the size and to make it "look friendly". The trick to make the magnet snap back together is to install the middle top velcro (where the magnets are to join) an inch higher than the right & left corners so that gravity will naturally make them drop back together."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oromocto, NB

wish I had kept my receipt

Date:July 19, 2013
"this worked well for me for about 3 days then the heat from the sun melted the glue on the velcro strips and the screen won't stay up anymore.
The tacks keep falling out every time I go through the door, but it does work well for my dog :-) He loves coming and going whenever he wants.
The magnets won't stick together if there's even the slightest hint of a decent breeze outside...which is defeating the purpose - to let the fresh air in and keep the bugs out.
I won't buy anymore of these doors, but I will buy a proper screen door. My dog won't be able to come and go as he pleases, but at least I'll have a product that works well.
You get what you pay for."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:BC

Open the doors

Date:July 7, 2013
"I purchased this last year...I did not want to put the sticky velcro all over the door jam...sooo....I folded the Magic Mesh over a retractable curtain rod ( the ones with the rubber ends) sewed a few stiches to hold it to the rod and placed it in the doorway. i only used one of the velcro pieces on either side to keep it from blowing around and it works great. I can remove it or put it back up easiy with out all the ugly velcro tabs. We have 2 dogs, they go in and out as they please and we have tons of the sticky velcro to use a new piece for several summers."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

misleading - don't bother

Date:July 1, 2013
"Photo on box isn't how it's installed. Most exterior doors swing in. So this goes on the outside of your house and makes your house look cheap because they are not square. I bought 2 of these and both had to be pulled up at the top center to make the magnets line up. Then the mesh is almost 39" wide. So if your door frame isn't that wide, you have to put the velcro in a few inches from the product edges and the extra that hangs outside your door frame looks horrible. So I took them down and ripped one in the process. Not even worth $20 on sale :)"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East York, Toronto, ON, Canada

Uneasy on the eyes

Date:June 7, 2013
"This product made my balconly look cheap and ugly. Besides that, I bought it so I could leave my balcony door open for my husky to go in and out at his own convenience. Problem was the magnets were too strong and he had to use force to open it. He didn't like it and stopped going out on the balcony! The adhesive did not stick to the wooden frame and started falling off after two days. They should make different length and width sizes as this was far too large for a balcony door. I would rather have bugs fly in my house then this, which is why I returned it."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS, Canada

Love it, but what did you expect for $20.00

Date:June 6, 2013
"Excellent idea. Installed easy enough. We do not have pets but the neighbours dog did find its way in, as well as a cat that came from who knows where. We glued the velcro to the mesh and the door frame as it kept coming apart. Before the season was done the screen was separating from the side mesh. Patch with Duct Tape. Looked horrible. Wind did blow it open and of course magnets would stick to the steel door. It did serve its purpose with the flies. When they go on sale this year I will buy another."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON, Canada

Didn't work

Date:June 2, 2013
"Tried to install on our sliding door for 2 cats. Did not look good, magnets did not snap together would love to find an option for a cat door with having to install a new screen door."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

TD

Date:May 20, 2013
"i READ THE REVIEWS AND DECIDED TO DO SOME REINFORCE THE MAGNETS WITH A LITTLE SHOE GOO. AND NOW AFTER 200 HUNDREDS EXITS OF THE HERD , STILL NO PROBLEM.EVEN GLUED THE VELCRO WITH A LITTLE DAB OF SHOE GOO AND THE ARE HOLDING UP FINE.AT THE BOTTOM WHERE THE PAWS ARE WARING THE SCREEN , I PATCHED IN SOME VINYL SCREEN WITH SHOE GOO OF COURSE AND IT WILL LAST FOR EVER AND IT HELPS WITH THE EXTRA WEIGH TO CLOSE WITH PROPER ALIGNMENT.
CHEERS TO THE SCREEN AND SHOE GOO(I FIX EVERYTHING WITH SHOE GOO)
"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Thomas, ON, Canada

Not Doggy Proof

Date:May 16, 2013
"Concept is good and it functioned for 1 week before the bottom magnets fell apart. We have 3 dogs and the plastic holding the magnets just came apart. These should be better quality for the amount you pay. Also mesh is easily torn by dog paws.
If you have no pets, great!
If you have dogs that paw the mesh to get through then buyer beware.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Magic Mesh

Date:May 15, 2013
"This is the second door we have purchased. We have two large dogs and they love being able to go outside at their own free will. The first door we bought last season and it held up quite nicely. This year we put it up again and lost a bunch of the magnets. I did contact Magic Mesh and they said they will replace it for me."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charlottetown, PE, Canada

Great idea, poor quality

Date:May 11, 2013
"Within an hour of putting this up our dog pawed it and broke the screen. Within two days the mesh was coming apart from the seams at the top. I love the idea but the quality is poor."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2