Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Hands free screen door - opens easily when your hands are fullCloses itself with 18 powerful magnetsCan be set up in seconds - no tools requiredGreat for guests that forget to close the screen doorIdeal for pets
Average Customer Rating:
2.489 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
9
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
17
19 of 45(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Review 1 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Good product but needs adjustment

Date:July 2, 2015
" We've had one on our back door for several years now. I think we're on our second screen. It allows fresh air into the house and our dog can come and go as she pleases. We found that the velcro doesn't stick very well when it gets too hot. We put it up with industrial grade velcro and that didn't stick either. We'd return home to find it lying on the deck.
This year I folded the solid black edge under the vinyl edging around the door and then clipped it in place with some large "alligator" paper clips. That has worked really well and looks nice and clean. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canmore, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Concept Dissapointing Result

Date:June 27, 2015
" I have had one of these screens before and after the dog clawed into it we had to replace it after a three year run. So this year we did replace it and I have to say that the result was very bad. We have had it installed for three weeks now and we have lost 3 of the magnets so far. This product is now bordering completely useless and depending where in sequence the next magnet falls off it will again have to be replaced. At this rate it would take about 5 screens to get you through a season.
Canadian Tire Corp: Really it is time to take this one off the shelves or take a trip to wherever they are made and increase the Quality Control. This is not the type of experience your clients are looking for. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love this product

Date:June 1, 2015
" This is not the best quality product but for the price it's okay. Easy to install; and great for my kids no longer telling them to close the screen. Installed mine in less then 10 minutes. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:LOrignal Ontario
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap Quality But Idea Is Good

Date:May 28, 2015
" The one I bought is too small for my big patio door. It needs to be made so that there is 75% of it on one side and 25% on the other side and then you would be able to tack it to the side door frames and still have the opening in front of the functional side of your patio door. The tacks are useless and fell out almost right away. The sticky gluey part of the velcro is not the greatest quality. The screen part is good though, I've been walking through mine for 6 months now, and it has not ripped or broken. I bought it to keep spiders etc. from coming into the house and it does prevent most of that. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not as EASY as it claims

Date:October 8, 2014
" Terrible product. says it easy to install..... its not. Pretty complicated. Dont think you can do it on your own.
Its `says fits most doors...... it doesn't. Way too big, even for my 6 foot slider.
"
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

functional but low quality

Date:October 6, 2014
" It worked well to keep bugs out but often blew open from wind. It ripped at the seams and only really good for one season's use. We will need to buy another next summer. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor Quality - Doesn't work.

Date:September 12, 2014
" After a week all the magnets fell off. I will be returning it. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap

Date:September 3, 2014
" Had this screen for about 2 months now. Almost all of the adhesive has come off from the summer weather, and the small tacks don't do much. I ended up using finishing nails to rehang it and hold it up. Discovered today that one of the magnets on the bottom has broken off and is now missing...Lets hope the dog didn't eat it... "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mission, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I like it!

Date:August 1, 2014
" I read the reviews and saw the low rating but I had to try it as I am in and out on the patio all the time. The sticky pads didn't stick that great but I used the tacks and I love this screen door. I have arthritis and the previous screen door had a tiny, hard to grip handle that was driving me nuts. Just walk right through this one and it closes well behind me. I have had no flies at all since I installed it two days ago. Maybe they hate the stripes?
One issue is that if ya do close the glass door REMEMBER not to just walk fast through it ")
PS Installed mine on the inside of a sliding glass door.
I like it! It suits me just fine.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't expect it to last!

Date:July 28, 2014
" I bought one of these when they first came out and was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked on the door way to my deck. The magnets snapped together beautifully and the cats loved being able to come and go as they pleased. However, said cats clawed at it once too often and it was time to buy a new one.
The price has come down a little this year, but the quality has come down a lot! The magnets are weaker so that, if there's even a slight breeze, they don't always engage. The magnets themselves were set back too far so that there was fabric getting in the way of the magnets locking. I had to trim this with scissors. The screen still works, and it's a great idea, but I would rather pay a little more for a better finished product.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beiseker, AB T0M, Canada

Great for pets

Date:July 5, 2014
" This works wonderful.......cat comes and goes as she likes now, without having to continually open and close the door for her. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edson, AB, Canada

Good product for price paid

Date:June 27, 2014
" I was very happy with this product considering the price I paid. I wanted a product that would allow my animals to come and go as they desire. I tacked it up and it was good last summer. It is definitely worn since the winter but I plan on buying a new one. I've had to fix some of the magnets when they fell off but I just added some crazy glue to them and replaced them on the screen. Perfect for my dog and cat to sneak in and out of!!! "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tweed
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

DO NOT BUY

Date:June 4, 2014
" We recently bought this for our 6x12 enclosed trailer.
First we were missing 4 of the Velcro strips to hold the mesh onto the wall.
2nd the middle magnet had demagnetized making it useless.
3rd It has VERY weak magnets and does NOT close as shown on TV..
DO NOT BUY this .A waste of Money !!
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Almost, but not durable enough

Date:May 25, 2014
" I knew it wouldn't work. The package even tries to warn you: "As seen on TV" is nature's way of trying to warn the consumer to find a better use for money, like, say, burning cash for heat... but I didn't pay attention to the warnings.
And yeah, it almost works. When you can get the adhesive to stick the enclosure does come to a close with a satisfying series of clicks.
Unless there is a breeze. Or when the adhesive fails #within minutes.#
So, I went back to the store and bought some proper Velcro adhesive strips. Now the screen itself can't stand up to the task and is wearing badly.
It won't last a month. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exellent Product

Date:May 21, 2014
" Easy to put up and take down. Keeps bugs out of the house while letting fresh air in. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Interior BC
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor quality, waste of money.

Date:May 10, 2014
" Save your money!
installed it one warm day and the next morning it was hanging out of line. The overnight temperature drop was all it took. The magnets didn't align properly straight out of the box, the sewing job is awful (not square).
Our door is the perfect size, hence I would expect a perfect fit.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Terrible Quality!

Date:September 27, 2013
" I bought two of them and the magnets are too weak to keep it closed during a small breeze. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works great on single doors (lookwise)

Date:September 10, 2013
" I used it at the cottage on the back of the house door. Works great! I first laid out the screen on the floor in order to join the magnets together. Then I installed the velcro around the door frame due to the size and to make it "look friendly". The trick to make the magnet snap back together is to install the middle top velcro (where the magnets are to join) an inch higher than the right & left corners so that gravity will naturally make them drop back together. "
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oromocto, NB

wish I had kept my receipt

Date:July 19, 2013
" this worked well for me for about 3 days then the heat from the sun melted the glue on the velcro strips and the screen won't stay up anymore.
The tacks keep falling out every time I go through the door, but it does work well for my dog :-) He loves coming and going whenever he wants.
The magnets won't stick together if there's even the slightest hint of a decent breeze outside...which is defeating the purpose - to let the fresh air in and keep the bugs out.
I won't buy anymore of these doors, but I will buy a proper screen door. My dog won't be able to come and go as he pleases, but at least I'll have a product that works well.
You get what you pay for. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:BC

Open the doors

Date:July 7, 2013
" I purchased this last year...I did not want to put the sticky velcro all over the door jam...sooo....I folded the Magic Mesh over a retractable curtain rod ( the ones with the rubber ends) sewed a few stiches to hold it to the rod and placed it in the doorway. i only used one of the velcro pieces on either side to keep it from blowing around and it works great. I can remove it or put it back up easiy with out all the ugly velcro tabs. We have 2 dogs, they go in and out as they please and we have tons of the sticky velcro to use a new piece for several summers. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3