Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door

Hands free screen door - opens easily when your hands are fullCloses itself with 18 powerful magnetsCan be set up in seconds - no tools requiredGreat for guests that forget to close the screen doorIdeal for pets
Average Customer Rating:
2.696 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
19
28 of 56(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Review 1 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Flimsy

Date:May 26, 2016
" Unlike the TV commercials and the photo on the font box this Magic Mesh is a waste of money. The magnets rarely meet exactly and so there's always a hole for bugs to get in. The material is a synthetic so it doesn't lose the creases which would allow it to hang properly. Construction is equally poor. Just a "seen on TV gimmick" . "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Great Door Cover For The Price!

Date:April 23, 2016
" For the price of this door screen, i found it does it job very well. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Wonderful purchase for a apartment Condominiums

Date:February 28, 2016
" We purchased this magic mesh screen door for our apartment Condominium as it was very hot in our place. We have used it for two summers and it is working going well our daughter is able to get in and out freely on to our deck. It keeps bugs and insects out, but not mice. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

BEST PURCHASE OF 2011

Date:September 30, 2015
" I bought this for my balcony door cause of my dogs and keeping the bugs out. I have had it over 4 yrs. and I still put it up every spring. I don't get how people are complaining about this amazing product. Not everyone has the same kind of frame you're putting it on...buy some black tape or more double sided tape and add it on. Come on, a little common sense here people!! "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

SOlid screen

Date:July 29, 2015
" The screen works well in the start. I don't think it will last 3 summers. The glue that hold the velcro didn't last in the hot sun. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

Date:July 28, 2015
" these are great. dont last too long but for the low price you can just buy another at the end of summer "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

good product, does what its supposed to do

Date:July 25, 2015
" This has been a great purchase for my apartment. I didn't have a screen for my balcony door, and bugs were getting in frequently. I installed the magic mesh, and havent had any bugs since. for it to work the best requires a very precise install of the adhesive velcro strips. it has held up nicely over the last 2 weeks. def recommend if it fits your door/space well. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Magic Mesh - a solid A

Date:July 17, 2015
" The concept is excellent, walk through the screen door (no hands) and it closes magnetically behind you.
Good value for under $20! Easy to install too. double-sided sticky tape could be stickier - depends on the surface it mounts to. But, has tacks for additional stick. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Squamish, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty cool

Date:July 13, 2015
" I am very happy with this item. I run a daycare and needed to have some fresh air getting in as there are no opening windows in our room. This was a perfect option. The glue on the Velcro is a bit touch and go...could be stickier but it works. If I had a wood frame I would have tacked it up. And I love the magnets and the sound when they click together. The children love it too. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Serves the purpose

Date:July 9, 2015
" This screen keeps the wasps and moths out of our home and allows us to leave the patio door open while our dog can go in and out as often as he wants - and the screen closes behind him. It serves the purpose we bought it for. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Trust the reviews and don't do what I did

Date:July 8, 2015
" So normally I don't write reviews but I feel I need to for this. I read the reviews on here and it was a mixed bag some good some bad I decided to go ahead and get it anyways-bad choice. It's been up for 4 days and 3/4 of it has fallen off the frame for the second time. Save yourself he money and find something else. Canadian tire really should really pull this useless product it's a great concept but it just doesn't work. "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Good product but needs adjustment

Date:July 2, 2015
" We've had one on our back door for several years now. I think we're on our second screen. It allows fresh air into the house and our dog can come and go as she pleases. We found that the velcro doesn't stick very well when it gets too hot. We put it up with industrial grade velcro and that didn't stick either. We'd return home to find it lying on the deck.
This year I folded the solid black edge under the vinyl edging around the door and then clipped it in place with some large "alligator" paper clips. That has worked really well and looks nice and clean. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canmore, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Concept Dissapointing Result

Date:June 27, 2015
" I have had one of these screens before and after the dog clawed into it we had to replace it after a three year run. So this year we did replace it and I have to say that the result was very bad. We have had it installed for three weeks now and we have lost 3 of the magnets so far. This product is now bordering completely useless and depending where in sequence the next magnet falls off it will again have to be replaced. At this rate it would take about 5 screens to get you through a season.
Canadian Tire Corp: Really it is time to take this one off the shelves or take a trip to wherever they are made and increase the Quality Control. This is not the type of experience your clients are looking for. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love this product

Date:June 1, 2015
" This is not the best quality product but for the price it's okay. Easy to install; and great for my kids no longer telling them to close the screen. Installed mine in less then 10 minutes. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:LOrignal Ontario
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap Quality But Idea Is Good

Date:May 28, 2015
" The one I bought is too small for my big patio door. It needs to be made so that there is 75% of it on one side and 25% on the other side and then you would be able to tack it to the side door frames and still have the opening in front of the functional side of your patio door. The tacks are useless and fell out almost right away. The sticky gluey part of the velcro is not the greatest quality. The screen part is good though, I've been walking through mine for 6 months now, and it has not ripped or broken. I bought it to keep spiders etc. from coming into the house and it does prevent most of that. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not as EASY as it claims

Date:October 8, 2014
" Terrible product. says it easy to install..... its not. Pretty complicated. Dont think you can do it on your own.
Its `says fits most doors...... it doesn't. Way too big, even for my 6 foot slider.
"
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

functional but low quality

Date:October 6, 2014
" It worked well to keep bugs out but often blew open from wind. It ripped at the seams and only really good for one season's use. We will need to buy another next summer. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor Quality - Doesn't work.

Date:September 12, 2014
" After a week all the magnets fell off. I will be returning it. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap

Date:September 3, 2014
" Had this screen for about 2 months now. Almost all of the adhesive has come off from the summer weather, and the small tacks don't do much. I ended up using finishing nails to rehang it and hold it up. Discovered today that one of the magnets on the bottom has broken off and is now missing...Lets hope the dog didn't eat it... "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Magic Mesh Hands-free Magnetic Screen Door
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mission, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I like it!

Date:August 1, 2014
" I read the reviews and saw the low rating but I had to try it as I am in and out on the patio all the time. The sticky pads didn't stick that great but I used the tacks and I love this screen door. I have arthritis and the previous screen door had a tiny, hard to grip handle that was driving me nuts. Just walk right through this one and it closes well behind me. I have had no flies at all since I installed it two days ago. Maybe they hate the stripes?
One issue is that if ya do close the glass door REMEMBER not to just walk fast through it ")
PS Installed mine on the inside of a sliding glass door.
I like it! It suits me just fine.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3