Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener

Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener

Garage door opener's 3/4 hp DC motor allows for soft start/stopTwo 100W bulb lighting systemPush button programming makes set up fast/easySafe-T-Beam system meets or exceeds CSA standardsAuto reversing system and diagnosticsGenie Intellicode 2 for superior encryptionIncludes one key chain remote, ke
Average Customer Rating:
3.368 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Do not buy a Silent Max

Date:December 13, 2014
" I bought 2 Genie silent Max 1000 1 year ago. We had a power serge and lose of power and it fried both machines. I called Genie they said the serge could have done the damage to the circuit board and offered to send me 2 new circuit boards for free. They were not free, UPS charged me $50. I installed the new boards and when setting the limits the they did not stop when i took my finger off the arrow button and came crashing into the machine and the cradle jammed up into the machine completely breaking them again. I called Customer service again they told me the engine may have gotten fried too and fixing the boards alone will not help. So here I am 1 year later $600 spent and have 2 pieces of useless machinery. Should have bought the craftsman. I will be buying 2 craftsman today. Do not buy Genie they have a major flaw in there circuit board that can not handle power serges. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener

Date:October 15, 2014
" quiet operation
easy to install
no issues at all worksgreat
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:paris
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Genie, is Genie

Date:October 15, 2014
" ours died after 15 yrs
bought a new Genie, love it
never had a problem
worth the money
took less than 1/2 hr for the garage guy to install for us
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ignace, ON P0T, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

never worked from the start

Date:August 7, 2014
" door will not go down
called the company
half hour wait time
they never did answer after half hour anyways
sent and email
they confirmed I sent an email
2 weeks went by
still no response
its back in the box
its on its way back to the store
3 hours to put up, 15 minutes to take down
don't waste your time
find another company that will respond
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

One word GARBAGE

Date:July 8, 2014
" Purchased Feb 2014
1) Screws to mount the drive gear assembly, one snapped before it was screwed all the way in. Brought the gear assembly back to store and got new one. 2 ) Got motor, sensors, wiring all installed, then push nut clip breaks which is used with a pin to hold the rail assembly to header bracket. At this point I thought I might as well try the door opener you guessed it not working, back to store got new motor and push nut clip. 3) Great, motor works, remotes work but not wall console to open door so back again to store. 4) OK CONSOLE WORKS all is good !!!! not quite!!!! went into garage at night and light on wall console not working. 5) Got new wall Console from store.
For a product that is several hundred dollars one would think they are getting a quality product ....well not with Genie Garage Door Openers. NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY ANY PRODUCT FROM GEINE. they named it right .....you need a GEINE to get it to work!!!
NOTE: CTC helped with my inconvenience buy sending me a gift card. THANKS!!!! To the MANUFACTURE ..... well you know what I say to you!!!!!
UPDATE : July 6, 2014 five months later circuit board not working manufacture sending new one .
BUY THIS PRODUCT IF YOU WANT THE HEADACHES I'VE HAD.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cheap motor burnt out after 1.5 years

Date:December 12, 2013
" Installed this myself which was quite easy, especially since I was replacing an existing unit so the mounting hardware was all there already. It ran quiet and didn't shake the whole garage like the old scew drive model it replaced but............... It only lasted about 18 months and the motor is burnt out already! It was only lifting a door to a single garage so the 3/4 hp motor was actually overkill in the power dept. I unfortunetly lost my receipt somewhere along the line and Canadian Tire won't honor the warranty issues! Very disappointed! "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, on
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

So far so good

Date:December 8, 2013
" I was a little hesitant about installing this myself in December, especially after reading reviews where it took people 6 hours to install....
Needless to say, i decided to give it a shot.
I did the installation on my own, and it took me about 3 hours...spent 30 minutes going to buy a support bracket.
I will note that it would have been nice if it said on the box that you had to buy a support bracket to fasten the opener to the ceiling.
The instructions are straight forward, easy to follow.
It runs very quiet to where i can barely hear it from the bedrooms above the garage.
hopefully it lasts a long time "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Glad I bought it.

Date:December 4, 2013
" Canadian Tire had it on sale for 65% off (I think) so I bought it for my new house. The old opener had stripped it's gears. Had a professional install the opener and I could not believe how well it functions. It took less than 3 hours to remove the old one and install the new one.
My only issue is that I have an 8' door and was unaware of the difference until it was being installed. No big deal. Apparently, a kit can be ordered so I will look at that. I can easily get my car in but my pickup has a large box cap and I doubt it will fit. If not, I will have to get the extension. If it does fit, then I wont.
Big plus is the smooth operation, slowing at the limits, and the quiet operation.
Very pleased with my selection.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON, Canada

Works well

Date:March 15, 2013
" It took us a while to install it because our garage needs some support framing. The motor is quiet and powerful enough for our one car garage with an aluminum door.
There are some errors in the installation instruction but it is intuitive. Some screws have changed since we made the instruction.
One of the reviewer mention his unit ran but doesn't pull the door. We got that too after the installation. But then we realized that the emergency cord was pulled by accident so the drive head didn't latch to the belt. We followed the instruction to reset it and it works like it should. Maybe he/she was having the same problem. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Happy with purchase

Date:March 13, 2013
" As easy as any door opener to install, runs smooth and quiet. Had a problem when I went to program unit. Followed the instructions to the letter but when I went to adjust the limit settings the motor wound not start. Contacted Genie online help via e-mail and explained my problem. They answered me within 24 hours with a probable solution. It was a simple connection problem in side the power head which was easy to fix once I knew were to look. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ON

Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener

Date:March 11, 2013
" Just got this at 1/2 price. Replaced my 9 yr old Craftsman chain drive. What a difference. With the belt drive and 3/4 hp DC motor you can't hear this thing at all. it's so quiet. Instructions were easy to follow and there's some videos on youtube to help too. had it up, running and programmed in under 3 hours. the only time you need help is when you're hanging the unit up.
Highly recommend this opener.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Nice Garage Opener

Date:March 10, 2013
" I bought this to replace the 20 year old HOME HARDWARE 1/3 Hp gdo. It took me 2 hours to remove the old one, and 4 hours to install and program the 2 remote and 1 wireless keypad. The instructions are very simple and easy to follow, not as those mentioned in the previous review. The only part I would like to add to the instruction - make sure both LIGHTS on T-beam are SOLID, not flashing before programming. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vaughan, ON, Canada

User's manaul is wrong for initial limit setting

Date:February 17, 2013
" I Installed the opener without any trouble but experienced similar problem as other reviewers mentioned. The lights was on but door did not move when I followed the user's manual form the package to do the close/open limit setting. I went to Genie web site to get the latest manual which gives a different programing procedure. I followed the new manual then got the opener working properly.
It does work pretty quiet and smooth, everything is very nice so far.
I give it 4 stars just because the user's manual should be updated. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Mary's, Ontario

Got on the sale

Date:November 15, 2012
" It is awesome product, pretty straightforward instructions . Perfectly quiet, Very Happy. Installation was easy, programming is so easy. Highly recommended product "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Straightforward, smooth operation, extremely quiet

Date:August 14, 2012
" My 23 year old Sears chain drive unit starting acting up and in the spirit of instant gratification I needed a replacement because the control board would have cost sbout $100 and required a week to get.
Checking the options available, the Genie Silentmax 1000 was on sale and included the exterior keypad - a 3/4 horsepower belt drive unit for less than the price I was prepared to pay for a new 1/2 horsepower chain drive unit.
The reviews on this site (the initial one in particular) had me concerned, but the long warranty and excellent price convinced me to take the chance - I could always return it if it was DOA. Besides, companies like Genie don't stay in business for more than 50 years by making garbage.
Let me say that I am 'handy'.
It took me about 3 hours to get the old unit down and to completely install the new. It was extremely straightforward - everything went in as I would have expected. Everything worked.
I used 13 watt CFL bulbs (each equivalent to 100 watt incandescent) as the illumination source.
This unit is QUIET!!!! And it operates very smoothly.
I note the following:
1. I would have liked to be able to continue using my Sears/Chamberlain remotes and keypad.
2. I would have liked to be able to wire my simple push button as a second station to control the door without resorting to shenanigans (I did it, but had to wire the button to the 'smart' wall control, rather than to the door operator itself).
3. I would have preferred the 'open' button on the wall control to have the 'open/close' button on the bottom - it is counter-intuitive to have it on top.
4. The backlighting on the keypad lights up the middle row of numbers - it would have been nice if it evenly illuminated the entire keypad.
5. The rollers around which the belt rotates seem to be made from a plastic - I've seen units where the these rollers have broken - those parts likely should be made of nylon.
6. The track is typical of modern units and is not as sturdy as my quarter-century old unit was.
7. The instruction manual has a revision that refers the reader to page 6 in the main manual - the proper page is 11.
8. The adhesive cable ties they provide to keep the wires for the photobeam in place don't stick to the metal well - a snap-in clip would have been sturdier - or else if they'd suggested properly cleaning the metal surface with an astringent (degreaser) such as alcohol to get rid of oils before sticking them to the track might have made sense.
9. The lights are in the rear of the operator (motor) - this leaves the front of the garage in shadows - having the bulbs on either side of the unit would provide better light distribution.
Yes, it is nit-picking, but I want to get 23 years of service from this unit, not that I'll be living here as long as I have.
I rate this 4 stars. I took one off because of the above nits. "
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not very happy

Date:March 20, 2012
" the opener was very nice. When I took it out of the box took me and my wife about 6 hours to get it installed. After that went to program it and got lights but all it did would click at me no movement of the door.So I phoned Genie for help said the wire might be off so opened it under there supervision over the phone. The wire was off put the wire back into the connector and as we say tried it again still just clicked she proceeded to tell me the board was gone so I had to return it bought a different brand. at different store. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Pleasant Surprise

Date:March 18, 2012
" After reading mixed reviews for Genie openers in general, but better reviews for this model, I decided to try one. I am glad that I did.
The installation instructions were not easy to follow. The layout of the installation sheet was quite poor and should be redesigned to make it easier to follow.
The programming guide, a separate document was a little better, but was partially superseded by a two page insert. Programming the remote feature in my car required an Internet search for better directions.
The opener was easy to assemble and install. I was unable to use the included door bracket but was able to connect to my old one. The head was remarkably light but seemed well-constructed. The rail, a C channel seemed sturdy too. I was worried about aligning the IR safety system transmitter and receiver but found that that this was no problem.
The opener operates quietly and very smoothly, and almost as quickly as the old opener. The safety sensor works well. The pressure needed to engage the auto-reverse, if the door hits an obstruction while closing, was too high but lowering the downward force of the door seems to have fixed that.
Now to see how long it lasts. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SilentMax is Silent and Smooth

Date:February 14, 2012
" I replaced an old loud chain drive unit that made a very loud humming sound with this SilentMax unit, and could not be happier. My garage is located directly under our bedroom, and every morning when I left for work and would open the garage door the old unit would feel and sound like it was shaking the house. There was no way to sneak in or out of the garage. Now, the SilentMax 1000 smoothly and quietly opens my door. The difference from the old to the new is amazing! The installation was straightforward and took me about and hour and half. However I did notice that Canadian Tire can install the unit for you if you do not have the tools or the time. I would highly recommend this opener to anyone who's opener is broken, does not have an automatic opener or would just like a quieter one. "
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Genie SilentMax 1000 Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Morden , Manitoba

do not buy

Date:January 8, 2012
" I have servicing/selling garage doors and openers for more than 30 years .
Genie has a real problem with their motor control boards .
I installed a new silent max opener for a customer on saturday January 7,2012 and it did not work . "
-33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireJanuary 26, 2012
The Genie Company has been an industry leader for more than 60 years. Their new line of operators like the SilentMax 1000 include some of the most advanced and quality tested electronics that can be found in a garage door opener today. Genie prides itself on the quality of their products and to date, Genie has not experienced any consistent or unusual quality problems with their motor control boards in the SilentMax 1000 or with any other openers they sell today. Genie products are easy to install and use but they have found that most issues that do occur are most likely caused by improper installation or programming which can quickly and easily be resolved by referencing the owner’s manual or by calling 1-800 35 GENIE for assistance.