Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Robot Vacuums or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black

iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black

The Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot provides a concentrated clean, all at the push of a button. The 3-Stage Cleaning System with Dirt Detect™ Series II identifies dirtier areas in your home and focuses cleaning, ensuring Roomba tackles even fine pet hair, dust and dirt.iAdapt® Navigation uses a fu
Average Customer Rating:
4.441 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(195 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (195 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
39
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
3
176 of 193(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Review 1 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Amazing!!!!!

Date:December 28, 2015
" I was skeptical when I bought this. I let the reviews guide my decision. Well believe me when I say ITS AMAZING. I have laminate floors and it drives around vacuuming up all the cat hair and dirt, debris and it even drives on to the area mats and cleans those to. I set it up in zones and let it vacuum specific areas while I watch tv. Buy it and you won't be disappointed! I bought it on a boxing day sale and worth every penny and then some "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saves time and strength

Date:October 11, 2015
" This Irobt is amazing as it saves me time and strength that I no longer have. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Rosie the Roomba Rocks!

Date:September 4, 2015
" We recently moved into a new home that has thick carpeting throughout much of the 1440 square feet. Three cats.
This is the loveliest of helpers anyone could hope for. She gets all the cat hair, my long hair that falls off, goes from carpet to ceramic tile with no problem, picks up every little scrap. Keep her bin clean and she will happily pick up stuff you can't even see on the carpet. Amazing! This was a birthday gift from my husband, and the best one ever!
(He calls her Mimi, the French maid, but I call her Rosie, and I love her!)
I don't know any of the other models, but the 770 is tops.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Excellent addition for the busy family

Date:November 22, 2014
" I have owned this Roomba for 18 months. It has run every day and comes back with a full load most days (2 dogs and 2 kids). It runs while we are away (a bit noisy), slides under furniture, and leaves the house clean. The only drawback is that you still have to pick up obstacles - particularly those with stringy bits that can get caught in the Roomba. It needs periodic maintenance - a thorough cleaning at least once a week, replacement of the filters every 4-6 weeks and the brushes every 4-6 months. It saves a lot of time and seems to help with allergies. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love my roomba

Date:October 17, 2014
" I have three dogs so I bought this because I couldn't keep up with the dog hair. I love it! I set it to run every morning while I'm at work and come home to manageable amount of dog hair at the end of the day. Keeps me sane! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Super convenient!

Date:October 10, 2014
" A great purchase, makes life so much easier and really does work! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Investment and Great Company

Date:August 16, 2014
" This vacuum is a great investment. We first heard about it from some friends who have one, and now we recommend it to everyone we know.
Their customer service is also amazing. Easy to reach and very helpful. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love our roomba

Date:June 5, 2014
" Roombas are amazing for picking up any pet hair or dust that is on the floors. MAKES it so easy! "
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Love this machine

Date:May 24, 2014
" We have had our roomba for about 6 months now. I thought it was just another gadget that would kinda work. Wow, very impressed, who knew! We use it every day. I can't believe how much dirt and dust it picks up. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Roomba 770

Date:May 20, 2014
" I bought this Roomba a year ago and its been a great machine. We programmed it to vacuum everyday and our floors always looks great because of it. I empty the bin once a week and clean the brushes at the same time.
When it had a problem Roomba's customer service was great and sent us what we needed for free, right away. I think it was probably my best customer service experience ever.
It does sometimes get stuck when vacuuming but we've learned to block off the tricky areas so this doesn't happen.
We have two messy small children that love the roomba. They leave it cheerio trails and 'help' it get the dirt whenever they can. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville

Does it come with a brother??

Date:May 14, 2014
" I love my Roomba! What better way is there to do your vacuuming then to turn this on and walk away. I was skeptical at first, but it really does a fantastic job. Go ahead an buy it, you'll be glad you did. "
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

cleaning fairy

Date:January 3, 2014
" I just bought my second Roomba (770) and absolutely can not live without it. We have 3 young children and very busy lives. It is set to clean our entire main floor every day at 2:00 pm which means not only do I come home from work to clean floors but also the floors are not cluttered with toys because my children know when they leave every morning their toys etc. must be cleaned up or Roomba will "eat them" (not really but shhhh don't tell them that#. We have a long-haired cat so I have to clean the brushes once a week but that is a 2 minute job and I empty the canister 3 -5 times a week which is a 10 second job. Much much faster than sweeping and vacuuming. We have one shelf unit that it sometimes gets caught under which means it stops cleaning but I just place a decorative statue in front of it and no problem. Once a week I carry it upstairs and it cleans the upstairs hall and bedrooms. I love that it cleans under the beds. We also have stairs to the basement which Roomba gets very close to but never falls down. It feels as though we have very little cleaning to do now that the floors are taken care of. Cleaning the bathrooms once a week and dusting and the house is in pretty good shape. #too bad it couldn't load the dishwasher and fold laundry# "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works Great - With Lots of Maintenance

Date:December 15, 2013
" Pro's:
- Vacuum picks up a lot of dirt that you wouldn't think would accumulate daily.
- Covers the floor effectively
- HEPA filters are effective, it doesn't spew dust as it works.
- Helps my wife's allergies by keeping the dust level down. (Nothing a manual vacuum doesn't do, but I don't want to vacuum daily#
Con's:
- Advertised as "Designed for Pet Owners" but it is not ideal for long haired cats.
- Requires a LOT of maintenance. We have 2 long haired cats. The hair gets into ALL of the parts. It REQUIRES a minimum cleaning of every 2 day, and should probably be done daily. You have to take out the wheel assembly and clean the axel of the wheel... Then you have to take out the 2 brush rollers and use a pocket knife to cut the hair out of the ends where it wraps tightly around the cylinder... Then you have to take the bearing caps off and use the pocket knife to cut the hair out of there... Then you have to use a screwdriver to remove the rotating brush and remove the tightly wound ball of hair from under there... With practice, this take 5 minutes #I guess it is still easier than vacuuming daily, but it is still a needless chore#
- The unit is very noisy. If you program it to vacuum when you are away, that is great, but you won't put up with the noise when you are home.
- The unit is the perfect height to jam itself into underneath my stove.
- The unit can hang up sometimes in my shag area rug
- Occasionally gets itself into somewhere it can't get out of #under the dining room table with chairs#
Summary
This would be a great product if it was built to withstand hair, however, it requires a ridiculous amount of maintenance for a vacuum. I have never once had to clean the hair out of my power head on my built in vacuum... Not once in 5 years of owning 2 long haired cats. The Roomba requires daily maintenance which is truly not acceptable. I put up with it because 5 minutes of cleaning is still better than 15 minutes worth of vacuuming... barely.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good floor sweeper

Date:September 5, 2013
" We have had the model 770 for a few months now and while we were initially impressed with it, the shine has worn off.
We have a pet that sheds a lot, we often need to vacuum our floors daily. After reading the reviews we thought the Roomba was the solution and it did help.
What we have found now is that it requires almost daily maintenance. The hair from our dog is long and quickly wraps around the brushes which have to constantly be cleared. The front wheel is the same. Hair is always wrapped around the axle and causes the wheel to lock up and not roll.
As far as cleaning, there is little suction from the unit and it relies mainly on sweeping action to pick up debris. This is ok if you have hard flooring but if you plan to use if over carpet you will be disappointed.
We also thought that the robot would learn the layout of the room and then ensure it was all covered. This isn't the case. It just randomly wanders about and often completely misses entire sections of our main floor.
Overall, I would recommend it to someone with a small area and low shedding pet. If you have higher demands, consider other options. "
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

wife loves it...I'm happy

Date:July 28, 2013
" filter in kids bedroom needed to be changed every month, down filled blankes etc. now since we had the roomba the filter looks pretty well new. under all beds its perfectly clean. we only use our old vac on the stairs. what a vac! would buy again with out hesitation. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

Somewhat pleased

Date:July 24, 2013
" I bought the Roomba a month ago. It really does a great job. But, now after a month, there are some disappointing features. My main HUGE disappointment is that the Roomba cannot do a large, uncluttered open concept main floor. We have a kitchen and living room (47x28 so large) and I was really expecting one session would clean the entire space. It does not. So, I have to break the space down into 3 smaller rooms using the "Walls" that are provided. I find this annoying as it takes so long to vacuum the entire space. For upstairs, I have the Roomba do one room at a time so it is a pain as I have to keep moving the base from room to room. My second disappointment is that after one month, I find the Roomba is not cleaning as well as at the beginning. I have cleaned all the brushes, wheels etc but pieces of stuff are still being missed. I am going to try and replace the filters and tri-brush and see if that helps. The 3rd disappointment is that cleaning the dust bin can create dust so one must be very careful to empty the Roomba bin deep into the garbage. Not the end of the world but something to remember. On a positive note, the Roomba does my throw carpet amazing well - better than my vacuum cleaner. And, the Roomba is quite low so it can get under chairs and my coffee tables. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ottawa

Would be lost without it

Date:June 5, 2013
" Like it says on the box, "let the robots do the work". We've had ours for a little more than 2 months now and I don't know what I would do without it! The floors on the main level of the house are ceramic and hardwood and the lower level is carpet. The Roomba does an amazing job on all. The floors underneath the beds have never been so clean and it's absolutely astonishing to see what it picks up from what appears to be a fairly clean floor. It gets right into corners and will go over an area where it detects more dirt repeatedly until Roomba is satisfied it's clean. The virtual walls are really handy to block Roomba from areas you don't want it in or for sectioning off a larger house for cleaning. The remote is handy for retrieving the vacuum if it happens to stop under a piece of furniture #I put it in the master bedroom and close the door, so when it's finished the job, it's unable to return to base and automatically stops#.
Awesome product and while expensive, well worth it, especially if you get it on sale. Can hardly wait for iRobot to come out with a little fairy to dust the furniture! "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

Modern Woman's Work Buddy

Date:May 28, 2013
" Imagine not asking your husband to do the cleaning, or vice versa, let the Roomba do it for you! This will clean your room in no time, perhaps while you watch tv or while you are cleaning the dishes! Makes a great gift too! "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, Toronto, ON, Canada

A bright idea

Date:May 26, 2013
" I always thought these type of appliances only worked on smooth surfaces but this does carpets - great - just sit back and watch it work! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for iRobot® Roomba® 770 Vacuum Cleaning Robot, Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitimat BC

We Love it!

Date:May 23, 2013
" We love our new Roomba. What a cool vacuum.
Works really well and I would recommend this to anyone.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2