Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Vacuums & Floor Cleaning or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum

Deluxe bagged canister vacuum with patented Wind Tunnel technology provides unparalleled cleaning performanceTelescopic wand with quick disconnect for effortless above floor cleaningIntuitive fingertip controls on handle for on/off brush rollLow noise outputOn-board tool storageHEPA filtrationOnboard headlight"Full bag" indicatorLED variable-speed displayBare floor brush for hardwood, tile and other hard floor surfacesReplace bag with the Hoover Type S Allergen Bag, or the Hoover Type S HEPA BagModel Number: S3670
Average Customer Rating:
3.579 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Vacuum! Doesn't eat carpet!

Date:February 9, 2011
"I will admit the review that says that it ate carpet scared me since we have what i call new age shag, but i figured that since it had 5 "power settings" for the suction, I would just turn the suction down. Even on the STRONGEST of suction, it didn't eat my carpet! This leaves me to believe the carpet that did get eaten was not high quality carpet, or was old.
The SUCTION IS AMAZING! I absolutely love the little mini power head, and i'm surprised at the bags! I've only had a bagless before but I hated the dumping and banging of the filter, so i figured I'd try bags this time. My only worry was that the bags would fill up really quick! NOT SO! Our old vacuum broke about 2 months back, so we haven't had a good vacuum through the house since then. I just went through three floors (3 large carpeted bedrooms and a carpeted hallway, large carpeted basement, two carpeted stairways, and a floor of hardwood with rugs), and the bag isn't even half full! And we have a cat! So most of it is car fur and it still isn't full! I expected to go through at least one full bag vacuuming this house today, but not so!
The suction is so great on the highest setting that on the large head, if you don't have the head properly locked into the handle, it will actually take off and unplug itself from the handle! WOW! Really got that cat fur off the carpet!
The wheels are a bit tiny, and the canister can be a bit annoying to pull, but i find it follows fine unless it gets caught on a chair or something.
The cord length is AWESOME! I got all the way up the stairs and down the bedroom hallway with the cord plugged in on the main floor (plug is about 10 feet away from the stairs).
My only real annoyance is the hose. It's a good quality thick hose, but it doesn't really bend or have very much mobility. If you need to change directions, you kinda have to readjust or twist it back around you or over your head.
I think that's about all i have to say. Don't let the review saying it eats carpet scare you, like it almost did me, into not buying this vacuum. If you have decent carpet the only thing it will suck up is the dirt and dander and fur!
"
+123points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You will love it then HATE it with all your heart

Date:June 21, 2013
"I bought this vacuum since the french Consumer's Reports said it has the best price/quality ratio in vacuum. This vacuum is now the reason why I won't trust Consumer's Guide anymore.
I used this Hoover for the past 3 years. It broke so often (every 4 months, after the first year, there is a problem) that I finally gave up. It looks like Frankenstein at the end, because so much stuff had to be change.
If you look on the Hoover website, you will see almost only negative reviews for this product and I had the same experience as everybody.
First, my carpet brush refused to start one morning. I had to open it to find right next to the motor that the fuse for the electrical wand burned. So I drilled a hole on the side of the vacuum and put a fuse box right there and soldered two cable to jump the original box. I also had to change the hose since there was a lot of air leakage where the hose meets the vacuum. I also had to change all the electrical cable inside the vacuum the send electricity to the hose because the cable they use originally is so cheap, so flimsy that it broke or burned at 5 different places
It is a good product to use but bad to own. The carpet brush is very good, very powerful and the suction from the vacuum was good at first. Three years in and it cannot pick up a quarter from the floor so here's another problem.
So you're warned. This is a good vacuum to use, but please don't buy it. You will regret it along the years. A vacuum is supposed to be for 5-10 years and now I'm stuck with filters, bags and everything that need to be change on this vacuum because I wanted to have backup for the next 5 years at least.
I bought a Miele vacuum last week and you can see the difference. One is a tank, the other one is a cheaply made plastic box. I will never buy any Hoover products from now on, this vacuum is that frustrating. Please check Hoover website for reviews and you will understand. There is hundreds and hundreds of negative reviews for this vacuum on the web."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Electrical issues

Date:May 10, 2013
"Electrical probs with vac head, started @ 5 mnths!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK

I love this vacuum!!!

Date:January 31, 2013
"I have had this vacuum for over 3 years now and never had an issue. It has great suction and is very mobile. It has a long cord and a long hose which I find are an issue with many vacuums. I love the location and size of the on/off button and cord retract button as they are big and I can use my foot to press them and not have to bend over. As mentioned by others the hose is a bit stiff but that's probably to reduce the kinking that happens with most hoses, I have never had an issue with a kink. It's also very light for when I'm doing my stairs, I can get almost to the top with just the hose alone but I run a few stairs short on length, but much further than any other vacuum I've had. I'm not particularly gentle with mine I'm sure it has taken a few tumbles and hit a few walls and is still in perfect shape!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hensall, ON N0M, Canada

Awesome

Date:January 29, 2013
"Bought this vacuum two weeks ago and today was the first time I used it. Wow !! Rely presently surprised. It has lots of suction power and easy to handle."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arnprior, ON, Canada

Best purchase for canister

Date:January 25, 2013
"Bought this product a while ago and very happy with it. It picks everything up, carpets, hardwood and ceramic. Has all the attachments you need. Worth the money for sure."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Amherst, NS, Canada

Lots of power, poorly built

Date:October 22, 2012
"Bought this vacuum after reading all of the great reviews. This vacuum has lots of power. It does a great job of cleaning our hardwood and ceramic floors.
The hose is poorly built. It needs to be made of something with better flexibilty and manuverability. You must constantly re-adjust and watch closely to avoid kinking the hose. The hose kinked badly the third time we used it. Now, if the vacuum sucks up small pieces of paper or other slightly larger particles, they easily get caught or jambed in the kink.
The on/off button is awkward to use. Its a large button on the side. We find we must push it about 5 times before the vacuum will stays on. It turns off easily with one push.
The on board storage of the attachments is very handy.
I bought this vacuum on sale, but I would have much preffered to pay a little more money, for a vacuum that is not so awkward to use and better quality.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good warranty?

Date:October 19, 2012
"Warranted for three years, after 2 1/2 years a wire in the hose broke so the power head didn't work. Took it to "A Vacuum Store and Service", a Hoover authorized service dealer in Calgary for warranty repair. They kept it for several months until I queried about it, and I was told they could not get repair parts and I should deal with Hoover direct. Contacting Hoover, I was told to cut the ends off the hose, and send the hose along with the identification label from the vacuum to Hoover. I did, and two weeks later a complete new vacuum was delivered via UPS. Strange, Hoover could not supply a new hose, so provided a new vacuum."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Very Impressed

Date:August 17, 2012
"We were very impressed by this vacuum cleaner and have always purchased the Hoover brand."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great vacuum for the price

Date:March 12, 2012
"I recently purchased the Wind Tunnel Canister Vacuum after my Sears Kenmore Whisperton gave up the ghost after 22 years. I'm very particular about a vacuum so I did a lot of research before purchasing. I'm very pleased with the over performance. Just a couple of little quirks that I have with this product is the hose, it's very stiff. Not that flexible. Also the on/off switch. I would much prefer the power button be on the handle rather then the canister. Other then that, it's a great little vacuum, lots of power."
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SW Nova Scotia

Not a lightweight... be prepared

Date:January 28, 2012
"I did a lot of checking on various vacuums before I finally purchased this Hoover. The reviews on it on this website and others were mixed, but I always consider that someone who doesn't like a product is more likely to review it than someone who merrily goes on using it happily and doesn't feel compelled to comment.
I think this is a good vacuum, but you should be aware of what you are getting before purchasing. It's big, its fairly heavy, and it doesn't move all that easily. I wanted something with cleaning power and those negatives didn't mean as much to me.
The cons-- as I said, large, heavy, awkward. It would be an ideal vacuum for a commercial space with a lot of ground to cover and not a lot of nooks and crannies. The hose is about 2' too long to be comfortable in a home, and tends to threaten to kink. Both ends swivel, which is great, but you have to use care to anticipate a kink coming and give things a twist. I wouldn't want to pull hard on a kink and possibly collapse the hose and weaken it at that point. The little wheels under it are too small, tends to hang it up even trying to cross its own cord. With the too long hose, it tends to be around a corner behind you and doesn't follow as well as it could. Perhaps Hoover felt this long hose is an asset, but in a home, it's a little too long. An odd thing is it puts out a lot of heat! Not sure how it will be on a hot summer day.
The Good Stuff: It has power. Good suction, and the power bar pulls against you so it digs in well (doesn't grab carpet and unravel in my experience... those users must have shags from the 60's). There is an on/off switch in the handle to turn off the power bar if needed. The wand adjusts to what is ideal for your height or comfort. The power head is wide.. maybe 15"? Seems to suck well along the edges.
They suggest you can kill the power bar and run over tile floors, but I don't like that (ceramic tile). It comes with a floor brush, but this has little wheels on the edges... perhaps great to keep an ideal height, but I didn't like the noise on the tile floors, so I foung the wand and floor brush from my tossed Panasonic vac fit the hose nicely, so I use that for smooth floors. The elec cord is quite long, ideal really, and winds back in nicely, far better than our former vac. It takes bags (Type S Hoover), but I don't mind that at all. Also has a couple of filters to be occasionally replaced, not sure on their cost. Suction strength can be adjusted on the main unit, haven't used that reduction much... would appreciate it more on the handle in an emergency of sucking in drapes or the like, but hasn't been much of an issue.
Overall... haven't had it long, but I like it. My wife probably wouldn't because of the size and weight. Be aware of what you are getting... bit of a tank, but that comes with power and ability that the little sticks just don't have."
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Milton

Good but stopped working within 90 days

Date:October 8, 2011
"I bought this product in July'11 when it was on sale.
I didn't realize the drawbacks of using bag based vacuum as I never used one before. It comes with 2 bags and they get fill very soon. Initially I was very impressed with performance of this vacuum but yesterday, the lower portion stopped working. Seems like some internal wiring or motor is dead. Called Canadian Tire and they are exchanging it with new one. Product is nice but good name has issues too.
I would advice to keep purchase receipt at safe place. You never know you end up having same experience as I have.
"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Defective Hoover

Date:August 24, 2011
"My husband assembled the vacuum. I plugged it in and flicked the switch. The vacuum did not work. We are returning it and buying an Oreck. What happened to quality control?"
-15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON

Great vacuum!

Date:August 18, 2011
"Bought this vacuum on sale for $199...I found it quite easy to manouver around...Great suction and couldn't believe how much more it picks up than my old upright....The air actually smells cleaner as I'm vacuuming and it is so much better then bagless for my alergies...it did not harm my carpet as one of the other posts mentioned...Buy this vacuum...you won't be disappointed.."
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Ontario

Great Suction

Date:October 25, 2010
"works great on hardwood a litle dificult to manoeuver. I dont have carpet so this does not apply to me"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

carpet destroyer

Date:June 10, 2010
"I had one of these vacs and it had alot of power, actually too much power. I vac'd one of my clients carpets with it and before I was finished the job the bag was full of carpet fiber, had to change it. Funny thing when I returned to the store in Orleans, Ont where i purchased it and mentioned to the owner that I had a hoover windtunnel he replied with "oh that piece of junk, it is hard on the carpet fibres" and then I replied "yes, you sold it to me" should have seen his face. He had forgotten me and my purchase. Now that's a review from the horses mouth!!!buy a Miele, you won't regret it."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product, pain to use though !

Date:March 20, 2010
"I agree with the other reviews, this product is solid, its suction is great, long cord, does the job.
Problem is although the little wheels do move around they don't really go that straight or follow you straight so bump into a lot of things. Also my biggest pet peeve is the hose, its a quality product but man it has no give after 6 months of use, its still extremely rigid and doesn't spin around when you are using it so it pinches and knocks things over. I often have to stop and twist it so it straightens out."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Good purchase - awkward to maneuvre

Date:December 29, 2009
"I purchased the prior model to this one - it has many of the same parts and features. It has very good suction, and the beater is powerful. We have two large dogs, and with frequent emptying of the canister, it does a good job.
I agree with the prior reviewer that it needs better maneuverability - sometimes it tips over sideways rather than turning to follow me.
Good value for money."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel™ Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT

Sucks well, moves poorly

Date:October 23, 2009
"Accessories work very well and exceptional suction. Good airflow to tools. I haven't tried the mini power head, but it is powered by airflow so it will probably not have much powerhead power.
It is really too bad they put such small wheels on this vaccuum. It is hard to pull around behind you and can't even run over its own cord (which is nice and long) Air coming out of the exhaust port is clean. I don't know why you would turn down the suction (I don't want to pick up all the dirt...) but the suction controls work as advertised."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?