Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum

Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum

Dirt Devil® Featherlite® Cyclonic Canister Vacuum is a lightweight compact canister vacuum with cyclonic filtrationVacuum is bagless and features a automatic cord rewindEasy to manoeuvre and storeHEPA Media Filtration - protects against over 99% of dust and allergens7.5' cleaning reach extends perfe
Average Customer Rating:
2.927 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
24
3 stars
13
2 stars
16
1 star
32
50 of 102(49%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gatineau QC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Stopped working after les than 1 year

Date:July 20, 2016
" The vacuum is very light and easy to maneuver, however, the suction is poor. The upholstery and crevice tools are very practical and so is the retractable cord. Unfortunately, the poor suction just got worse until it wasn't working at all. I purchased it in November of 2015 and had to throw it away in July of 2016. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
By DirtDevilJuly 26, 2016
Hi Honda347! We’re sorry to hear you disposed of your Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum. If there was a loss in suction this can be due to an obstruction in the hose or the filters needing to be cleaned or changed. With normal maintenance of the hose and filters the suction power will remain strong. We do hope you give us another chance in the near future and we thank you for your feedback! –Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care Dirtdevil
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terribly Built

Date:May 17, 2016
" My back hurts every time I use it.
The telescopic handle does not stay put.
It does not work on all surfaces.
Waste of money, time, and effort. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North York, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Waste of money

Date:May 6, 2016
" After a few months working, without having any damage, it can not even vacuum a small piece of hand tissue from the floor (not even carpet). "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
By DirtDevilMay 9, 2016
Hi Minoo! Oh no, that doesn’t sound too good. We want to help. If you’re experiencing a loss in pick up this can be due to the filter needing to be cleaned or clog in the hose. Please give the following steps a try: 1. Remove the dirt cup and twist the lid counterclockwise to unlock. Hold the handle and twist the baffle clockwise to access the cartridge filter. Rinse the cartridge filter then allow it to air dry for 24 hours before using. The exhaust filter can also be rinsed and must air dry for 24 hours as well. 2. Disconnect the hose from the opening of the canister and the wand. Check for any clogs in both ends as well as the hose. 3. Check the power nozzle for any blockages and remove. Once completed the unit will pick up as it should. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you! –Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care Dirtdevil
By DirtDevilMay 9, 2016
Hi Minoo! Oh no, that doesn’t sound too good. We want to help. If you’re experiencing a loss in pick up this can be due to the filter needing to be cleaned or clog in the hose. Please give the following steps a try: 1. Remove the dirt cup and twist the lid counterclockwise to unlock. Hold the handle and twist the baffle clockwise to access the cartridge filter. Rinse the cartridge filter then allow it to air dry for 24 hours before using. The exhaust filter can also be rinsed and must air dry for 24 hours as well. 2. Disconnect the hose from the opening of the canister and the wand. Check for any clogs in both ends as well as the hose. 3. Check the power nozzle for any blockages and remove. Once completed the unit will pick up as it should. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you! –Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care Dirtdevil
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Useless

Date:April 29, 2016
" It over heats within 5 minutes and shuts down. This happened since I purchased it. As it was new, there was no build up of dust or debris. The canister is also awkward to reattach. Absolute waste of money! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
By DirtDevilMay 2, 2016
Hi there! Oh no, that doesn’t sound too good. Each unit is equipped with a thermal protector that will turn the unit off when it overheats and is usually caused from a blockage of airflow to the motor. Here’s a few suggestions to get your Featherlite Cyclonic up and running: 1. Rinse the foam filter located behind the dirt cup and allow it to air dry for 24 hours. 2. Tap out the pleated Hepa filter over the waste bin. Do not rinse. 3. Disconnect the hose from the opening of the canister and the wand. Check both areas for clogs as well as the nozzle. Once completed the unit will pick up as it should and no longer shut off during use. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We're here for you! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care Dirtdevil
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Horrible

Date:February 15, 2016
" The only good thing about this vacuum was the price (got it on a great sale). It's very cheaply made and kept on overheating. I was only able to vacuum a single room before it turned itself off. After it cooled down, I moved on to the next room only to have it overheat and turn off again. That was it for me. I sprung for the Bissell Hard Floor Expert instead and am extremely pleased with that vacuum by comparison. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
By DirtDevilFebruary 18, 2016
Hi TJ123! If a unit shuts off during use this is due to the thermal protector in the motor and will activate from a blockage of airflow. Common causes for this would be a clog in the hose or the filters needing to be cleaned/replaced. Please give this a try: 1. Rinse the primary filter located under the dirt cup lid and allow to air dry for 24 hours. 2. Rinse the exhaust filter located on the rear wheel and air dry for 24 hours. 3. Remove the hose from both the canister and the wand to check for clogs. Once the hose and filters are clear, the unit should no longer shut off during use. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). Hope this helps! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care Dirtdevil
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product

Date:October 28, 2015
" We got this vacuum like 3 years ago.Till today it is working like a new!Very powerful and bag less,awesome. I also recommended this product to a friend of mine and she is loving it.It is also very compact vacuum cleaner and easy to store.For this price ,you can not get any better. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick cleaning

Date:October 27, 2015
" I currently had problems with my central vacuum. So needed something for the time being. This little vacuum work for great for the price. I will keep it in the garage for the car. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawkestone, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Fantastic Light Vacuum

Date:October 26, 2015
" I love my Dirt Devil ,it is so light that it makes vacuuming easy.Vacuuming cobwebs on the ceiling
use to be hard because the vacuum was so heavy but not with the Dirt Devil Cyclone because it is so lightweight. I can go from floor to carpet without any trouble.A fantastic little vacuum.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sault ste marie
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Vacuum

Date:October 26, 2015
" I have 3 pets, this is a great vacuum, it would be nice if the cord was a little longer though, very easy to empty, light "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Little Vacuum

Date:October 23, 2015
" This vacuum is nice and light,easy to use and cleans pretty good.Cheap too. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great buy

Date:October 20, 2015
" I have had this vacuum for almost a year now and still works great. Easy to clean filters and very easy to use anywhere since it is light. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

6 month life span vacuum AND no Warranty service

Date:October 19, 2015
" Bought this vacuum to replace an old [but still working] vacuum because I thought it would be better. Boy was I wrong. It simply didn't turn on one day, 6 months after I bought it and so I took it is to get fixed and 3 weeks later, I still have not gotten an update from DD about whether or not they are going to fix the vacuum. Save your time and money folks, DO NOT BUY! "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No

Grate vaccum

Date:October 9, 2015
" I bought this vacuum last week and so far works just grate "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not bad when on sale

Date:October 7, 2015
" Not a bad little vacuum for an apartment or small home. Its bagless but does have filters that get clogged up. Major downside was no power head. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Don't waste your money

Date:October 7, 2015
" Spend a little extra and get yourself good vacuum. Don't waste your money on this, it doesn't suck good and leaves dirt behind "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto Ontario

Works well

Date:October 6, 2015
" I use it for furniture and area rugs and with 2 cats and a dog it works great. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kitchener-Waterloo, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not worth the price, even at half off.

Date:September 19, 2015
" I purchased this last week when it was on sale and after using it today on my tile floors I can say that I will be returning this first thing tomorrow.
Pros: It is cheap. I like that it has a retractable cord.
Cons: It is cheap. I wish the cord was longer.
The construction and the plastic handle/cord feel really low-end like t hey will break very easily and the handle is actually quite uncomfortable. I was also disappointed with the power of this, even on tile floors. For a corded canister vac, even at this price point, I expect more. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:montreal
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good for light vacuuming

Date:September 3, 2015
" Got this vacuum on sale over a year ago and it works fine. I've discovered you must empty it after almost every use, and clean its filters regularly, otherwise, as others have mentioned, it doesn't vacuum very well. It had been emitting an unpleasant smell since new, but that seems to have gone away. Buy it on sale and you can't go wrong. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

This vacuum sucks

Date:August 16, 2015
" Highly recommend this product, well worth the price for what it does. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

not good on carpet

Date:July 29, 2015
" I have a small condo unit and three rooms have carpet in them. I bought this vacuum because it was a good price, not too big and not too heavy.
While it seems to work very well on ceramic tile floors, it does not work on my carpet. I find that I have to hold the brush at a certain angle and not put any pressure on it or it gets stuck in the pile on my carpet (which is not deep pile).
Unfortunately I will be looking for a replacement very soon. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4