Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum

The Roomba vacuum features latest innovations in performance, room navigation, edge and corner cleaning, anti-tangle technology, and transitioning from carpets to hard floorsVirtual walls confine Roomba to one room at a timeRoomba automatically returns to its home base to dock and rechargeAutomatically adjusts to vacuum carpets and hard floorsEfficiently cleans the whole floor, under and around furniture and along wallsSenses and cleans dirtier areas more thoroughlyRemoves dirt, dust and pet hair from carpetSimple to use - just press the "clean" buttonCounter-rotating brushes with improved design can pick up more hair, debris and dust and are easy to remove and cleanIncludes on-board scheduling that lets you preset up to seven cleaning times per week for Roomba to clean when it's most convenient for youModel and colour may vary by store
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Review 1 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland

Excellent

Date:February 16, 2012
" To all the naysayers....Booooooo.....Roomba is the absolute best.
We are on our third Roomba in 10 years. Started with a first generation and now on the 500 series. Just upgraded the dust bin to the vacuum one and what a difference.
Having three dogs and three long hair cats the Roomba is run twice a day. The brushes do need to be removed about once a week and cleaned to keep it in best working order but this only takes a few minutes. iRobot really made maintenance easy on the 500 series. You do have to clean the dust bin after each use but its small and efficient. Its never left a mark on any part of the furniture, baseboards, etc, etc.......One of my cats is dead lazy and sleeps in the middle of the floor, the roomba negotiated a path around the cat one day touching off him and cleaning in a circle around him. The cat never moved.
We would not be without a Roomba at this point. "
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not worth it

Date:September 19, 2013
" This is the second robot vacuum I purchased, the first one was a Neato XV-21.
I have put down some random thoughts about its usage.
I knew before purchasing this, that it did not work for cleaning more than 1 room at a time. But it was purchased for a basement rec room of 1 room and about 600sqft. Does it clean this room? Probably not, but if you run it several times a week, it should cover the entire floor at least once.
The Roomba will run until its battery gets low, and then return to its base. If it did not finish cleaning it will not recharge itself and then go back out and pick up where it left off. It simply recharges and waits for the next cleaning cycle. I have not observed the Roomba to ever continue on after it stops to recharge.
Its movements are entirely random, although IRobot would like you to believe its movements are based on some complicated algorithm. The Roomba appears to clean a room until it thinks the room is clean. This is based on some kind of room size algorithm that it determines from bumping around. The room may or may not be cleaned when it thinks it is done. The Roomba may cover some areas multiple times and others once or never.
The Roomba is not really a vacuum, it is more of a floor sweeper. Its suction power is pretty pathetic.
The Roomba bangs into things a lot. I have put felt bumpers all around its edges to try to stop the marks it leaves on the baseboards and furniture legs.
Emptying the dirt bin is not convenient, you need to pick the Roomba up to prevent the dirt from spilling onto the floor.
If the Roomba was able to clean more than 1 room and continued cleaning after recharging, I would rate it higher. You could purchase a dozen lighthouses to force the Roomba to spend at least 25 minutes per room, but if the room is large that may not be enough, and when the battery needs recharging that is the end of the cleaning.
But for my use, cleaning a single enclosed room, the Roomba does work. Eventually after several cleaning runs, it does appear to hit every spot. "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

My new best friend

Date:September 17, 2013
" Love it ! The little Roomba works and let me have extra time to do my stuff, the vacuum is not as powerful as the recent models, but in a house with no furry pets will work perfectly, keeps my rooms and hallway clean and I don't have to worry about it. Excellent product ! I will recommend everybody. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AB

The best Vacuum ever

Date:June 19, 2012
" Great time saver and it does an excellent cleaning job. I have two long hair persian cats and a french bulldog at home and I never know that my house can get this much dirty within just one day... Thanks for this hard working little pet robot that keeps the hair and the dirt away : ) "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burnaby, BC

Great time saver!

Date:April 12, 2012
" My family and I were all skeptics when we first heard of the Roombas. Especially my mother who is a bit of a clean freak (sorry mom) and she vaccums the house every few day. Well my house is about 2000 sq. ft with hardwood floors, carpets and tiles and it averages about an hour to vacuum the entire house.
We got the Roomba 2 days ago when it was sale at CT. We decided to give it a try. Before we start the Roomba we took note of where most of the dust/hair/bits-and-piece-of-stuff are, so we can judge the Roomba's performance.
We started upstarts with 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms with floorings as mentioned above. That is roughtly 900 sq. ft. It is fun to see the Roomba just drive itself around floor. It took abou 30 mins to clean the floor, which is about 3 times the normal duration when cleaning by hand. However, considering i left the house for about 20 mins to do my own thing when the house is being clean, this is awesome. The performance is good. Don't expect the Roomba to give you 100% cleaned floor. Judging from the results, i'll give it a 85-95% clean; which is still pretty good. It had no problem transitioning between different floorings.
The first floor is mainly hardwood flooring and tiles and is about 1,1000 sq ft in size. This time i started the Roomba then i went away for about 3 hours. When came back, it parked itself to the charger docking station and, upon inspection, the cleaning was impressive. I put it about 95% clean.
I read that some owners couldn't get the Roomba to park itself. I believe the key lays in the line of sight between the robot and the docking station. When i press the "dock" button, it will first do a 360 turn to try to detect the homing beacon. If it can't detect the beacon, the robot will randomly walk around the room until it senses the beacon. Then it will park itself.
To my surprise, my mother has high praises for this litter bugger given she has wrist pains and vacumming by hand doesn't do her good.
Overall we love our purchase and the Roobma is cleaning my kitchen as I am typing. Highly recommanded "
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

One of the Best Things I have bought

Date:March 16, 2012
" I would recommend this to anyone.
You do have to clean the dust holder every couple days and the brushes once a week. This is common sense. But if there is an issue, it will beep and talk to you telling you to empty the dirt thing, or that the brushes are caught.
We have laminate flooring throughout the house, except the kitchen and bathrooms which are linoleum. We did notice it being dusty and dirty after installing it, us being used to carpets. Bought the Roomba when its on sale (wouldnt buy it otherwise), and we love it. We have a 14 month old that crawls, runs, walks burrows everywhere, so dirt is an issue. We run it at least once a day and let it go everywhere. My daughter loves it. She goes up and turns it on herself, and just lets it run everywhere. Sometimes following it, and we have caught her sitting on it, trying to get a free ride I guess.
When we got it, we didnt know what to expect. basically its brainless and just goes straight until it hits a wall and then either rotates 90 degrees and carries on, or 180 and shoots off again. It will bump into things like legs of chairs and tables, and walls. It does not have a set pattern and might miss spots periodically. If it misses it once, it will get it the next time. If you have cords or stringy like carpets on the floor, it WILL get stuck on them. It will eventually scuff your baseboards a bit.
We love it, and will buy another when this one burns itself out. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great idea but not practical

Date:June 21, 2011
" The Roomba is a great idea but in all practicality, it’s not worth it. I bought mine about 6 months ago, because the very idea of having it automatically clean each floor of my house on a schedule was too good to be true.
I assumed that I would only need to do a major carpet clean every couple of weeks. I have 3 cats and my wife has long hair. The first time I used it, I was surprised how much it picked up, excited in fact. The excitement quickly faded when I noticed that every time that I used it, it required a full cleanout.
The spinning brush on the front needed removal and cleaning since it was clogged underneath with fur and hair and would stop spinning. The brush and beater bar were also always covered in fur, hair and dust and did not turn correctly due to the clog. The front wheel had to be removed after every usage and cleaned out. In fact, the wheel wouldn’t stay in correctly since I have removed and cleaned it so many times. The bin was often full after every use and the filter needed a cleaning too. My point is that there was always fur and hair tangled up in it straining the machine.
I never used the scheduling feature since it always required my attention after every clean. (If it ever made its way back to the base) Since I was using it on a daily bases, I started noticing scratches on my oak baseboards and walls. The legs of my furniture have some major scratches, especially my pool table. In a few cases it picked out some misloops in my carpet and made a long run. It is also important to note that half the time I used it, it would get wedged under a dresser or sofa, stuck on a mat or an Ikea Poang chair or shut down on top of the stairs because of a dirty cliff sensor. In the end, babysitting the Roobma was more trouble than it was worth. I returned it for a full refund with no questions from the CT staff. I think the Roomba would work great if you had no pets, no dirt and you did not care about your flooring, furniture or walls. I’m now back to vacuuming the whole house with my central vac on a weekly bases. I’d recommend spending your money on a powerful vacuum cleaner instead of wasting your time on this invention. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

I'm coming around...

Date:May 10, 2011
" I owned a first-generation Roomba and found it more of a hindrance than a help - too much time spent on cleaning and untangling the brushes, and batteries that lasted only 1 year. However, my continued need for such a device (my collie sheds everywhere and all the time), I sprung for this model when on sale and I have to say that Roombas has made attempts to address the previous shortcomings. Brush maintenance is made MUCH easier with the included brush cleaner (it really works), the fan in the dust bin really makes a difference and helps suck up lots of dust and dirt, and the battery is lasting just fine. And it's much quieter than previous generations. I am running into problems where hair is wrapping around the shafts of the brushes and causing them to bind, but once I remove the hair it works fine again. I also don't particularly like the new "automatic" invisible walls - the Roomba often blows by them before they activate. I prefer and use my older manual on/off virtual walls. But overall, this model is a definite time saver and I'd recommend it for hardwood and tile application. "
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

You have to try it !

Date:March 17, 2011
" I recently moved to a new home and have been going crazy trying to keep my dark hardwood floors and front entrance carpets squeaky clean. I attended a birthday party with my daughter where they had the same floors and asked me how I liked them, I told them that I loved the look but the upkeep was driving me insane. That is when they pointed to was their Roomba and told me how they loved it and that it was a wonderful product.
The next morning to CDN Tire I went to buy my Roomba. A very pessimistic woman in front of me a the cash kept telling me that she wouldn't buy it, that it couldn't be that great, and so on so forth. The way I saw it, was that if I really didn't like the product I could return it since Canadian Tire has a great return policy.
Well, let me tell you, I am totally in love with my Roomba, it has become my new best friend. I am somewhat of a clean freak and my floors were causing me severe anxiety and I was always complaining how it always looked dirty and so on. I have my Roomba set to do a daily cleaning on the main floor of my house at 9:30 every morning weekdays. That way, I always come home to a clean vaccumed house.
Of course you need to empty the canister and clean the brushes but nothing compares to having a continuously clean house. Really, this is a wonderful product, that I have owned for over a month and would not live without. "
+53points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best purchase ever

Date:February 22, 2011
" This machine has changed my life.I have a small dog and a cat.It works perfectly on both my hardwood and my carpet.I have had it for a month now and could not live without it.It goes over my runners but would not go over loose rugs.I let my parents borrow it and they ran out and bought one.I tell everyone about it.I picks up so much stuff you wonder where it comes from.My floors always look great now.I will never be without one again and I have central vac "
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Great helper but...

Date:January 17, 2011
" This is a great little vacuum, had mine run weekly for a time. Was a little tricky having it find it's way back to charge, but with a little adjustments and setting it worked like a charm.
For the last half a year I rarely used it as I was moving, sadly it only would go in circles (actual model 560 and not 560s). I figured it was just a dirty sensor so didn't give it much thought until I can really use it more recently. Turns out the left bumper sensor is no longer working properly which I confirmed in diagnostic mode.
As it was beyond the 1 year warranty I contacted IRobot and they still gave a replacement robot without any accessories including batteries but I have those anyways.
The replacement bot seems actually better than the original. Looks like they fixed a couple things since I got the original. It picks up a lot more, doesn't leave debris when moving from hardwood to carpet, slows down when closing in on an obstacle instead of hitting it full force, seems to have some kind of limited ability to keep track of movement such as where it is from charger and what areas still need vacuuming and battery seems to run a good couple hours but highly doubt all that would be needed.
Defective part aside this actually does the vacuuming! Floors are clean, I set mine to clean while I'm at work. If you have several floors you'll either need to just carry it to the other floors and let it loose or get more.
It can't do stairs unless you want to place it on each step, also will need to empty out the dirt once a week or so depending on how dirty your floors get. I recommend changing out the filter and give it a decent cleaning (especially around the sensors) about every 6 months.
In summary this is actually a great vacuum with a company that seems to pay attention and address issues from older models, perfect if you have pet hairs needing constant vacuuming, too busy, hate vacuuming or just into neat gadgets. "
+65points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little guy

Date:December 24, 2010
" The first one I bought kept having an Error 9 code (front bumper problem) that made it do the circle dance. Turns out it was simply a defective unit. Returned it and the second one is going strong. I didn't realize our house was dirty until we had that thing run through it the first time. The amount of dirt and hair it picked up from our supposedly clean house was amazing! My kids love him and my 2 year old is in charge of turning it on. It's all that simple. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kelligrews, Newfoundland

Time Saver!!

Date:October 24, 2010
" Great time saver, gets an amazing amount of dirt and dust up but not good with hair. Also easy to clean. I haven't had trouble yet, but I'm concerned about battery issues. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Product

Date:May 28, 2010
" This is a good product... not the most useful thing in the world but it functions as advertised. You need a fairly rectangular room without too many obstacles for it to work properly. "
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC

Roomba Rocks!

Date:April 1, 2010
" Had the 560 for several months now. This is the best vacuum ever. Works great, does better job than my built-in. Huge time-saver, goes where no vacuum has gone before (under sofas, chairs, beds etc.). Easy to empty and clean (takes just a couple minutes per day).
Scheduling is awesome feature. It does downstairs during the night while we sleep and we turn it loose upstairs to do the bedrooms during the day. The dogs are fascinated with it.
Amazing how much dirt this little vacuum sucks out of carpets I thought were clean. Just wish it did stairs so I could throw the old vacuum out all together. "
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Williams Lake, BC

Great little vacuum!

Date:March 25, 2010
" What a time saver! While roomba vacuums up you're left to do as you please. We get about a 3 hour vacuum on one charge, then Roomba scoots back to the docking station to recharge. This model can be programmed to auto-start at night while you're sleeping, or when you're away from home.
The most surprising thing is how much (and big) stuff this little powerhouse can pick up. Despite this, it is very quiet. We routinely watch TV while it scoots around us...couldn't do that with our Hoover upright. The virtual walls are great to section off the house to keep Roomba where you want it. We use it mostly to keep out of the hall when the kids are napping/sleeping.
One big plus is that our kids (1 & 4) love to see the Roomba clean, so the 4 yo helps clean up the floor of toys, etc. just to see the vacuum go. 1 month in and the novelty hasn't worn off yet!
The only downside, however small, is that it has a stair sensor that keeps it from tumbling down the stairs. We found that our area rug that has some black swirls makes the Roomba think it's a drop-off, so the robot avoids those spots. Wish there was a override on this feature. "
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

moomba problems

Date:March 22, 2010
" Thought would be a great idea....wrong as usual!!!! quit working after about the third go around.Clean brushes...clean brushes....error....error....error...push the clean button push the clean buton....Finally had enough,took it back to Canadian Tire....Missed the 3 months by that much........now try and deal with I-Robot....tell me what it says, do this, try that...we are sorry for your trouble...try this...I WANT MY MONEY BACK....JUNK Do not even look at this JUNK. "
-116points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:March 10, 2010
" It does a great job and I am amazed at how much stuff it has picked up. We probably over bought on the schedule feature, so far we have not bothered with that feature, but who know maybe later. Either way the battery life, 1-4 rooms is great, however the 530 probably would have been good enough. One of the best purchases in a long time. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every penny

Date:January 23, 2010
" Love my roomba. I've named him Jeeves and he does a super job on all floor types. My carpets look much better than when I use the central vac. My next purchase will be a scooba. "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for iRobot Roomba 560/565 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:vancouver island

My Very Best Purchase in Years!!!

Date:November 13, 2009
" I love, love, love this machine. My rug has never looked better and it does a good job on my tile floor. It takes awhile to get the rooms set up so it doesn't get stuck under things and i find i have to empty it and clean the brushes every 3 uses.. But the job this little machine does is amazing! I turn it loose usually every second day downstairs and in my bedrooms upstairs about once a week. This is the very best gift anyone could get. I am looking forward to my next buy which will be the scubba robot for washing floors... "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?