Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum

Canister vacuum features a motorized brush head that cleans deeper and a Telescope Wrap system for easy storage.Uses patented root cyclone technology for no loss of suction performanceMotorized brush head for deep cleaning carpets and area rugTelescopic wrap wand for convenient carrying & storageOn-board tool storage for easy and convenient above floor cleaningHepa filterWashable filter, no belt to replaceHard floor tool for vacuuming hard floor surfaces.Model number 12790-01
Average Customer Rating:
4.285 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
6
99 of 116(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Review 21 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC

A great investment

Date:September 2, 2008
"This vacuum cleaner is incredible. It will suck up any kind of pet hair and is awesome for allergy sufferers. If you have carpets in your home, this appliance is simply a must; It will clear any "stuff" that's lingering about and will bring out the color of the material (if any) as if it had been professionally cleaned!
A tad bit pricey, but you'll understand why the second you start using it. It's worth every penny."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 22 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON

I was amazed!

Date:June 4, 2008
"I heard alot about it, and even watched the commercials. But I always wanted to wait for a sale. I eventually caved in and purchased regular price, and I must say that the Dyson vacuum is the best! I always brag to my friends about it; I must be crazy because its only a vacuum. But seriously, I think its worth every dollar.
Only disadvantage I can think of is that the electrical cord isn't as long as my old upright vacuum (that died last month).
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 23 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:tottenham, ont

best in class

Date:May 25, 2008
"excellent product. i recommend this vacuum to all my friends. its a real eye opener how much this unit cleans up. we vacuum our entire house every week and it is amazing how much it pickup every time!!!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 24 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing vacuum

Date:April 17, 2008
"We bought our Dyson a month ago after listening to four different friends rave about theirs and we have been thrilled with the job it does. We have cats and even cat hair is a thing of the past. The suction is extraordinary and the easy with which the DC21 is taken upstairs and down and into small spaces is excellent. We resisted buying originally because of the price but realize now we had spent thst much and more on a collection of other vacuums that did a terrible job - it's cost efficient in the end."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 25 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Now THIS is fantastic!

Date:April 2, 2008
"We purchased this vacuum to replace 2 old, aging vacuums - one upright, one canister. We cleaned the carpets thoroughly, used new bags, the whole 9 yards. Then we fired up this baby. You'd think the carpets had never been cleaned before! It's easy to use, the angled accessories make getting in tight to corners easy, and it adjusts for both our heights - he's tall, I'm not... compact storage, light, easy to use. Bin removes for easy emptying. HEPA filter makes cleaning easier. especially where allergens are concerned.Who could ask for more? Even that cat has fun with it - she chases it! Never went near either of the other two we had, so the motor is quieter, too.. Seems pricy, but well worth the purchase price."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 26 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan

very satisfied

Date:March 31, 2008
"I bought this vacuum for my wife for christmas. It was a little expensive but she is worth it.I was more excited then she was and she gladly let me have the first try at using it.i was very impressed, it follows you very well because the way it is designed you are pulling on the unit itself not just the hose.it is great for narrow hallways because just by turning your wrist you can turn the powerhead at a right angle.after buying a new upright vacuum every 5 years or so and always ending up dissapointed I am glad I bought this vacuum."
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 27 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thompson, MB

I love my Dyson!

Date:March 31, 2008
"I have used several vacuum's (Bissell, Hoover, Dirt Devil, Central Vac, Filter Queen and Rainbow) with various jobs I have had and I used to own the Shark Infinity prior to this one.
This is the best vacuum I have ever used!! It is easy to dump, it is fairly compact, it has a great bumper feature so I don’t mark the trim and it sucks more stuff out of my carpet than anything ever has. It does what it says it does: never looses suction.
Besides the hard wood floor attachment, the other attachments are small and it is awkward to dust because of the heavy hose connector. I do wish the cord was longer, however, the cleaning power and ease of this vacuum make it the best and well worth the investment.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 28 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Linwood, ON

Great Vacuum!

Date:March 4, 2008
"The Dyson DC21 has amazing power! I brought it home and on the first use the canister was full of dirt. This is even after having vacuumed the day before with my mom's bagless vacuum. I like how the DC21 is compact and can store easily in the closet - not taking up much space. I am a little uncoordinated wrapping up the hose, but I am sure with more practice it will get easier:) I also like how the brush head swivels and moves around corners and objects. I have read reviews that the cord is too short but I haven't found the length to be any shorter than canisters I have owned before. Even though a little pricey, well worth the money for the cleaning power."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 29 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooks AB

Wonderful Vacume

Date:February 28, 2008
"I am delighted to say the only draw back of the canister is that I have never owned one so I have nothing to compair it to. I have to disagree with a few comments posted; The cord is shorter than a upright but because you do have a lenghty hose, as well as the suction power is great! I love the option to turn the rotating brushes off. It stores great in tight spaces. A MUST TO CONSIDER!!!!!!!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 30 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Best vacuum ever

Date:October 26, 2007
"I mulled over buying a Dyson for almost a year but balked at the price. I also couldn't figure out which model to purchase as we have no carpet but still needed a vacuum. I finally caved and bought the canister model. I am completely satisfied with my purchase! It is lightweight, no bags, easy to pull around, and has a hard floor attachment that is perfect for hardwood and laminate! I vacuumed the area rug in my son's room and it looked like we steam cleaned it! I agree with the other reviewer about the cord being too short but no big deal. Don't even think twice about the cost, it is so worth it."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 31 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the $!

Date:October 5, 2007
"I first vacuumed with my old machine, then used the dyson, and it took an embarassing amount of dust and hair out of my carpets! I can't believe I was missing that much with my old vacuum.
Easy to empty - no bags to buy either!
My only negative - the power cord isn't as long as I would like.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 32 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Expensive but good looking vacuum

Date:May 5, 2013
"This is a great vacuum if you can afford it . It can be hard to navigate but it is very powerful and looks great. There are less expensive vacuums out tere that will do the job but if you want to feta dyson this is a pretty nice model .
I would recommend this product if price is not an issue for you ."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 33 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grande Prairie, AB, Canada

Worth the asking price!

Date:December 13, 2012
"I have been using my Dyson DC21 for nearly 2 years. I had a Hoover prior to this vacuum which I thought did a great job. I also thought my carpets were clean.
I was totally shocked and amazed by the amount of (extremely) fine dust and the ton of cat hair it removed from the very first time I used my Dyson. It made my carpets look brand new even though they are 15 years old!
I have 2 cats and the days of having to live with cat hair on and in everything are gone.
The noise level is average. Length of power cord and suction hose are ample, which is a pleasure. Suction is amazing! Power nozzle brush is able to grab and pull debris out of even our 'toughest to clean' woven carpet. I was very surprised how much resistance there was when using this vacuum as the suction is so powerful and the power head brush is so strong. The attachments are well made, easy to use and make housekeeping easier. Very cool upholstery brush! The 'Spring Cleaning' kit was included with my purchase.
Unit is very maneoverable. Hose is designed to prevent kinking by making it easy to untwist naturally and easily.
Cons: Very few! Don't bother to wrap the hose around the machine when storing or carrying. The hose doesn't fasten securely enough and the unit is a bit heavy to carry all in one hand. Also, the clip which holds the dust bin closed could be more durable. Perhaps even be re-designed to be spring loaded: opening and closing.
Pros: Great vacuum cleaner! The hype IS justified, and the cost is worth it. I would buy this brand of machine again, even though pricey. We DO recommend this machine to our friends!
Thank you Mr. Dyson.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 34 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:kitchener

Average value

Date:December 23, 2011
"This is a decent vacuum, but not as magical as the commercials would have one believe. Probably a strong contender if you have hairy pets, otherwise it wouldn't be my first choice.
CONS:
- hose kinks _constantly_
- cord is quite short
- motorized brushhead shuts off by itself (loose connecting in the slip ring I assume after 2 years)
- suction end of wand is huge and awkward for tight spaces
PROS:
- looks cool
- brushhead works very, very well; probably the selling feature if you are a pet owner
I am torn about the bagless design. Originally I wanted it as I hate having to replace consumables, but it is hard to empty it without making a dusty mess.
I now have an Electrolux "green" vacuum which I personally prefer. It is lighter, quieter, has a way longer cord, and has a long, light, and thin wand. The brushhead is nowhere near as good as the Dyson, but I don't have pets and don't need to beat hair out of my carpets. It does use bags... easy clean-up, but a pain when you run out. We'll see how much they end up costing... you could buy a lot of "S" bags for the price difference between this one and the Dyson."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 35 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Two major annoyances

Date:October 3, 2011
"We've had this for about a year and it's a great vacuum cleaner overall.
There are two things that drive me crazy:
1) The hose gets kinked constantly
2) The little catch to keep it coiled up is flimsy and the slightest little bump will knock the hose out of the catch. This makes it difficult to transport when coiled up.
"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 36 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Etobicoke, ON

Good Purchase

Date:January 1, 2010
"Had for over two years now. Use it to vacuum my carpet in condo at least once a week. WOW works great, you will see all that it picks up, via clear collection canister. Easy to clean and quite easy to store away. The entire unit quite heavy if you have to lift and carry, so if you have to do so, START doing arm curls. Very good product."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 37 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

stops vaccuum tantrums!

Date:December 19, 2008
"I bought this after I lost it with my filter queen for the last time! Tho not significantly less cumbersome than the FQ, it stores easier and has greater power and doesn't need special filters.
Only thing they may think to improve is that awkward hose and telescoping wand. Not great for small areas like the car."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 38 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:calgary

very good vacuum

Date:May 23, 2008
"We love this vacuum in our house. It has excellent sucking power and doesn't spit it our the back end either as so many vacuums do.
It is easy to empty and great for allergy suferers.
Only problem I have with it is that it doesn't move around furniture very well. This could be fixed by the manufacturer moving the hose attachment to the centre instead of off to one side.
Another thing they could do is to use the ball under it so it can turn on a dime like their new upright vacuum does.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 39 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

quality item

Date:April 14, 2008
"This vacuum has good suction power and is worth the price."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 40 for Dyson Stowaway DC21 Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:1000 Islands, Ontario

Glitches with The Wand

Date:April 1, 2008
"This product is built with quality. The suction is super.
The only problem I can see is in the design of the wand. Crevice tools are included, however the base of the telescopic wand is too large to fit into crevices and difficult to fit under some furniture. I have contact Dyson about my concerns, the only option available is a hose with no adapter on it to fit the tools onto. The wand could be made to be somewhat lighter and perhaps an option of a different hose with adapter could be made available to switch from the power bar to the other floor and crevice tools provided.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
   1 2 3