Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Air Cleaners & Purifiers or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier

Oreck ProShield Air Purifier

Air purifier features six-stage filtration using Truman Cell proprietary technology, which captures and destroys allergens, bacteria, viruses, molds, fungi and other particles down to .1 micronsNew Oxygenator stage converts atmospheric ozone into pure oxygenReduces Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs),
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Review 1 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Nipissing, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not nearly worth the money.

Date:April 7, 2014
"Horribly loud machine with no noticeable difference. Customer service at Oreck was very unprofessional.
Traded this for a cheaper Honeywell HPA-300 and the Honeywell is by far more effective.
Don't believe the hype from the infomercial."
 
My Product Recommendations
Honeywell CADR-300 True HEPA Console
4.2 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Oreck Air purifier

Date:July 23, 2013
"I bought one two years ago and within a week bought another one for the bedroom. It's true it is noisy on high, and silent seems inefficient so the compromise is medium...some sound but good air cleaning. Here's a tip if you don't want to often wash the cleaning cell ( box#. Buy a package of Static Matic refill cloths #20 in a box# at Dollerama for a buck. Take one or two and fold in half. Remove the front screen of the Oreck and tuck the cloth on front of the cell # not in the cell) just inside the front screen. It will collect all kinds of dust you can toss out in a months time ... cheapest filter . If you are going to wash the air cell use a blow dryer to make sure the cell is dry before you put it back in. Wet will harm the air purifier by causing a short."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lethbridge, AB

Even on sale; a waste of money

Date:July 19, 2013
"Don't bother with this purifier as it is noisy, and simply doesn't do the job that is promised."
-16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Best home Purifier Ever

Date:May 31, 2013
"I purchased the ORECK home air purifier and its the best thing I have ever done for me and my family. My home is so much more filled with fresh air,you can,t even smell the cigarette soke anymore.I wanted an air purifier cause my grandchildren visit often and I smoke and Oreck has most certainly lived up to its expectations and more!!"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Little Britain, ON K0M, Canada

Best on the Market

Date:March 1, 2013
"We have 2, bought one two and half years ago, and another a year and a half ago. Before these we had a industerial one costing thousands of dollars and it broke down a year and half after we bought it. The Oreck ones work great and I have recommended them to my best friend who like myself has has severe breathing problems. Easy to clean, and no filters to buy. I know they seem expensive but in the long run will save money over time. Execellent product would recommend to any one."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON

Best purifier purchase

Date:March 22, 2012
"I had burned some food quite badly, leaving a heavy second hand smoke smell in my house. I had purchased and tried the Honeywell Air Purifier and that had next to no appreciable affect on my air quality. After 1.5 weeks of this, I did some research and purchased the Oreck XL purifier. Within 1 hour of turning it on, I noticed a huge improvement in my house. This purifier is AMAZING and worth it if you have a problem such as mine. It is rather noisy on the highest setting, but I didn't mind as long as it was doing the job. I now leave it on medium."
+71points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every penny

Date:March 2, 2012
"By far the best product out there for air purifiers. It does cost more but worth every cent. Within hours the air in our home smelled more fresh and my allergy symptoms were gone! Easy to clean and to assemble. We keep it on medium speed in the spare bedroom, so noise levels are minimum. So happy with this purchase."
+76points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burnaby, BC

Glad I Purchased My Oreck XL Professional

Date:February 6, 2012
"I small bachelor aprtment and have been using the Ionic Pro for years. it is a look-a-like versions of the popular Sharper Image and Oreck air purifiers.It was difficult to clean and very "touchy" regarding operation. I finally threw it in the bin in frustration and purchased my Oreck XL.and couldn't be happier with its performance. I usually run it on high for an hour and when the air is fresh and clean, put it on silent. Oreck included a Speed Sweep Model Tex 100 free. and a refrigerator air purifier."
+68points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cape Breton, NS

Great for breathing

Date:July 11, 2011
"My wife and I have breathing problems and have bought 2 of these. We keep one in the bedroom and one in the TV room. We run both on Med and we hardly even notice that it is running. When we are not in a room we switch it to high and close the door.
Even after only 1 hour, we go back into the room and you can really notice the difference.
Cleaning is a breeze now that we have done it several times.
To me this is worth the money and we do breath easier with it."
+119points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Oreck Canada Has Bad Customer Service

Date:June 3, 2011
"June 3, 2011
I have been waiting since I bought their machine on May 20, 2011 for Oreck Canada to get back to me with my questions about the machine.
This put me past the time I could return the machine back to Canadian Tire.
My Questions to Oreck Canada were:
1. When I turned the machine on there was an awful odor. Is this because the machine is new?
2. The Canadian Tire store here in Toronto, Canada does not sell the fragrance discs nor the cleaning kit for the machine. I do not have a Credit Card to buy online and do not have a car to go anywhere out of the downtown core of Toronto to buy these supplies. Do you know of another way I can get these supplies?
3. When I turn on the High button the machine is very loud.
I hear that the High button is the only way the machine will work the best to clean the air.
3. At night I turn on the Silent button and I still wake up sneezing.
If I turn on the High button it's too loud to sleep. Do you know what I can do?
4. My apartment has High Humidity. Will this affect the machine?
5. Can I keep my windows and apartment balcony door open while the machine is working? It is summer here now and I would like to open my windows and apartment door."
-229points
Was this review helpful to you?
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Seahare
Grey-Bruce County, Ontario
Agree with bad odor
Posted September 26, 2012
I returned the unit because of the smell it was putting off, even after 48 hours of 'burn off' time recommended by the local store. Since then I've been watching the comments to see if anyone else had similar problems with their unit.
+9points
16out of 23found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Oreck ProShield Air Purifier
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1