Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Ultrasonic humidifier puts out an ultrafine visible mist1.5G/5.68L tank capacity - shatterproof tankUp to 36-hour runtimeAnti-microbial protectionFilter-free operationModel number SUL2322B-CN
Average Customer Rating:
3.565 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
15 of 23(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 1 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Broken in less than 6 months

Date:February 26, 2014
"The machine has stopped sending mist after less than 5 months of ownership. The fan still works, air comes out but no mist. I assumed it was because we were using hard water, so I cleaned all the limescale out the machine but it still won't send the mist, as though it's blocked somewhere. But after checking all the components to ensure they are free and clear, it remains unusable. DO NOT BUY this inferior product.
As well as not working as it should, it is also MUCH louder than it suggests. It whirs as a fan and bubbles constantly so at night it sounds like you're in the room with a bubbling kettle and an electric fan."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Do no purchase this product

Date:January 24, 2014
"I too now have a thick coat of white dust all over the walls and furniture. I was excited to get a filter free humidifier, but the cartridges are not available, as well the information in the manual is not updated for Canadian contacts. Once I did finally get through to a sunbeam supplier in Calgary, they were rude and not helpful."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Do NOT purchase if you have hard water

Date:December 26, 2013
"I bought this unit to replace my trusty but aging cool mist humidifier because I thought an ultrasonic humidifer would be more cost-effective as it doesn't require filters and it would also be quieter. It is quieter, but I now have a major "white dust" (mineral deposits) problem because our municipal tap water is hard. This problem can be prevented by purchasing a demineralization cartridge, but Sunbeam no longer manufactures the cartridge. Even if the cartridge were available, it would cost $26, which is more than a filter for a cool mist humidifier. The other option is to use distilled water instead of tap water, which would cost even more than the cartridge. The humidifier itself works fine, but I have to give it a "poor" rating because Sunbeam does not sufficiently warn about the "white dust" problem and still lists the cartridge as being available in the manual. I have no choice but to revert to my cool mist humidifier, so this was a waste of money."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Loucifer
Toronto, Ontario
White Mist Damage
Posted January 15, 2014
The white dust caused by the mist from these units can be damaging. This dust got behind the screen of my large screen computer that caused white streaks that cannot be cleaned without removing the entire casing. The lens on the laser of my DVD player is also clouded by the mist and can not longer read DVDs. Beware the white dust!
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Review 4 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not as quiet as promised

Date:December 2, 2013
"It works fine, although it really only has on or off buttons, no variations in the amount of mist. And there is no timer option, even though the manual shows one. The main issue is that the machine has a very audible whirring sound, much louder than anticipated, a well as a constant dripping a trickle sounds. Initially it seemed quiet but the whir is louder and more distinct after a single days use. It could be a fault of this machine or a flaw in the model itself. Much louder than a subsonic should be. Sounds like a whirring refridgerator"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON

Noise

Date:December 2, 2013
"The reviews and comments are not consistent with respect to the noise this unit produces. The operation of the unit is quiet compared with other humidifiers, but it does sound like a boiling kettle or a sink tap dripping in another room. If you are using this in your bedroom, like I was, you need to be prepared for this sound of water softly moving about within the unit. I couldn't drone that sound out even with a large fan running beside the ultrasonic unit. Unfortunately, this is a deal breaker for me.
(and for clarity, I am not writing about the warm mist unit.)"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love it!!

Date:November 12, 2013
"I often can not sleep through the night due to allergies and dry nose... And this humidifier definitely does the trick!!! The only issue is the tank is harder to thoroughly clean then others. Also I use distilled water in it, I heard this prolongs the life of a humidifier .. So hopefully I don't run into a scaling issue!"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamsack, Sk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product

Date:October 24, 2013
"I have had this humidifier for about a week and I loved it from day one. It has humidity setting easy to fill and lasts long each fill. You can see the mist and it runs so quietly. I have always had a humidifier running in the winter and I havent had a better one than this and NO FILTERS!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great humidifier

Date:June 6, 2013
"My family loves this humidifier, it works well and keeps us happy!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

So Quiet...

Date:May 17, 2013
"...because it no longer works so it never gets turned on.
Like others have mentioned, worked with occasional use for about a month or two and then stopped producing any steam. Tried descaling, worked for about another hour and then that was it."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada

excellent features

Date:March 11, 2013
"Best feature is the built in thermostat. The humidifier will turn off and on as necessary, unlike a lot of tanks that run nonstop until the tank is empty. At 40% humidity I refill the tank every 3 days for our master bedroom.
I am a light sleeper and it does not keep me awake. There is an on light that cannot be turned off, I simply covered it with a towel, or you can use electrical tape to cover it if you need a dark room.
We hsve had it for three months and I have not had to clean it yet as the water in Windsor works well with it.
Only minor complaint is it is a bottom refill so you must take it to the sink, rather than top filling with a pitcher."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Great Purchase!

Date:March 5, 2013
"Very quiet with visible mist!! A little difficult to fill. Must use bathtub."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Erin, ON, Canada

Stopped working after 2 months

Date:March 2, 2013
"Machine worked great, then started humming while running which was fine, now the unit is on (lights are on) but no mist. Will be returning it."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Havelock On

Good, Maybe.

Date:January 29, 2013
"Hard review to write. Product is good. Performs well. Nicely quiet. BUT not suitable if you have very hard water, especially well water as I have. Because of the hard water a fine white dust spreads around my house. There is a filter, SCD2300, optional, listed in the manual to help with this problem. Unfortunately this is apparently no longer available, reason unknown. Hard water neither Sunbeam's nor Canadian Tire's fault. If you don't have hard water, this is a good machine. If you have hard water look at types other than ultrasonic."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carlisle, Ontario

Humidifies Great! Clean-up Not So Great!!

Date:January 29, 2013
"Unit does a great job to humidify and it looks great and is easy to use...However just as another reviewer mentioned after one night of use we had a white powder film over EVERYTHING in the room. Everything needed to be thoroughly cleaned including an intricate chandelier. Not sure if it has to do with the fact that we have well water with a softening system or that this unit is ultrasonic. Unfortunately we had to return the unit. We ended up buying a unit with a filter. So far so good! : )"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Very happy with product

Date:January 14, 2013
"This is the third humidifier we've had for our kids' rooms and it's by far the best. I can't believe there are people complaining about the noise of the unit, it's non-existent. The only way you know it's on is when the water tank occasionally bubbles like a water cooler. Even then it's barely noticeable. Compared to the other units I've had this is silent.
My only complaint is the water tank. It's a stylish design but horrible to refill. I can only fill it in the kitchen sink because it's so long it won't fit anywhere else but the bath, but then it's so incredibly awkward to hold steady I'd have to get IN the bath to do it. For this reason alone I wouldn't recommened this unit for a senior or someone with limited dexterity. Just do the math: 5.68L is 5.68kg or 12.5 lbs that you have to hold steady in the sink because you can't set it down. There should be a separate filler cap on the top.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great humidifier

Date:January 8, 2013
"This is a great humidifier, extremely quiet and very easy to clean. The humidity sensor to set the desired humidity level seems to work fairly well, much better than the arbitrary knob on my old Honeywell humidifier. I took one star off only because the tank is awkward to fill - when upside down, it is resting on its rounded handle and requires some balancing, it does not stand by itself in the sink."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Great little humidifier

Date:January 8, 2013
"Very quiet, low maintenance, looks good, and great value at sale price $62.99. Was disappointed with previous two different cool mist tower humidifiers that each lasted less than a year - very noisy and/or leaked. So am very pleased with this little unit. Only disappointment so far is that I couldn't get refunded the (sale) price difference after owning it less than a month."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

***Great Product***

Date:December 10, 2012
"Our house was very dry, our kids were sick and our Doctor said to try a cool mist humidifier. My husband bought this one. Very happy with the product!!!
*starts working as soon as you turn it on
(you can see the mist)
*very quiet
*no filters
*easy to fill
The only thing I would change about the product would be it showing the humidity in the room!!!
(digitally)
"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

love this unit!

Date:December 8, 2012
"I had sinus surgery and it really helped my breathing. The cool mist is refreshing in the fall/winter weather.
I recommend this!
PS - No Filters!!!"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Did not find quiet at all.

Date:December 5, 2012
"This is quiet when operating until it starts humming. I think it's the self-cleaning feature. It was so loud I heard it from outside my son's room and over his sound machine.
The only reason I purchased was because it claimed to be super quiet. That would be fine if you are a very heavy sleeper or if you're not using in a bedroom.
Careful where you purchase since they may not accept returns."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2