Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Ultrasonic humidifier puts out an ultrafine visible mist1.5G/5.68L tank capacity - shatterproof tankUp to 36-hour runtimeAnti-microbial protectionFilter-free operationModel number SUL2322B-CN
Average Customer Rating:
3.586 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
19 of 29(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 1 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kanata, Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

The Best Ultrasonic Humidifier

Date:March 2, 2015
" After having gone through several Filter type humidifiers and getting rid of them, we tried the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier and were totally impressed. The secret is to use filtered water. We have a reverse osmosis system and the water used in the Humidifier does not produce any white dust at all. Also, the interior of the unit stays perfectly clean. The unit processes 1.5 gallons of water in about 12 hours. Excellent performance.
My only complaint is that the instructions provided do not explain how to disassemble the unit for periodic cleaning. First of all, remove the water container from the unit. You will then see two butterfly nuts on the inside of the unit. One on the left side and one on the right side. Turn each nut 1/4 turn to the right to release the upper housing from the base. Before you can release the upper housing, you then need to locate a release tab on the back of the upper housing at the top. It is like a little slit in the plastic. Push this tab in while pulling up on the top handle and the assembly will come apart. You can now clean the interior of the device. Re-assembly is just the reverse. Remember to turn the butterfly nuts to the original position (1/4 turn to the left).
We like this unit so well, we purchased a second one and use them in our living room with a wood burning fireplace.
Disappointed that Sunbeam missed an important part of the documentation. But they do have a fantastic product!
Use filtered water!!!!! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Well-performing workhorse

Date:February 18, 2015
" This is the second winter I've had this humidifier running 24/7 on the highest fan speed. That's 10 months of total run-time.
My water source is treated lake water, so as with all my small water appliances, there is little evidence of calcium or mineral deposit problems - inside the machine or around where it mists.
There's no denying just about any other tank design would have been easier to fill, but I get a core workout balancing it below the bathtub spout every night (one tank on high lasts just shy of 24 hours).
It makes an appreciable difference to humidity levels in the hall and bedroom - maybe 3-5% in a day if I miss filling it. I can hear the low hum when it's running, but it is VERY quiet for a humidifier and does occasionally gurgle as bubbles fill up the space vacated by the water. The lights aren't too bright, but seem unnecessary and would be annoying if you have it in your bedroom and like it to be pitch black at night (and can't be arsed to cover them with something).
I remember in the first couple of months having problems with water stopping to flow from the tank to the reservoir when it was about half empty, but I shimmed up the front end and the problem stopped.
I'm very happy with the stamina and effectiveness of it, and I will most likely replace the one I have, when it dies, with the same model.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

White dust

Date:February 15, 2015
" Got white dust everywhere using city water., I'd rather use a filter than this filterless needs distilled water an expensive unit that doesn't save anything.
Otherwise no savings, no convenice, no pluses
and telling me to use distilled after buying is
unhelpful
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
By SunbeamBrandExpertFebruary 19, 2015
The tap water you use might be hard or high in minerals. We recommend that you use distilled water or a combination of half distilled and half tap water. For further questions or concerns, we can be reached at (800) 435-1250; Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, Eastern.
Review 4 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

LOVE THIS HUMIDIFIER

Date:January 21, 2015
" I purchased this product last year. I have no issues with it what so ever. After reading the reviews, I felt the need to write my comments. I bought this on a recommendation from a friend. My apartment gets extremely dry. I was told to buy this product, due to it being filter-less. I have owned it for not quite a year. Have no problems filling it up, no problems with "white dust", no problems with noise coming from it. Yes, there is a slight gurgle that comes from it as the water level drops from being on. When its time to pack away for summer, I spray the inside holding tank with bleach, soak, empty, rinse. I enjoy this product that much, a friend of mine bought one yesterday. I'm off today to purchase two more. One for me, one for my mom. The second one will be in between the living room, dining room. I hope my review helps out with any one purchasing, or looking for a hassle free humidifier!! "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Really needs a filter

Date:November 17, 2014
" It is not a good thing for this product to not have a filter. I put our water through a Britta filter before putting it in this humidifier and it still blew white dust (deposit) over my whole room. What a mess. I now buy distilled water for this product. Rather expensive. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
By SunbeamBrandExpertFebruary 10, 2015
We recommend following the cleaning guidelines and using water treatment or distilled water if you have hard water. Typical household filters may not filter out minerals that cause hard water. If you have questions, please call us at 1-888-264-9669; we're open Monday through Saturday, 8 AM to 8 PM Eastern.
Review 6 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Satisfied with this product

Date:October 9, 2014
" We recently purchased the Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier and are very satisfied with this product. It is a sleek design and the gray/black colour makes it blend in with our bedroom furniture. It is quiet and effectively creates a cool mist if using the fan or just quietly humidifies the entire room when the fan is off. The best part is there are no filters to buy! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Broken in less than 6 months

Date:February 26, 2014
" The machine has stopped sending mist after less than 5 months of ownership. The fan still works, air comes out but no mist. I assumed it was because we were using hard water, so I cleaned all the limescale out the machine but it still won't send the mist, as though it's blocked somewhere. But after checking all the components to ensure they are free and clear, it remains unusable. DO NOT BUY this inferior product.
As well as not working as it should, it is also MUCH louder than it suggests. It whirs as a fan and bubbles constantly so at night it sounds like you're in the room with a bubbling kettle and an electric fan. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Do no purchase this product

Date:January 24, 2014
" I too now have a thick coat of white dust all over the walls and furniture. I was excited to get a filter free humidifier, but the cartridges are not available, as well the information in the manual is not updated for Canadian contacts. Once I did finally get through to a sunbeam supplier in Calgary, they were rude and not helpful. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Do NOT purchase if you have hard water

Date:December 26, 2013
" I bought this unit to replace my trusty but aging cool mist humidifier because I thought an ultrasonic humidifer would be more cost-effective as it doesn't require filters and it would also be quieter. It is quieter, but I now have a major "white dust" (mineral deposits) problem because our municipal tap water is hard. This problem can be prevented by purchasing a demineralization cartridge, but Sunbeam no longer manufactures the cartridge. Even if the cartridge were available, it would cost $26, which is more than a filter for a cool mist humidifier. The other option is to use distilled water instead of tap water, which would cost even more than the cartridge. The humidifier itself works fine, but I have to give it a "poor" rating because Sunbeam does not sufficiently warn about the "white dust" problem and still lists the cartridge as being available in the manual. I have no choice but to revert to my cool mist humidifier, so this was a waste of money. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Loucifer
Toronto, Ontario
White Mist Damage
Posted January 15, 2014
The white dust caused by the mist from these units can be damaging. This dust got behind the screen of my large screen computer that caused white streaks that cannot be cleaned without removing the entire casing. The lens on the laser of my DVD player is also clouded by the mist and can not longer read DVDs. Beware the white dust!
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Review 10 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not as quiet as promised

Date:December 2, 2013
" It works fine, although it really only has on or off buttons, no variations in the amount of mist. And there is no timer option, even though the manual shows one. The main issue is that the machine has a very audible whirring sound, much louder than anticipated, a well as a constant dripping a trickle sounds. Initially it seemed quiet but the whir is louder and more distinct after a single days use. It could be a fault of this machine or a flaw in the model itself. Much louder than a subsonic should be. Sounds like a whirring refridgerator "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON

Noise

Date:December 2, 2013
" The reviews and comments are not consistent with respect to the noise this unit produces. The operation of the unit is quiet compared with other humidifiers, but it does sound like a boiling kettle or a sink tap dripping in another room. If you are using this in your bedroom, like I was, you need to be prepared for this sound of water softly moving about within the unit. I couldn't drone that sound out even with a large fan running beside the ultrasonic unit. Unfortunately, this is a deal breaker for me.
(and for clarity, I am not writing about the warm mist unit.) "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love it!!

Date:November 12, 2013
" I often can not sleep through the night due to allergies and dry nose... And this humidifier definitely does the trick!!! The only issue is the tank is harder to thoroughly clean then others. Also I use distilled water in it, I heard this prolongs the life of a humidifier .. So hopefully I don't run into a scaling issue! "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamsack, Sk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product

Date:October 24, 2013
" I have had this humidifier for about a week and I loved it from day one. It has humidity setting easy to fill and lasts long each fill. You can see the mist and it runs so quietly. I have always had a humidifier running in the winter and I havent had a better one than this and NO FILTERS! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great humidifier

Date:June 6, 2013
" My family loves this humidifier, it works well and keeps us happy! "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

So Quiet...

Date:May 17, 2013
" ...because it no longer works so it never gets turned on.
Like others have mentioned, worked with occasional use for about a month or two and then stopped producing any steam. Tried descaling, worked for about another hour and then that was it. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada

excellent features

Date:March 11, 2013
" Best feature is the built in thermostat. The humidifier will turn off and on as necessary, unlike a lot of tanks that run nonstop until the tank is empty. At 40% humidity I refill the tank every 3 days for our master bedroom.
I am a light sleeper and it does not keep me awake. There is an on light that cannot be turned off, I simply covered it with a towel, or you can use electrical tape to cover it if you need a dark room.
We hsve had it for three months and I have not had to clean it yet as the water in Windsor works well with it.
Only minor complaint is it is a bottom refill so you must take it to the sink, rather than top filling with a pitcher. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Great Purchase!

Date:March 5, 2013
" Very quiet with visible mist!! A little difficult to fill. Must use bathtub. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Erin, ON, Canada

Stopped working after 2 months

Date:March 2, 2013
" Machine worked great, then started humming while running which was fine, now the unit is on (lights are on) but no mist. Will be returning it. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Havelock On

Good, Maybe.

Date:January 29, 2013
" Hard review to write. Product is good. Performs well. Nicely quiet. BUT not suitable if you have very hard water, especially well water as I have. Because of the hard water a fine white dust spreads around my house. There is a filter, SCD2300, optional, listed in the manual to help with this problem. Unfortunately this is apparently no longer available, reason unknown. Hard water neither Sunbeam's nor Canadian Tire's fault. If you don't have hard water, this is a good machine. If you have hard water look at types other than ultrasonic. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carlisle, Ontario

Humidifies Great! Clean-up Not So Great!!

Date:January 29, 2013
" Unit does a great job to humidify and it looks great and is easy to use...However just as another reviewer mentioned after one night of use we had a white powder film over EVERYTHING in the room. Everything needed to be thoroughly cleaned including an intricate chandelier. Not sure if it has to do with the fact that we have well water with a softening system or that this unit is ultrasonic. Unfortunately we had to return the unit. We ended up buying a unit with a filter. So far so good! : ) "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2