Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garrison Oil Heater

Garrison Oil Heater

Permanently sealed, never needs refilling; stable and efficient heating3-power settings - allows you to choose low, medium or high (600, 900 or 1500W) depending on the size of the areaOil filled radiator with Comfort Zone automatic setting button - saves energy by maintaining the optimal room temper
Average Customer Rating:
3.904 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
14
72 of 94(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garrison Oil Heater
Review 1 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:cornwall
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

purchased one

Date:October 16, 2014
"It was good while it worked heat wize but the wheels fall off eazy and it didn't last long before it stopped working. So I wouldn't recommend it."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommend it

Date:October 5, 2014
"Use this as a supplemental heat in my laundry room. Highly recommend it. Didn't raise my electric bill more than $20 on the coldest month last year. Lots of features with a small footprint."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

So Short Life

Date:April 17, 2014
"Fine looking product, but it stopped work after 1 year and 1 month of use"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Garrison Oil Heater

Date:March 14, 2014
"Good for extra heat in rooms of colder small homes."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Langley
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great heater!

Date:March 1, 2014
"Bought when it was 50% off.
It's a simple but very good heater, no assembly required.
The Eco Mode switch on bottom basically sets the heater to 23degr. C and then automatically lowers the power consumption to 600W when 23degr. C is reached no matter what the heat setting dial is set to.
Great value for the money.
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Stopped working after less than 1.5 years

Date:February 18, 2014
"We used it off and on to heat the basement. It worked well but only lasted a year and a half. All of a sudden it won't turn on. Very disappointed considering it wasn't used much and was well taken care of."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Duncan, BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Two in a row frapped

Date:December 12, 2013
"My first one had a faulty thermostat and unit was replaced no problem by Canadian Tire. The second went for almost two years but now is leaking oil and will have to be disposed of. Disappointing as I still have a heater from my father that must be 40 years old and it still works. They sure don't make products like they used to. I will look for another brand."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Easy to use, decent amount of heat

Date:December 9, 2013
"The heater was very strait forward to setup and use. It gave off quite a bit of heat but for the size of our living area you had to be sitting very close to it.
Worked for about a week and then refused to turn back on."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Started Leaking Oil After One Year

Date:December 5, 2013
"Purchased this heater in September 2012, used it for one winter, started leaking oil in November 2013, right after the one year warranty had expired."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada

Not enough Heated Space

Date:May 31, 2013
"I really did not like this product. I am not a fan of any oil based Electric Heater since the heat they generate is just not enough compared to that of a coil heater. For that cozy feeling I may as well just use the fireplace and conserve my electricity."
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chilliwack, BC, Canada

Excellent heater

Date:May 30, 2013
"I bought this in 2003 and it works like a charm. The price has dropped considerably since then as I paid $80 with tax. Just dust it off after it's been sitting all summer. Easy to move around, even on carpets."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

A workhorse

Date:May 13, 2013
"I purchased this from Canadian Tire a couple of winters ago and it is not only still working but still working as well as the day I bought it. It is a total workhorse and has helped keep my oil bill in check. Nice being warm in the winter and this heater does the job. When the weather is above the freezing point (but still cold) I don't even need to use oil, since I just keep it in the room with me. When the outside temp dips below zero, I still keep it on to warm the room I'm in but the oil furnace is on to keep the pipes in the rest of the house from freezing. My electric bill went up but not as much as it would have cost to heat my home to a comfortable level with oil. Would recommend this to a friend."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

stay away from this product

Date:May 5, 2013
"The first one broke within one year, the exchanged one broke again within one year. I had two of these and none of them was working more than a season. Now I am out of warranty.
Don't buy anything from this brand. A manufacturer who is unable to make a product that would last a year should not survive in the market."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON, Canada

A lot of heat!

Date:April 6, 2013
"I bought this to heat my addition to my mobile home-was impressed at how it warmed up the unit within 24 hours after being closed up for the winter. Quiet and had no trouble with odor. We had -14 with the windchill here the first night and my only other heat source was a small ceramic heater."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst heater purchase ever

Date:March 16, 2013
"I purchased this heater about 2 years ago and it has already stopped working. Would highly recommend a similar heater made by KAZ for Honeywell. Paid about the same $ for it and it is still going strong 5 years later"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chalk River, ON K0J, Canada

Very Good Heater. Set it and go.

Date:March 11, 2013
"Over many years I have used long electric heaters, ceramic heaters, electric heaters with fans and finally this oil filled convection heater. The convection heat is the best of all. In spite of a few reviews mensioning an oil leak, I've had 2 that never leaked. I found the controls easy to understand and use. The heater is used to suppliment heat in my insulated sun room that is left open to the house but the sunroom has no heating from the furnace. Once in a while when the weather gets warmer or colder for a prolonged spell the heater is adjusted otherwise it is just left alone. My first oil filled heater lasted 3 years, which is less than I had hoped but that is longer than any of the other electric heaters that I,ve tried."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sechelt, BC, Canada

Canadian Tire replaced no problem

Date:February 11, 2013
"My local store replaced unit no problem even though I didn't have receipt. They looked up purchase using my bank card. With this one I will not use the OFF l,ll,lll dial to turn unit off but rather will unplug it. That dial does seem fine on this one. Got to give Canadian Tire credit for their ease of exchange."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sechelt BC

Frapped after 3 months

Date:February 9, 2013
"Wattage dial got grindy and few days later smoked up (fuse?) and whole unit failed. What is it with these Chinese built heaters? Last year my Chinese built electric fireplace only lasted 6 months. Sad but I have to pull out my 25 year old American built heaters to fill in the gap. Avoid like the plague."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Product - broke within a year

Date:December 23, 2012
"This is a cheap heater for a reason.
It worked alright for one winter, and was no longer working by the start of the next winter. So in total, got about 5 months of use out of this terrible heater. And with a one-year warranty, they kind of know it's a terrible product. Don't buy this - spend more, get a better product. Also, when it's hot, it's actually quite difficult to move because the handle isn't very deep and puts the whole thing off balance when you move it."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:toronto

Very Satisfied

Date:December 16, 2012
"Great affordable heater - we've had ours for 3 years and it works great for our drafty house. I wouldn't expect to use this as a primary heat source, but as a secondary "boost" it's perfect. (Looks nice too, and has no digital stuff to break down.)"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5