Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Portable Heating or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Garrison Oil Heater

Garrison Oil Heater

Permanently sealed, never needs refilling; stable and efficient heating3-power settings - allows you to choose low, medium or high (600, 900 or 1500W) depending on the size of the areaOil filled radiator with Comfort Zone automatic setting button - saves energy by maintaining the optimal room temper
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
19
76 of 104(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garrison Oil Heater
Review 1 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitby, Ontario
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

An update to my previous review

Date:February 2, 2015
" After Canadian Tire replaced my original defective heater under warranty on December 27 2014, the replacement has died as of February 2 2015. When this heater works, it works well, but this is a very low quality product that does not last. I got a total of five and a half months of use between the original and the replacement. Stay away from this one. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whitby, Ontario

Good heater, but power knob needs improvement

Date:January 1, 2015
" I bought this heater on January 24, 2014. We used it every day until the beginning of April. This is without a doubt the best type of heater I've used. It gives off a pleasant radiant heat that is very comfortable, unlike the many spot heaters and micro furnaces I've had that make the air feel like it's been dried out and burned. The only problem I had with this heater was the power knob. It was very difficult to turn right from the first day. We started using the heater again in November and on December 24 the power knob broke. Luckily it was still under warranty and Canadian Tire replaced it. The power knob on the replacement works perfectly so hopefully this one will last a few years. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

cheap controls break down

Date:December 29, 2014
" This product gave us just over a year which is one winter and a bit. The switch mechanism is faulty, and now won't turn off. It was too hard for my wife to turn anyway. Too small and too weak. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

poor quality

Date:December 22, 2014
" Lasted just a little longer than the warranty, and Garrison customer service is non-existent. I called the toll-free number and entered the model number (and all sorts of variations), but they wouldn't even recognize the unit. Then their machine hung up on me.
I had intended on buying a replacement dial mechanism, but can't find the part anywhere.
I will be buying a brand name replacement that has parts available, as I'm tired of disposable junk like this heater. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works fine no noise and dependable

Date:December 17, 2014
" We have had this unit for over two years. Quiet, dependable and portable. Everything we need. We keep our house at 18 C at night and keep our room nice and warm "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Didn't last 1 year

Date:December 17, 2014
" Bought it during the blackout ice storm last December 2013 and used it for 1 week. We went to use it this past week (Dec 14) and it wouldn't turn on. Same issue happened with a friends after a year. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

cheap

Date:December 15, 2014
" Bought this last year, worked great for one season. Just died, first went the auto temp control and now it won't turn on at all. Knobs are not good quality. When it does work, it was great. Heated up the room well. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Osoyoos, BC V0H, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good for a while

Date:November 25, 2014
" I bought one last year, it worked well, for 6 months, leaked a little. Then in the fall i tried it and it smoked and died.
I bought another cause it was just over a year, it worked for 6 months ,oil leaked a bit, i just turned it on this fall, it smoked and dies.
NEVER AGAIN ANY GARRISON PRODUCTS!!!!!
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great interim heater

Date:November 16, 2014
" We live in Victoria but have been in a cold snap for the last week and furnace is out of commission. We have a 1100 sqft house and although not hot, we have managed to keep the house at a balmy 15 degrees with outside temps around -6. Hydro went up $20 this month, so not even concerned about running this unit. Furnace gets fixed this week and the heater will go to our back room and still get used daily...Great buy "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lytton, BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

SO FAR, SO GOOD....

Date:November 13, 2014
" We bought this heater a couple of weeks ago. So far it has been a great addition to our bathroom. The only thing I miss is that you cannot manually set it to the temperature you desire ie digital. Unlike other reviews there was virtually no smell occuring during the first use. So far, so good. :) "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada

For Supplemental Use

Date:October 21, 2014
" I haven't had any problems with this heater, and I've had it for two years. But, it's mainly good as a supplemental heater, I find. It can heat a small room such as a bathroom, but our living room, which is fairly large, is not heated well by this product on its own. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:cornwall
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

purchased one

Date:October 16, 2014
" It was good while it worked heat wize but the wheels fall off eazy and it didn't last long before it stopped working. So I wouldn't recommend it. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

So Short Life

Date:April 17, 2014
" Fine looking product, but it stopped work after 1 year and 1 month of use "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Garrison Oil Heater

Date:March 14, 2014
" Good for extra heat in rooms of colder small homes. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Langley
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great heater!

Date:March 1, 2014
" Bought when it was 50% off.
It's a simple but very good heater, no assembly required.
The Eco Mode switch on bottom basically sets the heater to 23degr. C and then automatically lowers the power consumption to 600W when 23degr. C is reached no matter what the heat setting dial is set to.
Great value for the money.
"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Stopped working after less than 1.5 years

Date:February 18, 2014
" We used it off and on to heat the basement. It worked well but only lasted a year and a half. All of a sudden it won't turn on. Very disappointed considering it wasn't used much and was well taken care of. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Duncan, BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Two in a row frapped

Date:December 12, 2013
" My first one had a faulty thermostat and unit was replaced no problem by Canadian Tire. The second went for almost two years but now is leaking oil and will have to be disposed of. Disappointing as I still have a heater from my father that must be 40 years old and it still works. They sure don't make products like they used to. I will look for another brand. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Easy to use, decent amount of heat

Date:December 9, 2013
" The heater was very strait forward to setup and use. It gave off quite a bit of heat but for the size of our living area you had to be sitting very close to it.
Worked for about a week and then refused to turn back on. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Started Leaking Oil After One Year

Date:December 5, 2013
" Purchased this heater in September 2012, used it for one winter, started leaking oil in November 2013, right after the one year warranty had expired. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada

Not enough Heated Space

Date:May 31, 2013
" I really did not like this product. I am not a fan of any oil based Electric Heater since the heat they generate is just not enough compared to that of a coil heater. For that cozy feeling I may as well just use the fireplace and conserve my electricity. "
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5