Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Portable Heating or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Garrison Oil Heater

Garrison Oil Heater

Permanently sealed, never needs refilling; stable and efficient heating3-power settings - allows you to choose low, medium or high (600, 900 or 1500W) depending on the size of the areaOil filled radiator with Comfort Zone automatic setting button - saves energy by maintaining the optimal room temper
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
16
75 of 100(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garrison Oil Heater
Review 1 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works fine no noise and dependable

Date:December 17, 2014
" We have had this unit for over two years. Quiet, dependable and portable. Everything we need. We keep our house at 18 C at night and keep our room nice and warm "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Didn't last 1 year

Date:December 17, 2014
" Bought it during the blackout ice storm last December 2013 and used it for 1 week. We went to use it this past week (Dec 14) and it wouldn't turn on. Same issue happened with a friends after a year. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

cheap

Date:December 15, 2014
" Bought this last year, worked great for one season. Just died, first went the auto temp control and now it won't turn on at all. Knobs are not good quality. When it does work, it was great. Heated up the room well. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Osoyoos, BC V0H, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good for a while

Date:November 25, 2014
" I bought one last year, it worked well, for 6 months, leaked a little. Then in the fall i tried it and it smoked and died.
I bought another cause it was just over a year, it worked for 6 months ,oil leaked a bit, i just turned it on this fall, it smoked and dies.
NEVER AGAIN ANY GARRISON PRODUCTS!!!!!
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great interim heater

Date:November 16, 2014
" We live in Victoria but have been in a cold snap for the last week and furnace is out of commission. We have a 1100 sqft house and although not hot, we have managed to keep the house at a balmy 15 degrees with outside temps around -6. Hydro went up $20 this month, so not even concerned about running this unit. Furnace gets fixed this week and the heater will go to our back room and still get used daily...Great buy "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lytton, BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

SO FAR, SO GOOD....

Date:November 13, 2014
" We bought this heater a couple of weeks ago. So far it has been a great addition to our bathroom. The only thing I miss is that you cannot manually set it to the temperature you desire ie digital. Unlike other reviews there was virtually no smell occuring during the first use. So far, so good. :) "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada

For Supplemental Use

Date:October 21, 2014
" I haven't had any problems with this heater, and I've had it for two years. But, it's mainly good as a supplemental heater, I find. It can heat a small room such as a bathroom, but our living room, which is fairly large, is not heated well by this product on its own. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:cornwall
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

purchased one

Date:October 16, 2014
" It was good while it worked heat wize but the wheels fall off eazy and it didn't last long before it stopped working. So I wouldn't recommend it. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

So Short Life

Date:April 17, 2014
" Fine looking product, but it stopped work after 1 year and 1 month of use "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Garrison Oil Heater

Date:March 14, 2014
" Good for extra heat in rooms of colder small homes. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Langley
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great heater!

Date:March 1, 2014
" Bought when it was 50% off.
It's a simple but very good heater, no assembly required.
The Eco Mode switch on bottom basically sets the heater to 23degr. C and then automatically lowers the power consumption to 600W when 23degr. C is reached no matter what the heat setting dial is set to.
Great value for the money.
"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Stopped working after less than 1.5 years

Date:February 18, 2014
" We used it off and on to heat the basement. It worked well but only lasted a year and a half. All of a sudden it won't turn on. Very disappointed considering it wasn't used much and was well taken care of. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Duncan, BC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Two in a row frapped

Date:December 12, 2013
" My first one had a faulty thermostat and unit was replaced no problem by Canadian Tire. The second went for almost two years but now is leaking oil and will have to be disposed of. Disappointing as I still have a heater from my father that must be 40 years old and it still works. They sure don't make products like they used to. I will look for another brand. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Easy to use, decent amount of heat

Date:December 9, 2013
" The heater was very strait forward to setup and use. It gave off quite a bit of heat but for the size of our living area you had to be sitting very close to it.
Worked for about a week and then refused to turn back on. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Started Leaking Oil After One Year

Date:December 5, 2013
" Purchased this heater in September 2012, used it for one winter, started leaking oil in November 2013, right after the one year warranty had expired. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC, Canada

Not enough Heated Space

Date:May 31, 2013
" I really did not like this product. I am not a fan of any oil based Electric Heater since the heat they generate is just not enough compared to that of a coil heater. For that cozy feeling I may as well just use the fireplace and conserve my electricity. "
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chilliwack, BC, Canada

Excellent heater

Date:May 30, 2013
" I bought this in 2003 and it works like a charm. The price has dropped considerably since then as I paid $80 with tax. Just dust it off after it's been sitting all summer. Easy to move around, even on carpets. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

A workhorse

Date:May 13, 2013
" I purchased this from Canadian Tire a couple of winters ago and it is not only still working but still working as well as the day I bought it. It is a total workhorse and has helped keep my oil bill in check. Nice being warm in the winter and this heater does the job. When the weather is above the freezing point (but still cold) I don't even need to use oil, since I just keep it in the room with me. When the outside temp dips below zero, I still keep it on to warm the room I'm in but the oil furnace is on to keep the pipes in the rest of the house from freezing. My electric bill went up but not as much as it would have cost to heat my home to a comfortable level with oil. Would recommend this to a friend. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

stay away from this product

Date:May 5, 2013
" The first one broke within one year, the exchanged one broke again within one year. I had two of these and none of them was working more than a season. Now I am out of warranty.
Don't buy anything from this brand. A manufacturer who is unable to make a product that would last a year should not survive in the market. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Garrison Oil Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON, Canada

A lot of heat!

Date:April 6, 2013
" I bought this to heat my addition to my mobile home-was impressed at how it warmed up the unit within 24 hours after being closed up for the winter. Quiet and had no trouble with odor. We had -14 with the windchill here the first night and my only other heat source was a small ceramic heater. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5