Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace

Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace

Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace has 4 quartz infrared heat elements, with stainless steel diffusers, that last up to 20,000 hoursHeat up to 1000 sq.ft. with the Low (750W) and the High (1500W) heat settings and save on your energy bill with low energy consumptionPlatinum Portable Furnace provides the safest form of zone heating with its cool to touch body that is safe around children, pets and furnitureFeatures an easy to read LED digital display, electronic analogue thermostat to maintain an even room temperature and an ultra quiet scroll fanCompact durable wood design makes the Furnace stylish and compliments any home decorSet the 12 hour delay start timer for a warm room at any timeProvide heat in any room of your home with the smooth gliding castersFeatures a washable lifetime electrostatic pre-filter that traps allergens and air born dust particlesIncludes optional replacement charcoal filter, remote control for easy use, and cord wrap on back of machine for convenient storageNo installation required, just plug in and heat with the 110V plugAuto-On setting available during power failuresFurnace is safe for your home with no risk of fire or burningDimensions: 17.5" x 11.5" x 16" (44 x 29 x 41 cm)
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Review 1 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

***EXCELLENT***

Date:November 19, 2013
"Great heater...heats my 220 square foot living room in basement nicely...this model being the premium model I believe the build quality is sure to last many years...excellent"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Middleton, NS, Canada

Not as advertised, should be more clear!

Date:April 5, 2013
"Before picking this up, I read the side of adjacent heater boxes and they were indicating Infrared heaters to be best suited as directional heaters. I don't recall reading anything about this portable furnace being directional, so I ignored that info and purchased anyway. Bad move.
By the write-up of this heater, it sounded more like positioned generally anywhere in the room, it would be capable of heating anywhere from 500-1000 sq feet. I knew 1000 is a total stretch but I figured that 500 sq ft was reasonable. Even though another customer reported that it couldn't even do 350 sq ft. I should have listened to him.
The small amount of heat generated is EXTREMELY DIRECTIONAL. BE WARNED!! Literally the heat it emits is a very narrow cone, that dissipates after roughly 6 feet, operating at MAX capacity (32 degrees c - high setting). If you step out of this 'cone' you would think that it's not producing any heat at all. Extremely noticeable if there is a bit of a chill in the house. Since the heat dissipates so rapidly and easily, it doesn't heat up the ambient air what-so-ever if it's in an open location. I haven't tried, but I'm sure if in a bedroom with the door closed, or in a very enclosed area it may work better. But advertising up to 1000 sq ft is bogus. Even 500 would be a stretch. I can see why the price dropped on it just the other day from 399 to 299... 299 being the new 'regular' price.
If I wanted a directional heater, and it was clearly indicated on the box, it would receive stars. But I thought I was purchasing a portable furnace that would actually warm up a room."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick, Canada

Piece of Junk!!

Date:March 26, 2013
"Right out the box it didnt work right. Stayed on making the room hot then the display went blank so no functions worked so I turned it off and it worked for awhile but the display went blank again except the #6 was on the display.After a day of trying to figure out what was wrong I returned it and got the model ábove this made by another company and it works flawlessly and puts out more even heat. Far better quality for $40 more. Dont waste your time with this...5yr warranty on the elements is a joke because the electronics is cheap which only has a 1yr warranty..
This model and the one below are exclusive to CT so it's impossible to price compare or get other reviews. I can't say it enough...dont buy this heater.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bobcaygeon, ON

Regret spending so much for so little result

Date:January 11, 2013
"From what I had searched and read, I thought this was going to be a great energy-saving heating solution for a cottage room. Pay up for quality and get results, right? WRONG!!
A 350 square foot space - fully insulated 2x6 walls, ceiling and floor - and this 'furnace' doesn't come close to keeping it warm! I have gone back to using my two 500 watt plug-in baseboard heaters which easily keep the room comfortable. The 'furnace' is now a simple end table and an expensive reminder of purchasing folly."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buckhorn, ON K0L, Canada

Remote

Date:December 5, 2012
"What does the H/L mean on the remote?
Really like the fast heat.
Bonus having a remote.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Don't buy

Date:January 12, 2012
"It's an overpriced space heater. It won't efficiently heat "800-1000 sq. ft."
The other reviews that claim lower bills probably aren't taking into account that it's been unseasonably warm for large portions of the country.
The only benefit of this over an electric baseboard is the portability, and the only benefit over most other space heaters is a reasonably accurate thermostat (most are terrible).
If it gets more people using space heaters and lowering their furnaces, then that's a good thing, but if you actually measure and do the math you'll find that the payback on this overly expensive space heater is years, not months, and that's assuming that electricity rates don't go much higher (and if you're in a Time-of-day rate system, even longer!)."
+72points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for topping up your heat.

Date:December 28, 2011
"If you have an oil furnace like I have, and a small living space (like <1000sqft), you can put this heater in your house and leave it a degree below what your furnace is set at as it says in the instructions. Seems to be saving on the oil bills....maybe puts an extra $15-$20 on the electric bill a month but it's hard to tell with electricity. Too bad it didn't have a timer on it, i'm looking for one with a timer now."
+49points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Quartz Infrared Platinum Portable Furnace
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kincardine, Ontario

Best purchase

Date:January 10, 2011
"We bought this product to heat our 500 square foot main floor. We used to heat it with 2 baseboard heaters, one rated at 1000 watts and the other rated at 2500 watts. It never really felt warm even though they ran non stop. This heater has been a god send. It is warm and I barely have to use a humidifier. The heat is consistent and it actually cycles out whereas the baseboard heaters never did. Recommend this product it works exactly like advertised. And yes the cabinet is real wood."
+115points
Was this review helpful to you?