Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Electric Fans or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in

Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in

Tower fan features 3 speed settingsLED display with remoteBuilt-in night lightEnergy-saving timer40" (102 cm) oscillating
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
33 of 42(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Review 1 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

GREAT!

Date:October 21, 2014
"This is exactly what we needed! Will deffinitly recommened to anyone using for a small space!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product

Date:October 16, 2014
"Nice and versatile. Definitely helps keep the room nice and cool."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Doesn't rotate anymore

Date:July 16, 2014
"Bought two of these fans last year and they worked pretty good but plugging them back in this year, neither of them will rotate anymore. I'd like to know if there is an easy fix to get them rotating again"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does what is says on the label

Date:June 11, 2014
"Easy to install with it up and running in less than 10 mins. Not noisy and rotation works fine."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Cool

Date:May 20, 2014
"This product rocks by far one of the best purchases ive made at Canadian Tire."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Squeaks and weak, worst fan ever

Date:April 9, 2014
"Bought this to try as the Noma black tower ion fans we loved so very much are no longer available as Garrison took them over and changed the excellent product that Noma had to poor quality Garrison products. This fan started squeaking within a few days, you had to wiggle it to eliminate the squeak and within two weeks we could no longer leave it on rotate as it squeaked incessantly. I suspect that has something to do with the top heavy design with the cone shaped base - not near as stable as a straight base. Never did put out much of a breeze and had poor coverage and cooling power. We lost the reciept or it would have gone back then. It limped along for the rest of the season and ended up trash shortly after. Worst fan I've ever bought. So ticked off they quit making Noma fans and swapped this junk out for a decent product. Frustrating."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Fan - Works better in cooler rooms

Date:June 29, 2013
"This is a great fan, does not take so much space. It doesn't really blow cool air if weather in the room is hot. It is quite cheap and you won't regret buying it."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON, Canada

Stopped Rotating - very disappointing!

Date:May 22, 2013
"After less than one year of being purchased the fan's swivel feature no longer works. It was purchased for our daughters bedroom last July and only used during the summer of last year. It basically sat in the bedroom unused for the following 7+ months. However, when my daughter turned it on fort the first time last week the swivel function no longer works so it just blows air in one direction."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint John, NB, Canada

Great working fan

Date:May 14, 2013
"I bought this fan a couple years ago and it still works great and blows a lot of air. Keep me cool on a hot day!"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible

Date:April 2, 2013
"We purchased this fan about two months ago. It has a now started squeaking and is very noisy. We used this fan for white noise in our baby's bedroom, it is now too loud to use. I could not recommend this product."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

disappointed

Date:July 14, 2012
"I bought the fan in September of 2011 and by July of 2012 (only about 2.5 months of use) it's already not working properly. It does move the air well, but it doesn't rotate anymore. Wouldn't recommend it to others if they want a fan that will rotate."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oromocto, NB

Not impressed

Date:July 1, 2012
"I bought this fan last September and after light use it just stopped working on me a few days ago. The fan itself was pretty good, it moved more air than expected and I found it to be fairly quiet, unfortunately it doesn't last very long. Compared to my other 2 pedestal fans which I use almost 24/7 and have had for 4 years now I am rather disappointed in this one. For the price I would say you're better off getting a couple of pedestal fans."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Great Unit - No Regrets

Date:June 10, 2012
"This is an awesome unit that is worth ever penny. It uses a cylinder fan that moves a tremendous pillar of air. I have been using this unit for several months now, in a 400sq.ft. living area and it has to this point, with proper positioning, replaced the need to use the air conditioning in the room.
The unit is quiet, smooth, looks good and has all the features you could possibly need for a room fan. The remote function is, as you would expect, a very nice convenience and the sleep timer also comes in useful. There are three pieces to assemble, but fear not because there is nothing difficult about it.
If I were to have any personal complaints about this unit, which I really don’t, they would be; one speed lower than the low setting would be nice, (to date I haven’t had the need to use any setting higher than ‘low’, not to mention that the room where the unit is being used the high setting just makes a mess as it blows stuff around like a hurricane wind.) The column of air does not leave the unit at a ninety degree angle from the face, which leads to - it would be nice if you could adjust the oscillation range, but you can’t. And lastly, I would have set-up the buttons on the five function remote differently.
As I said in the opening here I think this is a great unit and it is well worth the retail price. If you happen to find this unit on sale it would be a great deal. In this users opinion, regardless of its price-range this unit should definitely be in your top three for consideration, if you are comparing units."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, Ontario

Good Fan Bad Oscillator

Date:September 3, 2011
"I purchased this fan back in May of 2010 just before this very hot summer. The fan itself is very good and I can live with the loud beeping, but it's now the end of August and the Oscillating part of the fan has now stopped working.
Granted I've been running this thing all summer, but I would have though that it would have lasted longer than 3 months.
I looked at the bottom and it does look like cheap plastic where the oscillation takes place, so I'm going to return it for something else."
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:July 18, 2011
"I did not want to buy a window air conditioner as the place I'm in now is only temporary. After looking at several options I decided to go with this unit.
This fan is great, there is a temperature difference between the floors and it keeps the main level (open concept) cool. When there is a heat wave it does not compare to air conidtioning, but for the rest of the time it's fantastic.
I would not recommend sleeping with it on, the fan is quiet enough if you're used to white noise, but the lights on the display definetely wake you up."
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON

works great for us in the basement

Date:July 12, 2011
"This was a replacement fan for our TV room in the basement. We had a Kaz fan( CT brand) before and loved the way the remote fit back in the tower. One remote I didn't have to look for. This Garrison seemed to be the answer for us. I have learned over the years that items under $ 120.00 are disposable after the warranty expires. Buy this fan on sale, you can't go wrong, just keep an eye on the remote!! The fan is quiet and has worked well so far"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:June 22, 2011
"I purchased this fan for the express reason that the prior reviews noted how quiet it is. We have not had that experience at all. After having to return the first faulty fan, we got this fan set up and found it was much louder than even some of our old stands and was not at all suitable for our kids' rooms."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moncton NB

Great fan

Date:June 6, 2011
"Very quiet, and moves cool air quite a distance.
One thing....there is no ionizer on this fan, so reviews mentioning ionizer are not talking about "Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in". Nor an option to turn nightlight on/off (not even a nightlight really, just a blue glowing spot to find the fan in the dark)"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick

Heaven in a fan!

Date:September 3, 2010
"My husband bought this fan for me in the middle of a heat wave. I was skeptical over the cooling ability of a fan and never thought it would work. This fan is amazing. There is next to no noise from the unit other than the ruffling of whatever is in front of it. It was super easy to assemble. Just take it out of the box, add the foot and you're good to go. The beep on the control/remote is a little loud, since we're using it in our bedroom it is startling if someone changes the controls through the night. The blue LED light on it seems useless to me, but does not affect the performance of the fan. There are 3 levels, with a swivel action. I haven't even played with much more of it because I'm too busy relaxing in front of it. Great buy!!!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Garrison Tower Fan with Remote Control, 40-in
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fan the flames

Date:July 31, 2010
"A very good fan that doesn't take up much space and really beats the heat. I will agree with other reviewers that the beep it makes is intrusive, especially when you want to change the settings when others are sleeping. I guess it depends on how much you've destroyed your hearing. Otherwise, I highly recommend it."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2