Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron

Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron

Professional steam iron uses digital control with full range fabric and temperature settings3 way auto shutoff1400 wattsStainless steel soleplateVertical steamSteam surge and spray mistAuto Clean system360 degree pivoting, flexible power cordComfort grip handle
Average Customer Rating:
3.879 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
23 of 33(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Review 1 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Saint John, NB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily

THIS IS WHY YOU SHOULD NOT BUY THIS IRON

Date:December 31, 2015
" I gave it a two star. I don't like B & D period. Cheap stuff and yes I fell for it again because of it's price.
Does it steam? Yes it does that. Here the 'but':
The little cap on the front of this iron that you need to lift in order to fill the water is placed in such an idiot way that you have to tilt the iron with one hand while you fill it with the other
Getting the cap of will cost you a nail. Every time.
The water resevoir only hold an x amount of water. So after this thing has been blazing steam for a couple of minutes (it blows a bunch of steam everytime you place it on its back which is useless, you loose all that water. Every time).
You start filling up the reservoir again after breaking another nail, the iron is hot not so you better not spill water through that tiny hole:
and here is the kicker: (THIS IS WHY YOU SHOULD NOT BY THIS IRON): you cannot see how far filled the water reservoir is. The plastic is simply too dark. You think "I'll get it to MAX" but the plastic is so thick you can not see the waterline. So what happens. You spill a bunch of water on your garment and your swear while you are depping up all the water.
Poor poor product. Typically Black & Decker. Now you don't have to believe me. Try it for yourself. See if I'm wrong. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:morris manitoba
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

super deal

Date:October 29, 2015
" We have this iron for 4 years,love the long cord ,only a little water dripping sometimes..very satisfied costomer great price when on sale "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North York, Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

1.5 years not working well

Date:October 21, 2015
" hi , i have been using it from 1.5 years working well thank god . no issues , steaming system is awesome specially when you have un ironed clothes . thanks a lot . "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does exactly what it should

Date:October 16, 2015
" I've had this iron for several years now, and it works quite well. It has a nice heft to it, and does the job. I personally have not had any problems with leaks, though it did take me a while to figure out how to open the water reservoir (when it is lying down with the pointed tip away from you, pull the metal door towards you forcefully, and voila). It is a great deal when on sale. Recommended. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Iron

Date:October 15, 2015
" Great price, it does a great job and easy to use.
Great steam and glides easily over fabric.
Very Affordable!
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great iron

Date:July 14, 2015
" I purchased this iron over a year ago, and I love it.
I have had many irons over the years, and this one tops them all.
It has amazing steam power and really gets the wrinkles out. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Love it

Date:April 5, 2015
" I purchased this 4 months back & it does excellent job perfect professional iron for an affordable price ..
Auto cleaning and steam Iron works perfectly . "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Beamsville, Lincoln, ON L0R, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Leaks

Date:March 8, 2015
" Bought this iron on Thursday and uses it today(Sunday) for the first time . Had a very hard time opening the water reservoir .the cup that is provided is too small. Need to fill it four times to fill the iron. It leaks on the clothes when ironing ,leaves water marks . Also leaks when picking it up from the standing position from the bottom of the iron. Will be returning today. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Swivel cord faulty, now not working

Date:October 20, 2014
" It has been just over two years since I bought the iron and now it has stopped working. I need to hold the cord in a certain position and it still turns off. I was excited to buy this iron because of the no leak iron claim. ( Tired of those that do). However I found this one leaked too right from the get-go. No biggy. Didn't bother to return it just for that reason. It worked well otherwise up until today, when the cord started to give me grief. Will try a different one for my next iron "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

best ever used

Date:October 15, 2014
" I have used it and no doubt the best I used it
I would recommend it
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

stopped working

Date:September 30, 2014
" Sooo, i've had this iron for over a year. What do you think happened. It stopped working. The swivel cord ball? where the cord is connected is i believe the problem as when you put the iron to rest its pressing on the cord. POOR design.
When is worked, did a great job. Never had an issue with putting water in it like others reported. Not sure why they had issues. Heated up and steamed well.
I'm going to contact B&D to see what can be done. The warranty period is over and i'm pretty sure i don't have the bill.. ARGGGGG.... never again will i buy an iron whose swivel cord is in the way of the base
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada

Amazing iron

Date:August 20, 2014
" Don't listen to the negative reviewers focusing on making a mountain out of a molehill.
This iron is amazing for the price. It's extremely hot, east to use, well built, has powerful steam functions and I expect it will be with us for many many years. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

do NOT buy this

Date:August 14, 2014
" poorest ever iron I bought in my whole life!! it is not warn enough, the continuous steaming function is poor and not efficient, worse is the water reservoir that is continuously leaking water!
so if you like poor ironing with constantly wet hand because of water leaks from water filling area, buy it... otherwise run away from this one!! "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

"Apperance and Use"

Date:December 22, 2013
" Like the sleek lines of a sports car it's well designed and impressive , however it is unfortunate , we can not open the water holding tank reservoir without damage to find out how well this unit performs.. instructions for use are vague, seeing is believing or back to the store for a refund with receipt in hand. Please advise to our options. Thanking you in advance. The roads are sheets of ice, no go to-day. "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Returned it the next day

Date:September 24, 2013
" It took forever to open the water reservoir for the initial use, and never changed. The force you need to open the reservoir could cause someone to break it off. The manual steam burst works in delayed timing i.e. you press for steam then you wait to see if it gives out a burst or not. The water sprayer will definitely break (you can tell by the way it reacts/recoil when depressed). Lastly the steam/water spray adjuster is made of plastic, which will definitely break more sooner than later "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best iron I've ever bought

Date:September 7, 2013
" As a seamstress I've gone through my fair share of different irons. But this one is great, I love it! It is so easy to use, holds a ton of water, and heats up quickly. I found the water reservoir very easy to open and the little cup included to fill the iron is super handy. I am so happy with this iron, hopefully the last one I will have to buy for a long time. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Would not buy again.

Date:June 27, 2013
" This iron works very well, but we hate the bilingual labels - something we'll avoid next time. "
-55points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olds, AB

loving it!

Date:May 19, 2013
" I've had this iron a couple of months and am very pleased with it. There is no comparison to the way it takes out wrinkles compared to my last iron. Great steam and heat. Some complain about the loading of the water. It is hard to open the little lid, but I just leave it slightly open so I don't have to struggle with trying to pry it open every time. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Athabasca, AB

How to Open the Fill Tank

Date:May 8, 2013
" Black & Decker is a great name, and this iron was 50% off. What a deal! I got it home and tried to open the reservoir. The plastic nobbin wouldn't open. I didn't want to break it, so I twisted and turned and pulled carefully. I went online to see which way the lid opened. I found many reviews asking the same thing. I finally got my husband to try to pry it open, but no go. I finally took the iron back to Canadian Tire and they were very good about the refund. I got a Sunbeam iron instead.
To be fair - since I wasn't able to use the product, I can't say anything about the iron's performance.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:winnipeg

my mom says its fantastic

Date:January 18, 2013
" she has been using it for 5 months and has absolutely no complaints. she irons for 2hr at a time, holds alot of water, extra large sole plate. she says it gives "a ton of steam when u need it" she has a grave yard in the basement of 100$ irons and none where as good as this "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2