Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron

Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron

Professional steam iron uses digital control with full range fabric and temperature settings3 way auto shutoff1400 wattsStainless steel soleplateVertical steamSteam surge and spray mistAuto Clean system360 degree pivoting, flexible power cordComfort grip handle
Average Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
17 of 25(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Review 1 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Swivel cord faulty, now not working

Date:October 20, 2014
"It has been just over two years since I bought the iron and now it has stopped working. I need to hold the cord in a certain position and it still turns off. I was excited to buy this iron because of the no leak iron claim. ( Tired of those that do). However I found this one leaked too right from the get-go. No biggy. Didn't bother to return it just for that reason. It worked well otherwise up until today, when the cord started to give me grief. Will try a different one for my next iron"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

best ever used

Date:October 15, 2014
"I have used it and no doubt the best I used it
I would recommend it
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

stopped working

Date:September 30, 2014
"Sooo, i've had this iron for over a year. What do you think happened. It stopped working. The swivel cord ball? where the cord is connected is i believe the problem as when you put the iron to rest its pressing on the cord. POOR design.
When is worked, did a great job. Never had an issue with putting water in it like others reported. Not sure why they had issues. Heated up and steamed well.
I'm going to contact B&D to see what can be done. The warranty period is over and i'm pretty sure i don't have the bill.. ARGGGGG.... never again will i buy an iron whose swivel cord is in the way of the base
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada

Amazing iron

Date:August 20, 2014
"Don't listen to the negative reviewers focusing on making a mountain out of a molehill.
This iron is amazing for the price. It's extremely hot, east to use, well built, has powerful steam functions and I expect it will be with us for many many years."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

do NOT buy this

Date:August 14, 2014
"poorest ever iron I bought in my whole life!! it is not warn enough, the continuous steaming function is poor and not efficient, worse is the water reservoir that is continuously leaking water!
so if you like poor ironing with constantly wet hand because of water leaks from water filling area, buy it... otherwise run away from this one!!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

"Apperance and Use"

Date:December 22, 2013
"Like the sleek lines of a sports car it's well designed and impressive , however it is unfortunate , we can not open the water holding tank reservoir without damage to find out how well this unit performs.. instructions for use are vague, seeing is believing or back to the store for a refund with receipt in hand. Please advise to our options. Thanking you in advance. The roads are sheets of ice, no go to-day."
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Returned it the next day

Date:September 24, 2013
"It took forever to open the water reservoir for the initial use, and never changed. The force you need to open the reservoir could cause someone to break it off. The manual steam burst works in delayed timing i.e. you press for steam then you wait to see if it gives out a burst or not. The water sprayer will definitely break (you can tell by the way it reacts/recoil when depressed). Lastly the steam/water spray adjuster is made of plastic, which will definitely break more sooner than later"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best iron I've ever bought

Date:September 7, 2013
"As a seamstress I've gone through my fair share of different irons. But this one is great, I love it! It is so easy to use, holds a ton of water, and heats up quickly. I found the water reservoir very easy to open and the little cup included to fill the iron is super handy. I am so happy with this iron, hopefully the last one I will have to buy for a long time."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Would not buy again.

Date:June 27, 2013
"This iron works very well, but we hate the bilingual labels - something we'll avoid next time."
-49points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olds, AB

loving it!

Date:May 19, 2013
"I've had this iron a couple of months and am very pleased with it. There is no comparison to the way it takes out wrinkles compared to my last iron. Great steam and heat. Some complain about the loading of the water. It is hard to open the little lid, but I just leave it slightly open so I don't have to struggle with trying to pry it open every time."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Athabasca, AB

How to Open the Fill Tank

Date:May 8, 2013
"Black & Decker is a great name, and this iron was 50% off. What a deal! I got it home and tried to open the reservoir. The plastic nobbin wouldn't open. I didn't want to break it, so I twisted and turned and pulled carefully. I went online to see which way the lid opened. I found many reviews asking the same thing. I finally got my husband to try to pry it open, but no go. I finally took the iron back to Canadian Tire and they were very good about the refund. I got a Sunbeam iron instead.
To be fair - since I wasn't able to use the product, I can't say anything about the iron's performance.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:winnipeg

my mom says its fantastic

Date:January 18, 2013
"she has been using it for 5 months and has absolutely no complaints. she irons for 2hr at a time, holds alot of water, extra large sole plate. she says it gives "a ton of steam when u need it" she has a grave yard in the basement of 100$ irons and none where as good as this"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON

it is great (so far)

Date:December 17, 2012
"just got it earlier. it delivers plenty of steam, easy to glide, not too heavy (or light). easy to fill tank, no leaking, no dripping. cord is long enough. looks solid, hope it will last. 1yr cantire warranty and 2yr from the manufacturer, i am keeping the receipt !"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

no no no

Date:October 1, 2012
"I have had it 2 days. It started spraying water when it steamed right away. I tried less water, lower temp, self cleaning function and it still drips water all over the clothes after a few minutes of steam. Ruined a silk shirt and I am taking it back today.
The reason I bought it was it was 50%off and it has a large reservoir. In the end, those were the only things I liked about it.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Super product

Date:August 11, 2012
"This iron was much larger than our last one, but that makes ironing that much easier. Gets very hot and did a great jobs on our clothes."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

different - but I like it

Date:July 24, 2012
"When I needed a new iron, there were a couple of choices half price. This was one of them. These are the positives - there is an 8 foot cord which swivels. It has a big stainless steel sole plate with lots of vents for steam right up to the point. The water reservoir is very large & the water level is very easy to see through the blue plastic cover. It uses tap water. There is a blinking light when the iron is heating up & a solid light when it is up to the right temperature. The controls are easy to see, read & use. The thumb control for the steam slides easily & is not in notches. There is an automatic shut-off with a white blinking light that is clearly visible when the iron stands still for longer than 8 minutes or if tips, it will shut off in 30 seconds. The handle is comfortable to hold. On the minor, negative side, the water reservoir lid opens up from the bottom & initially I found it difficult to open since there was nothing in the directions to indicate how exactly it opened. My previous irons opened at the top. The cup provided for filling the reservoir is tiny & useless. Use another, larger cup for filling the reservoir. It is a little heavier than some other irons but it may be due to the steel sole plate. I'm happy with it. I think if it wasn't for the tiny filling cup & the difficulty opening the reservoir, I would have been able to give it 5 stars. It will do the job very nicely."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Fantastic Iron

Date:July 19, 2012
"This iron delivers as promised - it's a great steam producer and heats up quickly. The weight helps you iron more efficiently, and the stainless sole plate makes the surface glide easily over fabrics.
My only quibble is with the plastic water cup included to fill the water tank - it's so tiny that it would take 8 of these cupfuls to fill the reservoir! Better to use a different measuring cup and fill the water reservoir efficiently.
"
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My wife said this is the best iron she ever had

Date:June 1, 2012
"Well I tell you I am a man and I don't know nothing about this but I will tell you one day I was looking something on my laptop and my wife was ironing something with this iron and she was like wow this is the best iron I ever had on my hand and it does a excellence job so thats Y I decided to spend e few minutes and write a short comment about this iron."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Excellent Performer

Date:December 21, 2009
"Worked great right out of the box. Great steam, excellent steam burst, nice fine mist sprayer, glides easily over fabric, nicely balanced, stable when standing on ironing board. Solid build."
+46points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Black & Decker Professional Steam Iron
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto

At last, an iron that works!

Date:December 8, 2008
"What a pleasure to use an iron that actually.... irons! Easy to use, glides like a charm. Has a real powerful shot-of-steam feature, the digital display is illuminated and easy to read. The only thing I don't like is that it is not easy to see the water level in the compartment, which is made of dark red plastic. Also, the cord is a bit on the short side. But these are minor issues, considering the other qualities of the device."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2