Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Stand Mixer

Cuisinart Stand Mixer

800W motor5.2L (5.5 qt) stainless-steel bowl12 mixing speeds including fold functionDigital countdown timerIncludes whisk, flat mixing paddle, dough hook and splashguardThree speed outlets for attachments (attachments sold separately)Model number SM-55C
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
31 of 36(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Review 1 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Buy

Date:June 6, 2013
"Just love this mixer and it mixes bread dough with ease.Got this one on sale."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Timmins, ON, Canada

Great Product

Date:May 24, 2013
"Very happy with this product. Although I do not get the opportunity to use it often, it is definitely worth having for big cooking jobs."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa

Very durable

Date:May 23, 2013
"This is an excellent machine with a pasta attachment that I purchased seperately. I use it to make bread, cakes, cookies, dips for vegitables, whipped potatoes, creams, pudding, you name it. My previous mixer vibrated all over but this is stable and durable. I love it."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome product

Date:May 23, 2013
""I have owned this mixer for about 2 years and I love it!! Yes it is a bit loud but what do you expect with an 800 watt motor! There is nothing on the market even close to that kind of power unless you purchase industrial and that will cost you so much more! It makes amazing pie dough that you don't even have to touch."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:May 18, 2013
"So good it got my wife to stay in the kitchen to make me food!"
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cobourg, ON, Canada

Love it

Date:May 15, 2013
"I've had this mixer for a couple of years now and totally love it.
Only a couple of problems. One is that when there is a large quantity of bread dough in the bowl it works it's way up to the top of the dough hook and then goes over.
The other problem is that I wish there were more attachments. For instance, I would love a smaller bowl to use for smaller recipes.
Overall, it is a fantastic machine and it doesn't mind being worked hard!
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Espanola, ON, Canada

awesome mixer

Date:May 15, 2013
"I have owned this mixer for about 2 years and I love it!! Yes it is a bit loud but what do you expect with an 800 watt motor! There is nothing on the market even close to that kind of power unless you purchase industrial and that will cost you so much more! It makes amazing pie dough that you don't even have to touch. The timer and wide range of speeds make overmixing a thing of the past! If you do a lot of baking THIS is the mixer for you!!"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Wilton 9-inch Angled Spatula
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, On

Still going strong

Date:May 15, 2013
"Got this mixer as a gift for Christmas when the model came out. I've used it almost every day since I opened the box.
The mixing power coupled with the whisk are great for making meringues and I use the paddle for icings, stiff buttercreams and even potatoes.
Loved it when I opened it, love it still."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Loving My Mixer

Date:May 15, 2013
"We bought this mixer about a month ago and i would not want to be without it anymore! Its powerful and versatile, i have even mixed up a batch of buns with it with no problems whatsoever. It's defiantly one of the best purchases we have ever made!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hardisty, AB, Canada

Absolutely love this mixer

Date:May 15, 2013
"I received this mixer for Christmas a year ago, I absolutely love it, I make fresh buns every week , makes anything and everything so easy."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina Sask

Great Mixer

Date:May 11, 2013
"I have to say the Cuisinart Mixer is a great machine! I love the power it has, way better than any Kitchenaid product. I've used it for making bread/bun dough, and can honestly say I love it! Has so many speeds, love the fact that it doesn't take up very much counter space either. You wont be disappointed if you get this mixer."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT, Canada

Mixed Feelings :)

Date:May 5, 2013
"I was so happy to finally get this mixer but I have had a few problems. When making bread, it seems to strain and has a burning smell so I let it cool off. Bread dough climbs up past the guard and into the gear. And I have to stop it and scrape the bowl to get all the cookie dough mixed. I now know there is an adjustment for this so when I use it again I will try it. Maybe Cuisinart will make a flexible beater to scrape the bowl."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Greatest Blender

Date:May 4, 2013
"I love this blender and wish I had bought it a long time ago."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada

Great Kitchen Appliance

Date:February 9, 2013
"Received this as a gift so can't say anything about the price. Unit is black, and looks very sharp in my kitchen, a very attractive unit. This unit is so easy to use, that my 10 year old nephew had it mixing cookie dough in just a few mins! The coating on the attachments lets dough, etc comes right off with a rinse under the tap, saving you having to try and get it out of nooks and crannies - a definite plus. This is a really powerful unit (mixes very dense dough with no problems) and sturdy. On high, doesn't wobble or shake, unlike my other brand name stand mixer. Bowl shape is a bit of a problem, even when I adjust the attachments it doesn't always reach the bottom edges. Quick swipe with a spatula solves the problem, though. Appreciate that the splashguard comes with this unit and not as an "extra" as on other brands."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:duncan bc

Cuisinart Stand Mixer

Date:August 27, 2012
"I love this product. I especially like the freedom it gives me to do other things while it is mixing. The splash guard is great too...best buy!!!!"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Move over Kitchenaid.

Date:August 24, 2012
"After the kitchen aid plastic gearbox fiasco, I'd decided that I would avoid ever buying a KA mixer. Knowing that the Cuisinart mixers were (essentially) the same parts and machinery as Kenwood mixers in the UK, we got one.
It has been fabulous, with massive amounts of torque and power; essential for kneading bread.
My only qualm is that the base is too light, and if you're mixing a bread dough, the machine has a tendency to rock and rattle. Much of this can be fixed by placing a rubber mat under the mixer, or hard-mounting it to a counter or table."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste Marie, ON

Keeps shutting off - smells like it's burning.

Date:January 8, 2012
"I received this mixer as a Christmas gift (which I chose myself). I successfully made two batches of bread (2 different time - 2 loaves each time). On the third time, the mixer kept shutting off during the kneading process. It would start again after about a minute of cooling down. This happened about 3 times in 5 minutes. I finished kneading the dough myself. There was 6 cups of flour in the bowl. The motor smelled liked it was burning and the outside of the mixer was very hot to touch. I don't know if this is just a lemon but I will be returning it and buying a Kitchenaid."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just LOVE it!!

Date:November 21, 2011
"800 watts !! what else is there to say! no disappointments!"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Terrace B.C.

Motor failed after 3 years

Date:November 18, 2011
"Motor just failed after 3 years of use. Used it a couple dozen times. Sending back to Cuisinart under 5 year motor warranty. Another customer who sent in a review seems to have had the same problem.
When it worked it did a great job."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Cuisinart Stand Mixer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BC

Better that the Kitchen Aid

Date:November 20, 2010
"Owned for about 4 months and so far have no complaints. Has the ability to handle the big jobs like double cookie batches and pasta dough. I was very lucky as purchased on sale and got the larger 7L capacity for the price of the smaller unit. Also have the pasta, blender and food processor attachments and again no complaints. My only wish is for an additional pasta attachement that will make pasta sheets and ravioli. Cuisinart stands behind there products with a 3 year warranty as opposed to kitchenaid's 1 year. Can't go wrong"
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2