Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Breadman Breadmaker

Breadman Breadmaker

Bread maker makes loaves of 1, 1.5 & 2 lbsIncludes: Breadman exclusive kneading paddle and exclusive automatic fruit and nut dispenserEven heat baking technology14 baking functions60 minute keep warm functionLarge viewing windowModel number BK1060BC
Average Customer Rating:
2.825 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
23
27 of 57(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Breadman Breadmaker
Review 1 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Deep River, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

The paddle-shaft is the problem

Date:November 7, 2014
"Despite many clever features, this machine has fatal flaws in its paddle, shaft, bearings and seal. The paddle is too loose a fit on the shaft, which quickly becomes worse with use. As well, the shaft bearing is not robust enough to withstand the forces during dough kneading. Once the bearing becomes loose, the seal is damaged and grease can leak out. The wobbling paddle then contacts the pan and scratches off the Teflon. This explains many of the complaints in other reviews. Please note that one must WEIGH the flour rather than measure it by volume using measuring cups. Excess flour can produce a dough too stiff for any machine. Knowing this, I have never subjected my machine to too heavy a dough. My unit is 3 years old and failed within the first year. I have since found two more barely-used Breadmen at our dump, both with the same problem and therefore useless for spare parts. It is very surprising that Canadian Tire continues to carry this flawed machine."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sointula, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works Really Well For What I Need

Date:October 19, 2014
"This machine bakes bread better than other machines I've had. It has a wide variety of choices of bread and a timer so you can set it and have the bread ready when you want it to be. I didn't really care for the recipes it came with. The paddle somehow scratched the pan even though it hadn't fallen off and has a rubber bumper, but it doesn't seem to affect the bread. There was grease in all the bread I made for the first while, until my boyfriend washed the whole pan. The bread size is a bit too large and I have to cut the bread in half to be able to fit a slice in the toaster. Despite all its quirks, I still love this bread maker after a couple of years."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midland, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Like

Date:October 17, 2014
"Just bought it about 2 weeks ago Love the bread but the little mixer still stays in the bread and not supposed to."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the best bread machine

Date:October 8, 2014
"This machine is really not worth the money i spent. It tends to not cook completely however the crust over bakes. It doesnt mix well, leaving a considerable amount of flour on the sides."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

pretty good despite bad reviews

Date:October 6, 2014
"I bought this on sale despite reading horrible reviews; I've only made two loaves so far (one white, one whole grain) and the whole grain one was the tastiest bread I have ever made (my Sunbeam died last month after 12 years of good service.) The machine runs very silently, not a lot of shaking, and the recipe book it comes with is better than any other product I've ever used. I was nervous about the paddle flipping down in the middle of mixing but nope, it popped right up and it's nice not to have that giant hole in the bottom of your bread. No grease in my bread, no Teflon.
Now, time will tell if it keeps up the good work but at first glance I'm happy with the purchase.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

piece of junk

Date:September 13, 2014
"I don't usually write reviews but with this piece of junk I felt I had a responsibility to warn other people from purchasing this machine. I have had this bread machine for over a year now and it still leaves teflon grease streaks in the bread. The paddle completely lifts of the post during the kneading cycle or when it doesn't the folding paddle folds down and the dough sits on top of it and doesn't get kneaded. Never once have had a satisfactory loaf of bread out of it. I had a B&D that is close to 20 years old and works better than this. I originally purchased this because of it fruit and nut dispenser which makes a horrible noise every cycle even when not being used. Please save yourself money time and aggravation and purchase a something else. ps I would give this a zero rating but the website won't let me."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Awkard shape

Date:June 3, 2014
"I bought this breadmaker about 8 month ago, it still leaves grey streaks of grease, but it sounds like they fixed that. Also I find the shape of the loave kind of awkard, never sure how to cut it. It makes okay bread and I like that the paddle collapses, so it doesn't stick in the bread like in other breadmakers"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

disgruntled

Date:May 19, 2014
"had this bread maker for 5months before exchanging in store , baked bread 4 to 5 times a week and never got a decent loaf in that time using several different recipes so gave up to try a Black and decker for half the price."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

No problems here

Date:March 24, 2014
"I read the reviews before I bought this as my first bread maker and figured what the heck. It has a two year warranty and others have successfully returned it so I bought it on sale. First off, the grease issue has been fixed about a year ago so if ur having that problem, you bought really old stock. Secondly, it appears as though the paddle has a rubber foot on the bottom to prevent scratching the bottom of the pan. So unless you beat the paddle or the pan I don't see the teflon wearing off. The teflon isn't top of the line quality but will be fine if you are cleaning it gently. I have baked three loaves of white and the unit has performed flawlessly. It looks like it has lots of great features so I can't wait to try some of the funkier recipes. The only negative so far is the instruction manual. I would recommend reading it end to end before making your first loaf. The organization is not great so there are little tips and tidbits of information on making good bread imbedded throughout the manual, that if missed will affect your bread. I will write another review as I use it more and by then I will hopefully be the king of the bread maker with my own talk show. Until then, check the date of manufacture before buying the unit, read the instruction manual, make sure you install the paddle properly and it should be all good."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not recommended

Date:March 21, 2014
"I have had several breadmakers - this is the worst one ever. The paddle constantly "falls down" when making the bread - even if I prop it up with ingredients - resulting in a pile of unmixed cooked dough. The paddle scrapes on the bottom of the pan causing the teflon to come off. Several times I have had "grease" streaks in my bread and rolls. The beeping to add ingredients or to advise that the cycle is done is annoying and excessive. I absolutely do not recommend this product."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor Quality

Date:February 9, 2014
"I am sorry I didn't read these reviews before I purchased it. I use it to make dough and it consistently leaves streaks of black in my dough. It is not as noticeable in the baked bread but when you are working with the dough it is very evident.."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor design

Date:February 6, 2014
"The paddle scratches the teflon in the pan. Teflon ends up in the bread."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Muskoka On
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

LOVE it!

Date:January 26, 2014
"I went with the Breadman machine after a disappointing experience with a B&D model. This is hands down a better machine. While it has only one paddle, it does the job well without over processing the dough & the fact that I don't have to yank it out or be left with a huge hole in the loaf is a major plus as I often gift them or bring to functions particularly around the holidays.
I have been using it for 1 - 6 loaves per week...sometimes 3 or 4 in one day...with absolutely zero issues. The option of a 'rapid' setting for more than just white (ie french & whole wheat too) saves both time & hydro!
The recipe book is well designed with spiral spine & quantities for differing sized loaves & has some real winners (try the Prune Poppyseed...they can't get enough!)
Cleaning is a breeze, as the top pops off & a mere rinse of the pan with hot water & it's ready to reuse.
The size & style make this my 1st breadmaker worthy of being kept on the counter & not hidden away.
If I could improve it I'd opt for a longer (vs tall) breadpan or perhaps the option to do two 1lb loaves at once like its big brother the pro version.
In short...
NO problems with the paddle or any residue
NO noise complaint
NO issues whatsoever
YES I would buy it again & recommend.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No

Design flaw causes teflon to get into dough

Date:January 5, 2014
"The paddle's collapsible design seems to cause a lot of imbalance. I found two things happening. First was that the paddle came off the shaft and stuck into the dough. It may depend on the density of the dough if this happens or not. But good thing it did, as that was when I discovered the Teflon was flaking off the paddle into the dough (photo shared - grey area is dough with Teflon contamination). I'm not sure if this is just due to the imbalance, or may also be poor bonding to the paddle's main material. Reading other reviews, looks like this is a general design flaw. Once Teflon starts to come off, it continues, making the product unusable even before the dough was finished. Even if it were inexpensive (which it is not), it is not acceptable for something making food.
I will grant that except for the paddle, it was pretty easy to clean. It is nice looking, flat top helps in storage, and I do like the program settings. All the moving parts in the paddle made it difficult to clean (well, a lot of it was no longer non-stick either). The recipe and instruction book spiral binding was appreciated. I am forgiving of the spelling mistakes in the recipe book to a limited extent, but once again, at the price they should try to have a professional edit and spell 'artisan' correctly. At least once.
Canadian Tire was great about taking it back (the day after purchase)."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Bad product

Date:January 4, 2014
"I would not recommend buying this machine. We received it for christmas and immediately we had problems with the kneading paddle coming off during the kneading cycle and grey greasy substance ruining the bread. Based on other reviews we read on line this appears to be a problem that many other people experienced as well with this model. We took it back to Can Tire and exchanged for a new one. Same problems with the new one and will be returning it again. I would not recommend this product."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Do not buy

Date:January 1, 2014
"I would not recommend buying this machine. We bought it for christmas and immediately we had problems with the kneading paddle coming off during the kneading cycle. You have to watch the machine and keep putting the paddle back on. After the second use of the machine a grey greasy substance was coming off the paddle and ruining the bread. Based on other reviews we read on line this appears to be a problem that many other people experienced as well with this model. It appears to be a design flaw. We are bringing it back to the Canadian Tire store."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best bread machine

Date:December 18, 2013
"I bought this product about 3 years ago and had problems with the paddle and finish wearing off bottom an sides, finally called CT and they said bring it back so, we packed it up and exchanged it for another. Seems the problem has been resolved and my new one works great. Was really glad because it makes great bread and love that I can bake a loaf in 1 hour. I use this machine 2 or3 times a week, love the bread it makes. Great machine and Great customer service Canadian Tire! So impressed we bought 1 for our daughter last Christmas."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works great!

Date:December 1, 2013
"i am new to bread making but this worked great.I followed the break in instructions.No problems."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maxville, ON K0C, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Machine

Date:November 15, 2013
"We bought this 3 weeks ago and have loved it. It's a great machine. We've used it for bread and dough so far. Like mentioned in other reviews, the problems the other people seem to have could be by abuse or misuse. It's a great machine."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK, Canada

To be avoided

Date:September 16, 2013
"I am sorry I did not read these reviews before we purchased this machine!!! That way we would have known about the Grease leak and the faulty paddle!!! Fortunately we were able to return this disaster and got a full refund. Certainly no replacement for our B &D machine that gave up after five years of faithful service. This machine was junk."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3