Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Breadman Breadmaker

Breadman Breadmaker

Bread maker makes loaves of 1, 1.5 & 2 lbsIncludes: Breadman exclusive kneading paddle and exclusive automatic fruit and nut dispenserEven heat baking technology14 baking functions60 minute keep warm functionLarge viewing windowModel number BK1060BC
Average Customer Rating:
2.843 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 star
21
24 of 51(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Breadman Breadmaker
Review 1 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Awkard shape

Date:June 3, 2014
"I bought this breadmaker about 8 month ago, it still leaves grey streaks of grease, but it sounds like they fixed that. Also I find the shape of the loave kind of awkard, never sure how to cut it. It makes okay bread and I like that the paddle collapses, so it doesn't stick in the bread like in other breadmakers"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

disgruntled

Date:May 19, 2014
"had this bread maker for 5months before exchanging in store , baked bread 4 to 5 times a week and never got a decent loaf in that time using several different recipes so gave up to try a Black and decker for half the price."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

No problems here

Date:March 24, 2014
"I read the reviews before I bought this as my first bread maker and figured what the heck. It has a two year warranty and others have successfully returned it so I bought it on sale. First off, the grease issue has been fixed about a year ago so if ur having that problem, you bought really old stock. Secondly, it appears as though the paddle has a rubber foot on the bottom to prevent scratching the bottom of the pan. So unless you beat the paddle or the pan I don't see the teflon wearing off. The teflon isn't top of the line quality but will be fine if you are cleaning it gently. I have baked three loaves of white and the unit has performed flawlessly. It looks like it has lots of great features so I can't wait to try some of the funkier recipes. The only negative so far is the instruction manual. I would recommend reading it end to end before making your first loaf. The organization is not great so there are little tips and tidbits of information on making good bread imbedded throughout the manual, that if missed will affect your bread. I will write another review as I use it more and by then I will hopefully be the king of the bread maker with my own talk show. Until then, check the date of manufacture before buying the unit, read the instruction manual, make sure you install the paddle properly and it should be all good."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not recommended

Date:March 21, 2014
"I have had several breadmakers - this is the worst one ever. The paddle constantly "falls down" when making the bread - even if I prop it up with ingredients - resulting in a pile of unmixed cooked dough. The paddle scrapes on the bottom of the pan causing the teflon to come off. Several times I have had "grease" streaks in my bread and rolls. The beeping to add ingredients or to advise that the cycle is done is annoying and excessive. I absolutely do not recommend this product."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Poor Quality

Date:February 9, 2014
"I am sorry I didn't read these reviews before I purchased it. I use it to make dough and it consistently leaves streaks of black in my dough. It is not as noticeable in the baked bread but when you are working with the dough it is very evident.."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor design

Date:February 6, 2014
"The paddle scratches the teflon in the pan. Teflon ends up in the bread."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Muskoka On
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

LOVE it!

Date:January 26, 2014
"I went with the Breadman machine after a disappointing experience with a B&D model. This is hands down a better machine. While it has only one paddle, it does the job well without over processing the dough & the fact that I don't have to yank it out or be left with a huge hole in the loaf is a major plus as I often gift them or bring to functions particularly around the holidays.
I have been using it for 1 - 6 loaves per week...sometimes 3 or 4 in one day...with absolutely zero issues. The option of a 'rapid' setting for more than just white (ie french & whole wheat too) saves both time & hydro!
The recipe book is well designed with spiral spine & quantities for differing sized loaves & has some real winners (try the Prune Poppyseed...they can't get enough!)
Cleaning is a breeze, as the top pops off & a mere rinse of the pan with hot water & it's ready to reuse.
The size & style make this my 1st breadmaker worthy of being kept on the counter & not hidden away.
If I could improve it I'd opt for a longer (vs tall) breadpan or perhaps the option to do two 1lb loaves at once like its big brother the pro version.
In short...
NO problems with the paddle or any residue
NO noise complaint
NO issues whatsoever
YES I would buy it again & recommend.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No

Design flaw causes teflon to get into dough

Date:January 5, 2014
"The paddle's collapsible design seems to cause a lot of imbalance. I found two things happening. First was that the paddle came off the shaft and stuck into the dough. It may depend on the density of the dough if this happens or not. But good thing it did, as that was when I discovered the Teflon was flaking off the paddle into the dough (photo shared - grey area is dough with Teflon contamination). I'm not sure if this is just due to the imbalance, or may also be poor bonding to the paddle's main material. Reading other reviews, looks like this is a general design flaw. Once Teflon starts to come off, it continues, making the product unusable even before the dough was finished. Even if it were inexpensive (which it is not), it is not acceptable for something making food.
I will grant that except for the paddle, it was pretty easy to clean. It is nice looking, flat top helps in storage, and I do like the program settings. All the moving parts in the paddle made it difficult to clean (well, a lot of it was no longer non-stick either). The recipe and instruction book spiral binding was appreciated. I am forgiving of the spelling mistakes in the recipe book to a limited extent, but once again, at the price they should try to have a professional edit and spell 'artisan' correctly. At least once.
Canadian Tire was great about taking it back (the day after purchase)."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Bad product

Date:January 4, 2014
"I would not recommend buying this machine. We received it for christmas and immediately we had problems with the kneading paddle coming off during the kneading cycle and grey greasy substance ruining the bread. Based on other reviews we read on line this appears to be a problem that many other people experienced as well with this model. We took it back to Can Tire and exchanged for a new one. Same problems with the new one and will be returning it again. I would not recommend this product."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Do not buy

Date:January 1, 2014
"I would not recommend buying this machine. We bought it for christmas and immediately we had problems with the kneading paddle coming off during the kneading cycle. You have to watch the machine and keep putting the paddle back on. After the second use of the machine a grey greasy substance was coming off the paddle and ruining the bread. Based on other reviews we read on line this appears to be a problem that many other people experienced as well with this model. It appears to be a design flaw. We are bringing it back to the Canadian Tire store."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best bread machine

Date:December 18, 2013
"I bought this product about 3 years ago and had problems with the paddle and finish wearing off bottom an sides, finally called CT and they said bring it back so, we packed it up and exchanged it for another. Seems the problem has been resolved and my new one works great. Was really glad because it makes great bread and love that I can bake a loaf in 1 hour. I use this machine 2 or3 times a week, love the bread it makes. Great machine and Great customer service Canadian Tire! So impressed we bought 1 for our daughter last Christmas."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works great!

Date:December 1, 2013
"i am new to bread making but this worked great.I followed the break in instructions.No problems."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maxville, ON K0C, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Machine

Date:November 15, 2013
"We bought this 3 weeks ago and have loved it. It's a great machine. We've used it for bread and dough so far. Like mentioned in other reviews, the problems the other people seem to have could be by abuse or misuse. It's a great machine."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK, Canada

To be avoided

Date:September 16, 2013
"I am sorry I did not read these reviews before we purchased this machine!!! That way we would have known about the Grease leak and the faulty paddle!!! Fortunately we were able to return this disaster and got a full refund. Certainly no replacement for our B &D machine that gave up after five years of faithful service. This machine was junk."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Summerside, PE
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent for price!

Date:September 2, 2013
"Over 2 years of use. At first, the novelty of baking bread made me make a loaf every other day, then it turned into about once a week. So, I have been steadily using my machine and have probably used it 100+ times in the past couple of years without issue.
Firstly, I'd like to note that, yes, where the paddle spins there is some wear that will cause some black substance to rub into the bread. It's usually at the bottom, usually very noticeable, easily picked out and does cease after a couple of months of use.
Secondly, the bread recipes that are included are ok, but any real bakers know that modifications for taste and texture are to be done for a personal result.
Thirdly, after using my machine for everything from sweet breads, simple french, jams, pizza dough and several experimental concoctions, I must say, it's a very versatile machine.
The timing functions are spot on. The power loss backup function is excellent. The loading tray is adequate. The heating element does it's job without creating hot spots and burning.
Overall, the design is good. Though I personally would prefer a longer loaf instead of taller. Had they designed it with 25% height and added that to the length, it would have been perfect.
The instructions are easy and simple. The look and design is sleek and stylish. The top is removable for easy cleanup.
At this price point, it's probably the best unit I have found."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Melville, SK S0A, Canada

WORST BREAD MAKER PURCHASE EVER!!

Date:July 13, 2013
"I was very excited about getting a new bread maker. I wore out my Home Hardware Baker Style Bread Machine!. But The Breadman is the worst! The paddle is useless(yes I followed directions). I do not understand why CT would put such a poor produce on their shelves. And to make my experience with this horrible bread maker even worse! The person who returned it before me, left flour and dried dough, or whatever that was, on the measuring spoon. The measuring cup had flour residue in it. I washed it all up and started my loaf. After it formed a ball of dough the paddle came off so many times, and there was grease in the dough after I dug it out time after time was disgusting! Needless to say I turned it off, took the grease filled dough and threw it in the garbage where it belonged! I cleaned up everything and packed it up and returning it! What a colossal disappointment, waste of money, and a waste of my time and ingredients! I plan to talk to the manager of Canadian Tire!"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Rowan, Ontario

Best Breadmaker

Date:May 21, 2013
"This is the third bread maker I've had and I am very pleased with it. The flip down paddle/ingredient receptacle/bread pan shape are all features that make it great. Its easy to clean as well. The bread comes out of the pan so easily and we always get a perfect loaf. I highly recommend it."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB, Canada

Breadman breadmaker is disappointing

Date:May 19, 2013
"I have tried many times to make French bread using the recipes listed in the accompanying recipe manual without any luck. I am taking this unit back to Canadian Tire for a refund. I wouldn't want to show any photos of the bread this unit makes"
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC, Canada

Not what i expected

Date:May 6, 2013
"Bought this machine two months ago. The paddle is not secured, always come off!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Breadman Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

Would not recommend

Date:May 5, 2013
"I bought this bread machine last year and use it regularly. I use it only to make dough and then I bake it in the oven myself as I don't like the result if it cooks it.
Also: it sometimes (maybe more times then I know because I'm not always here) has the paddle come off and then it can no longer mix the dough at all. Just today it came off 20 minutes into the cycle. Not sure what would have happened if I hadn't dug the paddle out, stuck it back on, and put it back in.
Also: it does also sometimes causing a blackness on the dough around the paddle and I don't understand why or what that is. So I try to pull out that part and throw it out hoping there isn't more mixed in."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3