Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Breadman Bread Maker

Breadman Bread Maker

Breadman Bread Maker makes loaves of 1, 1.5 & 2 lbsIncludes: Breadman exclusive kneading paddle and exclusive automatic fruit and nut dispenserEven heat baking technology14 baking functions60 minute keep warm functionLarge viewing windowModel number BK1060BC
Average Customer Rating:
2.803 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
28
31 of 66(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Breadman Bread Maker
Review 1 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

STOP! DON'T BUY THIS. IT'S A TERRIBLE PRODUCT

Date:May 4, 2016
" The reviews are all true about how bad this machine is. It's not fit for purpose. I won't even try to wonder how this made it out of product testing.
The paddle comes off while mixing the dough -- sometimes 5 to 6 times, it just falls off and you have to turn the machine off, and fish the paddle out of the dough and re-attach it. If you don't notice by the sound it has come off, you get a cooked mass of blobs of lumpen partially-mixed dried flour and water paste lumps in your pan.
AND it's true, this bread machine really does leave streaks and blobs of black oil throughout the dough. I have no idea if this is food safe black oil or not, but I've seen X-files and no way is that black oil goin' in me. I know what that black oil is all about.
The service at Breadman was good, the microsecond I even started to say "black oil" they were all over shipping me a free replacement pan -- it's the spindle in the pan that leaks the oil they told me -- but the deal breaker here for me is the paddle always collapsing and flying off in the middle of the job. It's a collapsible paddle all right, it collapses on ya right when you need it the most.
I have really tried to work with it, about 2 dozen loaves, but the results are always as described above.
DON'T BUY THIS AT ANY PRICE EVEN IF THEY GIVE IT TO YOU. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Decent machine

Date:April 5, 2016
" I have had this machine for 5 years, and have used it quite a lot. (Weekly). It is finally dying so I am going to be replacing it. (The motor is humming, trying to mix today's 1 1/2 lb loaf.) I do find the 2 lb loaf is too tall; not a true traditional loaf shape. The machine has also been quite noisey. I will be trying a different brand/model, for varieties sake "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

A great first bread maker!

Date:October 28, 2015
" This is the first bread maker I have bought. The screen and buttons take the guess work out. Great recipe book accompanies this product! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ingersoll, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Machine

Date:October 22, 2015
" Have had many breadmakers over the years, this one is among the best! Makes awesome breads exactly as instructed, a bit noisy but otherwise great! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Seeking something Better

Date:August 18, 2015
" I have had two of these guys over the last few years...and while I do love it....I have burnt through two pans/paddles...
The company does sell replacement parts...but it took so long waiting...buying a new machine was really the only way to go.
Perhaps it is just because I make bread so often that I really put it through its paces...but I won't be buying another... "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterdown, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good at first but now..

Date:July 26, 2015
" We've had this machine for about 3 years now and have used it maybe 15-20 times.
I was so excited to put this machine to use that the very hour I bought it I made a trip to get all the ingredients to make my first loaf of bread. It turned out quite well! The recipe book that comes with the machine is very easy to read and follow.
As time went on it seemed like the quality of the bread started to diminish and it didn't taste as good nor could I make the bread as fluffy. About a month ago I tried to make a simple loaf of white bread and it was awful. I double checked my ingredients to make sure nothing was past its prime and even tried again following the directions yet again to a t to no avail.
Unfortunately it seems like the machine is dying on me. I still give the product 4 stars as when it worked it worked great! But it's hard to say, 3 years old but only 15-20 uses.. If I've used other bread makers in the past I may be able to give it a better comparison.
Do some research on other machines before trying this one out. Maybe you can get a better machine for less .... dough. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kippens, NL
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I love it!

Date:July 25, 2015
" I replaced my old machine with this one and love all the settings it has. My bread always turns out great. I haven't had the same issues that others have mentioned with grease. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal

Black Smear (grease) in dough

Date:March 1, 2015
" At first I was please with the machine however after 1-2 month of use, I found black smear in the dough I made this morning, The smear were clearly grease coming from the paddle mechanism. I find this unacceptable, and doing some research I found that I am not the only one who experienced this. To anyone looking to buy this machine, buy another model. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Disappointing

Date:February 7, 2015
" I'd been borrowing a breadmaker so when I received the Breadman bread maker as a gift, I was looking forward to using it. It looks nice and takes up little space on the counter. I'm afraid that's all the good I can say about it. It burnt sweet breads. The blade was hard to clean. Even after thoroughly cleaning the blade by soaking and using a clean tooth brush, there was some kind of blackish substance that leeched from it into the bread. We were afraid to eat it and threw the bread out. We will be returning this to the store and won't accept a newer model of the same type. I have since read other reviews of this product and they report similar problems; reviewers say that grease leaks from paddle into the bread contaminating it. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Comox, BC, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No

Don't buy!

Date:January 27, 2015
" I thought it would be a great machine, but I had the same problem as everybody else. The grease leaking in the dough, the Teflon going into the bread...
It was good the first months when I bought it but I can't use it anymore
Next time I will read the reviews before buying.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Leaks Grease into Bread

Date:December 12, 2014
" What some of the other reviewers have said is true - this machine leaks grease into the bread. In addition, the paddle comes off frequently. I had to babysit it, checking it every 10 minutes or so to put the paddle back on. You can't just turn on the machine and go away and expect a good loaf. Besides the grease and paddle problem, however, it still makes pretty good bread. If these 2 problems were fixed, this would be a good machine. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Deep River, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

The paddle-shaft is the problem

Date:November 7, 2014
" Despite many clever features, this machine has fatal flaws in its paddle, shaft, bearings and seal. The paddle is too loose a fit on the shaft, which quickly becomes worse with use. As well, the shaft bearing is not robust enough to withstand the forces during dough kneading. Once the bearing becomes loose, the seal is damaged and grease can leak out. The wobbling paddle then contacts the pan and scratches off the Teflon. This explains many of the complaints in other reviews. Please note that one must WEIGH the flour rather than measure it by volume using measuring cups. Excess flour can produce a dough too stiff for any machine. Knowing this, I have never subjected my machine to too heavy a dough. My unit is 3 years old and failed within the first year. I have since found two more barely-used Breadmen at our dump, both with the same problem and therefore useless for spare parts. It is very surprising that Canadian Tire continues to carry this flawed machine. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sointula, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works Really Well For What I Need

Date:October 19, 2014
" This machine bakes bread better than other machines I've had. It has a wide variety of choices of bread and a timer so you can set it and have the bread ready when you want it to be. I didn't really care for the recipes it came with. The paddle somehow scratched the pan even though it hadn't fallen off and has a rubber bumper, but it doesn't seem to affect the bread. There was grease in all the bread I made for the first while, until my boyfriend washed the whole pan. The bread size is a bit too large and I have to cut the bread in half to be able to fit a slice in the toaster. Despite all its quirks, I still love this bread maker after a couple of years. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midland, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Like

Date:October 17, 2014
" Just bought it about 2 weeks ago Love the bread but the little mixer still stays in the bread and not supposed to. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

pretty good despite bad reviews

Date:October 6, 2014
" I bought this on sale despite reading horrible reviews; I've only made two loaves so far (one white, one whole grain) and the whole grain one was the tastiest bread I have ever made (my Sunbeam died last month after 12 years of good service.) The machine runs very silently, not a lot of shaking, and the recipe book it comes with is better than any other product I've ever used. I was nervous about the paddle flipping down in the middle of mixing but nope, it popped right up and it's nice not to have that giant hole in the bottom of your bread. No grease in my bread, no Teflon.
Now, time will tell if it keeps up the good work but at first glance I'm happy with the purchase.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

piece of junk

Date:September 13, 2014
" I don't usually write reviews but with this piece of junk I felt I had a responsibility to warn other people from purchasing this machine. I have had this bread machine for over a year now and it still leaves teflon grease streaks in the bread. The paddle completely lifts of the post during the kneading cycle or when it doesn't the folding paddle folds down and the dough sits on top of it and doesn't get kneaded. Never once have had a satisfactory loaf of bread out of it. I had a B&D that is close to 20 years old and works better than this. I originally purchased this because of it fruit and nut dispenser which makes a horrible noise every cycle even when not being used. Please save yourself money time and aggravation and purchase a something else. ps I would give this a zero rating but the website won't let me. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Awkard shape

Date:June 3, 2014
" I bought this breadmaker about 8 month ago, it still leaves grey streaks of grease, but it sounds like they fixed that. Also I find the shape of the loave kind of awkard, never sure how to cut it. It makes okay bread and I like that the paddle collapses, so it doesn't stick in the bread like in other breadmakers "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

disgruntled

Date:May 19, 2014
" had this bread maker for 5months before exchanging in store , baked bread 4 to 5 times a week and never got a decent loaf in that time using several different recipes so gave up to try a Black and decker for half the price. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

No problems here

Date:March 24, 2014
" I read the reviews before I bought this as my first bread maker and figured what the heck. It has a two year warranty and others have successfully returned it so I bought it on sale. First off, the grease issue has been fixed about a year ago so if ur having that problem, you bought really old stock. Secondly, it appears as though the paddle has a rubber foot on the bottom to prevent scratching the bottom of the pan. So unless you beat the paddle or the pan I don't see the teflon wearing off. The teflon isn't top of the line quality but will be fine if you are cleaning it gently. I have baked three loaves of white and the unit has performed flawlessly. It looks like it has lots of great features so I can't wait to try some of the funkier recipes. The only negative so far is the instruction manual. I would recommend reading it end to end before making your first loaf. The organization is not great so there are little tips and tidbits of information on making good bread imbedded throughout the manual, that if missed will affect your bread. I will write another review as I use it more and by then I will hopefully be the king of the bread maker with my own talk show. Until then, check the date of manufacture before buying the unit, read the instruction manual, make sure you install the paddle properly and it should be all good. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Breadman Bread Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not recommended

Date:March 21, 2014
" I have had several breadmakers - this is the worst one ever. The paddle constantly "falls down" when making the bread - even if I prop it up with ingredients - resulting in a pile of unmixed cooked dough. The paddle scrapes on the bottom of the pan causing the teflon to come off. Several times I have had "grease" streaks in my bread and rolls. The beeping to add ingredients or to advise that the cycle is done is annoying and excessive. I absolutely do not recommend this product. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4