Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L

Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L

Black & Decker Deep Fryer is a 1,500 W Deep Fryer with a 2L capacityVariable temperature control to 375°FFeatures electronic timer, digital display and dual filter systemCool-touch exterior makes it safe for the familyWatch your meal cook through the viewing windowRemovable cooking pot, basket and l
Average Customer Rating:
3.021 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
10
1 star
13
24 of 47(51%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Review 1 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not If You Have A Big Family

Date:October 27, 2014
" I presume that this would be a good product for a small family (or just a couple). If you have a larger family, which I do, this would not do the job. Bought this because it was on sale, got it home and unpacked it to see exactly how small this was. Back to the store it went. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Deep Fryer

Date:May 15, 2014
" This is a decent little deep fryer for use at home. The basket is a bit on the small side. Like that the plug is magnetized for safety. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

garbage

Date:September 3, 2013
" after 6 months I noticed that it only gets half as hot as its supposed to. the light goes out as if its hot enough, but it isn't. set it to 350F, it keeps cycling on and off and never gets over 270F. which means dont you dare try to cook chicken unless you really like the hospital. On the plus side, I havent had any trouble with the handle, like many many people have reported.
garbage, garbage, garbage. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

garbage

Date:July 14, 2013
" save your money and dont buy this garbage,, handle fell apart after a couple of months,,connection inside of fryer for element melted and the plastic turned into a blob of plastic and burnt the element and housing, complete wast of money even when on sale. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

Awful

Date:May 8, 2013
" Bought this and the handle broke within 2 days, got new one and the handle broke again.... 3rd time i returned it and got a cheaper brand. JUNK "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Stay away from this...

Date:January 17, 2013
" I bought two of them and both have the same problem where the timer stop working after a short period of time and both stop working not long after the warranty has expired. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ONT

POOR QUALITY

Date:April 15, 2012
" The Lid, Basket, and strainer is very difficult to clean.
In the beginning the product was not bad at all;
but when it come to cleaning, i was very dissatisfied with the product. There is a filter in the window in the lid, which goes brown and when trying to clean,
would start to fall apart. i would want the lid to be replaced and have no idea where to get replacement part.
i would not recommend this product to anyone.
"
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

Poor handle design

Date:March 3, 2012
" I found it got hot enough, and although the basket was small, it was OK... just meant cooking in batches.
The handle broke after less than a year and could not be repaired. Based on the other comments here, this piece of garbage should be either redesigned or taken off the market.
Not worth it at any price. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island

Save your $$$ buy something else!

Date:February 29, 2012
" Leaked oil out the back within 6 mths, basket doesn't lock and collapses without warning. Piece of junk, buy something else, I got a Bravetti and love it! "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:February 1, 2012
" I bought this a year ago and have used it three times and already the handle has snapped off with gentle use. The basket is extremely small compared to the amount of oil the machine holds.
I am very glad I purchased this on sale and it is not an appliance that I use very often. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stephenville, NL

very deceiving

Date:November 26, 2011
" I bought this fryer in '08 and got rid of it in '09. For the first few months it worked wonderfully, but unfortunately it started to leak at the back. Thinking it was just condensation that caused it, I checked it closely and found it was indeed leaking. I gave it 5 stars for performance because it did cook fries and other foods really well. I wouldn't recommend it though, it isn't really worth the money you pay. "
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:toronto, on

OK when it works

Date:October 20, 2011
" I like the safety features, the locked lid, best way to fry at home. A pot on the stove is no good!.
This was a gift.
I used it for fried chicken and sweet potatoe fries.
The chicken was great. The basket doesn't hold a lot of fries and they bunch up, but they are tasty.
I never really know when the thing is on, or when it's heated up to the desired temperature. Bad design.
After about 1 year, using it only about 10 times, the handle broke. But the bigger issue is, it just didn't'
start'. I plugged it in, but as I said, you never know if the thing is on, or what. the light is on, but the oil does't head up. Broke after this level of use.
So, perhaps this is a good omen, bad fryer, less cholesterol.
I would not recommend this product, it broke way too early. I would think one should at least get about 5 years out of a product. This one lasted only 10 uses in a year. "
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Basket is too Small

Date:June 29, 2011
" My biggest beef with this unit is that the basket is too small. If I wanted french fries I would have to do 3 sessions to get enough for me.
Unless you are on a diet you would have to cook multiple times so get enough for one person. For a group of people it would take even longer.
There appears to be a problem with the connector at the bottom of the container and the main body. IF it is not assembled right the thing arcs and heats up until it melts the plastic around it. If it does it enough the metal prong from the container will not contact and the unit will not work.
Good things
The automatic pop up lid is a great idea
The raised basket idea is good as it allows the handle to store away when not in use.
The little timer is a great idea.
It heats up fairly quickly.
The heating element is built into the bottom of the container so cleanup of the inside is easy.
I have another deep fryer that is about the same size but it can cook 3 times as much stuff at one time.
Having the extra features is good but it does not make up for the fact that it takes 3 times as long to cook something.
I'll stick with my other deep fryer even though I have to manually lift the lid, use the microwave timer to time things and a basket lift mechanism that is not as fancy because it has a larger basket. "
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst purchase ever

Date:September 13, 2010
" Within in a year with limited use the product is unuseable. The handle broke within months and temporary repairs worked for a few months but the handle is totally shattered and now the basket is useless. The size of the basket is small and you can only effectively cook about 12 chicken wings at a time. The only thing we liked about this prouct was that it was easy to clean and the spring loaded lid was safer to use than manually opening the lid ... less chance of a burn from the steam. "
+50points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, Alberta

Don't buy this fryer!

Date:May 13, 2010
" I bought my Black&Decker Deep Fryer about 3 years ago. I've only used it about a dozen times. All of a sudden it just stopped working. I checked everything from the cable connection, oil container connection, to the plug-in connection and nothing! I would not recommend this deep fryer to anyone. "
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern New Brunswick

Disappointing

Date:March 18, 2010
" I bought this fryer because the basket had a fold-down handle (making the appliance easy to store) and easy-clean features. The second time I used it, a small plastic tab inside the handle, which supports the weight of the basket when it is in the horizontal position, broke off. I called Black & Decker and was told this model has been discontinued and no replacement parts are available. Therefore I returned it for a refund.
This is not the first time I've been disappointed with a B&D product, i.e. flimsy design, difficult to get parts, etc. and I will never by one of their products again. "
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nobody mentioned SIZE

Date:January 1, 2010
" After reading all the reviews I told my dh to buy this product.
Nobody mentioned that the basket is so small that the instruction say you can only cook 3 chicken strips at a time ! Do not be fooled by the picture. There is absolutly no way that many onions ring were cooked in this fryer. It will cooked maybe 1/2 cup french fries. I can cook that in a saucepan using less oil.
We are returning it tomorrow "
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville, ON

Great price

Date:December 29, 2009
" Well, so far, i've used this only once, and was impressed. After reading the other reviews, i am going to be more mindful, and watch for these signs - Hopefully i did not receive a bad product here! I have other black and decker products and have been satisfied so far.... "
-13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not what I expected

Date:December 15, 2009
" I have to now return the 2nd one of these for the same reason as the first... it cut out and now won't heat up. The first one I took a look prior to returning it and noticed that under the fat container, there is the connection for the electric element...this was burnt on the 1st one I returned. I am not at all happy with this Black n Decker product, will not be getting another one "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Black & Decker Deep Fryer, 2 L
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ancaster, ON

Disappointed

Date:December 10, 2009
" I was impressed by this deep fryer. I had to return the first fryer and now my second has broken also.
Needless to say, I'm not impressed. Black & Decker makes affordable products; but, I have had to return or throw out many, many coffee makers, irons and now this fryer.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3