Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Fal Actifry

T-Fal Actifry

Actifry's patented technology creates lower fat versions of the food you eat. It cooks French fries, chicken wings, seafood, vegetables, desserts and moreDelivers crispy results with minimum oil usage, allowing for a healthier optionRecognized by the Canadian Diabetes Association as a method to encourage healthy eatingHas a 60-minute timer function for cooking timesIncludes removable, dishwasher-safe cooking pan, lid and stirring paddle, and a full colour recipe bookModel number FZ700051
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for T-Fal Actifry
Review 1 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Useless, overpriced x3times.

Date:January 30, 2014
"Very overpriced. Small amount of food for 2-3 persons.
Bulky. Except fried potato nothing could be prepared better than in oven.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best small appliance

Date:August 27, 2013
"Have had my Actifry for over a year now and use it at least 3 times per week. The french fries and potato wedges are really delicious as is the chicken with pineapple. Really love the chicken wings, they don't require any additional oil and come out moist everytime after just 20 to 25 minutes. Easy to clean too."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wish I had 2

Date:June 5, 2013
"I really like the way it cooks fries. Wish it were bigger LOL and I wish I had 2. One for fries and/or veggies, and the other for meat. Chicken drumsticks are yummy. I like that you can use sauces and others fixings too. Some places are a bit tricky to wipe down. I like that its dishwasher safe."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great For Healthier Living

Date:June 3, 2013
"This product is great, the quality is durable, and it's so easy to use that you can focus on cooking other things while you have your T-fal working on something else on its own. Reasonably priced for a great product."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a good choice

Date:May 22, 2013
"Too big for one person and recipes are for 4 - 6 people, but could be adapted. Cord is too short, so unless you have a plug under your stove fan, be prepared for the smoke alarm every 10 minutes. The stirring arm has an awkward corner, so oil and food debris gets jammed in there and is extremely hard to clean out. Returning mine."
-21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Niagara Falls, ON, Canada

Awesome. I love it

Date:May 17, 2013
"My husband bought this for me for Mother's Day so I have had it only a short time but I love it. Great product."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Nice to have!

Date:May 13, 2013
"It makes very good fries! I also like using it to cook other vegetables!"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVING IT

Date:May 3, 2013
"This is the best fryer I ever invested in. Made by T-fal, and made in France, another 2 reasons to purchase it. Takes so little oil and the food comes out great. The homemade fries I made were perfect.
I would highly recommend thisproduct.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph

Absolutely amazing

Date:April 21, 2013
"Bought this today at my local CT store, they price matched another store in town.
Tried fries out first, as every one states they were great.
Then tried out the saucy chicken with pineapple for supper, This was restaurant quality food, or better.
Both my wife and I really loved the food, we can't wait to try other T-fal recipes.
We don't eat fries often, but now we may do so a lot more.
Thanks to our great Canadian Tire store we were able to afford this (retired) and believe it is worth every penny. I am still savoring the after taste from supper. AMAZING.
I hope the product lasts a long time as we love it.
"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia

It is out of the closet to stay!

Date:March 19, 2013
"So many of these counter sitting small appliances are nothing more then gadgets which rarely work as advertised which end up sitting in the pantry awaiting the next yard sale or joining the hundreds of other ones on Kijiji. This machine is the real thing. It is quallity made, well engineered and works as promised.
I have only had it for a few weeks so have not tried to many of the recipes but what we have had so far hasn't diaspointed us.
"
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Great Fryer

Date:February 2, 2013
"I was debating buying this fryer but hesitated which turned out great because I got it for Christmas. It works wonderful and does a beautiful job on home fries. I haven’t tried it on stews yet but plan to try it soon.
I would have given this fryer 5 stars if it weren’t for the touchy release on the lid, it opens to easy and pops open every time I try and store it away. However my satisfaction in the food quality compensates for this minor nuisance.
"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palmerston, ON N0G, Canada

love it!

Date:December 11, 2012
"Try the pineapple chicken recipe! Wish it could make more at a time though. Love the fries, they taste great! Easy to clean but the scoop is also easy to lose."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best thing EVER

Date:October 19, 2012
"The fries alone are totally worth buying this machine, but you can also make bacon without splatter!! There's a whole cookbook full of other stuff that I haven't even tried yet and their facebook page is always posting more ideas too."
+49points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

roulton

Date:September 28, 2012
"Had mine for 6 months now, would be lost without it now. Yes, makes great fries. Not good at "coated" or "battered" food, the paddle chews the coating off. Good though at reheating things with harder batter such as chicken balls. For the fries, you can use healthier oils that you can't for regular frying, such as walnut oil, olive oil or avocado oil. Haven't tried sweet potato fries yet as not keen on them, but have read mixed reviews, some say yes, some say no.
But think of it way beyond French fries, think of it as a self-stirring frying pan or pot. Stir fries, risottos, curries, stews, braised meats in sauces, chicken wings in sauces, shrimp dishes, etc. You toss things in and go about your business while it "minds the stove" for you.
Comes with an amazing recipe book that will get you thinking; one of the few such product recipe books I've ever found useful. You can tell its European origins though by some of the recipes -- there's one that calls for rabbit, and another for duck fat! This cookbook was written by people who really cook!
Every single part (except the motor) goes in the dishwasher."
+124points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warkworth, Trent Hills, ON K0K, Canada

Great Purchase

Date:September 22, 2012
"Makes an awsome potatoe fryer with less the fat. We use all different oil and vinegar based salad dressings.My husband says the stinker the salad dressing the better the potatoes taste"
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good, but wait for a sale

Date:July 2, 2012
"We don't use it so much but do occasionally make fries with it. We only cook them for about half the time recommended to get fries similar to chip-wagon consistancy. We find that cooking them for 40 minutes to try and get them crispy ends up giving the somewhat of a chewy texture."
+61points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgetown, ON

Fantastic Product

Date:March 23, 2012
"I've looked at the Acti-Fry for quite a while, but the price put me off a bit.
Finally broke down and bought one (rationalized that we'd save over $100 a year on oil) and discovered it's like a mini convection oven! Does more than just fries, the recipe book includes dip, chili, stir fry and desserts! Haven't tried any yet but looking forward to!
Works great for frozen sweet potato fries (my trial run). I was worried they'd be all mushed up, even doing them in the oven can cause them to break up. They came out crisp, golden and whole!"
+113points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Just like a restaurant

Date:February 11, 2012
"Put your potatoes in with 1 TBS oil, by the time you make your bacon and eggs, they are are ready. Cubed potatoes make awesome hash browns just like the fried ones of a restaurant. Minimum calories."
+102points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, Alberta

LOVE IT!!

Date:January 10, 2012
"Received as a Christmas gift. Hasn't left the counter! Have used it everyday. Made perogies, turned out crunchy, finger food. Kids love them. I have made chicken wings from frozen, chicken pieces, sweet potato fries, regular fries, potato wedges. All turned out delicious!! It says to season after cooking, I found that the seasoning doesn't stick, so I season after I add the oil (but the chicken doesn't need any added oil, so season before adding) LOVE IT!"
+109points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for T-Fal Actifry
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dawson Creek BC

fantastic !!

Date:November 29, 2011
"I have had my actifry for almost a year now...and we just love it,we use it all the time...its easy to use and makes the best tasting food without the grease ! the cleanup might take a total of 60 seconds...ya can;t beat that....I have purchased 2 more this year for 2 of my children and their families for xmas !!"
+68points
Was this review helpful to you?