Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo

Flavorwave Oven® Turbo

Turbo oven cooks food up to three times faster than traditional methods using combined power of halogen heat, infrared waves and convection cookingConverts electrical energy into intense heatSeals juices and enhances natural flavourMoves air around speeding up cooking time and cooks food evenly from
Average Customer Rating:
3.353 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
10 of 17(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Review 1 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cooker

Date:October 24, 2014
" This machine cooks awsome, but the element burns out sometimes. I am on my 3rd oven because I love 5he way it cooks and roasts. Make sure the handle is up or switches are off before you plug it in or the sure may burn out the element. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just OK

Date:October 7, 2014
" Great for a small family. Would not recommend for cooking for a large family. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Haldimand, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awful

Date:September 20, 2014
" Another useless appliance sitting in my house. I feel like going back to the CT where I bought it and throw it in the parking lot. Not CT's fault. Don't waste your time, money, and space. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:August 10, 2014
" I haven't used my oven for anything but baking, I cook all my dinners in this & everything come out great, no pre heat cooks in half the time the reg oven takes. Lots of fat comes off the meat, i did chicken wing & they came out crispy & no greasy after taste. Pork comes out juicy not tough & dry. I use this all the time, it doesn't heat up the whole house like the oven does & easy on the hydro & very easy to clean up afterwords :) "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Replace every 2to 3 years

Date:May 13, 2014
" Bought this 2 years ago.
We use it once a week to cook sweet potatoes & chicken.
Taste is excellent!
The bulb burnt out after 2 years and I thought to replace.
But in opening the case, the heat has burnt through the brackets and posts.
Waiting for it to come on sale before purchasing a replacement
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not reliable product

Date:March 20, 2014
" I bought this from Canadian tire store, I had to bring it back 3 times for new replacment in a year, the 1st last about 2 weeks, bulb burn out, 2nd last about 3 months, bulb burn out again, 3rd last abiut 6 months, bulb burn out ! To summerize: DONOT BUY ! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Schomberg, ON L0G, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes

Would recommend

Date:March 8, 2014
" Very good product we made a chicken and chip dinner and it was good and fast.
Still have to experiment having roast beef next.
We shopped on Thursday Morning, March 6 and we were delighted with the service from the staff looking after the shelves and the check out counter,
Excellent attitudes!
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

I am so happy with this product

Date:May 12, 2013
" I wanted one of these for years, but after reading so many dismay reviews I always stopped myself. About 3 years ago my mother in law bought one and I decided to wait and see how it worked. For starters the food was delicious and it really cooked faster than in a regular oven. I was impressed but still decided to wait a bit more to see if there were any problems. She had it and used it for a year before they moved back home and she gave it to me before leaving since she couldn't use it there. For the past 2 years I have been using it myself and loving it. The range of delicious recipes from chicken, to pork loin, ham, to fish, vegetables... I even bake desserts. So far it keeps working as well as it did at the time I got it and I use it at least twice a week. It is easy to clean although I do take the lid off immediately after the food is cooked and place it on the holder on the side.The glass part can go in the dishwasher but I usually wash it by hand, it takes a minute and it's really easy to clean.
The numbers are still visible although I am careful cleaning the lid. Maybe I got lucky, but so far I had no problems with my turbo oven. Not only I have it for two years, but my mother in law used it for another one before giving it to me. Based on the way it worked so far, I would certainly recommend it.
"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:toronto

no customer service

Date:December 29, 2012
" I did like this product but when all the numbers got smeared off the dials and my calls were not returned just got sick of this company! no support what so ever. Luckily CT hads a great warranty and excellnt customer service! thank you. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

Do a little research first.

Date:December 3, 2012
" Let's start with the replacement bulb costing $60.00. (the original bulb only lasted 6-7 months). That's itself is crazy as I only paid $80 for the entire unit.
Also all the dials starting smudging off in the first week it was used. How annoying is that?
Finally, impossible to clean top. All the greasy / oilly residue collects in the heating area. Gross.
Unit was great for the first 2 months, but I would like to see someone recommend this product after using is for a year on a regular basis!! Not likely.
DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT. READ THE REVIEWS. DEMAND BETTER. "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Makes a chef out of enyone.

Date:June 1, 2012
" Works great. Before this, I used to only cook boiled water. I've done all meats, lobster tails, and veggies all to perfection. It really does perform as advertised. My wife even did a small roast last week for the first time and it came out great.
I took off one star because the bearings on the original cover (motor) sounded really loud after a couple of months and I was afraid the fan might fail. So I exchanged it.
Other than that, may I suggest that once you hear the "Ding!", meaning that it is done cooking, remove the cover and set it to the side on the provided stand. I suspect that leaving it on for extended periods after it is done causes the extreme heat and humidity from the juices to rise quickly and possibly shorten the life of the covers motor components.
Never tried the auto-cleaning functionality by cooking water in it at low heat, sounds silly.
Would definitely buy again, but why should it ever stop working?
Definitely a must have.
TZ.
"
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgetown ON

Best cooker so far

Date:April 24, 2012
" This is great I have been using it all the time. Ribs cook great and fast very easy. Did a roast fast and sealed in juices. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:GTA, ON

Very pleased with the cooker.

Date:February 6, 2012
" LOVE this machine!! It's sturdy and well made, Does a terrific job cooking meat, fish and poultry. It turns out wonderfully juicy and moist, even if you cook it a bit too long. I also love it for roasting and baking veggies, baking stuffed Portobello mushroom caps, even for toasting garlic bread. I have only had this oven about a month and expect to continue to find new applications for it. I recommend it to all my family and friends. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Great technology ... VERY poorly built

Date:December 26, 2011
" First off I want to say that the Flavorwave is not only convenient but makes your food stunningly delicious.
Unfortunately that's about where it ends.
I bought mine about 13 months ago. Within 3 or 4 months the digits on the dials just wiped off with plain water. I wrote to Thane (the manufacturer) and they immediately sent me stickers to replace what had been wiped off using only a damp cloth. (Being so prepared, don`t you think they were well aware of this manufacturing defect, but don`t care about the consumer)
Now, the lamp has blown.... no heat. The Flavorwave is now dead. I would expect a product in this price-range to be more robust.
I am extremely disappointed with the quality of the build. The cost of a replacement lamp is more than the cost of the unit. I firmly believe that Thane know about the manufacturing defects in this product but don`t care enough to rectify any deficiencies once the product is òut-the-door.
The same technology is available in the Beaumark brand. Beaumark is cheaper and they give you more accessories.
I am on a disability income and had to save long and hard to buy the Flavorwave. I am so disgruntled that I would NEVER recommend the Thane Flavorwave to ANYONE. What`s more, I have heard of similar experiences as mine with this product.
MY FINAL VERDICT: don`t waste your money on this inferior product. Frankly, I am very surprised that such a good and reputable company as Canadian Tire continue to stock such a poor product.
I suppose I am going to have to give this a rating of one star to settle the web-site`s expectation of a vote.... in truth I would not be t even that generous. Find yourself a better built machine. This IS NOT the only appliance using this cooking technology. "
+88points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:edmonton, ab

great product

Date:May 22, 2011
" Really enjoying my flavorwave, easy to clean, easy to prepare meals. "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Convenient

Date:May 20, 2011
" My kids bought this as a gift to my wife last mother's day 2011. And she really loves it, convenient easy to use and less oil.
So far so good the flavorwave performs well!
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Flavorwave Oven® Turbo
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:London, On

garbage

Date:February 19, 2011
" The lamp blew after just a few uses. Spare parts are unavailable from the website. Does however, cook chicken to perfection. "
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?