Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Grills, Griddles & Skillets or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for George Foreman G5Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

George Foreman G5Grill

As seen on TV The G5 is a multi-purpose grill that lets you knock out the fat, while grilling and gives you the ability to cook waffles as well as anything you can dream up with the griddle/bake plate 84" (213 cm) grilling surface for family cooking 5 dishwasher-safe removable grill plates with cool-touch handles for easy clean up Temperature control dial for perfect results every time and temperature indicator light indicates plates are at selected grilling temperature Adjustable tilt angle lets your choose between sloped or flat cooking surface Metal extended loop handle is ergonomic & durable George Tough™ Triple non-stick coating is durable & eliminates need for oil and patented sloped grill design knocks out the fat for healthier cooking 1.5" (3.8 cm) floating hinge works to accommodate thick cuts of meat Embedded heat elements provide consistent heat & rapid recovery time Included: 5 plates (2 ribbed grill plates, 2 waffle plates, 1 griddle/bake plate), 2 drip trays to catch run off liquids for no-mess clean up, and 2 spatulas that are customized for the grill
Average Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
72 of 82(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for George Foreman G5Grill
Review 1 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Great addition to my kitchen

Date:February 3, 2013
" I had a George Foreman grill 4 years ago which did not have removable grill plates but we used it numerous times a week until the non stick coating started to wear off (mainly from cleaning it improperly). We always said that having a Foreman grill with removable plates would be genius. Well we found this product and are so happy to have it back in our kitchen. The removable plates make cleanup a breeze and the addition of the waffle plates has made breakfast extra special. To top this all off it comes with a 3 year warranty through George Foreman and 1 year exchange warranty through Canadian Tire. I highly recommend this product. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for indoors.

Date:August 27, 2012
" This is a great product for an inside grilling alternative. A little bit on the pricey side though. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great little grill

Date:August 25, 2012
" I use this all the time, and it's a fantastic deal and value for the price! "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:thornhill

SO convenient!

Date:August 20, 2012
" I got this grill after moving to an apartment where I couldn't have a bbq. While it isn't quite the same as having a bbq, it absolutely offers all the convenience of grilling over an open flame. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healthy Choice

Date:August 20, 2012
" I use this grill to make many healthy dishes. Great product for everone who wants to eat right "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

limited

Date:August 18, 2012
" I find this grill takes too long to warm up and food does not cook as quickly as I would like. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tweed, Ont

It's grilling time

Date:August 17, 2012
" I bought the George Foreman grill for two reasons, 1) George stands by his name, 2) on rainy days I still like to grill my food so indoors is just as good as outdoors. I find it easy to cook with, easy cooking instuction manual (I have my pages marked for quick access). I have to always remember not to use scouring pads to clean, just soap and water just like the frying pans. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St John's, NL, Canada

GOOD LITTLE GRILL

Date:August 17, 2012
" This GF grill is a nice little grill for making my panninis,could use an of/on switch but overall not bad. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Does not deserve a high rating

Date:May 30, 2012
" We tried two of these grills during the last sale, hoping the first one was just a dud. The major issue with this grill is that the grill plates do not have a strong connection, and just kind of 'float' in the hinges. I also found it did not get as hot as other George Foreman grills we have owned.
Since this was the only product on sale we opted to go with a smaller grill. I think the quality of this product suffered in trying to add too many functions. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

Good features, fair performance

Date:January 27, 2012
" I was extremely happy to find this, since I had looked a long time for a product with interchangeable plates. However, I find that the waffles stick terribly and the off-gassing from the non-stick coating is really strong. I have to have the windows open to use the appliance, and this is the only non-stick cookware of many in my kitchen that requires this. It does make great sandwiches and grilled vegetables. As one reviewer mentioned, for meats, the thickness needs to be the same for all, otherwise cooking is uneven. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Muskoka, Ontario

Nice

Date:January 27, 2012
" After reading the last 3 reviews I was nervous, but after using for a few months I can say it is a very nice product. Well made and it works just great! Still learning the waffles. Next time they will be perfect. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa Ontario

Warning

Date:December 15, 2011
" You must be very careful with this unit. The wiring is not the best, connection to heating element is a slip on connector. Ours slipped off touches casing and shorts out being electrocuted is a real possibility. Should be recalled and a different type of wire connection used. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam, BC

Poor Quality!

Date:July 25, 2011
" Finally I thought I could have one grill doing it all but very disappointed after using it twice for waffles. The waffles tare open in the middle I'm guessing for 2 reasons: 1. the teflon quality is very poor and everything sticks and 2. the edges don't get hot enough.
The hinges are very weak as well.
Will be returning this for another gill.
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poor Quality Grill - To Be Avoided

Date:January 9, 2011
" My family has owned two George Foreman grills. We've always been very happy with their quality.
It was with much excitement that we purchased the G5 grill - one appliance to grill and make waffles!
We were sorely disappointed.
The build quality is terrible compared to other Foreman grills we've owned: cheap metal, cheap plastic, rough edges. The outside dial is poorly attached and came off right away. It wouldn't reattach properly. The plastic which surrounds it is flimsy. Overall the grill feels lighter than smaller Foreman grills.
To top it all off the grill didn't work when first plugged in - there was power but no heat.
Needless to say we returned the grill. "
+49points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love at first use

Date:July 3, 2010
" Have been wanting this griddle for some time now, and it went on sale! got it, used right away - it is everything could ask for save one feature - there is NO timer! that was a surprise -hope they will add the timer back on the grill! The lo to hi heat setting is really handy, cooks everything perfectly. Great being able to remove the grills for cleaning! LOVE it! Use it just about daily, often for lunch, so many uses! The waffles come out perfectly done, quickly, one of the best cookers to ever come to the kitchen! Is superior by far to the original Foreman grill! Retired that! "
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sarnia

Great little grill

Date:January 23, 2010
" The interchangeable plates are really work well. Makes cleaning a breeze. The waffle plates A-1.
makes perfect waffles.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON

Best One I have ever received!

Date:January 23, 2010
" This is the best gift I have ever received from my best best friends. I was really touched to have received it because they all know I'm currently on a healthy diet now and this is a perfect design where oil and grease are dripped down from the meat.
Other than goign to gym, this cook pan certainly add a lot of values to my diet. We opened it and used it right after on our NYE party and everyone ate very happily!
The only thing is that the oil pan is a bit too small. A bigger one would make the cooking experience more convenient.
Overall, the rationale behind is perfect! "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Great for healthy cooking

Date:January 22, 2010
" I use my grill almost daily for cooking a variety of meals. It is quick to cook with, and easy to clean. Great product! "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase

Date:January 21, 2010
" I bought this grill 2 years ago and I really love it, Its quick and easy to use. So I bought another one for my daughter, she really loves it too, she uses it all the time. Its also very east to clean. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for George Foreman G5Grill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Thought it was great until it died

Date:January 1, 2010
" Bought this just a year ago and alreay the bottom element has burned out, no longer works. I loved it when I first got it, when it was workinng.Had a Hamilton Beach before this one, used it for 5 yrs before it died, use is almost daily. So sad. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3