Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Kitchen or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven

Six-slice capacity fits up to a 12" pizza Convection cooking with quartz heater provides even airflow that circulates around food as it cooks, resulting in consistent baking every time Bake, broil, toast and rotisserie functions 120-min timer with signal bell Digital display with touch pad controls Includes 1 rack Model Number: CTO7100BKT
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
4
122 of 133(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Review 1 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Replaces my regular oven

Date:June 3, 2013
"Used for the first time today. Whisper quiet when I used the convention fan feature and rotisserie together. Much quieter then my old toaster oven. The 450 degree max temperature is hot enough to bake French fries. Because this oven will hold a 12 pizza dish, my regular oven is now obsolete so now I will use this space to store my pots & pans. There is no oven light but at this point I don't see a need for one. I highly recommend this oven hope to see a drop in my power bill."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another quality purchase

Date:May 29, 2013
"I used this product to make delicious roast chicken all the time. It tastes even better than restaurants'. It's very easy to use and keep the cooking under control. I am glad I bought one."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON, Canada

Power cord too short

Date:May 26, 2013
"Power cord won't even reach the other side of the unit. It will barely reach an outlet 21 inches away. Rotisserie will not do a large chicken. More like a Cornish hen or a pigeon. Only reason we got this is because it was $69. So if you don't plan on using the rotisserie and have on outlet close by this may be ok."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Tecumseth, ON, Canada

Worst small appliance ever

Date:December 29, 2012
"I have purchased may Black and Decker products in the past but this one is a real piece of junk. The metal is so thin that the heat reflectors below the bottom elements bend and the interior aluminum creaks and grows when heating . The convection fan is real noisy it vibrates and rattles . The extra loud digital beep is real annoying when setting time and temperature. The idea of using cheaper and thinner metal is a real bad one. I would not recommend this product to anyone. This one is going back for a refund."
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burnaby BC

Versatile Gadget

Date:December 20, 2012
"I purchased one at half price which I consider a great value. The first one I had to return becuase the glass door closes leaving a 3mm gap. It was a truly no hassle return and I got another one within 3 minutes. Kudos Canadian Tire!
We've been using this almost every day for two months now, and our conventional oven has stayed idle ever since 'cos this convection oven is large enough to handle our everyday needs for a family of five.
The hi-tech looking buttons look daunting but my 88-year old dad have learned to master them within 3 days.
The top and sides of the oven feel hot to the touch, but I guess this is the same phenomenon for toaster ovens in this price range. We use the hot oven top to keep other food warm before they are served to make full use of the heat energy dissipated there.
We have since recommended another friend to buy this item while it's on sale again."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Pretty good, except for baking cakes

Date:November 29, 2012
"I bought this oven mainly for two reasons: as a way to quickly warm food, because my husband and I have declared war on microwaves, and because it's just the two of us, so why the heck would I use the big conventional oven when I can save tons of energy with this little one?
As for warming food, toasting and unfreezing, this oven is sensational! It warms pretty fast, and has tons of useful tools and commands.
The electronic panel is a big advantage, since you can easily set the function and the timer - and the oven will warn you when it has finished preheating or when the timer runs out. It also allows you to easily control the temperature.
The downside of this oven is the baking function. It has worked pretty well for meatloaf and cookies, but when it comes to cakes... It doesn't cook evenly, so that the side is cooked, the outside is nearly burned, and the middle remains liquid. I've tried different cake moles, so it's really the oven. Since we bought this on special for half the price, it was still a very good purchase, considering all the other things it does well.
I haven't tried the rotisserie yet, looking forward to that.
As for design, it's really neat, comes with tons of accessories and it does take quite some space, but it's not that bad (it's smaller than a microwave, anyway)."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midland, ON, Canada

nice oven

Date:November 29, 2012
"great perferfect for what we needed want to leave on the counter top and have a perfect spot for it to fit into but only thing is cord it way too short hate having to use an extension for for the sake of one foot"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Great Product for the Price

Date:November 15, 2012
"I bought this 1/2 price and have been very pleased. It is heavily used in my house as it is our primary oven for cooking. Often used 2 or 3 times a day for everything from toast to rotisserie chicken it cooks great every time.
I have used the rotisserie for chicken 3 times now. You must use the weights recommended in the manual so the chicken will be the correct size to rotatle properly. I had a slightly larger chicken in and as it rotated it touched the top burner and I had to cook it in a roasting pan instead.
There are only two very minor issues I found compared with previous toaster ovens I have owned. As others have mentioned the cord is very short. It is on the lower left corner (when facing the oven) and doesn't even reach to the right side of the oven. If your outlet is immediately behind or just to the left of the oven you will need to use an extension cord (as I did# as my plug is to the right of the oven.
Also, none of the buttons have temperatures listed, only icons of things like bagels, pizza, cake, toast etc. Until you get used to what these icons mean as far as temperature and time you may want to keep the manual handy. Temperature and time can be adjusted easily.
The rotisserie function and the convection fan work great. People commenting that the convection fan doesn't work may not realize that the fan is only used in the "Bake" #cake icon) function.
Overall this is a great product and I have recommended it to others."
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

Great Product

Date:November 13, 2012
"This toaster oven has exceeded my expectations, having used many different brands and models this one has impressed me the most. I've never seen a toaster oven heat up so fast and the one push functions are really convenient. I bought this to replace a brand new one that I wasn't happy with. There are pros and cons but overall this is a great product and I'm pleased with my purchase."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Great purchase!

Date:November 12, 2012
"I've had it for a couple of weeks now and have used it many times. The first night I actually used the rotisserie with great success. It is a bit finicky but that would be the same with any rotisserie...just takes practice to get it turning evenly.
The convection oven works great. I just wish it was a bit quieter.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

Great oven !!!

Date:October 18, 2012
"We bought this on unit on sale about 3 weeks ago. It's great for the 2 of us. We haven't used the "big' oven at all.
EVERYTHING turns out A+, and we cooked breads, cakes, cookies, roasted vegetables and chicken just to try it out. Just read the manual Before you use it. It's simple.
My wife loves it!!! Would recommend it to anyone
"
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON, Canada

Fantastic

Date:September 27, 2012
"I have never owned anything that has a rotiserie and this oven was fantastic. I made a chicken and put on a rubbing maronade, the chicken turned out fantastic. Great for grilled cheese toast etc etc. The convection part makes it foolproof."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good machine for quick meals

Date:August 29, 2012
"It a good machine for making quick meals but the pans that come with it tarnish in the dishwasher and the rotisserie spike rusted after one use."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brockville, ON, Canada

A Welcomed Addition

Date:August 13, 2012
"Instant love...with my husband being posted overseas I found I was never cooking cause who wants to heat up a huge oven for one meal...my husband purchased this for me on one of his trips home and it has been used almost everyday..
Took a few attempts to figure out the push button system but have now become an expert and with the convection everything is cooked nice and even..
The cord is a little short so make sure you have a home for it close to an outlet...
Would recommend to others in my type of situation..
"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Burlington, ON

Don't call it a TOASTER Oven

Date:April 30, 2012
"We picked up this unit on sale for half price. I would have been disappointed paying more.
We use it for a variety of things - mainly toast, but also warming frozen food and baking small stuff.
Negatives:
It is too big for just toasting. It takes way too long in its cavernous oven.
Changing temperature or time is a pain! You have to either press the button once for every 5' change, or hold the button down to change 25'. You'll find yourself pressing the button many time. Changing the cooking time is just as awkward. Rotary dials would have been much easier.
The oven BEEPS LOUDLY every time a button is pressed. It certainly draws attention to itself!
Although there is a built-in timer, the unit does not display the time of day. It looks as if it has a clock, as it displays 0:00 when not in use.
The rotisserie can be turned on and forgotten. The switch is in a position where it can be accidentally hit, and the power light doesn't turn on when the rotisserie is running. It is fairly quiet, so it may not be noticed (until you recognize that the droning sound it makes is not from something outside).
Positives:
Convection features make for even heating (but it would have been nice to get a second rack).
Lots of heating options (toast, oven, convection, bagel/broil, and more).
Big enough to roast a small chicken (but I'd hate to clean the mess afterwards).
In summary, if you're looking for a toaster, get something else."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just getting familiar with the unit...

Date:April 18, 2012
"I plan to post another review after extensive use.
A couple of quick things I've noticed:
1) Minimum temperature is 200F - a little high if you would like to just keep food warm. In other words, the unit doesn't really have a warm feature.
2) No way to control button tone / beep volumes. They're quite loud if you plan to heat-up some late night snacks - relevant if you desperately want to keeps your kids asleep in their rooms. There's a beep with every button pressed!
3) Since the LCD constantly displays 0 00 when not in use, would've been nice to include a clock feature."
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL

Excellent Purchase

Date:March 23, 2012
"Purchased this model about 2yrs ago when it was on sale.
It has worked perfectly ever since we took it out of the box.
We have used it for cooking, heating, rotisserie and baking. Everything has turned out perfectly!
Would highly recommend it."
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON

useless

Date:February 19, 2012
"out of the box the convection fan didn't work, temp control also didn't work.
buttons feel cheap like something you'd find at the dollar store
manual was not available online to confirm proper operation
will return on Monday, will not buy B&D again
really pathetic performance"
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Great product

Date:December 16, 2011
"I've had it for over one year and it was my first toaster oven I bought. I've done steaks, pizzas, chicken and other food and it did its job quite well. It's a good idea to familiarize onself with the manual, yet be prepared to adjust cooking time and/or temperature--for example, I always have to increase the time when doing pizza."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Black & Decker Kitchen Tools 6 Slice Convection Toaster Oven
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Oven

Date:August 11, 2011
"After two DeLonghi ovens, both of which the elements bent horribly, I'm very happy with this oven. Have had it several years, and no problems. Have baked and heated frozen dinners, including those that say "not for toaster ovens". The drip tray cleans up very easily, even if I don't do it very often. The elements are protected my perforated metal, unlike a similar oven of a different brand I saw. This protects them from breaking if it (they're glass) and reduces burns if accidentally touched. I have not used the rotisserie. I also don't use it for toast, as I don't think ANY oven does as good or as fast toast as a real toaster.
(To the person who said the rotisserie motor runs all the time: There is a switch that turns it on and off.)
The oven remembers the last temperature and timer setting used, handy if you often bake the same things.
My only complaint is that, since it has a beeper, it would be nice if it would beep to tell me when it's preheated."
+63points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7