Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Specialty Appliances or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker

15 settings. 84 programs. Delay bake timer. Variable temperature control
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Review 1 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker

Date:October 14, 2010
"Was used 2-3 times per week for 1.5 years, Clips in bottom of the bread-maker that rotate the kneading device broke. They are made out of flimsy metal, poor design. Owned many bread-makers in the past they all lasted 2-4 years with more use. This one did last longer than the Cuisinart we took back. Would not recommend either one."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

Poor mechanical design. Pan pops out.

Date:May 24, 2010
"Worked great for a month or so, and then the baking pan started popping out during the knead cycle. The more we used it, the more it popped out, until it was popping out continually unless you physically hold it in, and there seems to be nothing I can do to prevent it or fix it. It seems as though repeated use tends to fatigue the metal and the little tabs that hold the pan in just can hold it in after a while. Two months of use and it's now useless. I'm going to send it back, if I can.
My recommendation: Do not buy. Find something built better.
"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

So far so good

Date:January 7, 2010
"I got this as a Christmas present and so far it seems pretty good. I've only made a few loafs but everything was worked as it should. I did find with my first one that the dough did tend to stick quite a bit to the sides during the meading process, but then that could of just been a mistake on my part. The second loaf went through fine.
Overall I like it and would reccomend it to someone else."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

broken second week

Date:January 5, 2010
"I purchased this unit for a christmas present and the unit worked excellent the week after christmas, we made a loaf every couple days using the directions in the manual, after about the fourth loaf the unit started to be a little louder in operation and I just figured that the machine was just normally making it;s own sound after being broken in, however this morning I started to make a loaf of bread and it went half way through the second kneed and the drive cog that runs the mixing paddle snapped off the drive shaft.
I had a look at the parts and found that they are very cheaply made and put together.
I am going to return this unit and try another one to see if this was just a fluke but only time will tell, not good performance!
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON

Amazing Bread Machine...

Date:December 30, 2009
"I am so thrilled with this purchase...I had an old Black and Decker machine which after many years and a lot of use malfunctioned. I was a little skeptical about this purchase, as I felt that I was unnecessarily paying a premium for stainless steel. The price of the bread machine was worth it though! I actually messed up and didn't have the basket seated in properly the first time, but I stopped the machine and started it again, and it made the most beautiful bread."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING...I Love it

Date:July 7, 2009
"I did so much research on bread machines before I bought this one and the general theme was you get what you pay for and a machine with two paddles is better. However, I didn't want to shell out $250 for a "really good machine" just in case I didn't like making bread.
I ended up buying this one because the price was good and it also looked good, however, I wasn't sure how it would perform.
This machine is absolutely amazing! The single paddle design works flawlessly and the machine is so easy to use.
The features are endless and the delay timer is my fave because I stick the ingredients in at night and we get fresh bread ready in the morning.
The recipes included in the manual are okay, but I found that the recipes on the Robin Hood Flour website are the best. However, the cinnamon bun recipe in the manual in so delicious...it a family favorite now.
Anyway, I would wholeheartedly recommend this breadmaker. It has far exceeded my expectations and I'm not an easy one to please."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gibsons, BC

Really good bread in a nice looking appliance.

Date:June 8, 2009
"Really good bread in and a nice looking appliance. Bought this model because my old 10 year B&D bread maker was beginning to show its age ( put in the RV) and wanted a stainless steel model as it will be permanently on the counter top and wanted it to match the major appliances. Really like the machine and make much better tasting bread/crust than my older machine. My only pet peeve is threat this bread machine does not have a clock so that when I want me bread ready by 6:00 pm I can just put in 6: 00 pm. Instead if I start putting the ingredient at 10:00 am I have to manually calculate the time for the bread to be ready. Not a really big thing for some but my old bread maker was much easier."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Byrne Road, Burnaby, BC

No fuss, no muss!

Date:June 3, 2009
"This is my first breadmaker and I am incredibly happy with the result! I put in the ingredients and in the first few loaves, I would check and scrape the dough stuck on the side, but I eventually discovered that the machine does that automatically by the sticky dough that moves from side to side. Really, I don't have to do anything else! The bread comes out perfect - better than the bread I buy from the store.
However, I did add extra water to make the bread nice and soft inside. Also, the bread is only good in the first couple of days - because the bread doesn't have preservatives - all natural ingredients!
The machine could also be timed so you could get fresh bread first thing in the morning!
The owner's manual is a little complicated, but then the machine is also complicated...lots of functions...I like the table format of recipes that make baking even easier.
I swear I haven't eaten that much bread since ... forever!!!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Excellent machine, not so excellent user guide

Date:June 1, 2009
"I have written to Black and Decker to tell them how disappointed I am with the manual that accompanied the machine. It was made/printed in the People's Republic of China and the translation into English is brutal. I question the quantities quoted in some of the recipes, as of the 4 loaves I have made thus far, only one was passable. The rest went in the trash. I dug out an old recipe book last night and made two loaves that were "tried and tested" in my old machine; they turned out beautifully.
So my advice is to buy the bread maker but forget about the recipes in the book."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fab Bread, Fab Machine

Date:January 4, 2009
"Great Machine, easy to use....the super rapid feature to make bread in 59 minutes produces a great tasting loaf as if it took hrs!!!
the 3 options 1, 1.5 and 2 lb loaf sizes are a good functional size....I recommend baking the pizza doughs and actually all doughs (not being baked in the bread maker) on a pizza stone for an even better flavour!!!
I bot and looked at several machines before deciding on this one and I am very pleased!!!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:November 18, 2008
"This is fantastic and really, really easy to use. I was expecting a (strictly) utilitarian appliance to make gluten and dairy-free bread for my wife. The results were much more amazing than I anticiapted AND after easily making the gluten-free bread, I made flawless corn-bread with 20 minutes of prep time!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Black & Decker™ 2 lb Stainless Steel Breadmaker
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5