Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker

Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker

Easy to use breadmaker bakes 1.5, 2 or 3lb loavesTraditional horizontal loaf shape10 pre-programmed settingsRapid Bake function13 hour delay bake timerCrust control setting with automatic temperature adjustment for regular or dark crustFeatures dual action kneading of the dough
Average Customer Rating:
3.161 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (174 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
50
3 stars
19
2 stars
20
1 star
43
104 of 174(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Review 1 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Disappointing

Date:May 23, 2016
" After making approximately 12 loaves the unit starting over baking the bread making them inedible. Also questionable quality as the lettering on the unit 'smudged' after wiping with a clean cloth using soap and water. Also didn't like the huge holes left in the bread from the paddles. Will be shopping for something different. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Follow the Recipes in Book with Machine

Date:May 4, 2016
" I love to cook and bake and have for years and thought I was making a healthy decision and that this would be a good machine but all I have had is disappointment after disappointment with it. I have made10 loaves of bread with it the first time following the recipe instructions exactly and the bread would overflow. Then each time would cut down on the yeast, half the yeast, 1/3 the yeast and each time the bread would overflow into the window and it is not easy to clean. I did 3 of the recipes 3 and 4 times and no luck. Don't buy this machine, invest in a really good one if you are serious about making bread. I know I did and amazingly better results. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waterloo

Very shot life span, no replacement parts avail...

Date:April 2, 2016
" OK so here's my honest review of this product. I purchased this machine Feb 4 2016, took it home and started using it about once a week, mainly on Sundays just to stock up on bread for lunches during the work week. The machine did its job flawlessly, made great bread, with no effort at all.
It is now April 2 2016 and the seals within the bread pan have given out which means when its mixing the dough it is also leaking packed grease in to the bread, I found that out the hard way during breakfast toast.
So I did what anyone would do and take to the internet to see what could be done about it, and to put it short nothing... Canadian tire is selling a discontinued model at a cheap price, there are no replacement parts available, you cant even find this machine on the Black & Deckers website as it is discontinued.
If you buy this machine be aware that it will eventually fail depending on how frequently you use it. Also be sure to check the area of the bread where the mixing paddles release for grey/black grease, this will happen its just a matter of time.
so over all when the machine worked it was great, but don't expect long term usage out of this machine it only lasted me a couple of months. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Québec City, QC, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

NOT the best purchase ever...

Date:March 16, 2016
" It broke down after barely 18 months of use. Very disappointed in the product. Thought it would last longer. Now I need a new machine... "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Moncton, NB
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Overall rating= 0 stars

Date:February 28, 2016
" I hate this machine! I have used it twice and want to throw it in the trash. My biggest complaint is that the blades stay deeply embedded in the bread and I can't get them out without tearing the loaf apart... and now they are all scratched from the battle of trying to remove them. The buttons are very hard to see (and don't light up). The instruction manual leaves A LOT to be desired. This machine is a hunk of junk. I predict that mine will be in a garbage bag within the next month or so. What an incredible waste of money! "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Does the job

Date:February 21, 2016
" I have this bread maker for about 2 weeks. Very easy to use after some experimenting. The item does it's job well. I like the bread. The only drawback of design is no light inside the baking chamber - I need to use flash light to see what is inside! The other thing is buttons are dark, not lit and hard to read. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Makes beautiful bread

Date:January 20, 2016
" I am correcting my first review. I gave the machine a second try and it worked. My advice, start it and don't touch anything. I thought the motor was burning, and once I stopped it, I couldn't get the paddles to spin after trying out smaller recipe.. It turned out just new use smell. This machine does exactly what it is supposed to do, it made bread and it was delicious. I used the sandwich bread recipe because it is large and I thought if the machine can't take it, it may as well happen when brand new and returnable. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fonthill
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Good machine especially dough cycle

Date:January 6, 2016
" I've had this machine for about a year and a half now. I rarely use it to bake bread as no bread machine does as good a job as letting your bread raise in bread pans and baking it in the oven.
I always wash the bread pan out by hand and never let water sit in it as water will get into the bearings below the shafts that hold the mixing paddles and when water gets in there rust will start to form and soon you'll need a new bread machine or at least a new pan.
I like the fact it does 3 pound recipes. A 3 pound recipe usually gives you two nice loafs in regular size bread pans.
So it's a good machine if you take care of it and I don't recommend baking in it as the same recipe yields to beautiful loaves when done in bread pans and one large funny shaped loaf that's too tall and the texture and heaviness of the bread is just not that appealing when baking it in the machine. I've tried two other machines from different manufacturers, and some friends have tried others over the years and they all seem to do a better job just using the dough cycle.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly

Only thing I don't like is the delay to start.

Date:January 4, 2016
" I have only had this machine for 24 hrs. I have made two loafs of gluten free bread. They turned out great! One thing I don't like is the 5 minute delay it had before it would turn on and mix. NO sound from it no light that turns on in it and the light feature is not there to let me know it is on, other then a beep when you push the power button after you choose your settings. I sure was happy to hear it start up 5 minutes later. I think the delay should not be there before it starts up. If you power it on, it should power up not delay. If I wanted that feature I would put a timer on it to delay. I didn't have to wait 15 minutes like it says in the manual, just 5 minutes delay. I am crossing my fingers I don't have the problems others have had with this B2300 model I just bought 24 hrs ago at Canadian Tire. I didn't know this model was a 2014 old item. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Not happy at all.

Date:December 18, 2015
" I purchased this machine roughly a year ago and have had continued issues. Today was the last straw. I set up the machine and put all the ingredients into the bucket. Started to make a loaf of bread for dinner. First the paddles gave out neither would turn properly and actually one not at all. So I pulled the dough out and kneaded it by hand not wanting to waste it as money is tight and I was trying to save. Put the dough back in and nothing..... the machine didn't heat up at all just sat there. I am very frustrated as this machine is not a cheap item never mind the product you have to buy to use it. My family is not well to do and I was hoping to save a few dollars making my own fresh bread. So disappointed "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Breadmaker!!

Date:October 17, 2015
" My Husband and I got this breadmaker as a wedding gift 3 years ago and its still going strong. We are always making bread and it always turns out great. Easy to use, the recipe book is awesome as well. Very easy to clean too. The controls are very simple to use and straight forward. Would definitely recommend to anyone. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

So far so good

Date:October 5, 2015
" We first purchased a smaller version that stopped working after 2 breads. This one so far so good and we use it every week.
The bigger size of bread is great. You can make your own recepies..
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada

Keep looking

Date:July 27, 2015
" I guess this is one of those items where you really can't buy the cheapest product and hope it works great. This one made the bread too dense and the paddles dont mix well. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

DO NOT BUY!

Date:July 21, 2015
" I use my bread maker only on the dough setting as I like the taste & texture better when oven baked. Right from the start, grease was left on the dough from the paddles. Very unappetizing. The machine rocks when in the kneading stage and twice rocked itself right off my countertop even though it was a good 4 inches away (the first time) and about 8 inches away (the second time). Not only did it damage my hardwood floor when it fell, but the lid broke into several pieces. Terrible machine. Do not buy! "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

I love baking bread

Date:July 15, 2015
" There is nothing nicer than making your own bread, putting in your own ingredients, and enjoying it for breakfast! This breadmaker makes it simple to do daily. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome purchase

Date:July 12, 2015
" I had this bread maker before and I loved it a lot made the bread properly and even. Amazing make too. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not great

Date:July 8, 2015
" This breakmaker didn't last very long. I had it less than a year and the part that holds the paddles in fell apart. Didn't bother pursuing warranty, was so unimpressed. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

B2300 not good for replacement Pts.

Date:June 15, 2015
" I have had this unit for a year the first thing to go was the key on the bottom of the bread basket that holds the paddles. Then 3months later the belts that drive the paddles went.I called for replacement parts in London they do not have them I was told to call 1800 number to see if they are still available. no answer I would ask about warranty before you buy it. It did do a good job when it works I will not get another B&D
I do not recommend
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Niagara, Ontario
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Complete Disapointment

Date:February 17, 2015
" I got this bread maker on sale, I was really excited as mine died over a month ago. It didn't even turn on, I tried 4 different outlets and still it did not turn on. I returned it and didn't get another one as I figured if it doesn't work right out of the box I have little faith it will last a year. So I do not recommend this bread maker at all. "
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ladner, B.C.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Breadmaker B2300

Date:November 22, 2014
" November 22, 2014. Just bought the above breadmaker, but haven't tried it out yet. This is my 3rd B&D breadmaker in 10 years. My first model was B2005, then B2250, and now this one My previous 2 models had to be replaced, both with the same issues, after about 5 years each, that the kneading paddle was wearing away metal on the pan, thus making the bread black, and being very dirty. I was told that the non-stick coating is non-toxic, but my paddles were actually wearing off aluminiium and very unevenly. Both times I was not able to buy replacement pans and paddles as they were discontinued.
My problem is now with this new machine, which I thought was the most recent one, I see the instruction booklet has a date of 2006. Is this machine also considered old and no replacement parts will be available in a few years?
I wish B&D would consult consumers that have issues, redesign their breadmaker, and not keep replacing them with different models all the time. I would rather pay double the money and be ensured that I have something that lasts me a long time. I do not like to recycle appliances all the time, burden the environment etc. I would rather have something fixed, or buy a product that does not fail after a few years.
I only use my machine to make dough and then bake bread in the oven. My previous 2 models did a good job in that. I hope this new one will also.
As to the instruction booklet, I can see it makes 2, 2.5 and 3 lb loaves, but nowhere is there an indication as to the minimum and maximum amount of flour that can be put in the machine. Does anyone have experience with that?
What is actually the newest B&D breadmaker then?
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9