Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker

Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker

Easy to use breadmaker bakes 1.5, 2 or 3lb loavesTraditional horizontal loaf shape10 pre-programmed settingsRapid Bake function13 hour delay bake timerCrust control setting with automatic temperature adjustment for regular or dark crustFeatures dual action kneading of the dough
Average Customer Rating:
3.193 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(140 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
42
3 stars
18
2 stars
13
1 star
34
87 of 140(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Review 1 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dollard-des-Ormeaux, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not reliable

Date:April 5, 2014
"After about 10 months (about 50 breads made with the machine) one of the shafts became very loose and black dirt spots showed up in the loaf.
Got a replacement pan for free but did not last more than 5 breads. Time to try another brand.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great

Date:March 18, 2014
"I use it all the time to make my gluten free bread. I usually take it out a bit early as I don't like my bread too dark,or just use the dough settings. Got it on sale too!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pathetic Piece of Kitchen Appliance

Date:February 2, 2014
"This is the THIRD and the LAST machine I purchase from B&D company. I only use them periodically - about once a month. And, given the fact I am away from home for 6 months - it is used about 6 times a year. All machines have met their demise within a few months after the warranty expiration date. I am sure this is not the 1st complaint about this piece of unworthy kitchen appliance nor will it be the last. I live in an adult community and we chat. I will chat to NOT purchase Black and Decker bread makers. I used to think that B&D products were reliable and long serving. I no longer would recommend this product to anyone and will try to discourage them from even looking at this machine. Waste of time, money and patience."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Very bad experience

Date:January 8, 2014
"it is really garbage, I used it at most once per week, but it stopped working after one year.
huge noise and leaking.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Never Again

Date:December 22, 2013
"I have used bread machines for yrs for making both bread and dough. My old Proctor Silex finally packed it in after yrs of loyal service, and I couldn't find that make anymore. So B & D? OK good product background so thought I'd buy it just over a yr ago, so out of warranty. I never liked how the bread turned out so I decided to just use it to knead and 1st rise the dough before making bread or mostly dinner rolls; and they are on my "to bring" for Christmas dinner. Always had a bit of problem with one of the 2 dough hooks not staying in place properly. One turns easily the other you almost have to force it to move. Should've returned while still under warranty. Yesterday making dough I started hearing this bang clang. The hook had come ouut and was in the dough. What's worse is I had to waste the whole batch, because the teflon coating came off the blade into the dough. So bread machine into trash and back to old fashioned way till we can get a better machine. My only advice is do NOT buy this product!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very Happy!

Date:November 1, 2013
"I'm loving this bread machine, however not the recipes it comes with. I found the bread recipes it comes with very heavy when using our Canadian all purpose flour. American bread flour is much lighter, so I'm supposing the recipes are not for our flour or altitude for rising. I did however make sure I had fresh bread machine yeast and I got the "300 Best Canadian Bread Machine Recipes" cookbook and am super happy with the breads that this machines is turning out with these recipes.
The bread pops out of the pan nicely with a few upside down shakes and I expected some paddle marks as the paddles do not fold away. However if you remove the paddles right after the final kneading the marks are greatly minimized.
Finally, I did have to figure out on my own that if the paddles are not pointing to each other right off the start the dough will not mix properly and will be lumpy and uneven as it will just push the mixture from one side of the pan to the other.
After 6 months of constant use I love this machine!!
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Just BAD!!

Date:October 25, 2013
"I make a lot of bread and thought this machine would make it easier. However this machine is just BAD. The two paddles just rip the bread apart when you try to get it out of the pan. I tried 4 different loaf types with the same result. Its going back tomorrow."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Dough doesn't have delay setting

Date:August 3, 2013
"I bought this on sale but had to take it back. They advertise a delay setting, which on my previous B&D bread maker included the dough setting. This one doesn't, which is a deal breaker. Stupid of B&D, as engineering that in would have been trivial."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Even On Sale

Date:June 29, 2013
"We bought this on sale to replace our old black and decker bread maker (it was 11 years old and had 1 paddle). It made great dough though. This one mixes the dough with 2 paddles and is very uneven. You have to try and distribute the ingredients evenly. The dough doesn't raise as high after we put it in the pan and it's not as light. We're looking for another bread maker now."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A piece of junk

Date:May 18, 2013
"I will not buy another B&D bread maker again. Firstly the recipe selection that comes with the machine has only 6 recipes. Secondly, it is very difficult to get the bread out of the pan after cooking because the paddles hold the loaf in. After you finally get the bread out there are large voids where there should be bread because the bread has stuck to the paddles. I've tried coating the paddles with cooking oil, Pam and olive oil. Nothing helps!! Thirdly, the crust setting I use was "light" but you never know it as the crust comes out dark......Not a quality engineered machine."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC, Canada

Breakfast made better!

Date:May 14, 2013
"I love waking up to the smell of bread baking in the morning! So easy to do! Easy cleaning as well."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this bread maker!

Date:May 11, 2013
"I love this breadmaker! I use it twice a week to make our bread. Although it will cook the bread for you I prefer to remove it and bake it in the oven to avoid holes from the blades."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Quebec City, QC, Canada

great machine

Date:May 11, 2013
"It is a great machine. I use it for my pizza dough . it is good to make bread but i prefer to bake them in the oven"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Be prepared to replace parts

Date:April 17, 2013
"I have had the machine for just over a year so its outside teh warranty. the bread has been great but...I need a new bread pan. The bottom started leaking a few months ago and now one of the paddle holders has popped out. ordering parts online is apparently the privvy of those based in Puerto Rico or the United States."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, Ontario

FANTASTIC MACHINE!

Date:April 12, 2013
"So far I've made, white bread, whole wheat , pizza dough and I am going to make jam this weekend. This product is amazingly easy to use, easy to wash and you don't have to stand over it to make sure it does the job. There is only one downside to it and that is the display itself. If you have natural light only you can barely see the display and if you have the kitchen lights on, the plastic display screen creates a glare so the display is really hard to read at times. Other than that this machine is amazing!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spare Kneading Paddle B6000C

Date:January 16, 2013
"I have lost kneading paddle, and try to find spare set but it almost inmpossible. I found it at 28$. This bread machine cost 50$. Never buy B&D again."
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC

Bread isn't ready

Date:December 13, 2012
"I bought this breadmachine this December and made following recover. If you like to make a 3lb dark multibread, the baking- time is to short. After the bread is done you have to set it to No11 to bake for another 30 min. Seams that B&D is not testing this machine at all. The previous machine was better."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Product if purchased on sale.

Date:November 14, 2012
"Had one of the old B&D models back a few years ago which died after a couple of years heavy use. Picked this unit up for $50 on sale.
First loaf was a tremendous success. I simply followed the recipe as stated in the recipe book.
Only negative I can see is the pan construction is fairly thin, & potentially prone to denting.
If I get 2 years worth of bread out of this $50 unit, I will consider it a good purchase. If it breaks down before then, I will get a replacement under warranty. Win-win, either way! :-)"
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Harrison Hot Springs, BC, Canada

Makes Affordable Healthy Bread!!

Date:November 4, 2012
"I got this machine as as a christmas gift and I love it. The longer shape makes for easier slicing than the old barrel style of breadmaker. To get it out of the pan I turn it upside down and shake forwards and back violently. Then I take a chopstick to remove the paddles with minimal bread spawl! This machine has made a loaf every 2-3 days for the last year without fail."
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Black & Decker Deluxe 3-lb Breadmaker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada

Stuck paddles

Date:September 27, 2012
"I have had the B&D B6000C for about 9 months now. I do like the product and ease of the task; but have the same issue with each baking session. The paddles stick to the shafts causing the paddles to remain with the machine when the bread is removed after baking; subsequently causing a section of bread to be gouged out of the finished product. I have tried lubricating the shafts with butter or oil but the paddles tend to ride off the shafts during the knead process or remain inside the bread upon removal of the loaf. Removing them sometimes works well; however, other times a chunk of bread is removed with each one of them. Is there anyone who has had this problem and found a working solution? I have been told to remove the paddles prior to bake cycle, but I am concerned that the rising and punch down of the dough will be compromised. Any suggestions?"
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7